$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 14, 2014

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
523 reviews
great remote getaway

wondeful, remote, away from the city, the hussle and bussle. there are many beautiful beaches and... See full review

  • tacomamv
  • Apr 18, 2014
Turtle Bay

After 25 plus years, I returned to vacation for 8 days at Turtle Bay (03/2014). Complete remodel,... See full review

  • aloha2014
  • Apr 7, 2014
Rustic luxury on the big-surf North Shore
A rural oasis of 840 oceanfront acres, Turtle Bay Resort is about an hour drive from Honolulu and the only resort serving Oahu’s spectacular surfer country, the North Shore. The property includes five miles of pristine beaches and 12 miles of tranquil ocean and forest trails, plus swimming pools, tennis courts and two championship golf courses. Add ocean views from every guest room, a full spa and award-winning restaurants on site, and it’s easy to say "paradise found."
Highlights
  • Experience the beauty, serenity and aloha spirit of the “real Hawaii,” far from the urban bustle of Honolulu
  • Enjoy an ocean view from every room at the resort for in-season whale watching
  • Sign up for an on-site surf lesson with the renowned Hans Hedemann Surf School
Location
About an hour from Honolulu, Turtle Bay Resort is set against a landscape of cattle pastures, plantation homes, lush windward valleys and the scenic, world-famous surfing beaches of Oahu’s Fabled North Shore. Both laidback and vibrant, the North Shore attracts millions of visitors each year and offers a variety of colorful cafes and shops. You’ll also be a few minutes’ drive from the Polynesian Cultural Center.
Rooms
Borrowing from the typical Hawaiian home's light and airy feel, the new rooms' accents are the North Shore views.  It's a new outlook on your favorite getaway.  Each of the Turtle Bay rooms is a spacious 478 square feet or larger, with complimentary Wi-Fi. Premium and deluxe rooms, as well as suites, also include private balconies. On-property beach cottages and beach villas offer extra privacy and luxury with features ranging from wet bar, deep-soak tub, marble bathroom and full kitchen to exclusive concierge service.
Dining
The collection of dining options at Turtle Bay Resort allows guests to indulge in the finest Hawaiian Island cuisine prepared by knowledgeable chefs in spellbinding settings.  Harmonizing the influences of Hawaii with the freshest organic ingredients from the North Shore, the chefs present a sumptuous menu rich in exotic tastes and artistic flare. Sample handcrafted cocktails from our Mixologists or create your own.
Recreation
  • Nalu Kinetic Spa
  • Nalu salon
  • Ocean views from every guestroom          
  • 80 Foot Waterslide & children’s pool
  • Five miles of beach    
  • Nalu Fitness center with classes
  • 12 miles of hiking & biking trails                
  • Stand Up Paddle (SUP) boarding
  • 36 Holes of Championship Golf                
  • Moped rentals
  • Surf School    
  • Segway tours
  • Two swimming pools and hot tubs    
  • Business center
  • Horseback riding    
  • 7 Restaurants and bars
  • Tennis courts                    
  • Enterprise Car rentals
  • Wi-Fi access    
  • Snorkel equipment
  • Water sports equipment rental                
  • Resort shops    
  • Hawaiiana activities
  • Eco-Kayak Tours
  • Onsite Florist    
  • Helicopter Tours
  • Full Concierge Services

Fees may apply

Transportation
  • Honolulu International Airport (37.5 mi/67.4 km)
Attractions
  • Polynesian Cultural Center (7 mi/11.2 km)
  • Waimea Valley (7 mi/11.2 km)
  • Haleiwa Town (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Kualoa Ranch Hawaii (20 mi/32.1 km)
Business
The Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort has more than 28,000 square feet of event and pre-function space perfect for group sizes up to 600 indoors and 2000 outdoors. An experienced conference servicing team is available to assist with all program needs including menu planning, technology support and recreational activities.
Policies and fees
NOTICE: Turtle Bay Resort is undergoing an enhancement project in a main building guestroom tower. Complete renovation is scheduled to be completed late October 2013.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Turtle Bay Resort Rooms

Ocean Front Beach Cottage
The Beach Cottages at Turtle Bay Resort are grouped in clusters of six and situated along the west shore of beautiful Turtle Bay. The cottages are equipped with large marble bathrooms featuring Kallista deep-soak tubs, freestanding glass showers, and private, enclosed toilets.
Deluxe Oceanfront
Full Balcony Offering Spectacular Ocean Views and Hawaiian Sunsets with Two Queen Beds Studio-type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.
Ocean Villas
Our villas make the perfect resort home; elegantly furnished with a masterful blend of luxury and elegance. The Ocean Villas are unsurpassed by anything that the island of Oahu has ever seen in oceanfront resort accommodations. The entryway leads to a gourmet kitchen, which is adjacent to a spacious living/dining area. The master bedroom is furnished with 1 king bed; each guest room has 1 queen bed and the living room has a queen sized sofa sleeper. Enjoy exclusive amenities such as the Ocean Villa pool, Jacuzzi, courtyard, and barbeque area.
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds. Partial Oceanview located on the second floor. 478 square feet. Complimentary wireless Internet access, compact refrigerator, coffeemaker, and cable TV with HBO, pay movies, and video games (surcharge). A daily resort fee covers local phone calls, weekday newspaper delivery, and in-room safe. Non-smoking only. One king or two double beds.
ADA Accesible Oceanfront King
Our ADA accessible ocean front room includes a king sized bed. An automatic wide door ensures easy and smooth access into the spacious 478 feet dwelling. Grab bars for comfort and security are located throughout the roomy restroom. The tub includes a shower bench and handheld shower head to ensure ease. The double lanai door is equipped with a ramp. The closet is wheel chair accessible with a low clothing rack. A portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request. Lamps are touch activated for easy use. The closed-captioning option is available for television viewing.
ADA Accessible Oceanside Cottage
One king or two queen beds. Inside, find polished Brazilian walnut floors leading to a large, multi-level beach retreat with 15-foot ceilings and king poster beds. Luxuriate in a Kallista deep-soak tub or take care of business using wireless Internet access. Let our exclusive cottage concierge tend to your every need. Room includes location near handicap parking stalls, ADA accessible ramp to cottage, automatic wheel chair accessible door, ramp in cottage to access multi-levels, double lanai door with ramp for wheel chair access to lanai, spacious ADA accessible bathroom, roll-in shower, handheld showerhead, low tub, grab bars throughout the bathroom, touch activated lights, ADA accessible closet, closed-captioning option for television, and a portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request.
Ocean View
Beautiful views of the ocean and resort, a full bath with vanity, wireless Internet access, telephone with two lines and data port and sleep two to four. Two double queen beds or a king size bed
Oceanfront
Small Balcony with Full View Of Turtle Bay And Hawaiian Sunrises with Two Queen Beds. Studio type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

21.698 -157.9903
Area served
North Shore, Polynesian Cultural Center, Kawela Bay, Kuilima Cove, Turtle Bay.
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
About an hour from Honolulu, Turtle Bay Resort is set against a landscape of cattle pastures, plantation homes, lush windward valleys and the scenic, world-famous surfing beaches of Oahu's Fabled North Shore. Both laidback and vibrant, the North Shore attracts millions of visitors each year and offers a variety of colorful cafes and shops. You'll also be a few minutes' drive from the Polynesian Cultural Center.

Dining

Pa'akai
A fresh twist on locally sourced dining. Pa'akai - or "sea salt" in the Hawaiian language, reflecting Hawaii's numerous seaside salt beds - features sea-to-table cuisine. Pa'akai's menu highlights the best in fresh local fish, farm-raised lobster, Kauai prawns, sea asparagus, seaweed and sea salt produced in Hawaii.
North Shore Kula Grille
The ancient Hawaiians divided their land into three sections: Mauka, kula and makai - or mountains, midland and the sea - known as ahupua 'a. It is the kula lands, primarily used for agriculture, that now serve as the inspiration for the North Shore Kula Grille. A place where farm-to-table thinking is behind every ingredient on our menu.
Lobby Lounge
At the Lobby Lounge, you will find friendly service, exotic cocktails and a diverse menu to satisfy all of your cravings. Enjoy freshly brewed Coffees, Latts, Cappuccinos, Espresso Drinks, Smoothies, Beer, Wine, and Handcrafted Cocktails like the Pupukea Lychee and the Skinny Lilikoi Chi Chi. Signature dishes include Citrus Ponzu Calamari and Grilled Kahuku Honey & Mango Glazed Chicken.
Ola
Enjoy contemporary island cuisine with the sand between your toes. The only restaurant on O'ahu located literally on the beach, Ola is an experience for all the senses. The concept, cuisine and atmosphere of the open-aired restaurant that literally sits on the beach is summed up in its name, "Ola" which means "life, living, healthy and alive." Chef Fred DeAngelo delights guests with his innovative cuisine.
Surfer, The Bar
Forget dark wood paneling and marble bar-tops, Surfer has its own very original look and feel. And although the bartender can fastidiously make your favorite cocktail, the drink of choice here is a 16-ounce pint of ice-cold beer, many of them local small-batch brews. Sure the food is fresh, flavorful, sometimes spicy Hawaiian comfort food, prepared by white-hat chefs in the acclaimed resort kitchen. But food, beverage and dcor are not the real reasons why the audience - locals, guests of the hotel and word travelers - gather here.
Hang Ten Bar & Grill
Enjoy tropical drinks surfside at the outdoor Hang Ten Bar & Grill. Stop by for a refreshing break and one of the island's best Mai Tai's. Relax to the sounds of the surf while you discover why Turtle Bay Resort has received awards for "Hotel with the Best View." Every night of the week you will find something special happening here. You may find a Drum Circle, a keiki hula halau, live Hawaiian Style music, Fish Fries, or Fire Knife Dancers and every day at sunset you have a chance to order the Hang Ten signature drink, the "Green Flash".
Lei Lei's Bar and Grill
Mouthwatering dishes and a laid back atmosphere make Lei Lei's a famous local haunt on O'ahu's Fabled North Shore. Talk Story with entertaining manager and host Ian. The excellent dishes and service is what brings regulars from the surf and movie industry here Dinner features a menu brimming over with entrees of fresh, succulent seafood, savory beef, chicken and pork prepared to perfection. Signature dishes include slow-roasted prime rib, ginger soy Ahi and our warm bacon dressing spinach salad. Compliment the meal with a selection from our extensive wine list. Lei Lei's is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is served weekdays starting at 7:00 a.m. and on weekends starting at 6:30 a.m. Lunch is served from 11:00 a.m. Dinner seating begins at 5:00 p.m. with the last seating at 10:00 p.m. Live soloist music is played every Thursday and Sunday nights from 6:00 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort has more than 28,000 square feet of event and pre-function space perfect for group sizes up to 600 indoors and 2000 outdoors. An experienced conference servicing team is available to assist with all program needs including menu planning, technology support and recreational activities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (523)

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
523 out of 523
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
Deenie
Wingate, In.
May 18, 2012

Great place to relax

This was a wonderful 3 days and I would recommend to a friend. I am planning another visit next year. There are a couple of reasons that the rating was not a 5 across the board.I made my plans in Feb. and requested a king size bed with an Ocean View. I got a room with a (1) Queen size bed with a view of the roof below me and the pool area. I could lean out over the railing on the balcony and see the ocean but not quite up to what I was looking for. There were a lot of rooms with the view that I was looking for. I did not request a different room; that was my fault. Like I said I am planning on returning and I know which room/villa to request. Regards, D. Commons

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
Soeder
Houston, TX
May 15, 2012

Let's just buy a room here.

My wife and I paused when we walked in the front door of our cottage room and just stared. The beautiful room was great, but the view out the back door just blew us away. Every day was a delight as we could sit on our back porch and just look upon the ocean. We left the back door open every night and listened to the waves as we fell asleep. Every staff member, from bartender to Concierge, was more than pleasant. The beauty, location, and comfort level of Turtle Bay were beyond belief. We just got back from our trip there for our honeymoon, and we already can't wait to get back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kahuku Grill! On 83, headed down the East side of the island. Coconut-Macadamia shrimp. Fantastic! Also, Matsumoto Grocery in the North Shore area. Get the shave ice with the ice cream on the bottom and condensed milk on top. SO FANTASTIC! We stopped in three times during our week in Oahu.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
Lawdawg
Lumberton, NC
May 14, 2012

Honeymoon Paradise

Wonderful!! beautiful!! away from the terrible city life of Honolulu! peaceful, quiet, didn't want to leave! slept with the balcony door open every night and listened to the waves roll in and the breeze blowing through the palms! snorkled for free, provided by the resort, right on the beach, which was really nice! would recommend this to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
SmbkG
Anchorage, Alaska
May 9, 2012

We'll never stay anywhere else.

Turtle Bay Resort is amazing. There are so many things to do and the resort grounds are so huge my husband and two young daughters had sooo much fun just exploring. We saw tons of turtles, seals and the kids fed horses and went for pony rides. We took a trail out to a WWII bunker and spent hours upon hours finding seashells on the beach and exploring all the little tide pools. My husband had a great time snorkeling and said the fish were beautiful. The hotels pools are also awesome, there's a 1.5 ft kiddie pool and then another heated 4 ft kiddie pool with a water slide so fun, even my husband and I couldn't get enough. Every staff member we met or even just passed in the hallway was genuinly friendly and helpful. We were very well taken care of, had an amazing time and will definitely be going back. I won't stay anywhere else on Oahu now that I've seen the beautiful, laid back Turtle Bay Resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Polynesian Cultural Center. Not far from the Turtle Bay Resort and it was a fun and interesting place to visit. My whole family enjoyed all the games and activities and learning about all the different cultures.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
Samad
Denver, CO, USA
Apr 27, 2012

Views to take your breathe away!!!

We really enjoyed staying @ Turtle Bay, what a beautiful hotel. The views, food, beaches....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Best food in Hawaii was off a food truck called 3 tables! OMG that shrimp garlic pineapple & rice was unbelievable!!! We ate there everyday!

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
Word
Humboldt County,CA
Apr 16, 2012

Very family friendly

This hotel is on a very beautiful coastal area with lots to see and do as a family. We spent a week at the resort with plans to spend a couple of days in Honolulu but after a half day in the city we decided our stay at the Turtle Bay Resort on the north shore was time better spent. Great vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ted's Bakery has great local foods and pies.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
World Traveler Single Mom
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Family Spring Break

Great place for the family. Good location (away from the crowds) and kid-friendly. Loved it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Use Living Social and Groupon for local discounts.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
Bailey26
Honolulu, HI, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Beautiful setting!

this is a resort offering any and every activity, with nice pools and beach. The 3 restaurants we tried were very good, with the exception of Lei Lei's. We prefer to go to Haleiwa for great food. The rooms are tired and dated, needs a reno, but beds, baths are large and comfy. Staff is into service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Luibuenos, Opal Thai and Cafe Haleiwa are worth the short drive.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
WHMa
Kennewick, WA, USA
Jan 7, 2012

Our Experience

The location is wonderful and most beautiful. The food is good and very expensive, so, come prepared. We were surprised at he "incidental costs" that you were charged for even though you did not utilize the services provided. For instance, you were provided one hour access each day to the snorkeling equipment and canoeing and several other nice services, but if you didn't use them you were still required to pay the $25/day charge. We would like to have been made aware of this fact upfront. Overall it is beautiful facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Enjoy the Several shrimp stands or shrimp vending trucks along the highway just east of the resort which obtain their shrimp from the local, at hand, shrimp farms. Excellent.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
Could of been better
San Diego, CA
Jan 4, 2012

Not 4 star

Hotel was ok. Staff needs to learn what customer service is. Concierge service needs to understand what there job is & being rude should not be part of it. A daily resort fee is not really necessary. Leonardo's resturant needs some work. Twenty one was excellent. Location was beautiful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top