Turtle Bay Resort ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$240
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 22, 2016 Check-out: Feb 23, 2016

beware

Would recommend Tue, Mar 31, 2009
My wife and I spent our Honeymoon at Turtle Bay 3/15 - 3/20 and it was great... except they allowed numerous bus loads of elementary kids to swarm the premises making the pool & hot tub absolutely & irritatingly uninhabitable and even the convenience store was infested during the evening. Honestly? I felt abused. What was advertised and expected of the resort was violated by such an unannounced mob of kids. Certainly got less than what I paid for.

| Pennsylvania Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

great time

Would recommend Wed, Mar 11, 2009
all I got to say is I'll never forget the great time we had there.

| los angeles, ca Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Overrated Overpriced Hotel

Would not recommend Mon, Mar 9, 2009
Nice looking hotel, at a distance. Up close, things were a bit on the tacky side for a hotel with a big reputation and high cost. Did not operate like a first-class hotel, tho it is secluded, private and peaceful. Only restaurants available were on the grounds and overpriced, tho decent food.

Time saver

Stay closer to Honolulu where there is more going on.

| Medford, OR Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Beautiful place to escape the crowds

Would recommend Tue, Mar 3, 2009
Quiet and secluded compared to Waikiki. Pools were nice, rooms were spacious, ocean view room had nice view despite not being "ocean front." The walking trails were nice and the snorkling was fun. Every hotel staff member we interacted with was professional and hospitable. Only complaint was the restaurant food - way overpriced and tasted on par with cheap cafeteria food. Service at Ola's was worst than most Pizza Huts. Leave the resort to eat whenever you can.

Money saver

If you just want to stay at the resort all week or go places nearby - Sunset Beach, Haleiwa, Shark's Cove, PCC and BYU, you can take a shuttle to Turtle Bay (Sunshine Shuttle is awesome) and use TheBus rather than rent a car. Hertz has a car rental on site if you want to go south, but if you need to rent a car every day, it is cheaper to do it from the airport. We bought food at the grocery stores and road side fruit stands and kept it in the mini fridge to spread out heavy meals in restaurants and avoid eating at the resort.

| Lakeville, MN Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Beyond Expectations - Drop Resort Fee

Would recommend Tue, Mar 3, 2009
Beautiful Hotel with beautiful view from lanai. We saw whales every mornging from our room. We walked down the beach about a 1/2 mile and there were no people in sight - we had our own private beach.

Dining

Try the Shrimp at Fumi shrimp farm - the little shack by the side of the road.

| Pittsburgh Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

A fair and honest review

Would recommend Sun, Mar 1, 2009
This is a fair review based upon my experience at Turtle Bay. If you stay there I promise you will find very useful info entailed here. It may be long, but it is very thorough. I will write the pros and cons of this hotel as well as my recommendations to make your stay a little nicer. My fiance and I stayed at this hotel for about a week. We were not born with silver spoons in our mouths...we have an average to upper-middle class income at best. Cons: My first complaint is definitely the most popular one about this hotel...the rooms need to be renovated. I was once one who said, "why do I need a nice room when I'm not going to be in it anyways." Let me tell you...you pay a pretty good price (even with the prices lowered currently), but they don't put ANY of that money back into the rooms. The bathrooms are from the 80's or earlier. Trust me...the views are great, so you will spend more time in your room. Secondly, the beds are a killer on your back. My fiance and I were walking like 95 year-olds (we're in our early 30's) for about 20 minutes after waking up. Third, a fair share of the ocean view rooms have a good portion of one of the restaurants' roofs to look at too. You have this great beautiful ocean in front of you only to be marred by a view of the roof as well. Ask for an ocean view that doesn't involve the roof on the west side. Fourth, you have to pay a $20/day service fee. It covers snorkeling for an hour a day and some other miscellaneous things, but don't we pay enough for the room already? Pros: First, the grounds are awesome. There are miles of trails and miles of beaches to walk along. There's some really good snorkeling (much to my suprise) and horseback riding. Secondly, the seclusion is amazing. You're not packed onto a beach in Wakiki with thousands of other people. We were on the beach with about ten people laying out in the sun in the early afternoon. And there's so much beach that you may only see 30 people out there in a few hours. Third, location is a key. You are away from Honolulu, but there is PLENTY to do around the area. There are a few clubs and bars in the hotel as well as restaurants that actually have very good food. The nicer restaurants have prices that are very comparable to what you would pay at the same restaurant on the mainland. If you want serious night-life-clubbing, then you may need to venture to Honolulu a couple of nights. Halawei is only 20 minutes away to the west and there are good places to shop and eat there. Fourth, the Mai-Tai's are awesome at Hang Ten at the resort. Fifth, the staff is incredibly friendly and always willing to help. Last, get a deluxe ocean view room. It was worth it. I never enjoyed a room's view so much. My recommendations: These are the things that made our trip worth it. First, upgrade to a mustang convertible. You only live once and you don't get a really good view of the scenery by looking out the windows...trust me on this one. I promise that you will agree that it was worth every penny. Second, go East from the hotel and "make a loop," but take Hwy 63 towards Pearl City/Pearl Harbor (this is the southern end of the loop that will lead you back to your hotel. It veers off a bit, but it is the most fantastic view of the mountains. You are on a bridge almost the entire way. You then start heading back up the way you originally got to the hotel from Honolulu. You can hit some of the beaches along the way and take some fantastic pictures. Third, Waimea Falls and Botanical Gardens. Waimea falls wasn't that impressive, but all the flora along the way was. Fourth, Haleiwa Joe's...the seviche (Probably wrong spelling) was great...it's a good moderately priced place for lunch. The shrimp trucks are good. We heard Giovanni's was the best, but it was no different than any others. The difference is that at Giovannis you have to wait an eternity for your food and it's packed. Definitely not all what it w...

Dining

Giovanni's wasn't any better than the other shrimp trucks. Dining in at night was always a good choice.

| The Woodlands, TX Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

great location...rooms are tired

Would recommend Mon, Jan 5, 2009
With the exception of the location, Turtle Bay can not be considered a luxury resort until the rooms in the hotel are updated. Our room needed to be repainted and the walls had plenty of marks on them. In the buffet restaurant, the fabric on the chairs and booths were extremely dirty and needed to be replaced. I thought the food was excellent and the resort had plenty of choices. The prices were steep but that was to be expected. If you are saving for a lifetime vacation, I would look elsewhere, especially for the cost. If you want a nice resort and travel a lot (like my girlfriend and I do), I would say go but be aware you are not staying at the four seasons. Over all I would give the resort a solid C

| Alexandria Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Beautiful site, hotel needs upgrade

Would recommend Sat, Jan 3, 2009
We would stay here again because of its fantastically beautiful setting but this hotel needs to refurbish its rooms, they're just not as beautiful or fresh as they should be. We didn't spend much time in the room because of it, the rest of the hotel was more inviting. The staff are efficient and welcoming, the pool is amazing and obviously well planned and maintained. Two of the restaurants were especially enjoyable, Ola, built right on the sand, great food, idyllic, also the golf club restaurant, great food and enthusiastic staff. The fancy restaurant (Twenty One Degrees) was disappointing, expensive, careless and bored staff. The trails along the ocean were wonderful, you could run for miles on packed dirt, fantastic scenery. This would be a great spot for a family with kids.

Attractions

Apart from the beautiful hotel grounds, a short drive to Waimea beach, shrimp trucks for a great lunch, about an hour or 75 minutes to Waikiki for shopping/dining etc.

| USA Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Turkey Bay

Would not recommend Mon, Dec 29, 2008
Turtle Bay Resort was so out of the way the excursions would not pick you up. There was no way to get around unless you had a car. The gym was inferior and you had to pay extra to get a steam. The prices were extortionate and dining was unexceptional. The staff was friendly and the room was first rate, but because of an island outage I lost a night of entertainment and was miserable in my very dark room. Everything was closed due to no electricity. I would not go back to Turtle Bay.

Dining

Nothing is nearby except over priced dining.

| San Francisco Singles

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Great Hotel

Would recommend Sun, Dec 28, 2008
I stayed here for 5 nights during xmas. This hotel is great for those who do not want to be around crowds. Isolated on north shore oahu this hotel is surrounded by a golf course and has tennis courts and hiking trails. The food was pricey but worth what you pay for. Lei Leis was my favorite. Playing tennis can be expensive. The spa not great. So basically i think with this hotel you are paying for the location and the view which make it all worthwhile. Very basic with old tv's and minimal decor. I enjoyed my stay and took advantage of the outdoor activities and i will return to turtle bay resort. Great for families, couples, or friends. If you are coming here for your honeymoon make sure you get a beach cottage because you will be disappointed with the standard rooms, oceanfront and deluxe rooms.

| Bradbury Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5