$279 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
540 reviews
Great

This was our 3rd stay at TB, and it was our best. We were celebrating our 40 year anniversary. I... See full review

  • Vicnanc
  • Oct 4, 2014
Amazing Location!!

For the money you spend this hotel doesn't get any better! This is the only hotel on the North... See full review

  • Shan World Traveler
  • Sep 16, 2014
Del Webb, the real estate mogul and one-time New York Yankees owner, opened Turtle Bay Resort in 1972 and ever since then, it's been entertaining guests with an involving line-up of activities, from surfing lessons and making your own flower-leis to learning how to play the ukulele. Add to this the two chlorine-free swimming pools, water slide, trails for hiking and biking, and championship golf courses, and it's no wonder that Turtle Bay draws sizable crowds. Wicker and natural woods contrast with brighter shades indoors, while the verdant north shore of Oahu provides all the views you need from the terrace restaurant, Ola. Nalu Kinetic Spa provides ocean panoramas, a massage table that simulates the sensation of floating at sea, and calming hot-stone treatments.
Key facts
  • 443 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Valet parking
  • 5 restaurants: Pa'akai, North Shore Kula Grille, Hang Ten Bar & Grill, Ola Restaurant and Lei Lei's Bar & Grill
  • Lounge/bars: Lobby Lounge and Surfer, The Bar
  • 2 outdoor pools
  • 24-hour room service
  • Coffee shop and café
  • On-site golf course
  • Full-service spa
  • Health club
  • Arcade/game room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
Neighborhood
It's worth staying at this Hawaiian resort just for the surroundings. Turtle Bay is found in a section of Oahu's famed North Shore known for its unique rock formations, spectacular surfing beaches, and the majestic green sea turtles for which it is named. Near to both Kawela Bay Beach Park and the James Campbell National Wildlife Refuge, the Kamehameha Highway leads southeast from the hotel to the Polynesian Cultural Center, for those seeking signs of modern civilization.
Hints and tips
Be sure to enjoy one of the many free events that are featured every week, from spoken word nights to beach parties and film showings.

Drop in to hear amazing stories from professional surfers at Surfer, The Bar, in between mouthfuls of spicy Hawaiian seafood.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.698 -157.9903
Area served
North Shore, Polynesian Cultural Center, Kawela Bay, Kuilima Cove, Turtle Bay.
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
About an hour from Honolulu, Turtle Bay Resort is set against a landscape of cattle pastures, plantation homes, lush windward valleys and the scenic, world-famous surfing beaches of Oahu's Fabled North Shore. Both laidback and vibrant, the North Shore attracts millions of visitors each year and offers a variety of colorful cafes and shops. You'll also be a few minutes' drive from the Polynesian Cultural Center.

Turtle Bay Resort Rooms

Ocean Front Beach Cottage
The Beach Cottages at Turtle Bay Resort are grouped in clusters of six and situated along the west shore of beautiful Turtle Bay. The cottages are equipped with large marble bathrooms featuring Kallista deep-soak tubs, freestanding glass showers, and private, enclosed toilets.
Deluxe Oceanfront
Full Balcony Offering Spectacular Ocean Views and Hawaiian Sunsets with Two Queen Beds Studio-type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.
Ocean Villas
Our villas make the perfect resort home; elegantly furnished with a masterful blend of luxury and elegance. The Ocean Villas are unsurpassed by anything that the island of Oahu has ever seen in oceanfront resort accommodations. The entryway leads to a gourmet kitchen, which is adjacent to a spacious living/dining area. The master bedroom is furnished with 1 king bed; each guest room has 1 queen bed and the living room has a queen sized sofa sleeper. Enjoy exclusive amenities such as the Ocean Villa pool, Jacuzzi, courtyard, and barbeque area.
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds. Partial Oceanview located on the second floor. 478 square feet. Complimentary wireless Internet access, compact refrigerator, coffeemaker, and cable TV with HBO, pay movies, and video games (surcharge). A daily resort fee covers local phone calls, weekday newspaper delivery, and in-room safe. Non-smoking only. One king or two double beds.
ADA Accesible Oceanfront King
Our ADA accessible ocean front room includes a king sized bed. An automatic wide door ensures easy and smooth access into the spacious 478 feet dwelling. Grab bars for comfort and security are located throughout the roomy restroom. The tub includes a shower bench and handheld shower head to ensure ease. The double lanai door is equipped with a ramp. The closet is wheel chair accessible with a low clothing rack. A portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request. Lamps are touch activated for easy use. The closed-captioning option is available for television viewing.
ADA Accessible Oceanside Cottage
One king or two queen beds. Inside, find polished Brazilian walnut floors leading to a large, multi-level beach retreat with 15-foot ceilings and king poster beds. Luxuriate in a Kallista deep-soak tub or take care of business using wireless Internet access. Let our exclusive cottage concierge tend to your every need. Room includes location near handicap parking stalls, ADA accessible ramp to cottage, automatic wheel chair accessible door, ramp in cottage to access multi-levels, double lanai door with ramp for wheel chair access to lanai, spacious ADA accessible bathroom, roll-in shower, handheld showerhead, low tub, grab bars throughout the bathroom, touch activated lights, ADA accessible closet, closed-captioning option for television, and a portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request.
Ocean View
Beautiful views of the ocean and resort, a full bath with vanity, wireless Internet access, telephone with two lines and data port and sleep two to four. Two double queen beds or a king size bed
Oceanfront
Small Balcony with Full View Of Turtle Bay And Hawaiian Sunrises with Two Queen Beds. Studio type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort has more than 28,000 square feet of event and pre-function space perfect for group sizes up to 600 indoors and 2000 outdoors. An experienced conference servicing team is available to assist with all program needs including menu planning, technology support and recreational activities.

Dining

Pa'akai
A fresh twist on locally sourced dining. Pa'akai - or "sea salt" in the Hawaiian language, reflecting Hawaii's numerous seaside salt beds - features sea-to-table cuisine. Pa'akai's menu highlights the best in fresh local fish, farm-raised lobster, Kauai prawns, sea asparagus, seaweed and sea salt produced in Hawaii.
North Shore Kula Grille
The ancient Hawaiians divided their land into three sections: Mauka, kula and makai - or mountains, midland and the sea - known as ahupua 'a. It is the kula lands, primarily used for agriculture, that now serve as the inspiration for the North Shore Kula Grille. A place where farm-to-table thinking is behind every ingredient on our menu.
Lobby Lounge
At the Lobby Lounge, you will find friendly service, exotic cocktails and a diverse menu to satisfy all of your cravings. Enjoy freshly brewed Coffees, Latts, Cappuccinos, Espresso Drinks, Smoothies, Beer, Wine, and Handcrafted Cocktails like the Pupukea Lychee and the Skinny Lilikoi Chi Chi. Signature dishes include Citrus Ponzu Calamari and Grilled Kahuku Honey & Mango Glazed Chicken.
Ola
Enjoy contemporary island cuisine with the sand between your toes. The only restaurant on O'ahu located literally on the beach, Ola is an experience for all the senses. The concept, cuisine and atmosphere of the open-aired restaurant that literally sits on the beach is summed up in its name, "Ola" which means "life, living, healthy and alive." Chef Fred DeAngelo delights guests with his innovative cuisine.
Surfer, The Bar
Forget dark wood paneling and marble bar-tops, Surfer has its own very original look and feel. And although the bartender can fastidiously make your favorite cocktail, the drink of choice here is a 16-ounce pint of ice-cold beer, many of them local small-batch brews. Sure the food is fresh, flavorful, sometimes spicy Hawaiian comfort food, prepared by white-hat chefs in the acclaimed resort kitchen. But food, beverage and dcor are not the real reasons why the audience - locals, guests of the hotel and word travelers - gather here.
The Point
Enjoy tropical drinks surfside at the outdoor The Point. Stop by for a refreshing break and one of the island's best Mai Tai's. Relax to the sounds of the surf while you discover why Turtle Bay Resort has received awards for "Hotel with the Best View." Every night of the week you will find something special happening here. You may find a Drum Circle, a keiki hula halau, live Hawaiian Style music, Fish Fries, or Fire Knife Dancers and every day at sunset you have a chance to order The Point signature drink, the "Green Flash".
Lei Lei's Bar and Grill
Mouthwatering dishes and a laid back atmosphere make Lei Lei's a famous local haunt on O'ahu's Fabled North Shore. Talk Story with entertaining manager and host Ian. The excellent dishes and service is what brings regulars from the surf and movie industry here Dinner features a menu brimming over with entrees of fresh, succulent seafood, savory beef, chicken and pork prepared to perfection. Signature dishes include slow-roasted prime rib, ginger soy Ahi and our warm bacon dressing spinach salad. Compliment the meal with a selection from our extensive wine list. Lei Lei's is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is served weekdays starting at 7:00 a.m. and on weekends starting at 6:30 a.m. Lunch is served from 11:00 a.m. Dinner seating begins at 5:00 p.m. with the last seating at 10:00 p.m. Live soloist music is played every Thursday and Sunday nights from 6:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (540)

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
540 out of 540
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakeville, MN
Mar 3, 2009

Beautiful place to escape the crowds

Quiet and secluded compared to Waikiki. Pools were nice, rooms were spacious, ocean view room had nice view despite not being "ocean front." The walking trails were nice and the snorkling was fun. Every hotel staff member we interacted with was professional and hospitable. Only complaint was the restaurant food - way overpriced and tasted on par with cheap cafeteria food. Service at Ola's was worst than most Pizza Huts. Leave the resort to eat whenever you can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you just want to stay at the resort all week or go places nearby - Sunset Beach, Haleiwa, Shark's Cove, PCC and BYU, you can take a shuttle to Turtle Bay (Sunshine Shuttle is awesome) and use TheBus rather than rent a car. Hertz has a car rental on site if you want to go south, but if you need to rent a car every day, it is cheaper to do it from the airport. We bought food at the grocery stores and road side fruit stands and kept it in the mini fridge to spread out heavy meals in restaurants and avoid eating at the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh
Mar 3, 2009

Beyond Expectations - Drop Resort Fee

Beautiful Hotel with beautiful view from lanai. We saw whales every mornging from our room. We walked down the beach about a 1/2 mile and there were no people in sight - we had our own private beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Shrimp at Fumi shrimp farm - the little shack by the side of the road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Woodlands, TX
Mar 1, 2009

A fair and honest review

This is a fair review based upon my experience at Turtle Bay. If you stay there I promise you will find very useful info entailed here. It may be long, but it is very thorough. I will write the pros and cons of this hotel as well as my recommendations to make your stay a little nicer. My fiance and I stayed at this hotel for about a week. We were not born with silver spoons in our mouths...we have an average to upper-middle class income at best. Cons: My first complaint is definitely the most popular one about this hotel...the rooms need to be renovated. I was once one who said, "why do I need a nice room when I'm not going to be in it anyways." Let me tell you...you pay a pretty good price (even with the prices lowered currently), but they don't put ANY of that money back into the rooms. The bathrooms are from the 80's or earlier. Trust me...the views are great, so you will spend more time in your room. Secondly, the beds are a killer on your back. My fiance and I were walking like 95 year-olds (we're in our early 30's) for about 20 minutes after waking up. Third, a fair share of the ocean view rooms have a good portion of one of the restaurants' roofs to look at too. You have this great beautiful ocean in front of you only to be marred by a view of the roof as well. Ask for an ocean view that doesn't involve the roof on the west side. Fourth, you have to pay a $20/day service fee. It covers snorkeling for an hour a day and some other miscellaneous things, but don't we pay enough for the room already? Pros: First, the grounds are awesome. There are miles of trails and miles of beaches to walk along. There's some really good snorkeling (much to my suprise) and horseback riding. Secondly, the seclusion is amazing. You're not packed onto a beach in Wakiki with thousands of other people. We were on the beach with about ten people laying out in the sun in the early afternoon. And there's so much beach that you may only see 30 people out there in a few hours. Third, location is a key. You are away from Honolulu, but there is PLENTY to do around the area. There are a few clubs and bars in the hotel as well as restaurants that actually have very good food. The nicer restaurants have prices that are very comparable to what you would pay at the same restaurant on the mainland. If you want serious night-life-clubbing, then you may need to venture to Honolulu a couple of nights. Halawei is only 20 minutes away to the west and there are good places to shop and eat there. Fourth, the Mai-Tai's are awesome at Hang Ten at the resort. Fifth, the staff is incredibly friendly and always willing to help. Last, get a deluxe ocean view room. It was worth it. I never enjoyed a room's view so much. My recommendations: These are the things that made our trip worth it. First, upgrade to a mustang convertible. You only live once and you don't get a really good view of the scenery by looking out the windows...trust me on this one. I promise that you will agree that it was worth every penny. Second, go East from the hotel and "make a loop," but take Hwy 63 towards Pearl City/Pearl Harbor (this is the southern end of the loop that will lead you back to your hotel. It veers off a bit, but it is the most fantastic view of the mountains. You are on a bridge almost the entire way. You then start heading back up the way you originally got to the hotel from Honolulu. You can hit some of the beaches along the way and take some fantastic pictures. Third, Waimea Falls and Botanical Gardens. Waimea falls wasn't that impressive, but all the flora along the way was. Fourth, Haleiwa Joe's...the seviche (Probably wrong spelling) was great...it's a good moderately priced place for lunch. The shrimp trucks are good. We heard Giovanni's was the best, but it was no different than any others. The difference is that at Giovannis you have to wait an eternity for your food and it's packed. Definitely not all what it w...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Giovanni's wasn't any better than the other shrimp trucks. Dining in at night was always a good choice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria
Jan 5, 2009

great location...rooms are tired

With the exception of the location, Turtle Bay can not be considered a luxury resort until the rooms in the hotel are updated. Our room needed to be repainted and the walls had plenty of marks on them. In the buffet restaurant, the fabric on the chairs and booths were extremely dirty and needed to be replaced. I thought the food was excellent and the resort had plenty of choices. The prices were steep but that was to be expected. If you are saving for a lifetime vacation, I would look elsewhere, especially for the cost. If you want a nice resort and travel a lot (like my girlfriend and I do), I would say go but be aware you are not staying at the four seasons. Over all I would give the resort a solid C

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 3, 2009

Beautiful site, hotel needs upgrade

We would stay here again because of its fantastically beautiful setting but this hotel needs to refurbish its rooms, they're just not as beautiful or fresh as they should be. We didn't spend much time in the room because of it, the rest of the hotel was more inviting. The staff are efficient and welcoming, the pool is amazing and obviously well planned and maintained. Two of the restaurants were especially enjoyable, Ola, built right on the sand, great food, idyllic, also the golf club restaurant, great food and enthusiastic staff. The fancy restaurant (Twenty One Degrees) was disappointing, expensive, careless and bored staff. The trails along the ocean were wonderful, you could run for miles on packed dirt, fantastic scenery. This would be a great spot for a family with kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Apart from the beautiful hotel grounds, a short drive to Waimea beach, shrimp trucks for a great lunch, about an hour or 75 minutes to Waikiki for shopping/dining etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Dec 29, 2008

Turkey Bay

Turtle Bay Resort was so out of the way the excursions would not pick you up. There was no way to get around unless you had a car. The gym was inferior and you had to pay extra to get a steam. The prices were extortionate and dining was unexceptional. The staff was friendly and the room was first rate, but because of an island outage I lost a night of entertainment and was miserable in my very dark room. Everything was closed due to no electricity. I would not go back to Turtle Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Nothing is nearby except over priced dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bradbury
Dec 28, 2008

Great Hotel

I stayed here for 5 nights during xmas. This hotel is great for those who do not want to be around crowds. Isolated on north shore oahu this hotel is surrounded by a golf course and has tennis courts and hiking trails. The food was pricey but worth what you pay for. Lei Leis was my favorite. Playing tennis can be expensive. The spa not great. So basically i think with this hotel you are paying for the location and the view which make it all worthwhile. Very basic with old tv's and minimal decor. I enjoyed my stay and took advantage of the outdoor activities and i will return to turtle bay resort. Great for families, couples, or friends. If you are coming here for your honeymoon make sure you get a beach cottage because you will be disappointed with the standard rooms, oceanfront and deluxe rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lufkin
Dec 6, 2008

Beautiful Scenery/Relaxing

Our stay at Turtle Bay Resort was very relaxing, the scenery was beautiful, and there were some very interesting towns nearby to shop and dine in. The only downside about the resort that I could comment on is the eating establishments located in the resort. The food was not awful, but it was not as good as what the pricing suggests. We ate breakfast at Palm Terrace twice and dinner at Ola once(the breakfast was better than the dinner.) We were able to find local eateries in nearby towns with great food and more reasonable pricing. The drinks at Hang Ten(the poolside bar) were awesome, especially the Mai Tais! If you want somewhere to stay and relax and are not really interested in night life and partying this is a very good option, however, if you do want some nightlife, the Waikiki/Honolulu area is the better option as Turtle Bay is approximately a 1 to 1.5 hour drive away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you travel to Haleiwa(just a short drive) while at Turtle Bay, be sure to eat at Kono's for breakfast and have one of their breakfast burritos or a banana macadamia nut waffle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winnipeg
Nov 23, 2008

Great peaceful retreat

This resort was a great retreat if you choose to be private; it was very peaceful for us because we chose to experience a quiet vacation. We felt that we were enjoying the island because we were responsible for our outings by renting a car and doing our own exploration of the island. We enjoyed the ruggedness and seclusion of the environment around the resort on the north coast. Even so we were able to see almost all of the island by leaving the resort and taking day trips as we saw fit and returning later in the day to relax around the pool and watch the beautiful sunsets as the sun decended below the horizon. It was consoling to us to be somewhat isolated on an 800 acre resort with its golf courses, its beautiful flora and the secure feeling we experienced at the resort. The overall impression we had of the resort was always one of cleanliness, the courtesy of the staff and the beautifu people of the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

World class surfing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Joliet, IL
Oct 31, 2008

Beautiful scenery, great staff

Turtle Bay Resort was a great place to base our stay on Oahu.The view of the bay from the lobby alone is breathtaking.The grounds are beautiful and the rooms,restaurants,and other accomadations were quit pleasent and comfortable. Most memorable for us was the very friendly and curtious staff. Everyone from the parking valet,check-in hostess,waiters and waitresses,maids,and especially the concierge were wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Honolulu/Pearl Harbour are about a 45 minute drive from the resort but is a scenic rout along the north shore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top