$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
View map of 57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
551 out of 551
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandy Feet
Business
Carlsbad, CA
May 29, 2009

Magnificent!

What a relaxing & thouroughly enjoyable stay! The hotel staff are very helpful and pleasant. Sunsets are amazing every day - I recommend taking a bottle of champagne down to the sand...Sea turtles abound a short (15 min?) walk away at Kawela Cove.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Resort restaurants are overpriced. Try Giovanni's Shrimp Truck! And the kabobs at Shark Cove Grill are amazing, too!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young, Married Couple
Business
Cincinnati, OH
May 28, 2009

Fabulous Vacation

We had to be moved on our last night at the hotel due to a leak in the bathroom on the floor above us. Other than that, our stay was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flying Nyla
Business
Elk Grove, CA
May 27, 2009

Honeymoon Getaway

We could not use our voucher to the Arizona Memorial/ USS Missouri/Honolulu Tour code D8K5S9, because they wanted us to check in for that tour at 6:30 A.M. The bus service does not run early enough for us to get there in time. It was too expensive to rent a car from the resort for that tour. We would of rented a car from the airport in the first place for cheaper if we knew about the early check in time. So were where out $127.74 for that tour. We felt misled on that, and were wondering if we could obtain a refund, even if it says we can't have one on the voucher. We feel others travelers that stay at the Turtle Bay Resort and book that tour should be informed that they should rent a car when they book their reservations. Samuel Carruth

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take "The Bus". It's only $2.00 a person, and it goes all over the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Passionate Traveler
Business
Queens, NY
May 26, 2009

The dream vacation location

I was impressed by the varied amenities, the quality of services, the friendliness of staff, the availability of restaurants for every budget and the shops on the hotel grounds. We enjoyed the long walks on the resort property, including the gardens, the golf course and the scenic beaches. The convenient location of the resort, afforded us convenient opportunities to visit local attractions within short driving distance, including the Polynesian Cultural Center, the Botanical Gardens in Waimea, and the North Shore. In our walks along the shore, we could see turtles and even a monk seal. We snorkeled right in front of the hotel in crystal clear water and could see a variety of fishes. We particularly enjoyed the whirlpool and the swimming pool with a scenic view of the ocean. The pool side service was excellent: poolside drinks were well prepared and were served promptly and courteously. The accommodations were superior to most comparable hotels I stayed in before. I was surprised that unlike in most comparable hotel rooms, the TV was not flat screen. The rooms were spacious and the decor was very tasteful in an understated way. The lanai has a magnificent view of the entire bay, offering the ideal spot for watching the sunrise. In conclusion, the relatively secluded location, the amenities, the quality and variety of services and the beauty of the property convinced me and my family to choose Turtle Beach Resort as our next year's vacation destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try lunch at the "Ola" restaurant on the resort property. Enjoy the tasty food, the view of the beach and the relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kksj
Business
Texas
May 25, 2009

Great place to relax

My husband and I spent most everyday on the beach just relaxing. The water is beautiful and we were allowed 2 hours free snorkeling per day. There are about 5 full service restaurants on site and the food and service were excellent at all of them. Only drawback is that there is only one gift shop for the entire resort that also sells soda, snacks and toiletries and a lot of these items were pricy. We would have liked to have seen more vending machines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Palm Terrace restaurant offers a dinner buffet that is unbeatable for the price. The breakfast buffet is great as well, but it's mostly the same items daily.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Costa Mesa, CA
May 25, 2009

Ahhhh

Loved the change of pace after a few days in Waikiki. Great sleeps, friendly staff, beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Shark's Cove trailer had terrific fresh fish sandwiches for a fun alternative.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Turtle Bay fan
Business
San Diego, CA
May 25, 2009

Wonderful

We took our 2 year old for the second time in six months. He loves the kid pool and the big pool with the slide. The beach is perfect for kids. The room is really big and has fridge. We love Turtle Bay, its a perfect vacation for our family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stop by Foodland or other grocery store before going to hotel. Food at hotel is very expensive, and its nice to have snacks in your room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fin
Business
Temple Tx
May 24, 2009

outstanding, & wonderfull

I cannot say enough good things about my stay at Turtle Bay Resort, the fact is that I was treated like a VIP. my room was always clean, the staff was so friendly and helpful in giving directions to where I needed to go.TBR is a beautiful place to stay for a vacation, it has all you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gallup, NM
May 23, 2009

The Best Vacation Ever!

This was the best vacation we've ever had. The hotel was amazing- from the staff to the room to the amenities. We plan on going back next year. There is so much to see and do in addition to just laying out on their many spectacular beaches or at the pool. There are hiking trails, horseback riding, helicopter rides, snorkeling, scuba, surfing. We couldn't fit it all in! They had parrots in the lobby every day, refrigerators in the rooms, great shopping and dining. We recommend OLA- a superb restaurant that is also relaxing as it is an open air restaurant located on the beach. We were there almost every day, for dinner, lunch, drinks, dessert. Also recommend the helicopter ride- [...] is a great pilot and fabulous source of island info. We also got to take his dog, Zigi, up with us. Everyone at the Turtle Bay stable is wonderful and we had a beautiful peaceful horseback ride. There was nothing we would change about our vacation at Turtle Bay- except that our stay was too short! You need at least 2 weeks and maybe more to see everything! Thank you, Turtle Bay- for a relaxing and wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
May 22, 2009

Truly Beautiful

We loved the Resort. I wasn't happy that we didn't get the correct room, but even our handicap room with pool and ocean view was very nice. I preferred not to be near the pool. We spent the majority of our stay walking the property. It is beautiful. We saw many sea turtles swimming in the ocean. My husband played golf at the Arnold Palmer Course. We had our 2 year old with us and found it very expensive to feed her. The average child's meal is $15. Breakfast was $55 for the two of us. Dinner's averaged $120 for the 3 of us. I didn't care for the food, but my husband did. The staff is very nice. The Friday night Lua on property is very nice and recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Small bottles of water in the rooms sell for $3.50 and at the pool for $4.00. You can purchase large bottles of water at the shop right next to the pool for less than $3.00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top