$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
View map of 57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
552 out of 552
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rowi22
Business
Lima, Peru
Nov 29, 2014

Honey Moon!

Turtle bay is perfect & Beautiful! I love everything of this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slvhenderson
Business
Oklahoma
Nov 27, 2014

Thanksgiving vacation

While the hotel, location, and customer service was excellent, when we arrived at the hotel we were charged $35 per day for amenities I had hoped would be free. Snorkle equipment could only be checked out for 2 hrs per day. If you booked any spa service, you were charged an extra 20% for service fees which were not part of the amenity charge. Shopping at TW resort was not exactly as described. There were 3 stores. One store was a very small Oakley store, one called the north shore water shed which offered some interesting surf wear and a small general store. The drinks were excellent! We found that buying a small soft cooler and beer/wine at the general store was much cheaper than a bar tab. We were told that they could not ask you what was in your cup so we saved a lot of money by buying drinks this way. The surf school instructors were great! This was a pricey resort so be prepared to pay for everything. The location, pool, beach, bars, and food were worth it though. We just were not prepared for the cost of everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ted's bakery was a short drive with amazing authentic Hawaiian food. Plates are plenty for 2 people to share.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dixie0011
Business
San Diego, Ca
Nov 12, 2014

Excellent

Had an excellent stay 11/9 - 11/11. The resort is right on the shoreline and the huge waves on north shore during winter are quite a sight - all without even leaving the resort. The resort grounds have excellent views of the shoreline and there is even a blowhole onsite ! Good choices for dining too at the ola and kula grills. Excellent customer service, nothing to complain at all !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to go a la carte at the kula grill. They have some excellent local specialities such as mac nut pancakes that are not part of the buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snorkel Rob
Business
Aptos, CA
Oct 13, 2014

Great location!

We had a great time at Turtle Bay. You can't beat the location. Amenities were good - nice pool and golf course. Food was so-so, and we found it a bit pricey. Much better to drive back on the highway a couple of miles and go to one of the excellent shrimp places. All in all we liked it and would consider going again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Back to the shrimp places on the main highway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ca tour guy
Business
dc
Oct 5, 2014

Cottages are beautiful

We splurged for our honeymoon and got the cottages for the night, it was exceptional and well worth it. The personalized service made sure we were well taken care of and we could solely focus on relaxing and enjoying our stay. Rooms were immaculate, with beautiful views. We stayed the prior night at "Paradise Bay" for about $100 cheaper, and if I could go back I would have paid double the rate to stay at Turtle bay both nights instead of wasting money at Paradise bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vicnanc
Business
Iowa
Oct 4, 2014

Great

This was our 3rd stay at TB, and it was our best. We were celebrating our 40 year anniversary. I don't remember her name, but one of the managers of the hotel, (she has been married 33 years) made our stay very special. She was extremely helpful and kind. Thanks you so much for everything. My wife and I recommend this hotel to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There is a lot to do at the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shan World Traveler
Business
Orlando, FL
Sep 16, 2014

Amazing Location!!

For the money you spend this hotel doesn't get any better! This is the only hotel on the North Shore. They have everything right there at the hotel and the staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating. The best part of this hotel are the views! There is no other hotel or building to obscure any part of the fantastic landscape. I highly recommend the helicopter ride while you are there to fully see the incredible beauty of the island. Then go explore down the coast a bit for some of the best food and surf points in the world!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you have a car for this trip and go to Kona's in Haleiwa and Seven Brothers on the East Coast side. That was the best food I had while staying there. Seven Brothers gourmet hamburgers and Kona's for their pork everything!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emma Elise
Business
Bayarea
Aug 31, 2014

Relaxing vavation

The resort is really nice. Staff are very friendly. Will definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
returning resident
Business
Seattle
Aug 8, 2014

Where I want to stay on Oahu

I am a returning resident so Turtle Bay is where I wanted to be. I have been staying there several times since it opened as Kuilima. This time my daughter and I stayed in the cottages. They are roomy with tall ceilings and a nice open terrace (ground floor, naturally,) I thought we would spend more time on the terrace but two problems prevented this. There was a Bush directly in front which obscured our ocean view. I'm sure this was meant for privacy but when you pay for ocean view, you expect to see it unobstructed. Also, during the day, it was very hot on the lanais. Even though it was windy throughout our stay, the rooms were somehow situated (we were in 114) so that the breezes did not hit us. The grounds are gorgeous. There are many options, pool, beach, coast. We spent a day by the lagoon and if you can snag an umbrella as we did, it was perfect, Ola' s, a wonderful restaurant with outdoor seating was right there so as we lounged on the beach, we could listen to live Hawaiian music. Perfect. We also spent 3 days at the pool. Lots of shade.which I like and. My daughter chose lounge chairs facing the ocean where she could watch the surfers. Pool bar serves fairly good food, thai mahi tacos, berry salads, hamburgers, etc. Pricey, most items will run you around $16. Tropical drinks $10-12 . Ate at Ola' s once for pupu' s and once for dinner. Again with one drink and entree's around $32, a meal for two ran $140 with tip. I stayed 4 nights and my costs, not including room rate was $600 (daily resort fees, taxes, some drinks and meals as I mostly paid cash.) This was a birthday splash for my daughter so the cottages were a splurge. Given the hot patio, I think I'd opt next time for an ocean front room. Given my choice between Turtle Bay and Waikiki resorts (I have stayed at several upscale ones) I'd stay at TB again hands down. It is more local, lots of live music poolside, sitting out in the most gorgeous setting, sipping cocktails. I had lots of my island friends stopping by throughout my stay so it was that much nicer. If you do stay in the cottages, you have your own parking right there and that's a plus. Personally, I parked and never left the resort but I'm not a tourist. There are fun small towns and nice beaches nearby but that wasn't my goal. So all in all, wonderful stay. Go with deep pockets cause it will cost you. Love the staff. Everyone wonderful. Do ask for itemized statement. There was a charge for a bar I had never attended so they made that adjustment. My guess is that can happen anywhere but do assess before leaving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

In nearby Kahuku, stop and get the garlic shrimp from the food trucks. I like the original truck near Kahuku grill that looks like it's been painted and scribbled on. So ono.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aunty Plumeria
Business
Hale'iwa, Hawai'i
Jul 24, 2014

Turtle Bay

Turtle Bay was an awesome experience. It was a birthday celebration and we had a delightful time. The grounds are breathtaking, the staff is friendly and it is a safe environment for families. It is like and island in itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top