$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2015 Check-out: Jul 14, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
View map of 57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
603 out of 603
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CAPsr
Business
Minnesota
Feb 16, 2014

Work - Pleasure combo

The Turtle is the perfect place to kickback and enjoy the ocean after a hard days work in Honolulu! I've stayed here 6 times over the years and each time I stay it only gets better. Great place to get away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the ribs at Lei Lei's after a round of Golf... Great Golf and Great Food!

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAW2407
Business
San Diego
Feb 2, 2014

Construction still underway

We love staying on the North Shore and have spent time at Turtle Bay on two separate occasions. The first time three years ago, the lobby and some restaurants were ripped up and being remodeled. Room renovations are completed, but solar panels were being put in during our visit. Work was supposed to be done between 9 and 5, however our room was at the end of the resort near the construction parking and prep area. We were woken up every day before 7 by loud trucks and equipment. Not very relaxing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

make sure you visit Haleiwa for dining, shopping and a taste of old town Hawaii.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
evamarie777
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jan 27, 2014

Greeting Was Awesome

When I initially checked in, the front desk person was awesome. She was more than helpful with any question I posed to her. However, it was exact opposite when I checked out. The person who checked me out had a "too bad, so sad" attitude toward me and was not helpful at all. Overall, it was a good stay..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shyanne
Business
Washington
Jan 3, 2014

Great Escape

We really enjoyed our stay it was a very relaxing and we and loved the view from our villa we walked along the beach. You couldn't ask for a better place to stay. The staff was one of the best and very courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
capogirl99
Business
Visalia Ca
Aug 19, 2013

Rough Start -

I booked my August vacation in March. I had hoped all renovations would be done before our arrival. I booked an deluxe oceanfront room. Upon arrival I confirmed it was oceanfront - however it would not be an "epic" room - "epic" apparently was a newly renovated room..."epic" was not an option when I booked in March. I was told I could upgrade to "epic' for an additional $50 per night. At that point I knew that I would not be happy with unless the room was upgraded so I paid the additional fee - I was informed that it was in the wing that was totally renovated - so no construction noise. So up to the room I went put the key in the door and the dead bolt was locked - tried again ... same result. I think the gentleman that was already checked into the room was a little shocked - thank goodness the deadbolt was locked otherwise it could have been even more awkward. So down to the desk we went and told them what happened - they apologized - blamed their co-worker for not marking the room as occupied. We were offered a free breakfast for our trouble and given another room. Went up to the newly renovated room - opened the door and heard drilling and hammering from the next room. Went to the bathroom where the front veneer under the sink came right off and opened the sliding glass door only to have part of the outside frame fall off. Guess it was too newly renovated. Called down to the office and told them our issues and they were resolved - we checked in on Saturday and was told that there could be work that Sunday as well.... On a positive note - the grounds are beautiful, the pool was gorgeous, every staff member was nice, especially the valet staff!!!! Staff at OLA were great as we celebrated our 20th anniversary there...food was okay. On the whole our vacation was not ruined by our first experience at this resort - but it could have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Ted's Bakery was a great place to eat - thank you to all that recommended this place!!

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cheap traveler
Business
seoul, korea
Jul 2, 2013

Fantastic getaway

I booked this hotel for my wife and in-laws. What I heard was it was great hotel and liked it so much, surround by great nature. Only bad part was there's nothing else; no shops, restaurants outside of hotel but I bet that is the point staying ther.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

ocean front

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach Toes
Business
Wailuku, Hawaii
Jun 21, 2013

Quick Getaway

I originally booked a room for one night, at their lowest rate, in hopes I'd get the privilege of staying in one of their newly renovated rooms. Boy did I luck out! Upon check in, the gentleman at the front desk was kind enough to upgrade me to a king suite! 700+ square feet of brand newly renovated beauty. Room was awesome. Huge lanai, amazing bathroom, and a gorgeous view. The television, vanity mirror, and a few outlets were not working unfortunately, due to the construction that was taking place, I'm going to assume. However it did not concern me since I was on the lanai most of my time there. The surrounding beaches were very peaceful as well. All in all my stay was wonderful and I will def be making a trip back in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Romys Shrimp Truck is but a 5 minute drive from the hotel. If you love big juicy shrimp smothered in butter and garlic on a pile of fluffy white rice, Romy's is an absolute must try.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
allsmiles13
Business
Grand Ledge, MI
Feb 19, 2013

Quiet location, and awesome ocean sound and breeze

Is on the North Shore about one hour and ten minutes drive from Honolulu. Very quiet location and room balcony door has sliding wood doors kind of like shutters, that allow the sound and breeze from the ocean into your room while you sleep if you leave the glass door open. Slept amazingly well here. We ordered room service first night, it was quick and good. We were happy we stayed here and not on Waikiki, as Waikiki and Honolulu are very busy. We really enjoyed the North Shore area and avoided Waikiki and metro Honolulu except for the day we went to Pearl Harbor. They have started a major renovation January 2013 (should be completed by end of 2013) of the tower rooms. They are doing one wing at a time completely closing the entire wing off from the rest of the hotel so as not to disturb guests. Will not interfere with your stay. Our first room was a little grungy (needed a good re-painting) due to full occupancy and being exhausted from traveling we waited until the next day to ask to be moved. We were moved to another room and were very happy with the new room, front desk staff handled it promptly and found a room just a couple of doors down so that the move would be quick and easy. Some things to know: 1. distance wise places are not that far apart from each other on Oahu however, driving time is double to triple the time the distance would take to drive in the midwest United States 2. Outside of Honolulu city area there is usually only on or two roads to reach other areas of Oahu. 3. A lot of restaurants in the North Shore area except the restaurants at the hotel and a few in Haleiwa close early around 6-7 PM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sfhomo
Business
san francisco, ca
Feb 16, 2013

beautiful north shore

excellent. Perfect location to chill out. Great!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JCLO
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 12, 2013

Great escape in the northern part of Oahu

The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful. Rooms with great views. Only issue is limited number of restaurants at the resort. Great place to escape the crowds of Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Waimea falls/park

Back to menu Return to top