$303 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
View map of 57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
598 out of 598
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emma Elise
Business
Bayarea
Aug 31, 2014

Relaxing vavation

The resort is really nice. Staff are very friendly. Will definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
returning resident
Business
Seattle
Aug 8, 2014

Where I want to stay on Oahu

I am a returning resident so Turtle Bay is where I wanted to be. I have been staying there several times since it opened as Kuilima. This time my daughter and I stayed in the cottages. They are roomy with tall ceilings and a nice open terrace (ground floor, naturally,) I thought we would spend more time on the terrace but two problems prevented this. There was a Bush directly in front which obscured our ocean view. I'm sure this was meant for privacy but when you pay for ocean view, you expect to see it unobstructed. Also, during the day, it was very hot on the lanais. Even though it was windy throughout our stay, the rooms were somehow situated (we were in 114) so that the breezes did not hit us. The grounds are gorgeous. There are many options, pool, beach, coast. We spent a day by the lagoon and if you can snag an umbrella as we did, it was perfect, Ola' s, a wonderful restaurant with outdoor seating was right there so as we lounged on the beach, we could listen to live Hawaiian music. Perfect. We also spent 3 days at the pool. Lots of shade.which I like and. My daughter chose lounge chairs facing the ocean where she could watch the surfers. Pool bar serves fairly good food, thai mahi tacos, berry salads, hamburgers, etc. Pricey, most items will run you around $16. Tropical drinks $10-12 . Ate at Ola' s once for pupu' s and once for dinner. Again with one drink and entree's around $32, a meal for two ran $140 with tip. I stayed 4 nights and my costs, not including room rate was $600 (daily resort fees, taxes, some drinks and meals as I mostly paid cash.) This was a birthday splash for my daughter so the cottages were a splurge. Given the hot patio, I think I'd opt next time for an ocean front room. Given my choice between Turtle Bay and Waikiki resorts (I have stayed at several upscale ones) I'd stay at TB again hands down. It is more local, lots of live music poolside, sitting out in the most gorgeous setting, sipping cocktails. I had lots of my island friends stopping by throughout my stay so it was that much nicer. If you do stay in the cottages, you have your own parking right there and that's a plus. Personally, I parked and never left the resort but I'm not a tourist. There are fun small towns and nice beaches nearby but that wasn't my goal. So all in all, wonderful stay. Go with deep pockets cause it will cost you. Love the staff. Everyone wonderful. Do ask for itemized statement. There was a charge for a bar I had never attended so they made that adjustment. My guess is that can happen anywhere but do assess before leaving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

In nearby Kahuku, stop and get the garlic shrimp from the food trucks. I like the original truck near Kahuku grill that looks like it's been painted and scribbled on. So ono.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aunty Plumeria
Business
Hale'iwa, Hawai'i
Jul 24, 2014

Turtle Bay

Turtle Bay was an awesome experience. It was a birthday celebration and we had a delightful time. The grounds are breathtaking, the staff is friendly and it is a safe environment for families. It is like and island in itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kepster
Business
Hawaii
Jul 24, 2014

Gem on the North Shore

We live on Oahu but take a three day getaway to Turtle Bay twice a year. Beautiful location, far away from Waikiki. It's like a vacation to another island without the airfare. Quiet and relaxing with a ocean view from every room. Full resort amenities available (water sports, golf, horseback riding, hiking, dining variety, entertainment). The only negative is that they sneak in a non-optional "Resort Fee" on top of the room price. I would prefer a little more honesty by including all charges in the advertised room price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Shrimp Trucks in Kahuku.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BreeB
Business
Santa Monica, California
Jul 19, 2014

Fantastic romantic getaway

There are many activities you can participate in while staying at Turtle Bay - surfing, snorkeling, golfing, bike riding, etc. You can do it all! One of the coolest things was seeing sea turtles up close in the bay. We had an ocean view room where we could watch the sunrise/sunset. It was absolutely beautiful! and relaxing. We will definitely return to Turtle Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jdSmithChang
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jul 15, 2014

Couple staycation

So my girlfriend and I decided that we would spend my last weekend in town overnight at the North Shore - Turtle Bay was naturally the only option! Overall a wonderful stay. One tip: Don't leave the lanai doors open too long or you will be greeted with beetles...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Losa W
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 10, 2014

Awesome vacay resort!

My daughters and I had the time of our lives! Great view from our room. Excellent customer service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Polynesian Cultural Center, beaches and local grinds (food).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roosh
Business
Madison, WI
May 23, 2014

THE place to stay on the North Shore

TBR was a great place to experience the North Shore. Great snorkeling and the surfing lesson was really fun! All the on-site restaurants were delicious and I've never slept in a more comfortable bed. Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make a reservation at Ola restaurant to get a great table close to the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JenD100
Business
Broomfield, Colorado
May 20, 2014

Turtle Bay Resort

We booked through an online travel site. Got a good rate. Check in was easy. Our room was nice, full view of the ocean even though we were suppose to receive partial view. We also had full view of their roof construction that looked terrible and we began to worry about the noise that it would bring so we tried to switch rooms. They said they only had a king with no balcony available so we decided to wait until the next day to see how bad the construction noise would be. The first night was horrible: we didn't make it past midnight. There was this awful sound coming from the interior wall that was loud and wouldn't stop. By midnight we were very upset and called the front desk because it was very difficult for my husband and I to sleep (although it didn't seem to bother our daughter). At first they wanted to send a technician up to see if it could be fixed. They also said they were all booked for rooms at our price level and had nowhere to put us! So we waited for the technician for a few minutes until realizing that the only thing they could do is tear down the wall to stop the noise. They were wasting our valuable sleep time for our vacation! So we called down again and said we need a new room! The person helping us said that they did have a room, it was a downgrade from what we were currently in because they had "upgraded" our reservation with full ocean view (and full construction view). We took the downgrade happily since that's what we were suppose to have in the first place. Turned out to be a much better room than the first one even with only partial view of the ocean. Thanks but no thanks for the initial upgrade!!! One thing we were very disappointed with is the inconvenience and lost sleep that was caused by having to switch rooms at midnight, yet they never once offered something nice to make up for it. The security manager was very nice but come on people! We had to switch rooms in the middle of the night and you did nothing to say sorry? Not very impressive because we lost part of our night thanks to your room and the noise it was making! The rest of the time was good and the room was quiet. All the staff is very friendly. Every employee we saw gave us big smiles and alohas every time! We were very impressed with that. Housekeeping was very friendly and accommodating. The only other con is that its very busy on the weekend (especially the pool). Not sure if it's like that every weekend or only because of mothers day weekend but the pool area was packed full of people. Another thing is if you plan on taking advantage of the FREE self-parking (included in resort fee) be aware that its tricky because the parking lot gets quite full during the day with beach goers. On many occasions we had a long walk to the hotel. Doesn't seem quite fair when we are paying to stay there. Shouldn't guests have a reserved spot every day regardless of whether the valet is parking the car or you are doing it yourself? We would recommend this hotel. Although we were not happy with the initial room situation, it did smooth out once we moved to a new room. In our case, with the midnight room switch, they didn't go above and beyond to make us feel valued what- so-ever. The hotel itself is 5 stars but with other things factored in the experience was a 3 1/2 for us. Time is precious on vacation and so is sleep. So costing your clients either isn't a nice thing to do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kiwi Kiter
Business
Melbourne, Australia.
May 8, 2014

Best on Oahu.

Awesome. Stop at supermarket on the drive in and buy a few drinks and snacks.. Eat at the shrimp trucks that are all over the north shore. Try not to cut your feet on the sharp coral. Do the segway tour. "Goat island" is best for kitesurfing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Supermarket has awesome snacks and beer selection, will save you hundreds. As well as shrimp trucks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top