$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2014 Check-out: Sep 14, 2014

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
534 reviews
Turtle Bay

Turtle Bay was an awesome experience. It was a birthday celebration and we had a delightful time.... See full review

  • Aunty Plumeria
  • Jul 24, 2014
Couple staycation

So my girlfriend and I decided that we would spend my last weekend in town overnight at the North... See full review

  • jdSmithChang
  • Jul 15, 2014
Del Webb, the real estate mogul and one-time New York Yankees owner, opened Turtle Bay Resort in 1972 and ever since then, it's been entertaining guests with an involving line-up of activities, from surfing lessons and making your own flower-leis to learning how to play the ukulele. Add to this the two chlorine-free swimming pools, water slide, trails for hiking and biking, and championship golf courses, and it's no wonder that Turtle Bay draws sizable crowds. Wicker and natural woods contrast with brighter shades indoors, while the verdant north shore of Oahu provides all the views you need from the terrace restaurant, Ola. Nalu Kinetic Spa provides ocean panoramas, a massage table that simulates the sensation of floating at sea, and calming hot-stone treatments.
Key facts
  • 443 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Valet parking
  • 5 restaurants: Pa'akai, North Shore Kula Grille, Hang Ten Bar & Grill, Ola Restaurant and Lei Lei's Bar & Grill
  • Lounge/bars: Lobby Lounge and Surfer, The Bar
  • 2 outdoor pools
  • 24-hour room service
  • Coffee shop and café
  • On-site golf course
  • Full-service spa
  • Health club
  • Arcade/game room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
Neighborhood
It's worth staying at this Hawaiian resort just for the surroundings. Turtle Bay is found in a section of Oahu's famed North Shore known for its unique rock formations, spectacular surfing beaches, and the majestic green sea turtles for which it is named. Near to both Kawela Bay Beach Park and the James Campbell National Wildlife Refuge, the Kamehameha Highway leads southeast from the hotel to the Polynesian Cultural Center, for those seeking signs of modern civilization.
Hints and tips
Be sure to enjoy one of the many free events that are featured every week, from spoken word nights to beach parties and film showings.

Drop in to hear amazing stories from professional surfers at Surfer, The Bar, in between mouthfuls of spicy Hawaiian seafood.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.698 -157.9903
Area served
North Shore, Polynesian Cultural Center, Kawela Bay, Kuilima Cove, Turtle Bay.
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
About an hour from Honolulu, Turtle Bay Resort is set against a landscape of cattle pastures, plantation homes, lush windward valleys and the scenic, world-famous surfing beaches of Oahu's Fabled North Shore. Both laidback and vibrant, the North Shore attracts millions of visitors each year and offers a variety of colorful cafes and shops. You'll also be a few minutes' drive from the Polynesian Cultural Center.

Turtle Bay Resort Rooms

Ocean Front Beach Cottage
The Beach Cottages at Turtle Bay Resort are grouped in clusters of six and situated along the west shore of beautiful Turtle Bay. The cottages are equipped with large marble bathrooms featuring Kallista deep-soak tubs, freestanding glass showers, and private, enclosed toilets.
Deluxe Oceanfront
Full Balcony Offering Spectacular Ocean Views and Hawaiian Sunsets with Two Queen Beds Studio-type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.
Ocean Villas
Our villas make the perfect resort home; elegantly furnished with a masterful blend of luxury and elegance. The Ocean Villas are unsurpassed by anything that the island of Oahu has ever seen in oceanfront resort accommodations. The entryway leads to a gourmet kitchen, which is adjacent to a spacious living/dining area. The master bedroom is furnished with 1 king bed; each guest room has 1 queen bed and the living room has a queen sized sofa sleeper. Enjoy exclusive amenities such as the Ocean Villa pool, Jacuzzi, courtyard, and barbeque area.
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds. Partial Oceanview located on the second floor. 478 square feet. Complimentary wireless Internet access, compact refrigerator, coffeemaker, and cable TV with HBO, pay movies, and video games (surcharge). A daily resort fee covers local phone calls, weekday newspaper delivery, and in-room safe. Non-smoking only. One king or two double beds.
ADA Accesible Oceanfront King
Our ADA accessible ocean front room includes a king sized bed. An automatic wide door ensures easy and smooth access into the spacious 478 feet dwelling. Grab bars for comfort and security are located throughout the roomy restroom. The tub includes a shower bench and handheld shower head to ensure ease. The double lanai door is equipped with a ramp. The closet is wheel chair accessible with a low clothing rack. A portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request. Lamps are touch activated for easy use. The closed-captioning option is available for television viewing.
ADA Accessible Oceanside Cottage
One king or two queen beds. Inside, find polished Brazilian walnut floors leading to a large, multi-level beach retreat with 15-foot ceilings and king poster beds. Luxuriate in a Kallista deep-soak tub or take care of business using wireless Internet access. Let our exclusive cottage concierge tend to your every need. Room includes location near handicap parking stalls, ADA accessible ramp to cottage, automatic wheel chair accessible door, ramp in cottage to access multi-levels, double lanai door with ramp for wheel chair access to lanai, spacious ADA accessible bathroom, roll-in shower, handheld showerhead, low tub, grab bars throughout the bathroom, touch activated lights, ADA accessible closet, closed-captioning option for television, and a portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request.
Ocean View
Beautiful views of the ocean and resort, a full bath with vanity, wireless Internet access, telephone with two lines and data port and sleep two to four. Two double queen beds or a king size bed
Oceanfront
Small Balcony with Full View Of Turtle Bay And Hawaiian Sunrises with Two Queen Beds. Studio type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort has more than 28,000 square feet of event and pre-function space perfect for group sizes up to 600 indoors and 2000 outdoors. An experienced conference servicing team is available to assist with all program needs including menu planning, technology support and recreational activities.

Dining

Pa'akai
A fresh twist on locally sourced dining. Pa'akai - or "sea salt" in the Hawaiian language, reflecting Hawaii's numerous seaside salt beds - features sea-to-table cuisine. Pa'akai's menu highlights the best in fresh local fish, farm-raised lobster, Kauai prawns, sea asparagus, seaweed and sea salt produced in Hawaii.
North Shore Kula Grille
The ancient Hawaiians divided their land into three sections: Mauka, kula and makai - or mountains, midland and the sea - known as ahupua 'a. It is the kula lands, primarily used for agriculture, that now serve as the inspiration for the North Shore Kula Grille. A place where farm-to-table thinking is behind every ingredient on our menu.
Lobby Lounge
At the Lobby Lounge, you will find friendly service, exotic cocktails and a diverse menu to satisfy all of your cravings. Enjoy freshly brewed Coffees, Latts, Cappuccinos, Espresso Drinks, Smoothies, Beer, Wine, and Handcrafted Cocktails like the Pupukea Lychee and the Skinny Lilikoi Chi Chi. Signature dishes include Citrus Ponzu Calamari and Grilled Kahuku Honey & Mango Glazed Chicken.
Ola
Enjoy contemporary island cuisine with the sand between your toes. The only restaurant on O'ahu located literally on the beach, Ola is an experience for all the senses. The concept, cuisine and atmosphere of the open-aired restaurant that literally sits on the beach is summed up in its name, "Ola" which means "life, living, healthy and alive." Chef Fred DeAngelo delights guests with his innovative cuisine.
Surfer, The Bar
Forget dark wood paneling and marble bar-tops, Surfer has its own very original look and feel. And although the bartender can fastidiously make your favorite cocktail, the drink of choice here is a 16-ounce pint of ice-cold beer, many of them local small-batch brews. Sure the food is fresh, flavorful, sometimes spicy Hawaiian comfort food, prepared by white-hat chefs in the acclaimed resort kitchen. But food, beverage and dcor are not the real reasons why the audience - locals, guests of the hotel and word travelers - gather here.
Hang Ten Bar & Grill
Enjoy tropical drinks surfside at the outdoor Hang Ten Bar & Grill. Stop by for a refreshing break and one of the island's best Mai Tai's. Relax to the sounds of the surf while you discover why Turtle Bay Resort has received awards for "Hotel with the Best View." Every night of the week you will find something special happening here. You may find a Drum Circle, a keiki hula halau, live Hawaiian Style music, Fish Fries, or Fire Knife Dancers and every day at sunset you have a chance to order the Hang Ten signature drink, the "Green Flash".
Lei Lei's Bar and Grill
Mouthwatering dishes and a laid back atmosphere make Lei Lei's a famous local haunt on O'ahu's Fabled North Shore. Talk Story with entertaining manager and host Ian. The excellent dishes and service is what brings regulars from the surf and movie industry here Dinner features a menu brimming over with entrees of fresh, succulent seafood, savory beef, chicken and pork prepared to perfection. Signature dishes include slow-roasted prime rib, ginger soy Ahi and our warm bacon dressing spinach salad. Compliment the meal with a selection from our extensive wine list. Lei Lei's is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is served weekdays starting at 7:00 a.m. and on weekends starting at 6:30 a.m. Lunch is served from 11:00 a.m. Dinner seating begins at 5:00 p.m. with the last seating at 10:00 p.m. Live soloist music is played every Thursday and Sunday nights from 6:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (534)

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
534 out of 534
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cheap traveler
seoul, korea
Jul 2, 2013

Fantastic getaway

I booked this hotel for my wife and in-laws. What I heard was it was great hotel and liked it so much, surround by great nature. Only bad part was there's nothing else; no shops, restaurants outside of hotel but I bet that is the point staying ther.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

ocean front

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach Toes
Wailuku, Hawaii
Jun 21, 2013

Quick Getaway

I originally booked a room for one night, at their lowest rate, in hopes I'd get the privilege of staying in one of their newly renovated rooms. Boy did I luck out! Upon check in, the gentleman at the front desk was kind enough to upgrade me to a king suite! 700+ square feet of brand newly renovated beauty. Room was awesome. Huge lanai, amazing bathroom, and a gorgeous view. The television, vanity mirror, and a few outlets were not working unfortunately, due to the construction that was taking place, I'm going to assume. However it did not concern me since I was on the lanai most of my time there. The surrounding beaches were very peaceful as well. All in all my stay was wonderful and I will def be making a trip back in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Romys Shrimp Truck is but a 5 minute drive from the hotel. If you love big juicy shrimp smothered in butter and garlic on a pile of fluffy white rice, Romy's is an absolute must try.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
allsmiles13
Grand Ledge, MI
Feb 19, 2013

Quiet location, and awesome ocean sound and breeze

Is on the North Shore about one hour and ten minutes drive from Honolulu. Very quiet location and room balcony door has sliding wood doors kind of like shutters, that allow the sound and breeze from the ocean into your room while you sleep if you leave the glass door open. Slept amazingly well here. We ordered room service first night, it was quick and good. We were happy we stayed here and not on Waikiki, as Waikiki and Honolulu are very busy. We really enjoyed the North Shore area and avoided Waikiki and metro Honolulu except for the day we went to Pearl Harbor. They have started a major renovation January 2013 (should be completed by end of 2013) of the tower rooms. They are doing one wing at a time completely closing the entire wing off from the rest of the hotel so as not to disturb guests. Will not interfere with your stay. Our first room was a little grungy (needed a good re-painting) due to full occupancy and being exhausted from traveling we waited until the next day to ask to be moved. We were moved to another room and were very happy with the new room, front desk staff handled it promptly and found a room just a couple of doors down so that the move would be quick and easy. Some things to know: 1. distance wise places are not that far apart from each other on Oahu however, driving time is double to triple the time the distance would take to drive in the midwest United States 2. Outside of Honolulu city area there is usually only on or two roads to reach other areas of Oahu. 3. A lot of restaurants in the North Shore area except the restaurants at the hotel and a few in Haleiwa close early around 6-7 PM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sfhomo
san francisco, ca
Feb 16, 2013

beautiful north shore

excellent. Perfect location to chill out. Great!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JCLO
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 12, 2013

Great escape in the northern part of Oahu

The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful. Rooms with great views. Only issue is limited number of restaurants at the resort. Great place to escape the crowds of Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Waimea falls/park

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rocky mountain views
Colorado
Jan 30, 2013

"re-styling" a necessity

I didnt see the four stars this place is rated. It has alot of ways to spend more money once you are there. The room (king) was nice a big but I think its overrated. It does have the one place on Oahu that you could snorkel during high surf warnings and the location for sunsets was great. Wished it was more but didnt charge so much for the more. They have just begun a "restyling" which may cause some construction distress if all you want to do is take naps or hang out on your lanai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ewayne
Utah
Jan 24, 2013

Good Hotel, excellent location

We only stayed one night. The view from the balcony was extraordinary. The room showed signs of wear--needed some finish work of the wood parts. Door from hallway tended to stick some times. Since hotel is in state of renovation, some things were less convenient. Staff was friendly, especially the bell crew. Parking is a problem. I think the price is a little high given the repairs being made and the age of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CalFamily
California
Jan 13, 2013

Good, not great

Location is amazing and there are a lot of activities both at the hotel and close by. If you are a surfer or like water, you will be happy here. The rooms are tired and the staff was just ok. I think it's overpriced for what it is, but it's the only hotel on the north shore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SeansGirl
NY
Jan 8, 2013

Forgot to Add.....

You can walk miles up the shore.....we were by ourselves on the beach and saw sea turtles swimming!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss: -Polynesian Cultural Center -Dole Plantation -Pearl Harbor -Sea Life Park (we swam with dolphins and sea lions!)

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SeansGirl
NY
Jan 8, 2013

Great Honeymoon Location

Hubby and I spent our honeymoon here in June. The location is fabulous! Beautiful views no matter where in the resort your room is. We were on the fifth floor, and slept with our patio door open at night to feel the breeze and listen to the ocean. Our room was beautiful. Other reviews mention shabby rooms, but ours had definitely been updated. Very comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom. The staff did a turn down service every evening where they dimmed the lights and turned on relaxing music- nice touch. There was a lot to do here- everything from sunbathing to snorkeling to surfing. You can be as busy or as relaxed as you want. There is even a helicopter tour service on site which we took advantage of- take Dramamine, but it's a must-do! The staff were all very friendly and helpful- no complaints there whatseover. There were planty of families with children, but the hotel was very quiet- noise did not carry from other rooms at all. Very good for light sleepers like me! The only negatives: 1. The $25-per-day resort fee. 2. Not all-inclusive- you pay for all meals and most activities. 3. Dining on site is very pricey no matter where you eat. Even the breakfast buffet was expensive. We ended up buying food at a local grocery store to keep in our room for breakfast and snacks. Overall, though, we were definitely very happy with the overall experience and would recommend Turtle Bay! It was breathtaking and the North Shore is quiet and peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search