$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
View map of 57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
512 out of 512
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lovela
Business
CA
May 31, 2012

Disappointed

I was really looking forward to a five star hotel on the north shore. I was sorely disappointed. This hotel is in need of an upgrade soon. The location on the beach is spectacular, but the rooms were lacking, no robes, the food at the different venues was average at best. In room dining lacked taste. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Polynesian Culture Center is a 15 min drive away.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deenie
Business
Wingate, In.
May 18, 2012

Great place to relax

This was a wonderful 3 days and I would recommend to a friend. I am planning another visit next year. There are a couple of reasons that the rating was not a 5 across the board.I made my plans in Feb. and requested a king size bed with an Ocean View. I got a room with a (1) Queen size bed with a view of the roof below me and the pool area. I could lean out over the railing on the balcony and see the ocean but not quite up to what I was looking for. There were a lot of rooms with the view that I was looking for. I did not request a different room; that was my fault. Like I said I am planning on returning and I know which room/villa to request. Regards, D. Commons

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soeder
Business
Houston, TX
May 15, 2012

Let's just buy a room here.

My wife and I paused when we walked in the front door of our cottage room and just stared. The beautiful room was great, but the view out the back door just blew us away. Every day was a delight as we could sit on our back porch and just look upon the ocean. We left the back door open every night and listened to the waves as we fell asleep. Every staff member, from bartender to Concierge, was more than pleasant. The beauty, location, and comfort level of Turtle Bay were beyond belief. We just got back from our trip there for our honeymoon, and we already can't wait to get back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kahuku Grill! On 83, headed down the East side of the island. Coconut-Macadamia shrimp. Fantastic! Also, Matsumoto Grocery in the North Shore area. Get the shave ice with the ice cream on the bottom and condensed milk on top. SO FANTASTIC! We stopped in three times during our week in Oahu.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lawdawg
Business
Lumberton, NC
May 14, 2012

Honeymoon Paradise

Wonderful!! beautiful!! away from the terrible city life of Honolulu! peaceful, quiet, didn't want to leave! slept with the balcony door open every night and listened to the waves roll in and the breeze blowing through the palms! snorkled for free, provided by the resort, right on the beach, which was really nice! would recommend this to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SmbkG
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
May 9, 2012

We'll never stay anywhere else.

Turtle Bay Resort is amazing. There are so many things to do and the resort grounds are so huge my husband and two young daughters had sooo much fun just exploring. We saw tons of turtles, seals and the kids fed horses and went for pony rides. We took a trail out to a WWII bunker and spent hours upon hours finding seashells on the beach and exploring all the little tide pools. My husband had a great time snorkeling and said the fish were beautiful. The hotels pools are also awesome, there's a 1.5 ft kiddie pool and then another heated 4 ft kiddie pool with a water slide so fun, even my husband and I couldn't get enough. Every staff member we met or even just passed in the hallway was genuinly friendly and helpful. We were very well taken care of, had an amazing time and will definitely be going back. I won't stay anywhere else on Oahu now that I've seen the beautiful, laid back Turtle Bay Resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Polynesian Cultural Center. Not far from the Turtle Bay Resort and it was a fun and interesting place to visit. My whole family enjoyed all the games and activities and learning about all the different cultures.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Samad
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Apr 27, 2012

Views to take your breathe away!!!

We really enjoyed staying @ Turtle Bay, what a beautiful hotel. The views, food, beaches....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Best food in Hawaii was off a food truck called 3 tables! OMG that shrimp garlic pineapple & rice was unbelievable!!! We ate there everyday!

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Word
Business
Humboldt County,CA
Apr 16, 2012

Very family friendly

This hotel is on a very beautiful coastal area with lots to see and do as a family. We spent a week at the resort with plans to spend a couple of days in Honolulu but after a half day in the city we decided our stay at the Turtle Bay Resort on the north shore was time better spent. Great vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ted's Bakery has great local foods and pies.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Traveler Single Mom
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Family Spring Break

Great place for the family. Good location (away from the crowds) and kid-friendly. Loved it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Use Living Social and Groupon for local discounts.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bailey26
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Beautiful setting!

this is a resort offering any and every activity, with nice pools and beach. The 3 restaurants we tried were very good, with the exception of Lei Lei's. We prefer to go to Haleiwa for great food. The rooms are tired and dated, needs a reno, but beds, baths are large and comfy. Staff is into service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Luibuenos, Opal Thai and Cafe Haleiwa are worth the short drive.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WHMa
Business
Kennewick, WA, USA
Jan 7, 2012

Our Experience

The location is wonderful and most beautiful. The food is good and very expensive, so, come prepared. We were surprised at he "incidental costs" that you were charged for even though you did not utilize the services provided. For instance, you were provided one hour access each day to the snorkeling equipment and canoeing and several other nice services, but if you didn't use them you were still required to pay the $25/day charge. We would like to have been made aware of this fact upfront. Overall it is beautiful facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Enjoy the Several shrimp stands or shrimp vending trucks along the highway just east of the resort which obtain their shrimp from the local, at hand, shrimp farms. Excellent.

Back to menu Return to top