$319 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
542 reviews
Honey Moon!

Turtle bay is perfect & Beautiful! I love everything of this hotel. See full review

  • Rowi22
  • Nov 29, 2014
Great

This was our 3rd stay at TB, and it was our best. We were celebrating our 40 year anniversary. I... See full review

  • Vicnanc
  • Oct 4, 2014
Del Webb, the real estate mogul and one-time New York Yankees owner, opened Turtle Bay Resort in 1972 and ever since then, it's been entertaining guests with an involving line-up of activities, from surfing lessons and making your own flower-leis to learning how to play the ukulele. Add to this the two chlorine-free swimming pools, water slide, trails for hiking and biking, and championship golf courses, and it's no wonder that Turtle Bay draws sizable crowds. Wicker and natural woods contrast with brighter shades indoors, while the verdant north shore of Oahu provides all the views you need from the terrace restaurant, Ola. Nalu Kinetic Spa provides ocean panoramas, a massage table that simulates the sensation of floating at sea, and calming hot-stone treatments.
Key facts
  • 443 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Valet parking
  • 5 restaurants: Pa'akai, North Shore Kula Grille, Hang Ten Bar & Grill, Ola Restaurant and Lei Lei's Bar & Grill
  • Lounge/bars: Lobby Lounge and Surfer, The Bar
  • 2 outdoor pools
  • 24-hour room service
  • Coffee shop and café
  • On-site golf course
  • Full-service spa
  • Health club
  • Arcade/game room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
Neighborhood
It's worth staying at this Hawaiian resort just for the surroundings. Turtle Bay is found in a section of Oahu's famed North Shore known for its unique rock formations, spectacular surfing beaches, and the majestic green sea turtles for which it is named. Near to both Kawela Bay Beach Park and the James Campbell National Wildlife Refuge, the Kamehameha Highway leads southeast from the hotel to the Polynesian Cultural Center, for those seeking signs of modern civilization.
Hints and tips
Be sure to enjoy one of the many free events that are featured every week, from spoken word nights to beach parties and film showings.

Drop in to hear amazing stories from professional surfers at Surfer, The Bar, in between mouthfuls of spicy Hawaiian seafood.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Turtle Bay Resort Rooms

Ocean Front Beach Cottage
The Beach Cottages at Turtle Bay Resort are grouped in clusters of six and situated along the west shore of beautiful Turtle Bay. The cottages are equipped with large marble bathrooms featuring Kallista deep-soak tubs, freestanding glass showers, and private, enclosed toilets.
Deluxe Oceanfront
Full Balcony Offering Spectacular Ocean Views and Hawaiian Sunsets with Two Queen Beds Studio-type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.
Ocean Villas
Our villas make the perfect resort home; elegantly furnished with a masterful blend of luxury and elegance. The Ocean Villas are unsurpassed by anything that the island of Oahu has ever seen in oceanfront resort accommodations. The entryway leads to a gourmet kitchen, which is adjacent to a spacious living/dining area. The master bedroom is furnished with 1 king bed; each guest room has 1 queen bed and the living room has a queen sized sofa sleeper. Enjoy exclusive amenities such as the Ocean Villa pool, Jacuzzi, courtyard, and barbeque area.
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds. Partial Oceanview located on the second floor. 478 square feet. Complimentary wireless Internet access, compact refrigerator, coffeemaker, and cable TV with HBO, pay movies, and video games (surcharge). A daily resort fee covers local phone calls, weekday newspaper delivery, and in-room safe. Non-smoking only. One king or two double beds.
ADA Accesible Oceanfront King
Our ADA accessible ocean front room includes a king sized bed. An automatic wide door ensures easy and smooth access into the spacious 478 feet dwelling. Grab bars for comfort and security are located throughout the roomy restroom. The tub includes a shower bench and handheld shower head to ensure ease. The double lanai door is equipped with a ramp. The closet is wheel chair accessible with a low clothing rack. A portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request. Lamps are touch activated for easy use. The closed-captioning option is available for television viewing.
ADA Accessible Oceanside Cottage
One king or two queen beds. Inside, find polished Brazilian walnut floors leading to a large, multi-level beach retreat with 15-foot ceilings and king poster beds. Luxuriate in a Kallista deep-soak tub or take care of business using wireless Internet access. Let our exclusive cottage concierge tend to your every need. Room includes location near handicap parking stalls, ADA accessible ramp to cottage, automatic wheel chair accessible door, ramp in cottage to access multi-levels, double lanai door with ramp for wheel chair access to lanai, spacious ADA accessible bathroom, roll-in shower, handheld showerhead, low tub, grab bars throughout the bathroom, touch activated lights, ADA accessible closet, closed-captioning option for television, and a portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request.
Ocean View
Beautiful views of the ocean and resort, a full bath with vanity, wireless Internet access, telephone with two lines and data port and sleep two to four. Two double queen beds or a king size bed
Oceanfront
Small Balcony with Full View Of Turtle Bay And Hawaiian Sunrises with Two Queen Beds. Studio type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pa'akai
A fresh twist on locally sourced dining. Pa'akai - or "sea salt" in the Hawaiian language, reflecting Hawaii's numerous seaside salt beds - features sea-to-table cuisine. Pa'akai's menu highlights the best in fresh local fish, farm-raised lobster, Kauai prawns, sea asparagus, seaweed and sea salt produced in Hawaii.
North Shore Kula Grille
The ancient Hawaiians divided their land into three sections: Mauka, kula and makai - or mountains, midland and the sea - known as ahupua 'a. It is the kula lands, primarily used for agriculture, that now serve as the inspiration for the North Shore Kula Grille. A place where farm-to-table thinking is behind every ingredient on our menu.
Lobby Lounge
At the Lobby Lounge, you will find friendly service, exotic cocktails and a diverse menu to satisfy all of your cravings. Enjoy freshly brewed Coffees, Latts, Cappuccinos, Espresso Drinks, Smoothies, Beer, Wine, and Handcrafted Cocktails like the Pupukea Lychee and the Skinny Lilikoi Chi Chi. Signature dishes include Citrus Ponzu Calamari and Grilled Kahuku Honey & Mango Glazed Chicken.
Ola
Enjoy contemporary island cuisine with the sand between your toes. The only restaurant on O'ahu located literally on the beach, Ola is an experience for all the senses. The concept, cuisine and atmosphere of the open-aired restaurant that literally sits on the beach is summed up in its name, "Ola" which means "life, living, healthy and alive." Chef Fred DeAngelo delights guests with his innovative cuisine.
Surfer, The Bar
Forget dark wood paneling and marble bar-tops, Surfer has its own very original look and feel. And although the bartender can fastidiously make your favorite cocktail, the drink of choice here is a 16-ounce pint of ice-cold beer, many of them local small-batch brews. Sure the food is fresh, flavorful, sometimes spicy Hawaiian comfort food, prepared by white-hat chefs in the acclaimed resort kitchen. But food, beverage and dcor are not the real reasons why the audience - locals, guests of the hotel and word travelers - gather here.
The Point
Enjoy tropical drinks surfside at the outdoor The Point. Stop by for a refreshing break and one of the island's best Mai Tai's. Relax to the sounds of the surf while you discover why Turtle Bay Resort has received awards for "Hotel with the Best View." Every night of the week you will find something special happening here. You may find a Drum Circle, a keiki hula halau, live Hawaiian Style music, Fish Fries, or Fire Knife Dancers and every day at sunset you have a chance to order The Point signature drink, the "Green Flash".
Lei Lei's Bar and Grill
Mouthwatering dishes and a laid back atmosphere make Lei Lei's a famous local haunt on O'ahu's Fabled North Shore. Talk Story with entertaining manager and host Ian. The excellent dishes and service is what brings regulars from the surf and movie industry here Dinner features a menu brimming over with entrees of fresh, succulent seafood, savory beef, chicken and pork prepared to perfection. Signature dishes include slow-roasted prime rib, ginger soy Ahi and our warm bacon dressing spinach salad. Compliment the meal with a selection from our extensive wine list. Lei Lei's is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is served weekdays starting at 7:00 a.m. and on weekends starting at 6:30 a.m. Lunch is served from 11:00 a.m. Dinner seating begins at 5:00 p.m. with the last seating at 10:00 p.m. Live soloist music is played every Thursday and Sunday nights from 6:00 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort has more than 28,000 square feet of event and pre-function space perfect for group sizes up to 600 indoors and 2000 outdoors. An experienced conference servicing team is available to assist with all program needs including menu planning, technology support and recreational activities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (542)

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
542 out of 542
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aloha2014
Business
Arizona
Apr 7, 2014

Turtle Bay

After 25 plus years, I returned to vacation for 8 days at Turtle Bay (03/2014). Complete remodel, upgrades, golf, horse stables, surf instructions, fitness center, yoga lessons, great food selections, whale watching etc.. My only disappointment was to see how crowded the north Shore has become over the years. Tons of surfer on the weekends. Check out Turtle Bay for a wonderful vacation experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the free snorkel gear every day..... the coral reef is wonderful to explore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SPLITSHOT
Business
BOISE, IDAHO
Apr 6, 2014

GREAT EXPERIENCE

EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT EXCEPT THE COST OF DINNING AT THE RESORT! IT WAS VERY EXPENSIVE TO EAT ANYTHING WHILE AT THE HOTEL. THEY NEED TO MAKE IT MORE AFFORDABLE TO EAT ON SITE. $60.OO FOR BREAKFAST IS WAY TOO MUCH. AND OVER $100.00 FOR THE BUFFET DINNER IS STUPID. WE STARTED DINNING OFF SITE AT LOCAL PLACES AND SAVED A BUNDLE. IF THE RESORT WANTS TO KEEP THAT $$$$$ ON THEIR BOTTOM LINE, REDUCE THE COST OF THE FOOD AND DRINK AND KEEP THE $$$$ THERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

ANYWHERE BUT ON THE RESORT GROUNDS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
joe from upstate ny
Business
ny ny
Mar 1, 2014

honeymoon

It was amazing! Great staff and excellent service! Location is away from busy area which was a plus for us but still had loads of stuff to do at the resort itself. I would highly recommend this beautiful place to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CAPsr
Business
Minnesota
Feb 16, 2014

Work - Pleasure combo

The Turtle is the perfect place to kickback and enjoy the ocean after a hard days work in Honolulu! I've stayed here 6 times over the years and each time I stay it only gets better. Great place to get away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the ribs at Lei Lei's after a round of Golf... Great Golf and Great Food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAW2407
Business
San Diego
Feb 2, 2014

Construction still underway

We love staying on the North Shore and have spent time at Turtle Bay on two separate occasions. The first time three years ago, the lobby and some restaurants were ripped up and being remodeled. Room renovations are completed, but solar panels were being put in during our visit. Work was supposed to be done between 9 and 5, however our room was at the end of the resort near the construction parking and prep area. We were woken up every day before 7 by loud trucks and equipment. Not very relaxing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

make sure you visit Haleiwa for dining, shopping and a taste of old town Hawaii.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
evamarie777
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jan 27, 2014

Greeting Was Awesome

When I initially checked in, the front desk person was awesome. She was more than helpful with any question I posed to her. However, it was exact opposite when I checked out. The person who checked me out had a "too bad, so sad" attitude toward me and was not helpful at all. Overall, it was a good stay..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shyanne
Business
Washington
Jan 3, 2014

Great Escape

We really enjoyed our stay it was a very relaxing and we and loved the view from our villa we walked along the beach. You couldn't ask for a better place to stay. The staff was one of the best and very courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
capogirl99
Business
Visalia Ca
Aug 19, 2013

Rough Start -

I booked my August vacation in March. I had hoped all renovations would be done before our arrival. I booked an deluxe oceanfront room. Upon arrival I confirmed it was oceanfront - however it would not be an "epic" room - "epic" apparently was a newly renovated room..."epic" was not an option when I booked in March. I was told I could upgrade to "epic' for an additional $50 per night. At that point I knew that I would not be happy with unless the room was upgraded so I paid the additional fee - I was informed that it was in the wing that was totally renovated - so no construction noise. So up to the room I went put the key in the door and the dead bolt was locked - tried again ... same result. I think the gentleman that was already checked into the room was a little shocked - thank goodness the deadbolt was locked otherwise it could have been even more awkward. So down to the desk we went and told them what happened - they apologized - blamed their co-worker for not marking the room as occupied. We were offered a free breakfast for our trouble and given another room. Went up to the newly renovated room - opened the door and heard drilling and hammering from the next room. Went to the bathroom where the front veneer under the sink came right off and opened the sliding glass door only to have part of the outside frame fall off. Guess it was too newly renovated. Called down to the office and told them our issues and they were resolved - we checked in on Saturday and was told that there could be work that Sunday as well.... On a positive note - the grounds are beautiful, the pool was gorgeous, every staff member was nice, especially the valet staff!!!! Staff at OLA were great as we celebrated our 20th anniversary there...food was okay. On the whole our vacation was not ruined by our first experience at this resort - but it could have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Ted's Bakery was a great place to eat - thank you to all that recommended this place!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cheap traveler
Business
seoul, korea
Jul 2, 2013

Fantastic getaway

I booked this hotel for my wife and in-laws. What I heard was it was great hotel and liked it so much, surround by great nature. Only bad part was there's nothing else; no shops, restaurants outside of hotel but I bet that is the point staying ther.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

ocean front

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach Toes
Business
Wailuku, Hawaii
Jun 21, 2013

Quick Getaway

I originally booked a room for one night, at their lowest rate, in hopes I'd get the privilege of staying in one of their newly renovated rooms. Boy did I luck out! Upon check in, the gentleman at the front desk was kind enough to upgrade me to a king suite! 700+ square feet of brand newly renovated beauty. Room was awesome. Huge lanai, amazing bathroom, and a gorgeous view. The television, vanity mirror, and a few outlets were not working unfortunately, due to the construction that was taking place, I'm going to assume. However it did not concern me since I was on the lanai most of my time there. The surrounding beaches were very peaceful as well. All in all my stay was wonderful and I will def be making a trip back in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Romys Shrimp Truck is but a 5 minute drive from the hotel. If you love big juicy shrimp smothered in butter and garlic on a pile of fluffy white rice, Romy's is an absolute must try.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top