$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
View map of 57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
602 out of 602
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
May 22, 2009

Truly Beautiful

We loved the Resort. I wasn't happy that we didn't get the correct room, but even our handicap room with pool and ocean view was very nice. I preferred not to be near the pool. We spent the majority of our stay walking the property. It is beautiful. We saw many sea turtles swimming in the ocean. My husband played golf at the Arnold Palmer Course. We had our 2 year old with us and found it very expensive to feed her. The average child's meal is $15. Breakfast was $55 for the two of us. Dinner's averaged $120 for the 3 of us. I didn't care for the food, but my husband did. The staff is very nice. The Friday night Lua on property is very nice and recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Small bottles of water in the rooms sell for $3.50 and at the pool for $4.00. You can purchase large bottles of water at the shop right next to the pool for less than $3.00.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dennis Super Husband
Business
los angeles , CA
May 21, 2009

was great.........

little far from waikiki but the resort was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dennis Super Husband
Business
los angeles , CA
May 21, 2009

was great.........

little far from waikiki but the resort was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jackie CK
Business
Texas
May 20, 2009

Great location!

Great location! Big rooms with private balcony overlooking the ocean. Wonderful beach great for snorkling. Trip of a lifetime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great little bakery and grill down the road. Just a rustic looking blue building but very good food and inexpensive.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
May 20, 2009

Lovely location on the North Shore

The Turtle Bay Resort is a good alternative to the Waikiki area if you're looking for a quieter get-away, but can't make it to one of the other Hawaiian islands. It's incredibly beautiful: there are vantage points from your room and on the grounds where you can see both the sunrise and sunset each day. We enjoyed hiking around the local beachside and interior trails. We don't usually stay in "resorts" ~ preferring quieter, remote locations, but this place was a nice compromise for being on Oahu. As reported, the restaurants at the hotel are certainly expensive, but the ones we sampled were good (including a great Ahi Cobb salad at Lei Leis), so do treat yourself to a nice meal and Mai Tai, but look for dining alternatives not far away. Fortunately, each room has a mini-fridge so you can keep your own snacks and beverages cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Although we did not visit during the North Shore "high season" ~ it still seemed busy along the highway and popular beaches. Instead, drive south east along the coast and "wade" 200 yards over to "Goats Island" during low tide (you'll need reef shoes). This beach has a lovely park area with alot of trees and shade.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
May 14, 2009

Very Relaxing

It was away from all the tourists of Honolulu and Waikiki. Very relaxing and alot to do in the resort as well. The helicopter ride was well worth the money and the horseback rinding was fun. Rent a car you can drive the whole island in less than an hour and a half. Pearl Harbor was worth seeing also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and spend the day in Honolulu, plenty of shopping there. Downtown Honolulu and Waikiki is to touristy.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Z & K
Business
Chantilly, VA
May 13, 2009

Best Resort on Oahu!!!

The hotel not only offered a great location on the secluded North Shore, but ammenities to boot. Snorkeling, surfing, hiking, golf, horseback riding... the list goes on. After playing tourist on Wakiki Beach for a day, it was good to get back to the seclusion of Turtle Bay. The only downside was the resort food. The buffet is a mass produced chowline, and the quality of food shows. I would offer that if you decide to eat at the resort, order off of the menu, you will stand a chance at at least getting a fresh meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you hang a right out of the resort and take a right into Halawea, there is a wealth of nice dining and shopping. (If you like mexican food, Rosie's Cantina is on the right!). Also, take a left out of the resort and go about 8.3 miles and a nice little diner is on your right, Papa O'ole's.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
May 12, 2009

Turtle Bay

Had a great time, great services and best location on the island. They need to get plush beds to match everything else that is so luxurious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ames IA
May 12, 2009

Great couples getaway

the only problem I had was my understanding when I booked thru Orbitz, since we were staying 8 nights that one night was free & I was to settle that with the resort. They said it was included in package

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Shrimp wagons close by where very good

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Whitnit
Business
Dallas, Texas
May 11, 2009

Turtle Bay Resort

My friend and I decided to go to Hawaii for an early 30th birthday celebration. We were so glad that we stayed on the North Shore, away from the craziness of Waikiki. The view from the first room wasn't great & AC wasn't working correctly, but we asked for a different room and immediately got one. The view was awesome! Definitely rent a car. It is easy and convenient to get around that way. For four people, we had a 4 door soft top Jeep--fit us and the luggage! The drive down to Pearl Harbor and Honolulu wasn't bad. It took about an hour, but was very scenic. We stayed on the North Shore the majority of the time. It was very relaxing and peaceful there. Definitely mellowed us out! Places to go.... Shop in the town of Haliewa, about 20 minutes away. Eat at Banzai Sushi and Haliewa Joe's while there. Cholo's was decent Mexican food, but we only ate there for Cinco de Mayo. On the drive to Haliewa, there is an AWESOME place called Ted's. They have great garlic shrimp, chocolate haupia pie, and chocolate eclairs. We thought there shrimp were lots better than Giovanni's shrimp truck. At the resort, Ola's was the best restaurant! The butterfish was great. Lei Lei's was good too. Palm Terrace was for breakfast the last day. Don't give them credit cards at Palm Terrace--they may lose it. Luckily, they found mine, but our whole table was comped for breakfast. There are some great hikes around there, the best one we went on was Maunawilli Falls. It was on the east side, about 30-45 minutes drive from hotel. Climb up over the falls and you get to see another fall and a beautiful lagoon. There is also a hike near the YMCA camp , where the LOST others camp is. Immediately across from that small beach, walk along until you see a trail in the tall grass. You can see a trail, just look. It was well worth the hike to look out over the mountain. People rock climb up there too. Hawaii was wonderful and I can't wait to go back. Hope I could give y'all some good ideas about where to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

About 20 minute drive. FYI, the town shuts down around 9:00.

Back to menu Return to top