$227 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
View map of 57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
551 out of 551
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lawdawg
Business
Lumberton, NC
May 14, 2012

Honeymoon Paradise

Wonderful!! beautiful!! away from the terrible city life of Honolulu! peaceful, quiet, didn't want to leave! slept with the balcony door open every night and listened to the waves roll in and the breeze blowing through the palms! snorkled for free, provided by the resort, right on the beach, which was really nice! would recommend this to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SmbkG
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
May 9, 2012

We'll never stay anywhere else.

Turtle Bay Resort is amazing. There are so many things to do and the resort grounds are so huge my husband and two young daughters had sooo much fun just exploring. We saw tons of turtles, seals and the kids fed horses and went for pony rides. We took a trail out to a WWII bunker and spent hours upon hours finding seashells on the beach and exploring all the little tide pools. My husband had a great time snorkeling and said the fish were beautiful. The hotels pools are also awesome, there's a 1.5 ft kiddie pool and then another heated 4 ft kiddie pool with a water slide so fun, even my husband and I couldn't get enough. Every staff member we met or even just passed in the hallway was genuinly friendly and helpful. We were very well taken care of, had an amazing time and will definitely be going back. I won't stay anywhere else on Oahu now that I've seen the beautiful, laid back Turtle Bay Resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Polynesian Cultural Center. Not far from the Turtle Bay Resort and it was a fun and interesting place to visit. My whole family enjoyed all the games and activities and learning about all the different cultures.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Samad
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Apr 27, 2012

Views to take your breathe away!!!

We really enjoyed staying @ Turtle Bay, what a beautiful hotel. The views, food, beaches....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Best food in Hawaii was off a food truck called 3 tables! OMG that shrimp garlic pineapple & rice was unbelievable!!! We ate there everyday!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Word
Business
Humboldt County,CA
Apr 16, 2012

Very family friendly

This hotel is on a very beautiful coastal area with lots to see and do as a family. We spent a week at the resort with plans to spend a couple of days in Honolulu but after a half day in the city we decided our stay at the Turtle Bay Resort on the north shore was time better spent. Great vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ted's Bakery has great local foods and pies.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Traveler Single Mom
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Family Spring Break

Great place for the family. Good location (away from the crowds) and kid-friendly. Loved it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Use Living Social and Groupon for local discounts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bailey26
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Beautiful setting!

this is a resort offering any and every activity, with nice pools and beach. The 3 restaurants we tried were very good, with the exception of Lei Lei's. We prefer to go to Haleiwa for great food. The rooms are tired and dated, needs a reno, but beds, baths are large and comfy. Staff is into service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Luibuenos, Opal Thai and Cafe Haleiwa are worth the short drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WHMa
Business
Kennewick, WA, USA
Jan 7, 2012

Our Experience

The location is wonderful and most beautiful. The food is good and very expensive, so, come prepared. We were surprised at he "incidental costs" that you were charged for even though you did not utilize the services provided. For instance, you were provided one hour access each day to the snorkeling equipment and canoeing and several other nice services, but if you didn't use them you were still required to pay the $25/day charge. We would like to have been made aware of this fact upfront. Overall it is beautiful facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Enjoy the Several shrimp stands or shrimp vending trucks along the highway just east of the resort which obtain their shrimp from the local, at hand, shrimp farms. Excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Could of been better
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 4, 2012

Not 4 star

Hotel was ok. Staff needs to learn what customer service is. Concierge service needs to understand what there job is & being rude should not be part of it. A daily resort fee is not really necessary. Leonardo's resturant needs some work. Twenty one was excellent. Location was beautiful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bluedaisy03
Business
Texas, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Beautiful scenery!

I thought the hotel was nice, not fantastic as the price would indicate, but nice. The view from the room was fabulous. The breakfast buffet was great, but overpriced at $25 each. The hotel charges you $25 a day for their amenitities, whether you use them or not and each "activity" cost, except the beach or pool. We did not do anything except snorkel and go into the water. But the location on the North Shore is wonderful and is close enough to Honolulu but far away from all the crowds. That being said, everything is over-priced in Hawaii!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WinterHoneymooners
Business
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Great location, average hotel

The ocean view was beautiful and so were the resort grounds. The North Shore is pleasantly less touristy. For location and outward style, Turtle Bay scores a 100%. However, my wife and I quickly decided we would not be ordering room service again after two tries with not so tasty food. The room service comes from the same kitchens that supply the resort restaurants, so we avoided those as well. Luckily, there are local eateries along the Kamehameha Highway and a mini fridge in the hotel (no microwave, though). I don't think the resort was worth the cost and extra fees (I'm surprised they don't charge extra fees for breathing the resort air), but I would definitely recommend visiting the North Shore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you don't see a place you like, keep driving just a little ways on the Kamehameha Highway in either direction. There are lots of places west in Haleiwa Town, or east in La'ie if none of the roadside places are interesting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top