$223 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
941 reviews
Turtle Bay

Turtle Bay was an awesome experience. It was a birthday celebration and we had a delightful time.... See full review

  • Aunty Plumeria
  • Jul 24, 2014
Couple staycation

So my girlfriend and I decided that we would spend my last weekend in town overnight at the North... See full review

  • jdSmithChang
  • Jul 15, 2014
Del Webb, the real estate mogul and one-time New York Yankees owner, opened Turtle Bay Resort in 1972 and ever since then, it's been entertaining guests with an involving line-up of activities, from surfing lessons and making your own flower-leis to learning how to play the ukulele. Add to this the two chlorine-free swimming pools, water slide, trails for hiking and biking, and championship golf courses, and it's no wonder that Turtle Bay draws sizable crowds. Wicker and natural woods contrast with brighter shades indoors, while the verdant north shore of Oahu provides all the views you need from the terrace restaurant, Ola. Nalu Kinetic Spa provides ocean panoramas, a massage table that simulates the sensation of floating at sea, and calming hot-stone treatments.
Key facts
  • 443 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Valet parking
  • 5 restaurants: Pa'akai, North Shore Kula Grille, Hang Ten Bar & Grill, Ola Restaurant and Lei Lei's Bar & Grill
  • Lounge/bars: Lobby Lounge and Surfer, The Bar
  • 2 outdoor pools
  • 24-hour room service
  • Coffee shop and café
  • On-site golf course
  • Full-service spa
  • Health club
  • Arcade/game room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
Neighborhood
It's worth staying at this Hawaiian resort just for the surroundings. Turtle Bay is found in a section of Oahu's famed North Shore known for its unique rock formations, spectacular surfing beaches, and the majestic green sea turtles for which it is named. Near to both Kawela Bay Beach Park and the James Campbell National Wildlife Refuge, the Kamehameha Highway leads southeast from the hotel to the Polynesian Cultural Center, for those seeking signs of modern civilization.
Hints and tips
Be sure to enjoy one of the many free events that are featured every week, from spoken word nights to beach parties and film showings.

Drop in to hear amazing stories from professional surfers at Surfer, The Bar, in between mouthfuls of spicy Hawaiian seafood.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Turtle Bay Resort Rooms

Ocean Front Beach Cottage
The Beach Cottages at Turtle Bay Resort are grouped in clusters of six and situated along the west shore of beautiful Turtle Bay. The cottages are equipped with large marble bathrooms featuring Kallista deep-soak tubs, freestanding glass showers, and private, enclosed toilets.
Deluxe Oceanfront
Full Balcony Offering Spectacular Ocean Views and Hawaiian Sunsets with Two Queen Beds Studio-type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.
Ocean Villas
Our villas make the perfect resort home; elegantly furnished with a masterful blend of luxury and elegance. The Ocean Villas are unsurpassed by anything that the island of Oahu has ever seen in oceanfront resort accommodations. The entryway leads to a gourmet kitchen, which is adjacent to a spacious living/dining area. The master bedroom is furnished with 1 king bed; each guest room has 1 queen bed and the living room has a queen sized sofa sleeper. Enjoy exclusive amenities such as the Ocean Villa pool, Jacuzzi, courtyard, and barbeque area.
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds. Partial Oceanview located on the second floor. 478 square feet. Complimentary wireless Internet access, compact refrigerator, coffeemaker, and cable TV with HBO, pay movies, and video games (surcharge). A daily resort fee covers local phone calls, weekday newspaper delivery, and in-room safe. Non-smoking only. One king or two double beds.
ADA Accesible Oceanfront King
Our ADA accessible ocean front room includes a king sized bed. An automatic wide door ensures easy and smooth access into the spacious 478 feet dwelling. Grab bars for comfort and security are located throughout the roomy restroom. The tub includes a shower bench and handheld shower head to ensure ease. The double lanai door is equipped with a ramp. The closet is wheel chair accessible with a low clothing rack. A portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request. Lamps are touch activated for easy use. The closed-captioning option is available for television viewing.
ADA Accessible Oceanside Cottage
One king or two queen beds. Inside, find polished Brazilian walnut floors leading to a large, multi-level beach retreat with 15-foot ceilings and king poster beds. Luxuriate in a Kallista deep-soak tub or take care of business using wireless Internet access. Let our exclusive cottage concierge tend to your every need. Room includes location near handicap parking stalls, ADA accessible ramp to cottage, automatic wheel chair accessible door, ramp in cottage to access multi-levels, double lanai door with ramp for wheel chair access to lanai, spacious ADA accessible bathroom, roll-in shower, handheld showerhead, low tub, grab bars throughout the bathroom, touch activated lights, ADA accessible closet, closed-captioning option for television, and a portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request.
Ocean View
Beautiful views of the ocean and resort, a full bath with vanity, wireless Internet access, telephone with two lines and data port and sleep two to four. Two double queen beds or a king size bed
Oceanfront
Small Balcony with Full View Of Turtle Bay And Hawaiian Sunrises with Two Queen Beds. Studio type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

21.698 -157.9903
Area served
North Shore, Polynesian Cultural Center, Kawela Bay, Kuilima Cove, Turtle Bay.
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
About an hour from Honolulu, Turtle Bay Resort is set against a landscape of cattle pastures, plantation homes, lush windward valleys and the scenic, world-famous surfing beaches of Oahu's Fabled North Shore. Both laidback and vibrant, the North Shore attracts millions of visitors each year and offers a variety of colorful cafes and shops. You'll also be a few minutes' drive from the Polynesian Cultural Center.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort has more than 28,000 square feet of event and pre-function space perfect for group sizes up to 600 indoors and 2000 outdoors. An experienced conference servicing team is available to assist with all program needs including menu planning, technology support and recreational activities.

Dining

Pa'akai
A fresh twist on locally sourced dining. Pa'akai - or "sea salt" in the Hawaiian language, reflecting Hawaii's numerous seaside salt beds - features sea-to-table cuisine. Pa'akai's menu highlights the best in fresh local fish, farm-raised lobster, Kauai prawns, sea asparagus, seaweed and sea salt produced in Hawaii.
North Shore Kula Grille
The ancient Hawaiians divided their land into three sections: Mauka, kula and makai - or mountains, midland and the sea - known as ahupua 'a. It is the kula lands, primarily used for agriculture, that now serve as the inspiration for the North Shore Kula Grille. A place where farm-to-table thinking is behind every ingredient on our menu.
Lobby Lounge
At the Lobby Lounge, you will find friendly service, exotic cocktails and a diverse menu to satisfy all of your cravings. Enjoy freshly brewed Coffees, Latts, Cappuccinos, Espresso Drinks, Smoothies, Beer, Wine, and Handcrafted Cocktails like the Pupukea Lychee and the Skinny Lilikoi Chi Chi. Signature dishes include Citrus Ponzu Calamari and Grilled Kahuku Honey & Mango Glazed Chicken.
Ola
Enjoy contemporary island cuisine with the sand between your toes. The only restaurant on O'ahu located literally on the beach, Ola is an experience for all the senses. The concept, cuisine and atmosphere of the open-aired restaurant that literally sits on the beach is summed up in its name, "Ola" which means "life, living, healthy and alive." Chef Fred DeAngelo delights guests with his innovative cuisine.
Surfer, The Bar
Forget dark wood paneling and marble bar-tops, Surfer has its own very original look and feel. And although the bartender can fastidiously make your favorite cocktail, the drink of choice here is a 16-ounce pint of ice-cold beer, many of them local small-batch brews. Sure the food is fresh, flavorful, sometimes spicy Hawaiian comfort food, prepared by white-hat chefs in the acclaimed resort kitchen. But food, beverage and dcor are not the real reasons why the audience - locals, guests of the hotel and word travelers - gather here.
Hang Ten Bar & Grill
Enjoy tropical drinks surfside at the outdoor Hang Ten Bar & Grill. Stop by for a refreshing break and one of the island's best Mai Tai's. Relax to the sounds of the surf while you discover why Turtle Bay Resort has received awards for "Hotel with the Best View." Every night of the week you will find something special happening here. You may find a Drum Circle, a keiki hula halau, live Hawaiian Style music, Fish Fries, or Fire Knife Dancers and every day at sunset you have a chance to order the Hang Ten signature drink, the "Green Flash".
Lei Lei's Bar and Grill
Mouthwatering dishes and a laid back atmosphere make Lei Lei's a famous local haunt on O'ahu's Fabled North Shore. Talk Story with entertaining manager and host Ian. The excellent dishes and service is what brings regulars from the surf and movie industry here Dinner features a menu brimming over with entrees of fresh, succulent seafood, savory beef, chicken and pork prepared to perfection. Signature dishes include slow-roasted prime rib, ginger soy Ahi and our warm bacon dressing spinach salad. Compliment the meal with a selection from our extensive wine list. Lei Lei's is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is served weekdays starting at 7:00 a.m. and on weekends starting at 6:30 a.m. Lunch is served from 11:00 a.m. Dinner seating begins at 5:00 p.m. with the last seating at 10:00 p.m. Live soloist music is played every Thursday and Sunday nights from 6:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (941)

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
941 out of 941
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 27, 2007

Great Views & Service

At first we were put in a room on the 6th floor, which was right under the roof air conditioning unit. This resulted in a constant rumbling sound. We called the front desk, and they immediately sent a maintence person to check on it. When they couldn't do anything to fix the problem, they switched us to another room as soon as we asked. We ended up with an even better view of the water. The views were spectacluar and we really enjoyed sitting on the balcony, eating lunch and watching the ocean. Great sunrises and rainbows too! We ordered room service several times...the menu was a little limited, different things for lunch and dinner--but the portions were huge and the food was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hale'iwa has L&L BBQ (local lunch plate place) and shave ice at Matsamoto's Grocery Store

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SeansGirl
NY
Jan 8, 2013

Forgot to Add.....

You can walk miles up the shore.....we were by ourselves on the beach and saw sea turtles swimming!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss: -Polynesian Cultural Center -Dole Plantation -Pearl Harbor -Sea Life Park (we swam with dolphins and sea lions!)

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tennis girl
Gray TN
Apr 27, 2010

Absolute Paradise!

This is an absolutely beautiful resort. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Our view was spectacular of Turtle Bay and Pacific Ocean. Our last day, I saw 3 "blows" from migrating humpback whales from my room (one of the most economical in the resort). The grounds are very spacious and painstakingly maintained daily. There was reasonably priced food available for breakfast and lunch but dinner was a little pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Turtle Den

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alberta, Canada
May 29, 2009

Excellent!!

The hotel is beautifully situated allowing for an ocean view from every room. Our room was spotless!! The staff were kind, friendly and very helpful. The restaurants were quite pricey, so we stayed off the resort for meals. I'd recommend Ted's Bakery for Chocolate Haupia pie [sooo delicious]. They also serve meals, but it's pretty greasy. We really enjoyed 'Breakers' in Haleiwa. Excellent food for a great price and great service. I would definitely stay at Turtle Bay Resort again!!! Way better than being crowded in Waikiki!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I wanna move to Hawii
Nashville, Tennessee
May 19, 2010

An Amazing Second Honeymoon

Turtle Bay is in a category all by its own. The staff was so nice, informing, and first class. We loved snorkeling in the bay, the long walks beachside, and sight seeing around the island. The breakfast bar was out of the world. The view from our room was so good for sunsets we never had to leave our balcony. Everything about the trip was so unforgetable and a trip of a lifetime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Call ahead...Parks, attractions etc.. are sometimes booked in advance. Shows are scheduled for certain times, and just be prepared before planning for your activities.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KMF
Lynnwood, WA
Nov 25, 2009

Treated like a king and queen!

The service was great and yes we will most definitely stay there again if we go back to Oahu. My husband and I liked staying at the North shore because we very much enjoyed the quietness. If you plan on going back and forth to Waikiki or Honolulu, would recommend you stay in those areas because the North shore is about an hour drive. Really, the only complaint we have is the carpet in our room was very dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining at resort is a bit pricey, so would recommend going to local eataries.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Irvine, CA
May 3, 2010

Great views!

Great snorkling just steps from the hotel. Paths in the trees for quiet walks out of the sun or beautiful deserted beaches for a walk in the sun. We spent days in glorious bliss and never left the resort property. Spent a lot of time on the balcony because the view was outstanding. We felt we were experiencing the real Hawaii in the nearby neighborhoods, away from the commercialism of Honolulu. Will definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkling, hiking, beaches, horseback riding, golf... all right there at the resort.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
May 22, 2007

This hotel has good personal and business amenities.

Turtle Bay resort was an excellent way to see the other part of Oahu, Hi. We had stayed for two days by Waikiki Beach and then travelled north to see big waves and surfers. There were no big waves, but the contrast from the city life to the mysterious and completely peaceful was perfect. There is no strife here. The breakfast buffet exceeding all expectations. And more than that all the hotel staff were extremely friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Polynesian Culture center/Moonlight Bay/Turtle Bay Golf Course etc.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Apr 20, 2007

Great Honeymoon

Turtle Bay Resort was great. We got married on Maui and spent the last 3 day of our honeymoon at Turtle Bay. It was one of the highlights of our trip. The location is great and lots to do. The restaurants were all very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uncle crow
Little Rock Arkansas
Mar 15, 2010

25th anniversary get away

We had a wonderful time---the staff was great and always helpful--Trina took care of our room and did a perfect job!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the shrimp trucks for lunch!!!!!

Back to menu Return to top