$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2015 Check-out: Jul 14, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
View map of 57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
602 out of 602
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rocky mountain views
Business
Colorado
Jan 30, 2013

"re-styling" a necessity

I didnt see the four stars this place is rated. It has alot of ways to spend more money once you are there. The room (king) was nice a big but I think its overrated. It does have the one place on Oahu that you could snorkel during high surf warnings and the location for sunsets was great. Wished it was more but didnt charge so much for the more. They have just begun a "restyling" which may cause some construction distress if all you want to do is take naps or hang out on your lanai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ewayne
Business
Utah
Jan 24, 2013

Good Hotel, excellent location

We only stayed one night. The view from the balcony was extraordinary. The room showed signs of wear--needed some finish work of the wood parts. Door from hallway tended to stick some times. Since hotel is in state of renovation, some things were less convenient. Staff was friendly, especially the bell crew. Parking is a problem. I think the price is a little high given the repairs being made and the age of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CalFamily
Business
California
Jan 13, 2013

Good, not great

Location is amazing and there are a lot of activities both at the hotel and close by. If you are a surfer or like water, you will be happy here. The rooms are tired and the staff was just ok. I think it's overpriced for what it is, but it's the only hotel on the north shore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SeansGirl
Business
NY
Jan 8, 2013

Forgot to Add.....

You can walk miles up the shore.....we were by ourselves on the beach and saw sea turtles swimming!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss: -Polynesian Cultural Center -Dole Plantation -Pearl Harbor -Sea Life Park (we swam with dolphins and sea lions!)

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SeansGirl
Business
NY
Jan 8, 2013

Great Honeymoon Location

Hubby and I spent our honeymoon here in June. The location is fabulous! Beautiful views no matter where in the resort your room is. We were on the fifth floor, and slept with our patio door open at night to feel the breeze and listen to the ocean. Our room was beautiful. Other reviews mention shabby rooms, but ours had definitely been updated. Very comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom. The staff did a turn down service every evening where they dimmed the lights and turned on relaxing music- nice touch. There was a lot to do here- everything from sunbathing to snorkeling to surfing. You can be as busy or as relaxed as you want. There is even a helicopter tour service on site which we took advantage of- take Dramamine, but it's a must-do! The staff were all very friendly and helpful- no complaints there whatseover. There were planty of families with children, but the hotel was very quiet- noise did not carry from other rooms at all. Very good for light sleepers like me! The only negatives: 1. The $25-per-day resort fee. 2. Not all-inclusive- you pay for all meals and most activities. 3. Dining on site is very pricey no matter where you eat. Even the breakfast buffet was expensive. We ended up buying food at a local grocery store to keep in our room for breakfast and snacks. Overall, though, we were definitely very happy with the overall experience and would recommend Turtle Bay! It was breathtaking and the North Shore is quiet and peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Melissa
Business
Bellevue, WA
Jan 5, 2013

Excellent location for families

Turtle bay is in a WONDERFUL location, it really doesn't get any better. All rooms are ocean view - on one side you have a view of a calm bay and the other, a view of the surf that is the North Shore. We loved this destination for our extended family. Through the hotel we snorkeled (gear rental is free for an hour#, rode on horseback along the coast and through areas where lost was filmed #this was all in walking distance of the hotel and on hotel property#, and swam in warm pools / waterslide #the waterslide was a huge hit for the kids#. The rooms were large and clean and overall, the food was good. Ola's served excellent food - the Surfer Bar too. Our only complaint was that there should be more wait staff at the pool area - and that food and drinks should be served as late as people would like them #it took too long to get drinks and we were unable to get food, poolside, late in the afternoon#. Other than that, the activity options #surfing and paddle boarding school also right on site#, were incredible. The staff couldn't have been nicer. We were there during the holidays and the hotel was at full capacity so this may have impacted how thinly pool drink staff was stretched. We never went into Waikiki and were told by many that we were smart to skip it. We felt like we were in true Hawaii for our whole trip #and have visited several islands / hotels over the past 10 years#. We recommend visiting Pearl Harbor, the Polynesian Cultural Center, doing a "Lost"TV/Movie Hummer Tour, and visiting the Sea Life Aquarium #to swim with the stingrays, dolphins and to feed the sea lions#. We will definitely go back to Turtle Bay #it's a gem of a hotel, in a location on Oahu unlike any other).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
..JT
Business
Arizona
Dec 27, 2012

Best Experience yet!

I have to say that I have no complaints at all. Excellent resort. Can't wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Check out the surfer bar at least once. Good times!

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zopejogi
Business
Tokyo, Japan
Dec 24, 2012

A Beautiful Week

Turtle Bay was a nice resort for our family's winter holiday. The hotel offers pools, beach access and as much or as little activity as you'd like. We unfortunately had some bad weather during our week, rainy and chilly, but made the best of it in the hot tub. The area around the hotel is mellow consisting primarily of surfer types and small restaurants. The scenery on the north shore is spectacular and much more beautiful than the other parts of the island. If you're looking for a gorgeous setting with the option to relax or play, this is the spot for you. The food is pricey, but you can save off the resort at some of the shrimp trucks or local, modest eateries. One thing I would change if I could (and this is minor), is that the coffee at the resort is not very good. Other than that, it was a fine place to spend a week. We had a lovely time in one of the most beautiful settings I've ever visited. Scuba diving, horseback riding, golf, surfing lessons and then some are some of the activities you can do here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

On Thursday from 3-7 hit the farmer's market at Waimea Falls Park. The food is fresh and homemade (there's lots of heavy local eats so this was a treat). They sell crafts and fresh fruit and veg too. Also, check out Haleiwa for some good Thai food/Japanese food and cute shopping opportunities.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike DXQ
Business
northern CA
Dec 17, 2012

room needs better cleaning

room good but not clean (and cleaning people did not do a good job each day) - and there were ants !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LL travels a lot
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Dec 14, 2012

North Shore Escape

This location is simply beautiful and that is what you are paying for. The rooms are run down and are in need of remodeling. I found out that no remodeling has happened in 40 years. So the inside of the rooms are straight out of the 70's. do not be fooled by the pictures, the rooms you are seeing are the villas and not the actual hotel rooms. On a positive note, if you spend most of your time outside your room it is a stunning surrounding. Trails and beaches are fantastic. The service at the hotel restaurants, valet and bell desk are great but the front desk needs some improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The flea market about 8 miles to the east of this property has amazing food trucks. Try Giovanni shrimp, BBQ corn and the Korean BBQ. Amazing island eats!

Back to menu Return to top