$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
View map of 57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
555 out of 555
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 13, 2008

Great laid back vacation!

The Turtle Bay Resort was a much needed, restful, resort! The staff was very friendly, the choices of food good. Loved having breakfast on the beach! We enjoyed the laid back feel of the hotel and the area. It was a do as you please resort. We enjoyed being away from the crowds of Waikiki but also took the opportunity to go down south for the fun stuff like Hnauama Bay and shopping. The weather was a little funky when we were there, but I think that is to be expected for The North Shore. There are condos, a hotel and beach cottages. We stayed at the hotel and loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved snorkeling in Sharks Cove, it was like an indoor aquarium and very mild tides!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 8, 2008

I had a $20 a day resort ...

I had a $20 a day resort fee when I checked in. Not happy about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 28, 2008

Everything we expected

Turtle Bay Resort was the destination we chose for our first trip to Hawaii based on it's location. We were not disappointed!! The staff was friendly and attentive. Our room was overlooking the cove, with incredible views and was constantly cared for and cleaned by housekeeping. The whole resort was kept immaculate, even the pool area was constantly monitored to keep chairs & towels where they belonged, and run off water cleared away. (FYI, late March is spring break for the west coast and Hawaii so there were a lot of families during our stay) We rented a car, so we were able to explore the island at our will. Haliewa was a great place to go to walk and eat. Some of the dinners were pricey at the resort, but we were never disappointed with the meals we recieved. Lei's Lei's is everything people say it is. We also took advantage of the hiking trails, they wind through the tree lined shoreline, allowing you to decide if you want sun or shade as you walk. Most times we found ourselves alone on beautful secluded beaches. We didn't know about the martini bar in 21 degrees until a couple days before we left, and we were glad we found it. It's small, but the martini menu is extensive, and if you ask, Stephanie may even make a monatini for you!!! We can't wait until we have the chance to visit Hawaii again, we plan on visiting another island first but then spending at least half of our time back at Turtle Bay Resort!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Waimea Valley is nice low key place to walk, see some beautiful flora and see a waterfall that offers a swim pool with lifeguard.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tyler, TX
Mar 14, 2008

Excellent Resort for relaxation

My stay at Turtle Bay Resort was a very very enjoyable one. The staff are friendly and courtious. The view from our lani was breathtaking! The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very big! The location of the resort was perfect for what i was looking for, ir, away from the hustle and bustle of a big city. It was very quiet and relaxing. You will need to rent a car if you want to go sightseeing but in hawaii rentals are all over the place and its great to have your own means of getting around. I recommend this resort for anyone who wants to get away from it all and just chill out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The resort has everything you will need, but the dole plantation, and small little towns are very near by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 9, 2008

Great location to relax, unwind and regenerate!

The hotel was a beautiful and shorter than expected drive from Honolulu. The grounds are beautifully kept and the employee service was outstanding! Pulling up to the valet and from the point on our experience was quite relaxing. The views from the lobby and our room was exquisite. It happened to be the time of year when the whales pass through and we were given suggestions as to the best time to see them which indeed we did. We went in early March and the weather was low 80's and a few clouds. Perfect time to go from my perspective. There is only one pool on the public property but is big enough to handle the capacity. There beach is open to the public but a majority of the guests were staying in the hotel. Turtle Bay has quite a bit of beach property so if you're up for a short walk you can move away from the crowds and have a more serene beach experience. We had a beach almost to ourselves for both days. A majority of the staff live in the general area and will offer suggestions to things to do or places to eat if you ask. It was a great trip and we were rather sad leaving. Cannot wait to go back again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several tennis courts which are very popular with the guests. Try and arrive early to get a good court. Center court will be taken by 9:30 am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canton/Akron, OH
Mar 3, 2008

Quiet Get Away

Beautiful resort, friendly staff, great location with easy access to many interesting sites and beaches. Never felt crowded or busy eventhough check in staff told me they were 95% capacity. Work out room was small, but they held yoga classes outside, which was cool with the sound of the surf in the background. Horse back ride was fun - something different to do. We would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss Haliewa, small surfer town 15 minutes south of hotel - quaint, good shopping. Do eat at food vans at south end of town across from McDonalds. Opal's is the best Thai food I have ever eaten. Garlic shrimp from Giovanni's is out of this world. On Sunday's, try Huli Huli chicken grilled outside(north end of town).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 18, 2008

Beautiful resort with true island experience.

Turtle Bay Resort is beautiful and classy. Even though it's more expensive than other hotels and resorts, it's worth the experience of a true Hawaii. We also went during the holiday (Valentine and Presidents) which is why the high cost. The view is breathtaking and amenities are all world class. The only thing I would avoid is to skip the Friday Luau. I guess it's OK for a first time, but to me it's not worth it. Maybe the time when we were there, it wasn't as exciting as what I expected because there are less people participating. The food is like cafeteria food, but you'll get a show to go with it. You might as well save the money and dine in their 21 Degree North and then go to the Luau at Polynisan Culture Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive about 20 minutes West of Turtle Bay Resort to the town of Haliwa where they have more shops and restaurants. Or you could drive 5-10 minutes East of Turtle Bay Resort to Kahuku get some delicious shrimps by the highway. They are sold from vans and trucks parked on the side and they are simply the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 7, 2008

Very relaxing, should have stayed longer

My son booked Turtle Bay for a few days last year and raved about it. I booked one night only as it seemed a little pricey for a single person. I drove up from Honolulu after spending 4 days there. The staff was very friendly on check-in, the grounds (especially the pool area) were awesome, and the room very comfortable (great view from my room). There were plenty of trails to walk around the resort. Loved the water slide at the pool and the jacuzzi. The restaurants amd shops had lots to offer. This was a great place to stay for a single person, it was very relaxing. Looking back, the cost was fair given all this place has to offer. I'm definitely planning to come back, but this time for a least 2 - 3 days minimum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Not a bad drive up from Honolulu, checked out the Polynesian Cultural Center on the way to Turtle Bay. Be sure to hit Macky's Shrimp Truck and the Dole Plantation on the way back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Feb 3, 2008

Great Beachfront Location

The location and hotel property were excellent. The rooms were a bit dated and not very luxurious, but had great views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the miles of hiking trails and beachfront property

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
michelel
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jan 8, 2008

very nice

Turtle Bay is very nice and in a beautiful area in Oahu. The resort is huge and has alot to offer. Our view from our room was spectacular!! I would like to see some renovations however, the carpet and elevators are outdated and worn as was the room. The dining options couldv'e been better. All in all we had a great experience and would return and recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

A little historic town is nearby. Also alot of great beaches wher the locals come to surf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top