$319 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
542 reviews
Honey Moon!

Turtle bay is perfect & Beautiful! I love everything of this hotel. See full review

  • Rowi22
  • Nov 29, 2014
Great

This was our 3rd stay at TB, and it was our best. We were celebrating our 40 year anniversary. I... See full review

  • Vicnanc
  • Oct 4, 2014
Del Webb, the real estate mogul and one-time New York Yankees owner, opened Turtle Bay Resort in 1972 and ever since then, it's been entertaining guests with an involving line-up of activities, from surfing lessons and making your own flower-leis to learning how to play the ukulele. Add to this the two chlorine-free swimming pools, water slide, trails for hiking and biking, and championship golf courses, and it's no wonder that Turtle Bay draws sizable crowds. Wicker and natural woods contrast with brighter shades indoors, while the verdant north shore of Oahu provides all the views you need from the terrace restaurant, Ola. Nalu Kinetic Spa provides ocean panoramas, a massage table that simulates the sensation of floating at sea, and calming hot-stone treatments.
Key facts
  • 443 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Valet parking
  • 5 restaurants: Pa'akai, North Shore Kula Grille, Hang Ten Bar & Grill, Ola Restaurant and Lei Lei's Bar & Grill
  • Lounge/bars: Lobby Lounge and Surfer, The Bar
  • 2 outdoor pools
  • 24-hour room service
  • Coffee shop and café
  • On-site golf course
  • Full-service spa
  • Health club
  • Arcade/game room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
Neighborhood
It's worth staying at this Hawaiian resort just for the surroundings. Turtle Bay is found in a section of Oahu's famed North Shore known for its unique rock formations, spectacular surfing beaches, and the majestic green sea turtles for which it is named. Near to both Kawela Bay Beach Park and the James Campbell National Wildlife Refuge, the Kamehameha Highway leads southeast from the hotel to the Polynesian Cultural Center, for those seeking signs of modern civilization.
Hints and tips
Be sure to enjoy one of the many free events that are featured every week, from spoken word nights to beach parties and film showings.

Drop in to hear amazing stories from professional surfers at Surfer, The Bar, in between mouthfuls of spicy Hawaiian seafood.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Turtle Bay Resort Rooms

Ocean Front Beach Cottage
The Beach Cottages at Turtle Bay Resort are grouped in clusters of six and situated along the west shore of beautiful Turtle Bay. The cottages are equipped with large marble bathrooms featuring Kallista deep-soak tubs, freestanding glass showers, and private, enclosed toilets.
Deluxe Oceanfront
Full Balcony Offering Spectacular Ocean Views and Hawaiian Sunsets with Two Queen Beds Studio-type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.
Ocean Villas
Our villas make the perfect resort home; elegantly furnished with a masterful blend of luxury and elegance. The Ocean Villas are unsurpassed by anything that the island of Oahu has ever seen in oceanfront resort accommodations. The entryway leads to a gourmet kitchen, which is adjacent to a spacious living/dining area. The master bedroom is furnished with 1 king bed; each guest room has 1 queen bed and the living room has a queen sized sofa sleeper. Enjoy exclusive amenities such as the Ocean Villa pool, Jacuzzi, courtyard, and barbeque area.
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds. Partial Oceanview located on the second floor. 478 square feet. Complimentary wireless Internet access, compact refrigerator, coffeemaker, and cable TV with HBO, pay movies, and video games (surcharge). A daily resort fee covers local phone calls, weekday newspaper delivery, and in-room safe. Non-smoking only. One king or two double beds.
ADA Accesible Oceanfront King
Our ADA accessible ocean front room includes a king sized bed. An automatic wide door ensures easy and smooth access into the spacious 478 feet dwelling. Grab bars for comfort and security are located throughout the roomy restroom. The tub includes a shower bench and handheld shower head to ensure ease. The double lanai door is equipped with a ramp. The closet is wheel chair accessible with a low clothing rack. A portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request. Lamps are touch activated for easy use. The closed-captioning option is available for television viewing.
ADA Accessible Oceanside Cottage
One king or two queen beds. Inside, find polished Brazilian walnut floors leading to a large, multi-level beach retreat with 15-foot ceilings and king poster beds. Luxuriate in a Kallista deep-soak tub or take care of business using wireless Internet access. Let our exclusive cottage concierge tend to your every need. Room includes location near handicap parking stalls, ADA accessible ramp to cottage, automatic wheel chair accessible door, ramp in cottage to access multi-levels, double lanai door with ramp for wheel chair access to lanai, spacious ADA accessible bathroom, roll-in shower, handheld showerhead, low tub, grab bars throughout the bathroom, touch activated lights, ADA accessible closet, closed-captioning option for television, and a portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request.
Ocean View
Beautiful views of the ocean and resort, a full bath with vanity, wireless Internet access, telephone with two lines and data port and sleep two to four. Two double queen beds or a king size bed
Oceanfront
Small Balcony with Full View Of Turtle Bay And Hawaiian Sunrises with Two Queen Beds. Studio type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort has more than 28,000 square feet of event and pre-function space perfect for group sizes up to 600 indoors and 2000 outdoors. An experienced conference servicing team is available to assist with all program needs including menu planning, technology support and recreational activities.

Dining

Pa'akai
A fresh twist on locally sourced dining. Pa'akai - or "sea salt" in the Hawaiian language, reflecting Hawaii's numerous seaside salt beds - features sea-to-table cuisine. Pa'akai's menu highlights the best in fresh local fish, farm-raised lobster, Kauai prawns, sea asparagus, seaweed and sea salt produced in Hawaii.
North Shore Kula Grille
The ancient Hawaiians divided their land into three sections: Mauka, kula and makai - or mountains, midland and the sea - known as ahupua 'a. It is the kula lands, primarily used for agriculture, that now serve as the inspiration for the North Shore Kula Grille. A place where farm-to-table thinking is behind every ingredient on our menu.
Lobby Lounge
At the Lobby Lounge, you will find friendly service, exotic cocktails and a diverse menu to satisfy all of your cravings. Enjoy freshly brewed Coffees, Latts, Cappuccinos, Espresso Drinks, Smoothies, Beer, Wine, and Handcrafted Cocktails like the Pupukea Lychee and the Skinny Lilikoi Chi Chi. Signature dishes include Citrus Ponzu Calamari and Grilled Kahuku Honey & Mango Glazed Chicken.
Ola
Enjoy contemporary island cuisine with the sand between your toes. The only restaurant on O'ahu located literally on the beach, Ola is an experience for all the senses. The concept, cuisine and atmosphere of the open-aired restaurant that literally sits on the beach is summed up in its name, "Ola" which means "life, living, healthy and alive." Chef Fred DeAngelo delights guests with his innovative cuisine.
Surfer, The Bar
Forget dark wood paneling and marble bar-tops, Surfer has its own very original look and feel. And although the bartender can fastidiously make your favorite cocktail, the drink of choice here is a 16-ounce pint of ice-cold beer, many of them local small-batch brews. Sure the food is fresh, flavorful, sometimes spicy Hawaiian comfort food, prepared by white-hat chefs in the acclaimed resort kitchen. But food, beverage and dcor are not the real reasons why the audience - locals, guests of the hotel and word travelers - gather here.
The Point
Enjoy tropical drinks surfside at the outdoor The Point. Stop by for a refreshing break and one of the island's best Mai Tai's. Relax to the sounds of the surf while you discover why Turtle Bay Resort has received awards for "Hotel with the Best View." Every night of the week you will find something special happening here. You may find a Drum Circle, a keiki hula halau, live Hawaiian Style music, Fish Fries, or Fire Knife Dancers and every day at sunset you have a chance to order The Point signature drink, the "Green Flash".
Lei Lei's Bar and Grill
Mouthwatering dishes and a laid back atmosphere make Lei Lei's a famous local haunt on O'ahu's Fabled North Shore. Talk Story with entertaining manager and host Ian. The excellent dishes and service is what brings regulars from the surf and movie industry here Dinner features a menu brimming over with entrees of fresh, succulent seafood, savory beef, chicken and pork prepared to perfection. Signature dishes include slow-roasted prime rib, ginger soy Ahi and our warm bacon dressing spinach salad. Compliment the meal with a selection from our extensive wine list. Lei Lei's is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is served weekdays starting at 7:00 a.m. and on weekends starting at 6:30 a.m. Lunch is served from 11:00 a.m. Dinner seating begins at 5:00 p.m. with the last seating at 10:00 p.m. Live soloist music is played every Thursday and Sunday nights from 6:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (542)

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
542 out of 542
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
May 22, 2009

Truly Beautiful

We loved the Resort. I wasn't happy that we didn't get the correct room, but even our handicap room with pool and ocean view was very nice. I preferred not to be near the pool. We spent the majority of our stay walking the property. It is beautiful. We saw many sea turtles swimming in the ocean. My husband played golf at the Arnold Palmer Course. We had our 2 year old with us and found it very expensive to feed her. The average child's meal is $15. Breakfast was $55 for the two of us. Dinner's averaged $120 for the 3 of us. I didn't care for the food, but my husband did. The staff is very nice. The Friday night Lua on property is very nice and recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Small bottles of water in the rooms sell for $3.50 and at the pool for $4.00. You can purchase large bottles of water at the shop right next to the pool for less than $3.00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dennis Super Husband
Business
los angeles , CA
May 21, 2009

was great.........

little far from waikiki but the resort was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jackie CK
Business
Texas
May 20, 2009

Great location!

Great location! Big rooms with private balcony overlooking the ocean. Wonderful beach great for snorkling. Trip of a lifetime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great little bakery and grill down the road. Just a rustic looking blue building but very good food and inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
May 20, 2009

Lovely location on the North Shore

The Turtle Bay Resort is a good alternative to the Waikiki area if you're looking for a quieter get-away, but can't make it to one of the other Hawaiian islands. It's incredibly beautiful: there are vantage points from your room and on the grounds where you can see both the sunrise and sunset each day. We enjoyed hiking around the local beachside and interior trails. We don't usually stay in "resorts" ~ preferring quieter, remote locations, but this place was a nice compromise for being on Oahu. As reported, the restaurants at the hotel are certainly expensive, but the ones we sampled were good (including a great Ahi Cobb salad at Lei Leis), so do treat yourself to a nice meal and Mai Tai, but look for dining alternatives not far away. Fortunately, each room has a mini-fridge so you can keep your own snacks and beverages cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Although we did not visit during the North Shore "high season" ~ it still seemed busy along the highway and popular beaches. Instead, drive south east along the coast and "wade" 200 yards over to "Goats Island" during low tide (you'll need reef shoes). This beach has a lovely park area with alot of trees and shade.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
May 14, 2009

Very Relaxing

It was away from all the tourists of Honolulu and Waikiki. Very relaxing and alot to do in the resort as well. The helicopter ride was well worth the money and the horseback rinding was fun. Rent a car you can drive the whole island in less than an hour and a half. Pearl Harbor was worth seeing also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and spend the day in Honolulu, plenty of shopping there. Downtown Honolulu and Waikiki is to touristy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Z & K
Business
Chantilly, VA
May 13, 2009

Best Resort on Oahu!!!

The hotel not only offered a great location on the secluded North Shore, but ammenities to boot. Snorkeling, surfing, hiking, golf, horseback riding... the list goes on. After playing tourist on Wakiki Beach for a day, it was good to get back to the seclusion of Turtle Bay. The only downside was the resort food. The buffet is a mass produced chowline, and the quality of food shows. I would offer that if you decide to eat at the resort, order off of the menu, you will stand a chance at at least getting a fresh meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you hang a right out of the resort and take a right into Halawea, there is a wealth of nice dining and shopping. (If you like mexican food, Rosie's Cantina is on the right!). Also, take a left out of the resort and go about 8.3 miles and a nice little diner is on your right, Papa O'ole's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
May 12, 2009

Turtle Bay

Had a great time, great services and best location on the island. They need to get plush beds to match everything else that is so luxurious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ames IA
May 12, 2009

Great couples getaway

the only problem I had was my understanding when I booked thru Orbitz, since we were staying 8 nights that one night was free & I was to settle that with the resort. They said it was included in package

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Shrimp wagons close by where very good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Whitnit
Business
Dallas, Texas
May 11, 2009

Turtle Bay Resort

My friend and I decided to go to Hawaii for an early 30th birthday celebration. We were so glad that we stayed on the North Shore, away from the craziness of Waikiki. The view from the first room wasn't great & AC wasn't working correctly, but we asked for a different room and immediately got one. The view was awesome! Definitely rent a car. It is easy and convenient to get around that way. For four people, we had a 4 door soft top Jeep--fit us and the luggage! The drive down to Pearl Harbor and Honolulu wasn't bad. It took about an hour, but was very scenic. We stayed on the North Shore the majority of the time. It was very relaxing and peaceful there. Definitely mellowed us out! Places to go.... Shop in the town of Haliewa, about 20 minutes away. Eat at Banzai Sushi and Haliewa Joe's while there. Cholo's was decent Mexican food, but we only ate there for Cinco de Mayo. On the drive to Haliewa, there is an AWESOME place called Ted's. They have great garlic shrimp, chocolate haupia pie, and chocolate eclairs. We thought there shrimp were lots better than Giovanni's shrimp truck. At the resort, Ola's was the best restaurant! The butterfish was great. Lei Lei's was good too. Palm Terrace was for breakfast the last day. Don't give them credit cards at Palm Terrace--they may lose it. Luckily, they found mine, but our whole table was comped for breakfast. There are some great hikes around there, the best one we went on was Maunawilli Falls. It was on the east side, about 30-45 minutes drive from hotel. Climb up over the falls and you get to see another fall and a beautiful lagoon. There is also a hike near the YMCA camp , where the LOST others camp is. Immediately across from that small beach, walk along until you see a trail in the tall grass. You can see a trail, just look. It was well worth the hike to look out over the mountain. People rock climb up there too. Hawaii was wonderful and I can't wait to go back. Hope I could give y'all some good ideas about where to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

About 20 minute drive. FYI, the town shuts down around 9:00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawaii Dave
Business
San Antonio, Texas
May 11, 2009

Great location/Lots of rough edges

The location and view is beautiful. However I was a bit disappointed with the Turtle Bay Resort. I've stayed at other Prefrerred Hotels and was expecting the same experience. The Turtle Bay Resort has a lot of rough edges: - Poor paint job in the room - looks like someone has tried to patch the walls. They need to break down and repaint them. - Bathroom - cabinets falling apart, paint peeling in the bath tub from a poor refinishing job. - Dirty chairs in the room - Beds were old and very basic. Something you would expect to find at a Motel 6 - Staff was just ok, did not go out of their way. At the evening buffet we were served by 4 different people with very slow service. Not worth the $30 for the buffet as the food was just average. In general the food at the resort was just ok and way over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I would plan to dine outside of the Hotel. The food options at the resort are limited, just average, and way overpriced for what you get.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top