$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2014 Check-out: Sep 14, 2014

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
534 reviews
Turtle Bay

Turtle Bay was an awesome experience. It was a birthday celebration and we had a delightful time.... See full review

  • Aunty Plumeria
  • Jul 24, 2014
Couple staycation

So my girlfriend and I decided that we would spend my last weekend in town overnight at the North... See full review

  • jdSmithChang
  • Jul 15, 2014
Del Webb, the real estate mogul and one-time New York Yankees owner, opened Turtle Bay Resort in 1972 and ever since then, it's been entertaining guests with an involving line-up of activities, from surfing lessons and making your own flower-leis to learning how to play the ukulele. Add to this the two chlorine-free swimming pools, water slide, trails for hiking and biking, and championship golf courses, and it's no wonder that Turtle Bay draws sizable crowds. Wicker and natural woods contrast with brighter shades indoors, while the verdant north shore of Oahu provides all the views you need from the terrace restaurant, Ola. Nalu Kinetic Spa provides ocean panoramas, a massage table that simulates the sensation of floating at sea, and calming hot-stone treatments.
Key facts
  • 443 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Valet parking
  • 5 restaurants: Pa'akai, North Shore Kula Grille, Hang Ten Bar & Grill, Ola Restaurant and Lei Lei's Bar & Grill
  • Lounge/bars: Lobby Lounge and Surfer, The Bar
  • 2 outdoor pools
  • 24-hour room service
  • Coffee shop and café
  • On-site golf course
  • Full-service spa
  • Health club
  • Arcade/game room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
Neighborhood
It's worth staying at this Hawaiian resort just for the surroundings. Turtle Bay is found in a section of Oahu's famed North Shore known for its unique rock formations, spectacular surfing beaches, and the majestic green sea turtles for which it is named. Near to both Kawela Bay Beach Park and the James Campbell National Wildlife Refuge, the Kamehameha Highway leads southeast from the hotel to the Polynesian Cultural Center, for those seeking signs of modern civilization.
Hints and tips
Be sure to enjoy one of the many free events that are featured every week, from spoken word nights to beach parties and film showings.

Drop in to hear amazing stories from professional surfers at Surfer, The Bar, in between mouthfuls of spicy Hawaiian seafood.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.698 -157.9903
Area served
North Shore, Polynesian Cultural Center, Kawela Bay, Kuilima Cove, Turtle Bay.
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
About an hour from Honolulu, Turtle Bay Resort is set against a landscape of cattle pastures, plantation homes, lush windward valleys and the scenic, world-famous surfing beaches of Oahu's Fabled North Shore. Both laidback and vibrant, the North Shore attracts millions of visitors each year and offers a variety of colorful cafes and shops. You'll also be a few minutes' drive from the Polynesian Cultural Center.

Turtle Bay Resort Rooms

Ocean Front Beach Cottage
The Beach Cottages at Turtle Bay Resort are grouped in clusters of six and situated along the west shore of beautiful Turtle Bay. The cottages are equipped with large marble bathrooms featuring Kallista deep-soak tubs, freestanding glass showers, and private, enclosed toilets.
Deluxe Oceanfront
Full Balcony Offering Spectacular Ocean Views and Hawaiian Sunsets with Two Queen Beds Studio-type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.
Ocean Villas
Our villas make the perfect resort home; elegantly furnished with a masterful blend of luxury and elegance. The Ocean Villas are unsurpassed by anything that the island of Oahu has ever seen in oceanfront resort accommodations. The entryway leads to a gourmet kitchen, which is adjacent to a spacious living/dining area. The master bedroom is furnished with 1 king bed; each guest room has 1 queen bed and the living room has a queen sized sofa sleeper. Enjoy exclusive amenities such as the Ocean Villa pool, Jacuzzi, courtyard, and barbeque area.
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds. Partial Oceanview located on the second floor. 478 square feet. Complimentary wireless Internet access, compact refrigerator, coffeemaker, and cable TV with HBO, pay movies, and video games (surcharge). A daily resort fee covers local phone calls, weekday newspaper delivery, and in-room safe. Non-smoking only. One king or two double beds.
ADA Accesible Oceanfront King
Our ADA accessible ocean front room includes a king sized bed. An automatic wide door ensures easy and smooth access into the spacious 478 feet dwelling. Grab bars for comfort and security are located throughout the roomy restroom. The tub includes a shower bench and handheld shower head to ensure ease. The double lanai door is equipped with a ramp. The closet is wheel chair accessible with a low clothing rack. A portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request. Lamps are touch activated for easy use. The closed-captioning option is available for television viewing.
ADA Accessible Oceanside Cottage
One king or two queen beds. Inside, find polished Brazilian walnut floors leading to a large, multi-level beach retreat with 15-foot ceilings and king poster beds. Luxuriate in a Kallista deep-soak tub or take care of business using wireless Internet access. Let our exclusive cottage concierge tend to your every need. Room includes location near handicap parking stalls, ADA accessible ramp to cottage, automatic wheel chair accessible door, ramp in cottage to access multi-levels, double lanai door with ramp for wheel chair access to lanai, spacious ADA accessible bathroom, roll-in shower, handheld showerhead, low tub, grab bars throughout the bathroom, touch activated lights, ADA accessible closet, closed-captioning option for television, and a portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request.
Ocean View
Beautiful views of the ocean and resort, a full bath with vanity, wireless Internet access, telephone with two lines and data port and sleep two to four. Two double queen beds or a king size bed
Oceanfront
Small Balcony with Full View Of Turtle Bay And Hawaiian Sunrises with Two Queen Beds. Studio type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort has more than 28,000 square feet of event and pre-function space perfect for group sizes up to 600 indoors and 2000 outdoors. An experienced conference servicing team is available to assist with all program needs including menu planning, technology support and recreational activities.

Dining

Pa'akai
A fresh twist on locally sourced dining. Pa'akai - or "sea salt" in the Hawaiian language, reflecting Hawaii's numerous seaside salt beds - features sea-to-table cuisine. Pa'akai's menu highlights the best in fresh local fish, farm-raised lobster, Kauai prawns, sea asparagus, seaweed and sea salt produced in Hawaii.
North Shore Kula Grille
The ancient Hawaiians divided their land into three sections: Mauka, kula and makai - or mountains, midland and the sea - known as ahupua 'a. It is the kula lands, primarily used for agriculture, that now serve as the inspiration for the North Shore Kula Grille. A place where farm-to-table thinking is behind every ingredient on our menu.
Lobby Lounge
At the Lobby Lounge, you will find friendly service, exotic cocktails and a diverse menu to satisfy all of your cravings. Enjoy freshly brewed Coffees, Latts, Cappuccinos, Espresso Drinks, Smoothies, Beer, Wine, and Handcrafted Cocktails like the Pupukea Lychee and the Skinny Lilikoi Chi Chi. Signature dishes include Citrus Ponzu Calamari and Grilled Kahuku Honey & Mango Glazed Chicken.
Ola
Enjoy contemporary island cuisine with the sand between your toes. The only restaurant on O'ahu located literally on the beach, Ola is an experience for all the senses. The concept, cuisine and atmosphere of the open-aired restaurant that literally sits on the beach is summed up in its name, "Ola" which means "life, living, healthy and alive." Chef Fred DeAngelo delights guests with his innovative cuisine.
Surfer, The Bar
Forget dark wood paneling and marble bar-tops, Surfer has its own very original look and feel. And although the bartender can fastidiously make your favorite cocktail, the drink of choice here is a 16-ounce pint of ice-cold beer, many of them local small-batch brews. Sure the food is fresh, flavorful, sometimes spicy Hawaiian comfort food, prepared by white-hat chefs in the acclaimed resort kitchen. But food, beverage and dcor are not the real reasons why the audience - locals, guests of the hotel and word travelers - gather here.
Hang Ten Bar & Grill
Enjoy tropical drinks surfside at the outdoor Hang Ten Bar & Grill. Stop by for a refreshing break and one of the island's best Mai Tai's. Relax to the sounds of the surf while you discover why Turtle Bay Resort has received awards for "Hotel with the Best View." Every night of the week you will find something special happening here. You may find a Drum Circle, a keiki hula halau, live Hawaiian Style music, Fish Fries, or Fire Knife Dancers and every day at sunset you have a chance to order the Hang Ten signature drink, the "Green Flash".
Lei Lei's Bar and Grill
Mouthwatering dishes and a laid back atmosphere make Lei Lei's a famous local haunt on O'ahu's Fabled North Shore. Talk Story with entertaining manager and host Ian. The excellent dishes and service is what brings regulars from the surf and movie industry here Dinner features a menu brimming over with entrees of fresh, succulent seafood, savory beef, chicken and pork prepared to perfection. Signature dishes include slow-roasted prime rib, ginger soy Ahi and our warm bacon dressing spinach salad. Compliment the meal with a selection from our extensive wine list. Lei Lei's is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is served weekdays starting at 7:00 a.m. and on weekends starting at 6:30 a.m. Lunch is served from 11:00 a.m. Dinner seating begins at 5:00 p.m. with the last seating at 10:00 p.m. Live soloist music is played every Thursday and Sunday nights from 6:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (534)

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
534 out of 534
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aagro
Federal Way, WA
Oct 13, 2012

Stunning location

The view from the six floor in the southwest wing was epic. The room was always fresh and clean, and the layout of the property was perfect. Lots of things to see and activities as you walk around the resort. I did not like the $25 a day resort fee nor the hike to the parking but I would stay again in spite of that. (Hiking to the car was probably excellent exercise)! The hike to the opposite point of land and the bunker was lovely- you can view the ocean on both sides of the point, forest then jungle, green turtles. The views from the property of the waves and surfers are great because it is so close. The restaurants in the resort were very well staffed with friendly professionals but simply too expensive. We ate in the nearby town of Haleiwa to the west and Kahuku and beyond to the east. Big wave beaches in the winter are a close drive west and beautiful swimming/surfing beaches esp. Malaekahana are a very short drive to the east.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive to the grocery store across from Shark Cove and buy delicious kaiser rolls (perfectly baked), with cheese and fruit like grapes and bananas. You can also but a baked chicken for a delicious sandwich on the roll. They also have a large selection of juices, water, milk, and beer. You can wrap it in the newpaper and place it in the 1.99 tote bag for a great lunch. You need to supply a phone number to get the 'special' market prices.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paiute Paul
California
Oct 11, 2012

Beautiful Setting

We watched incredible sunrises & sunsets, hiked along the ocean, and snorkled with turtles, all there at the resort. The food was delicious also, a little pricy but worth it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop at the closest grocery store for much cheaper meals that you can eat in your room, like breakfast items, muffins, fruit, sodas & bottled water.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ppderra
São Paulo, Brazil
Oct 7, 2012

`Honeymoon trip

It was excellent. We were at the beach. We chose the north shore that was pretty calm... what we wanted for the vacation. The room had a beautiful ocean view. We intend to come back with kids the next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Breakfast at Ted's Bakery... somewhat 4 miles from Turtle Bay Resort going to Sunset Beach.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Darth Ol
San Jose, CA.
Oct 4, 2012

Awesome time!

- Professional and courteous staff! - Clean room - Comfortable bed - Awesome activities to choose from - Beautiful waves and views

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Segwaying is fun and a great experience!

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nanedsmomba
San Diego, CA
Sep 30, 2012

Perfect location- hotel rooms need renovation

The location is definetely amazing. Huge property, which gives enough room for privacy. No other hotels in the area can beat that. The hotel rooms and certain areas in the hotel need serious upgrade. the bathrooms are old and with visible cheap patches in the shower. The women bathroom by the pool has a huge whole behind the the toilet seat and no sign of planned repair or any regards by the hotel. A little TLC and minor upgrades would put the hotel to a 5 star hotel very easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

restaurant on the beach. great food and great service. decent price.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Away from work
Riverton, UT
Sep 20, 2012

Great Location!

This is a great place to stay. Location was perfect. Rooms were very clean, and the views were absolutely beautiful. Very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vanman99
Denver, CO
Aug 28, 2012

First Vacation in Years

This was our first vacation in years and I have to say I was so disappointed in the hotel and the area. I had never been to Hawaii before but the beaches at the hotel were rocky and hard to walk on the sand was alot rougher than beaches in Florida or Cali. The Room was subpar the bathtub had been painted and the paint was coming off, when we first got there was oil or water running down the wall from the ac unit you could see old water staining where it had leaked before. The food was way over priced I mean 26 bucks for a buffet breakfast is crazy and dont even get me started with the dinner prices, we went off site every night and morning to eat. Overall I was utterly disappointed in the experience at the resort and the North shore in general.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Breakers is a good value to eat at in Hale Iwa

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms Dottie
New Mexico
Aug 22, 2012

Beautiful location

The location is awesome! The ambiance and cleanliness of the rooms was not up to the level that we expected since we had been there in March of 2011. Several of the staff were great, but there was not the friendly, welcoming spirit by many of the staff that we experienced on our previous trip. We were there for ten days so we ate at several of the restaurants, enjoyed the beach and saw many of the sites around the island. We love the North Shore, but we were somewhat disappointed in the Resort on this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Waimea Valley is a "must see". It is beautiful!

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Basserk
Santa Barbara, Ca.
Aug 12, 2012

North Shore Paradise

We spent a week at the Turtle Bay Resort on Oahu's North Shore. Although we drove one day to take in the Waikiki scene and the Arizona Memorial that was more than enough for us! We really enjoyed the layed-back vibe of the North Shore. You definitely don't have the dining options but still found some very good places to eat. Lei's Lei's was our favorite. The Turtle Bay Resort is not the Four Seasons but we were not expecting it or paying for it. Overall I felt the Turtle Bay Resort was a good value. Really, how much time do you spend in your room anyway? Staff was freindly and helpful. I would go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We took in the attraction of swimming with wild spinner dolphins in the open ocean. It was a great experience! Seemed a little sketchy at first being about a half mile off shore but all was very safe and controlled. We were on the Island Spirit. The captain and crew were exceptional. Very comfortable motor powered catamaran. The trip was out of the Waiwane (sp) Harbor. I would defintely recommend the Island Spirit and this excursion.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bombs
Burlington, Washington
Aug 11, 2012

Hawaiian Vacations

We had a fabulous time and the staff was wonderful and very helpful! The rooms were very clean and the staff was very nice. It was nice t be able to go to the beach & then walk to the pool. We had a great time. And the breakfast buffet was "FABULOUS". We will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Swap meet at the Aloha Stadium and the best place for a luau is "Paradise Cove".

Back to menu Return to top

Change search