$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2015 Check-out: Jul 14, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
View map of 57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
602 out of 602
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Jul 20, 2009

Gorgeous Honeymoon

The pools were nice as the one had a small waterslide, a waterfall, and a smaller waterfall that led to a kid's pool. There are two hot tubs, but the "no kids" guideline is NOT followed, and nobody wants to be the guy who kicked the kids out of the hot tub. I was disappointed, however, that diving was not allowed in the big pool as it was at least 11 feet deep. This was because the pool is not guarded by a lifeguard nor are their beaches. I enjoyed the "free snorkeling" only to realize that by "free" they meant it was part of your "hotel fee" which they conveniently packaged with other "commonly used amenities" which included local phone calls and other items I would not have used. The property location is by far the best you can get on Oahu, however, as it is on the North Shore, away from all the touristy madness. If I were to return to Oahu I would have to decide if I wanted to relax at a resort or visit other parts of the island. If I wanted to relax and enjoy the weather, beach, and resort amenities I would stay at Turtle Bay again. If, however, I wanted to see more of the Hawaiian culture and see tourist attractions I would book somewhere less expensive where I would be spending less time. We were also there the weekend of July 4th which meant lots of kids that weekend. They hold a little festival and fireworks show right at the resort which was nice becasue we could see the fireworks from our balcony, but also not so nice as it meant much more foot traffic on the beaches and in the pools. The only other comment I have is that the resort's location is a positive and a negative. It is a positive b/c it is one of the only places where you can see both the sunrise and the sunset without leaving the hotel itself, the beach is not very crowded b/c it is mostly hotel guests, and the scenery is beautiful. However, the location on the North Shore also means that grocery stores, and other necessities are not nearby. Be sure to rent a car if you are going to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to take a drive to Haleiwa and get yourself some genuine hawaiin shave ice from Matsumoto's or Aoki's.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MaoriCho
Business
Hawthorne, NJ
Jul 17, 2009

More than Awesome!

Great staff, beautiful view awesome beach, quiet and serene great restaurants, pricy but great food snorkeling, horseback riding, helicoper, you name it, everything's there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 15, 2009

Awesome

My friend and I did absolutely nothing but read, eat, spa, and tan while we were at Turtle Bay and it was awesome. It was really in the middle of nowhere, which was what we were looking for (to get away from everything) and as we didn't have a car there was really nothing to do. The bus station was really close though, so if you wanted to take public transportation you could. Turtle Bay was the ultimate in relaxation, though. If that is what you are looking for- go for the gold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

The spa is AWESOME. The robes are so soft and luxurious. Get a massage in the cabin by the beach!

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Jul 15, 2009

Fantastic Vacation

This was our first trip to Hawaii and I can say that we did it up right the first time. It was a wonderful experience and makes us want to plan routine vacations to the islands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Jul 14, 2009

Nice Location; Tired Rooms

Quiet location won't be for everybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pacific Northwest
Jul 13, 2009

Great location, room quality varies

Return visit to TB (last trip 2007) and I have really enjoyed my stay both times. The location is unbeatable, with ocean views from all rooms. The beach is lovely, friendly to novice snorklers, with food/beverage located on the edge of the sand. Plenty of activities on the grounds - hiking, horseback riding, tennis, golf, swimming pool. Restaurants are good and there are several to choose from (although you can expect resort prices). Weaknesses - as was the case in 2007, room quality varies greatly. My first room (aside from a spectacular view of the beach) was solidly average, particularly in cleanliness and condition. The light fixtures and closet poles were rusted, there was crusted food on the desk chair, and the bathtub caulking had dark stains. Sadly, this does not appear to be an isolated problem - our room on the previous trip was in similar condition. This time I requested a room change and was moved to overlook the pool - a vast improvement (no rust, stains, cleaner overall). I don't enjoy writing negative things about such a beautiful resort/friendly staff, but TB still has some work to do to live up to their star rating. All rooms need to be cleaned up, not just those that house travel reviewers/VIPs. If you get one of the sub-par rooms, I recommend that you take it up with the front desk - with any luck, enough complaints will encourage management to invest the few hundred dollars per room it would take to brighten up again (i.e. new caulk for the shower and replace the paper light fixtures). My hope is for TB to be nicer for the next time I visit (because I will be back!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Shrimp shacks to the east (left from gate, drive a couple miles) - a little intimidating if you're not acustomed to restaurants that can drive away(!), but delicious fresh shrimp. Giovanni's is our traditional stop. To the west, Waimea Foodland has fried chicken and a Starbucks, as well as groceries - great for a picnic on the beach. And shaved ice in Hale'iwa - if the line at Matsumoto's is long, Aoki's next door is just as good. Try adding ice cream if haven't before - now I don't like it any other way.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
miami, fl
Jul 12, 2009

natural wonderland

wonderful walking trails along pristine beaches, woods, and golf courses. we saw mongoose, turtles and a monk seal in their natural habitat!! the staff is friendly, the rooms large. excellent food and cocktails, though they are pricey gym is small and always crowded. expect to wait for machines. between the spa, horseback riding, snorkeling and biking, u dont need to leave the resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

nearby polynesian cultural center is an all day interactive immersion into the cultures of hawaii and other polynesian islands like tonga and tahiti. really fun and interesting

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ex military
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 11, 2009

Turtle 2

Previous trips have been excellent. Level of customer service was unmatched. Seems like they have lost the bubble. Ran into a couple of rude members of the staff. Told management and no action was taken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FairAssessor
Business
Asheville, NC
Jul 9, 2009

Good, Bad, and Ugly

Gourgeoeus location, outside of hotel, lobby great - rest average. Worst part was the resort amenities open to anyone who paid to park there. 2 hottubs full of people not staying at hotel one night. Also air-conditioning below par, not just in room. Some of of concierge staff not friendly - act pompous - don't bother with older lady who looks friendly. Rest of staff friendly. 1 good restaurant, Lei Lei's, Palm Terrace the worst!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip Palm Terrace! Go to Lei Lei's. Try some of the off-resort restaurants.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
all time traveller
Business
bc, canada
Jul 8, 2009

amazing location

great location, pricey restaraunts but overall great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top