$287 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 14, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
View map of 57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
598 out of 598
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Berna Healing Facilitator
Business
Kauai, HI
Oct 14, 2012

Great Weekend Get Away

Staff and associates 99% of the time were very much into "Knock Your Shoes off Customer Service", They were great! Ambience was perfect most of the time, didn't expect children running around inside the common areas as that made it uncomfortable and worrisome if the children got hurt. Views were great and most of the time very relaxing. Mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Banzai Sushi in Haleiwa was the BEST!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aagro
Business
Federal Way, WA
Oct 13, 2012

Stunning location

The view from the six floor in the southwest wing was epic. The room was always fresh and clean, and the layout of the property was perfect. Lots of things to see and activities as you walk around the resort. I did not like the $25 a day resort fee nor the hike to the parking but I would stay again in spite of that. (Hiking to the car was probably excellent exercise)! The hike to the opposite point of land and the bunker was lovely- you can view the ocean on both sides of the point, forest then jungle, green turtles. The views from the property of the waves and surfers are great because it is so close. The restaurants in the resort were very well staffed with friendly professionals but simply too expensive. We ate in the nearby town of Haleiwa to the west and Kahuku and beyond to the east. Big wave beaches in the winter are a close drive west and beautiful swimming/surfing beaches esp. Malaekahana are a very short drive to the east.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive to the grocery store across from Shark Cove and buy delicious kaiser rolls (perfectly baked), with cheese and fruit like grapes and bananas. You can also but a baked chicken for a delicious sandwich on the roll. They also have a large selection of juices, water, milk, and beer. You can wrap it in the newpaper and place it in the 1.99 tote bag for a great lunch. You need to supply a phone number to get the 'special' market prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paiute Paul
Business
California
Oct 11, 2012

Beautiful Setting

We watched incredible sunrises & sunsets, hiked along the ocean, and snorkled with turtles, all there at the resort. The food was delicious also, a little pricy but worth it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop at the closest grocery store for much cheaper meals that you can eat in your room, like breakfast items, muffins, fruit, sodas & bottled water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ppderra
Business
São Paulo, Brazil
Oct 7, 2012

`Honeymoon trip

It was excellent. We were at the beach. We chose the north shore that was pretty calm... what we wanted for the vacation. The room had a beautiful ocean view. We intend to come back with kids the next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Breakfast at Ted's Bakery... somewhat 4 miles from Turtle Bay Resort going to Sunset Beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Darth Ol
Business
San Jose, CA.
Oct 4, 2012

Awesome time!

- Professional and courteous staff! - Clean room - Comfortable bed - Awesome activities to choose from - Beautiful waves and views

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Segwaying is fun and a great experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nanedsmomba
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 30, 2012

Perfect location- hotel rooms need renovation

The location is definetely amazing. Huge property, which gives enough room for privacy. No other hotels in the area can beat that. The hotel rooms and certain areas in the hotel need serious upgrade. the bathrooms are old and with visible cheap patches in the shower. The women bathroom by the pool has a huge whole behind the the toilet seat and no sign of planned repair or any regards by the hotel. A little TLC and minor upgrades would put the hotel to a 5 star hotel very easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

restaurant on the beach. great food and great service. decent price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Away from work
Business
Riverton, UT
Sep 20, 2012

Great Location!

This is a great place to stay. Location was perfect. Rooms were very clean, and the views were absolutely beautiful. Very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vanman99
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 28, 2012

First Vacation in Years

This was our first vacation in years and I have to say I was so disappointed in the hotel and the area. I had never been to Hawaii before but the beaches at the hotel were rocky and hard to walk on the sand was alot rougher than beaches in Florida or Cali. The Room was subpar the bathtub had been painted and the paint was coming off, when we first got there was oil or water running down the wall from the ac unit you could see old water staining where it had leaked before. The food was way over priced I mean 26 bucks for a buffet breakfast is crazy and dont even get me started with the dinner prices, we went off site every night and morning to eat. Overall I was utterly disappointed in the experience at the resort and the North shore in general.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Breakers is a good value to eat at in Hale Iwa

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms Dottie
Business
New Mexico
Aug 22, 2012

Beautiful location

The location is awesome! The ambiance and cleanliness of the rooms was not up to the level that we expected since we had been there in March of 2011. Several of the staff were great, but there was not the friendly, welcoming spirit by many of the staff that we experienced on our previous trip. We were there for ten days so we ate at several of the restaurants, enjoyed the beach and saw many of the sites around the island. We love the North Shore, but we were somewhat disappointed in the Resort on this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Waimea Valley is a "must see". It is beautiful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Basserk
Business
Santa Barbara, Ca.
Aug 12, 2012

North Shore Paradise

We spent a week at the Turtle Bay Resort on Oahu's North Shore. Although we drove one day to take in the Waikiki scene and the Arizona Memorial that was more than enough for us! We really enjoyed the layed-back vibe of the North Shore. You definitely don't have the dining options but still found some very good places to eat. Lei's Lei's was our favorite. The Turtle Bay Resort is not the Four Seasons but we were not expecting it or paying for it. Overall I felt the Turtle Bay Resort was a good value. Really, how much time do you spend in your room anyway? Staff was freindly and helpful. I would go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We took in the attraction of swimming with wild spinner dolphins in the open ocean. It was a great experience! Seemed a little sketchy at first being about a half mile off shore but all was very safe and controlled. We were on the Island Spirit. The captain and crew were exceptional. Very comfortable motor powered catamaran. The trip was out of the Waiwane (sp) Harbor. I would defintely recommend the Island Spirit and this excursion.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top