$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2015 Check-out: Jul 14, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
View map of 57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
602 out of 602
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berlin, MD
Jun 3, 2009

I could live here!!!

Don't stay in Waikiki, go to the North Shore and stay at Turtle Bay! Every room has a great view, the golf courses are top notch (walk for $15 after 3 pm on the Fazio Course), and it wasn't hard to hike to empty beaches on the other side of the bay. Ola has great food and an awesome view, and you can snorkel free for an hour each day in the cove. Food is a little pricey, but take a short drive to Haleiwa and find something cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe Haleiwa has filling, cheap breakfasts!

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
B-towners
Business
Bay area, CA
Jun 2, 2009

beautiful, pricey, bad customer service

PROS: The resort itself is beautiful and breathtaking and serene. It is the perfect resort if you want to have that getaway secluded Hawaiian vacation. The beaches are very nice and are not too crowded. They even include an hour's worth of snorkeling gear free for every day of your stay. The rooms are also large and have a view of the ocean. We woke up to the sound of the waves and chirping birds each morning. There are about 5 restaurants on the resort grounds which are all very tasty. CONS: We were very upset with the staff's lack of customer service. When we were checking in, and showing our receipt for our reservation the woman at the desk had no record of our reservation and no files of our names. She then said we needed to pay again for the room even though we had already paid in full for the room and our flights. We asked to see the manager and he then preceded to accuse us of forging our receipts for the hotel room stay. The situation was figured out the next day, but this first encounter with the staff ruined our impression of the hotel and especially the hotel staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you don't want to eat at the expensive hotel restaurants, drive into the town of Haliewa just about 10-15 minutes away. They have many restaurants that are very affordable. Cholo's Mexican eatery was affordable and delicious.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The activity doc
Business
Encino, CA
Jun 2, 2009

Far from the bustle of Honolulu

Good choices for eating, swimming (ocean and pool/jacuzzi), snorkeling, horseback riding, tide pooling, and walking within and adjacent to the hotel property. Fridge in room great benefit- surprisingly not advertised when hotel booked. Resort fee is silly- should be part of regular charge since it is mandatory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
B-towners
Business
Bay area, CA
Jun 2, 2009

beautiful, pricey, bad customer service

PROS: The resort itself is beautiful and breathtaking and serene. It is the perfect resort if you want to have that getaway secluded Hawaiian vacation. The beaches are very nice and are not too crowded. They even include an hour's worth of snorkeling gear free for every day of your stay. The rooms are also large and have a view of the ocean. We woke up to the sound of the waves and chirping birds each morning. There are about 5 restaurants on the resort grounds which are all very tasty. CONS: We were very upset with the staff's lack of customer service. When we were checking in, and showing our receipt for our reservation the woman at the desk had no record of our reservation and no files of our names. She then said we needed to pay again for the room even though we had already paid in full for the room and our flights. We asked to see the manager and he then preceded to accuse us of forging our receipts for the hotel room stay. The situation was figured out the next day, but this first encounter with the staff ruined our impression of the hotel and especially the hotel staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you don't want to eat at the expensive hotel restaurants, drive into the town of Haliewa just about 10-15 minutes away. They have many restaurants that are very affordable. Cholo's Mexican eatery was affordable and delicious.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carol BR
Business
Chicago, IL
May 31, 2009

Beautiful!! But prepare your pocket...

The hotel is really good, clean and confortable; but you only pay to sleep in your room, nothing is included... The breakfast buffet is about US$ 25,00 per person (more tax and tip), the Luau at the beach 95,00 per person, the horse ride is 55,00 and the surf class is 75,00 (the tip is not included and should be about 40,00). Was a very good choice for us, but if you are planning to do anything different you have to pay. I had the surf class and was something that I'll never forget! Yes, their pillows are like rocks! The beach was very beautiful with great spots for snorkeling, chairs and umbrelas for hotel guests (for free!). I'd go back and I recomend this place for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa City, IA
May 30, 2009

OUTSTANDING!

I loved the service and the many complimentary services offered at hotel like free breakfast buffet and Polynesian cultural center. I didn't like the hidden charges of $150 per day for using a debit card...but hotel did waive fees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many local restaurants in Haleiwa or in other scenic towns with an ocean view and dazzling sunsets!

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ruthmd
Business
Buena Park, CA
May 29, 2009

Turtle Bay Honeymoon

Beautiful location, which allows for the real Oahu. Not for the tourist, that in Honolulu. Great for a honeymoon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandy Feet
Business
Carlsbad, CA
May 29, 2009

Magnificent!

What a relaxing & thouroughly enjoyable stay! The hotel staff are very helpful and pleasant. Sunsets are amazing every day - I recommend taking a bottle of champagne down to the sand...Sea turtles abound a short (15 min?) walk away at Kawela Cove.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Resort restaurants are overpriced. Try Giovanni's Shrimp Truck! And the kabobs at Shark Cove Grill are amazing, too!

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alberta, Canada
May 29, 2009

Excellent!!

The hotel is beautifully situated allowing for an ocean view from every room. Our room was spotless!! The staff were kind, friendly and very helpful. The restaurants were quite pricey, so we stayed off the resort for meals. I'd recommend Ted's Bakery for Chocolate Haupia pie [sooo delicious]. They also serve meals, but it's pretty greasy. We really enjoyed 'Breakers' in Haleiwa. Excellent food for a great price and great service. I would definitely stay at Turtle Bay Resort again!!! Way better than being crowded in Waikiki!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B&P
Business
Rockford, IL
May 29, 2009

Hurray for Turtle Bay!

We enjoyed the beautiful beaches and the hiking trails that were available on the grounds! All the staff were friendly and helpful! We did not like the smoke that came down onto our balcony from the smoking room above us. We greatly enjoyed staying at Turtle Bay and would highly recommend it to others!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top