$303 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
View map of 57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
598 out of 598
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SeansGirl
Business
NY
Jan 8, 2013

Great Honeymoon Location

Hubby and I spent our honeymoon here in June. The location is fabulous! Beautiful views no matter where in the resort your room is. We were on the fifth floor, and slept with our patio door open at night to feel the breeze and listen to the ocean. Our room was beautiful. Other reviews mention shabby rooms, but ours had definitely been updated. Very comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom. The staff did a turn down service every evening where they dimmed the lights and turned on relaxing music- nice touch. There was a lot to do here- everything from sunbathing to snorkeling to surfing. You can be as busy or as relaxed as you want. There is even a helicopter tour service on site which we took advantage of- take Dramamine, but it's a must-do! The staff were all very friendly and helpful- no complaints there whatseover. There were planty of families with children, but the hotel was very quiet- noise did not carry from other rooms at all. Very good for light sleepers like me! The only negatives: 1. The $25-per-day resort fee. 2. Not all-inclusive- you pay for all meals and most activities. 3. Dining on site is very pricey no matter where you eat. Even the breakfast buffet was expensive. We ended up buying food at a local grocery store to keep in our room for breakfast and snacks. Overall, though, we were definitely very happy with the overall experience and would recommend Turtle Bay! It was breathtaking and the North Shore is quiet and peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Melissa
Business
Bellevue, WA
Jan 5, 2013

Excellent location for families

Turtle bay is in a WONDERFUL location, it really doesn't get any better. All rooms are ocean view - on one side you have a view of a calm bay and the other, a view of the surf that is the North Shore. We loved this destination for our extended family. Through the hotel we snorkeled (gear rental is free for an hour#, rode on horseback along the coast and through areas where lost was filmed #this was all in walking distance of the hotel and on hotel property#, and swam in warm pools / waterslide #the waterslide was a huge hit for the kids#. The rooms were large and clean and overall, the food was good. Ola's served excellent food - the Surfer Bar too. Our only complaint was that there should be more wait staff at the pool area - and that food and drinks should be served as late as people would like them #it took too long to get drinks and we were unable to get food, poolside, late in the afternoon#. Other than that, the activity options #surfing and paddle boarding school also right on site#, were incredible. The staff couldn't have been nicer. We were there during the holidays and the hotel was at full capacity so this may have impacted how thinly pool drink staff was stretched. We never went into Waikiki and were told by many that we were smart to skip it. We felt like we were in true Hawaii for our whole trip #and have visited several islands / hotels over the past 10 years#. We recommend visiting Pearl Harbor, the Polynesian Cultural Center, doing a "Lost"TV/Movie Hummer Tour, and visiting the Sea Life Aquarium #to swim with the stingrays, dolphins and to feed the sea lions#. We will definitely go back to Turtle Bay #it's a gem of a hotel, in a location on Oahu unlike any other).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
..JT
Business
Arizona
Dec 27, 2012

Best Experience yet!

I have to say that I have no complaints at all. Excellent resort. Can't wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Check out the surfer bar at least once. Good times!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zopejogi
Business
Tokyo, Japan
Dec 24, 2012

A Beautiful Week

Turtle Bay was a nice resort for our family's winter holiday. The hotel offers pools, beach access and as much or as little activity as you'd like. We unfortunately had some bad weather during our week, rainy and chilly, but made the best of it in the hot tub. The area around the hotel is mellow consisting primarily of surfer types and small restaurants. The scenery on the north shore is spectacular and much more beautiful than the other parts of the island. If you're looking for a gorgeous setting with the option to relax or play, this is the spot for you. The food is pricey, but you can save off the resort at some of the shrimp trucks or local, modest eateries. One thing I would change if I could (and this is minor), is that the coffee at the resort is not very good. Other than that, it was a fine place to spend a week. We had a lovely time in one of the most beautiful settings I've ever visited. Scuba diving, horseback riding, golf, surfing lessons and then some are some of the activities you can do here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

On Thursday from 3-7 hit the farmer's market at Waimea Falls Park. The food is fresh and homemade (there's lots of heavy local eats so this was a treat). They sell crafts and fresh fruit and veg too. Also, check out Haleiwa for some good Thai food/Japanese food and cute shopping opportunities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike DXQ
Business
northern CA
Dec 17, 2012

room needs better cleaning

room good but not clean (and cleaning people did not do a good job each day) - and there were ants !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LL travels a lot
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Dec 14, 2012

North Shore Escape

This location is simply beautiful and that is what you are paying for. The rooms are run down and are in need of remodeling. I found out that no remodeling has happened in 40 years. So the inside of the rooms are straight out of the 70's. do not be fooled by the pictures, the rooms you are seeing are the villas and not the actual hotel rooms. On a positive note, if you spend most of your time outside your room it is a stunning surrounding. Trails and beaches are fantastic. The service at the hotel restaurants, valet and bell desk are great but the front desk needs some improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The flea market about 8 miles to the east of this property has amazing food trucks. Try Giovanni shrimp, BBQ corn and the Korean BBQ. Amazing island eats!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
drewdsmith1977
Business
Salem IL
Dec 1, 2012

Honeymoon

The hotel was nice but I was charged $25 extra per day for things that I didnt even use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tracey Trip
Business
Berlin, Md
Nov 13, 2012

Beautiful view from room

Room was very spacious and clean. Bathroom was very nice also. Best thing about Turtle Bay room was the view from the room and the sound of the ocean when the doors were open. The Ola Restaurant had good atmosphere and food was delicious-waiter was friendly. It was great watching the surfing at Turtle Bay. Love the north shore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Shrimp truck up the road is a good inexpensive dining option.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tmolgee
Business
New York City
Oct 30, 2012

Really nice but pricey

Beautiful but a bit pricey. Would be nice to have some less expensive food options on the property. Oh and parking is a bit of a nightmare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GrayGhost
Business
Bucks Co Pennsylvania
Oct 28, 2012

Beautiful setting

Spent a week at Turtle Bay Resort - a real "bucket list" vacation. The hotel was beautiful. All the facilities clean and well maintained. The physical setting took full advantage of the available views. Great walks, great staff. Only minor issue - the rooms furnishings were a little tired. Would go back tomorrow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top