$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
View map of 57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
551 out of 551
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Medford, OR
Mar 9, 2009

Overrated Overpriced Hotel

Nice looking hotel, at a distance. Up close, things were a bit on the tacky side for a hotel with a big reputation and high cost. Did not operate like a first-class hotel, tho it is secluded, private and peaceful. Only restaurants available were on the grounds and overpriced, tho decent food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay closer to Honolulu where there is more going on.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakeville, MN
Mar 3, 2009

Beautiful place to escape the crowds

Quiet and secluded compared to Waikiki. Pools were nice, rooms were spacious, ocean view room had nice view despite not being "ocean front." The walking trails were nice and the snorkling was fun. Every hotel staff member we interacted with was professional and hospitable. Only complaint was the restaurant food - way overpriced and tasted on par with cheap cafeteria food. Service at Ola's was worst than most Pizza Huts. Leave the resort to eat whenever you can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you just want to stay at the resort all week or go places nearby - Sunset Beach, Haleiwa, Shark's Cove, PCC and BYU, you can take a shuttle to Turtle Bay (Sunshine Shuttle is awesome) and use TheBus rather than rent a car. Hertz has a car rental on site if you want to go south, but if you need to rent a car every day, it is cheaper to do it from the airport. We bought food at the grocery stores and road side fruit stands and kept it in the mini fridge to spread out heavy meals in restaurants and avoid eating at the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh
Mar 3, 2009

Beyond Expectations - Drop Resort Fee

Beautiful Hotel with beautiful view from lanai. We saw whales every mornging from our room. We walked down the beach about a 1/2 mile and there were no people in sight - we had our own private beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Shrimp at Fumi shrimp farm - the little shack by the side of the road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Woodlands, TX
Mar 1, 2009

A fair and honest review

This is a fair review based upon my experience at Turtle Bay. If you stay there I promise you will find very useful info entailed here. It may be long, but it is very thorough. I will write the pros and cons of this hotel as well as my recommendations to make your stay a little nicer. My fiance and I stayed at this hotel for about a week. We were not born with silver spoons in our mouths...we have an average to upper-middle class income at best. Cons: My first complaint is definitely the most popular one about this hotel...the rooms need to be renovated. I was once one who said, "why do I need a nice room when I'm not going to be in it anyways." Let me tell you...you pay a pretty good price (even with the prices lowered currently), but they don't put ANY of that money back into the rooms. The bathrooms are from the 80's or earlier. Trust me...the views are great, so you will spend more time in your room. Secondly, the beds are a killer on your back. My fiance and I were walking like 95 year-olds (we're in our early 30's) for about 20 minutes after waking up. Third, a fair share of the ocean view rooms have a good portion of one of the restaurants' roofs to look at too. You have this great beautiful ocean in front of you only to be marred by a view of the roof as well. Ask for an ocean view that doesn't involve the roof on the west side. Fourth, you have to pay a $20/day service fee. It covers snorkeling for an hour a day and some other miscellaneous things, but don't we pay enough for the room already? Pros: First, the grounds are awesome. There are miles of trails and miles of beaches to walk along. There's some really good snorkeling (much to my suprise) and horseback riding. Secondly, the seclusion is amazing. You're not packed onto a beach in Wakiki with thousands of other people. We were on the beach with about ten people laying out in the sun in the early afternoon. And there's so much beach that you may only see 30 people out there in a few hours. Third, location is a key. You are away from Honolulu, but there is PLENTY to do around the area. There are a few clubs and bars in the hotel as well as restaurants that actually have very good food. The nicer restaurants have prices that are very comparable to what you would pay at the same restaurant on the mainland. If you want serious night-life-clubbing, then you may need to venture to Honolulu a couple of nights. Halawei is only 20 minutes away to the west and there are good places to shop and eat there. Fourth, the Mai-Tai's are awesome at Hang Ten at the resort. Fifth, the staff is incredibly friendly and always willing to help. Last, get a deluxe ocean view room. It was worth it. I never enjoyed a room's view so much. My recommendations: These are the things that made our trip worth it. First, upgrade to a mustang convertible. You only live once and you don't get a really good view of the scenery by looking out the windows...trust me on this one. I promise that you will agree that it was worth every penny. Second, go East from the hotel and "make a loop," but take Hwy 63 towards Pearl City/Pearl Harbor (this is the southern end of the loop that will lead you back to your hotel. It veers off a bit, but it is the most fantastic view of the mountains. You are on a bridge almost the entire way. You then start heading back up the way you originally got to the hotel from Honolulu. You can hit some of the beaches along the way and take some fantastic pictures. Third, Waimea Falls and Botanical Gardens. Waimea falls wasn't that impressive, but all the flora along the way was. Fourth, Haleiwa Joe's...the seviche (Probably wrong spelling) was great...it's a good moderately priced place for lunch. The shrimp trucks are good. We heard Giovanni's was the best, but it was no different than any others. The difference is that at Giovannis you have to wait an eternity for your food and it's packed. Definitely not all what it w...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Giovanni's wasn't any better than the other shrimp trucks. Dining in at night was always a good choice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria
Jan 5, 2009

great location...rooms are tired

With the exception of the location, Turtle Bay can not be considered a luxury resort until the rooms in the hotel are updated. Our room needed to be repainted and the walls had plenty of marks on them. In the buffet restaurant, the fabric on the chairs and booths were extremely dirty and needed to be replaced. I thought the food was excellent and the resort had plenty of choices. The prices were steep but that was to be expected. If you are saving for a lifetime vacation, I would look elsewhere, especially for the cost. If you want a nice resort and travel a lot (like my girlfriend and I do), I would say go but be aware you are not staying at the four seasons. Over all I would give the resort a solid C

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 3, 2009

Beautiful site, hotel needs upgrade

We would stay here again because of its fantastically beautiful setting but this hotel needs to refurbish its rooms, they're just not as beautiful or fresh as they should be. We didn't spend much time in the room because of it, the rest of the hotel was more inviting. The staff are efficient and welcoming, the pool is amazing and obviously well planned and maintained. Two of the restaurants were especially enjoyable, Ola, built right on the sand, great food, idyllic, also the golf club restaurant, great food and enthusiastic staff. The fancy restaurant (Twenty One Degrees) was disappointing, expensive, careless and bored staff. The trails along the ocean were wonderful, you could run for miles on packed dirt, fantastic scenery. This would be a great spot for a family with kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Apart from the beautiful hotel grounds, a short drive to Waimea beach, shrimp trucks for a great lunch, about an hour or 75 minutes to Waikiki for shopping/dining etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Dec 29, 2008

Turkey Bay

Turtle Bay Resort was so out of the way the excursions would not pick you up. There was no way to get around unless you had a car. The gym was inferior and you had to pay extra to get a steam. The prices were extortionate and dining was unexceptional. The staff was friendly and the room was first rate, but because of an island outage I lost a night of entertainment and was miserable in my very dark room. Everything was closed due to no electricity. I would not go back to Turtle Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Nothing is nearby except over priced dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bradbury
Dec 28, 2008

Great Hotel

I stayed here for 5 nights during xmas. This hotel is great for those who do not want to be around crowds. Isolated on north shore oahu this hotel is surrounded by a golf course and has tennis courts and hiking trails. The food was pricey but worth what you pay for. Lei Leis was my favorite. Playing tennis can be expensive. The spa not great. So basically i think with this hotel you are paying for the location and the view which make it all worthwhile. Very basic with old tv's and minimal decor. I enjoyed my stay and took advantage of the outdoor activities and i will return to turtle bay resort. Great for families, couples, or friends. If you are coming here for your honeymoon make sure you get a beach cottage because you will be disappointed with the standard rooms, oceanfront and deluxe rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lufkin
Dec 6, 2008

Beautiful Scenery/Relaxing

Our stay at Turtle Bay Resort was very relaxing, the scenery was beautiful, and there were some very interesting towns nearby to shop and dine in. The only downside about the resort that I could comment on is the eating establishments located in the resort. The food was not awful, but it was not as good as what the pricing suggests. We ate breakfast at Palm Terrace twice and dinner at Ola once(the breakfast was better than the dinner.) We were able to find local eateries in nearby towns with great food and more reasonable pricing. The drinks at Hang Ten(the poolside bar) were awesome, especially the Mai Tais! If you want somewhere to stay and relax and are not really interested in night life and partying this is a very good option, however, if you do want some nightlife, the Waikiki/Honolulu area is the better option as Turtle Bay is approximately a 1 to 1.5 hour drive away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you travel to Haleiwa(just a short drive) while at Turtle Bay, be sure to eat at Kono's for breakfast and have one of their breakfast burritos or a banana macadamia nut waffle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winnipeg
Nov 23, 2008

Great peaceful retreat

This resort was a great retreat if you choose to be private; it was very peaceful for us because we chose to experience a quiet vacation. We felt that we were enjoying the island because we were responsible for our outings by renting a car and doing our own exploration of the island. We enjoyed the ruggedness and seclusion of the environment around the resort on the north coast. Even so we were able to see almost all of the island by leaving the resort and taking day trips as we saw fit and returning later in the day to relax around the pool and watch the beautiful sunsets as the sun decended below the horizon. It was consoling to us to be somewhat isolated on an 800 acre resort with its golf courses, its beautiful flora and the secure feeling we experienced at the resort. The overall impression we had of the resort was always one of cleanliness, the courtesy of the staff and the beautifu people of the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

World class surfing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top