$319 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
542 reviews
Honey Moon!

Turtle bay is perfect & Beautiful! I love everything of this hotel. See full review

  • Rowi22
  • Nov 29, 2014
Great

This was our 3rd stay at TB, and it was our best. We were celebrating our 40 year anniversary. I... See full review

  • Vicnanc
  • Oct 4, 2014
Del Webb, the real estate mogul and one-time New York Yankees owner, opened Turtle Bay Resort in 1972 and ever since then, it's been entertaining guests with an involving line-up of activities, from surfing lessons and making your own flower-leis to learning how to play the ukulele. Add to this the two chlorine-free swimming pools, water slide, trails for hiking and biking, and championship golf courses, and it's no wonder that Turtle Bay draws sizable crowds. Wicker and natural woods contrast with brighter shades indoors, while the verdant north shore of Oahu provides all the views you need from the terrace restaurant, Ola. Nalu Kinetic Spa provides ocean panoramas, a massage table that simulates the sensation of floating at sea, and calming hot-stone treatments.
Key facts
  • 443 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Valet parking
  • 5 restaurants: Pa'akai, North Shore Kula Grille, Hang Ten Bar & Grill, Ola Restaurant and Lei Lei's Bar & Grill
  • Lounge/bars: Lobby Lounge and Surfer, The Bar
  • 2 outdoor pools
  • 24-hour room service
  • Coffee shop and café
  • On-site golf course
  • Full-service spa
  • Health club
  • Arcade/game room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
Neighborhood
It's worth staying at this Hawaiian resort just for the surroundings. Turtle Bay is found in a section of Oahu's famed North Shore known for its unique rock formations, spectacular surfing beaches, and the majestic green sea turtles for which it is named. Near to both Kawela Bay Beach Park and the James Campbell National Wildlife Refuge, the Kamehameha Highway leads southeast from the hotel to the Polynesian Cultural Center, for those seeking signs of modern civilization.
Hints and tips
Be sure to enjoy one of the many free events that are featured every week, from spoken word nights to beach parties and film showings.

Drop in to hear amazing stories from professional surfers at Surfer, The Bar, in between mouthfuls of spicy Hawaiian seafood.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Turtle Bay Resort Rooms

Ocean Front Beach Cottage
The Beach Cottages at Turtle Bay Resort are grouped in clusters of six and situated along the west shore of beautiful Turtle Bay. The cottages are equipped with large marble bathrooms featuring Kallista deep-soak tubs, freestanding glass showers, and private, enclosed toilets.
Deluxe Oceanfront
Full Balcony Offering Spectacular Ocean Views and Hawaiian Sunsets with Two Queen Beds Studio-type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.
Ocean Villas
Our villas make the perfect resort home; elegantly furnished with a masterful blend of luxury and elegance. The Ocean Villas are unsurpassed by anything that the island of Oahu has ever seen in oceanfront resort accommodations. The entryway leads to a gourmet kitchen, which is adjacent to a spacious living/dining area. The master bedroom is furnished with 1 king bed; each guest room has 1 queen bed and the living room has a queen sized sofa sleeper. Enjoy exclusive amenities such as the Ocean Villa pool, Jacuzzi, courtyard, and barbeque area.
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds. Partial Oceanview located on the second floor. 478 square feet. Complimentary wireless Internet access, compact refrigerator, coffeemaker, and cable TV with HBO, pay movies, and video games (surcharge). A daily resort fee covers local phone calls, weekday newspaper delivery, and in-room safe. Non-smoking only. One king or two double beds.
ADA Accesible Oceanfront King
Our ADA accessible ocean front room includes a king sized bed. An automatic wide door ensures easy and smooth access into the spacious 478 feet dwelling. Grab bars for comfort and security are located throughout the roomy restroom. The tub includes a shower bench and handheld shower head to ensure ease. The double lanai door is equipped with a ramp. The closet is wheel chair accessible with a low clothing rack. A portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request. Lamps are touch activated for easy use. The closed-captioning option is available for television viewing.
ADA Accessible Oceanside Cottage
One king or two queen beds. Inside, find polished Brazilian walnut floors leading to a large, multi-level beach retreat with 15-foot ceilings and king poster beds. Luxuriate in a Kallista deep-soak tub or take care of business using wireless Internet access. Let our exclusive cottage concierge tend to your every need. Room includes location near handicap parking stalls, ADA accessible ramp to cottage, automatic wheel chair accessible door, ramp in cottage to access multi-levels, double lanai door with ramp for wheel chair access to lanai, spacious ADA accessible bathroom, roll-in shower, handheld showerhead, low tub, grab bars throughout the bathroom, touch activated lights, ADA accessible closet, closed-captioning option for television, and a portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request.
Ocean View
Beautiful views of the ocean and resort, a full bath with vanity, wireless Internet access, telephone with two lines and data port and sleep two to four. Two double queen beds or a king size bed
Oceanfront
Small Balcony with Full View Of Turtle Bay And Hawaiian Sunrises with Two Queen Beds. Studio type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pa'akai
A fresh twist on locally sourced dining. Pa'akai - or "sea salt" in the Hawaiian language, reflecting Hawaii's numerous seaside salt beds - features sea-to-table cuisine. Pa'akai's menu highlights the best in fresh local fish, farm-raised lobster, Kauai prawns, sea asparagus, seaweed and sea salt produced in Hawaii.
North Shore Kula Grille
The ancient Hawaiians divided their land into three sections: Mauka, kula and makai - or mountains, midland and the sea - known as ahupua 'a. It is the kula lands, primarily used for agriculture, that now serve as the inspiration for the North Shore Kula Grille. A place where farm-to-table thinking is behind every ingredient on our menu.
Lobby Lounge
At the Lobby Lounge, you will find friendly service, exotic cocktails and a diverse menu to satisfy all of your cravings. Enjoy freshly brewed Coffees, Latts, Cappuccinos, Espresso Drinks, Smoothies, Beer, Wine, and Handcrafted Cocktails like the Pupukea Lychee and the Skinny Lilikoi Chi Chi. Signature dishes include Citrus Ponzu Calamari and Grilled Kahuku Honey & Mango Glazed Chicken.
Ola
Enjoy contemporary island cuisine with the sand between your toes. The only restaurant on O'ahu located literally on the beach, Ola is an experience for all the senses. The concept, cuisine and atmosphere of the open-aired restaurant that literally sits on the beach is summed up in its name, "Ola" which means "life, living, healthy and alive." Chef Fred DeAngelo delights guests with his innovative cuisine.
Surfer, The Bar
Forget dark wood paneling and marble bar-tops, Surfer has its own very original look and feel. And although the bartender can fastidiously make your favorite cocktail, the drink of choice here is a 16-ounce pint of ice-cold beer, many of them local small-batch brews. Sure the food is fresh, flavorful, sometimes spicy Hawaiian comfort food, prepared by white-hat chefs in the acclaimed resort kitchen. But food, beverage and dcor are not the real reasons why the audience - locals, guests of the hotel and word travelers - gather here.
The Point
Enjoy tropical drinks surfside at the outdoor The Point. Stop by for a refreshing break and one of the island's best Mai Tai's. Relax to the sounds of the surf while you discover why Turtle Bay Resort has received awards for "Hotel with the Best View." Every night of the week you will find something special happening here. You may find a Drum Circle, a keiki hula halau, live Hawaiian Style music, Fish Fries, or Fire Knife Dancers and every day at sunset you have a chance to order The Point signature drink, the "Green Flash".
Lei Lei's Bar and Grill
Mouthwatering dishes and a laid back atmosphere make Lei Lei's a famous local haunt on O'ahu's Fabled North Shore. Talk Story with entertaining manager and host Ian. The excellent dishes and service is what brings regulars from the surf and movie industry here Dinner features a menu brimming over with entrees of fresh, succulent seafood, savory beef, chicken and pork prepared to perfection. Signature dishes include slow-roasted prime rib, ginger soy Ahi and our warm bacon dressing spinach salad. Compliment the meal with a selection from our extensive wine list. Lei Lei's is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is served weekdays starting at 7:00 a.m. and on weekends starting at 6:30 a.m. Lunch is served from 11:00 a.m. Dinner seating begins at 5:00 p.m. with the last seating at 10:00 p.m. Live soloist music is played every Thursday and Sunday nights from 6:00 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort has more than 28,000 square feet of event and pre-function space perfect for group sizes up to 600 indoors and 2000 outdoors. An experienced conference servicing team is available to assist with all program needs including menu planning, technology support and recreational activities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (542)

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
542 out of 542
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
To the rescue..
Business
Manhattan, KS
Apr 22, 2011

Aloha Turtle Bay, North Shore, Oahu, Haw

While traveling by air to Hawaii, we kept the hotel informed of our expected arrival time, the last ETA was 9pm. In thanking us for keeping them up to date, the front desk agent mentioned keeping our room for us...? Once we arrived (8:45pm) we were pleased at the friendly reception and offers of assistance. Our 3d floor room allowed for a view of the ocean, the sounds of which were so soothing we chose to sleep with our balcony door open - thought it a wise system that shuts off the A/C if the door is open. Housekeeping staff would make offers of assistance whenever we passed them. Washers and driers on each floor (coin-operated)adjacent to the ice machines. Played a round of golf on the Fazio Course which allowed for play right up to the seawall - well maintained. [...], the player services greeter was helpful and gave good advice to play the back nine since there was a brief sunshower and some players on the front nine were stalling. After the round, a return walk to the hotel with clubs was anticipated, but Jonathan offered a hotel shuttle. When it appeared there might be slight delay, he became chauffer and ran us up to the hotel in a golf vehicle. The pool towel ticket system seemed to work well enough. There seemed to be an ongoing parking challenge for which the valet parking seemed to the default solution. The staff's attitude was that of a professional, well-run organization staffed with people who enjoyed their responsibilities and shared the Spirit of Aloha with all guests. Can't wait for the excuse to return! Mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Golfers - the 'twilight rate' begins at 2pm!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cameron, NC
Apr 22, 2011

Amazing delayed honeymoon :-)

When we first arrived, we were upgraded to a full balcony, ocean front room! Everyone was so nice and helpful for the entire week. Every morning we had breakfast, mostly ordering the continental breakfast...it was amazing! The views were beautiful, one morning we woke up to whales jumping in the ocean outside of out room. The north shore of Oahu was gorgeous too, we spent most days exploring and doing some tourist stuff, but nothing crazy. I would definitely go back to Turtle Bay again...it was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hawaii is Great! Turtle Bay not so much.
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Apr 21, 2011

Nickel & Dimed

To start, the overall location is great being the only hotel on the North Shore, the hotel is beautiful and well kept, and the staff are friendly and helpful...However, our overall experience with the hotel was not great. And what you'd expect to have an adult atmosphere with fine dining and entertainment is really made into a family resort with a bunch of kids. Most of the restaurants close around 9/9:30. They didn't provide much on the entertainment front. We saw adults swimming late night and the security guards pulled them out of the pool (there aren't life guards any time of the day so not sure why it mattered, except for the "family" atmosphere). We had an issue checking into our room. They apparently didn't assign us to a room even though we booked a month in advance. They first put us in a room that either looked occupied or they just left and it wasn't cleaned. They moved us into a room with 2 queen beds because they didn't have any king beds left but said they moved us in the morning. We booked an "Ocean" view, but both rooms barely had a glimpse of the Ocean.The second day around Noon they finally had a room with a king bed for us on the 5th floor which they said was an upgrade. The Ocean view was amazing. We also had a great view of the pool.They offered us a bottle of complimentary champagne which we never received.All of the food was over priced and mediocre. We order a Grilled Cheese from room service for $15 + gratuity + a $4 room charge. You'd expect it to be delicious, but it was literally a piece of bread, a couple slices of american cheese,wood grilled with absolutely no butter. It came with fries. Needless to say It was gross and highly overpriced! They put water in the room, for $3 a bottle.They charge an extra $25 a day outside of what you book on [...]to cover parking, phone, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We purchased soft drinks at the local Foodland. We ate lunch & dinner at the local restaurants at the North Shore and Haleiwa which is 15-20 minutes up the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside,Ca.
Apr 20, 2011

The best location on Oahu

The Hotel and the staff were great, and the location was beautiful.A great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A must is to go snorkling at Sharke Cove.Also the shrimp trucks are great for a great, quick dinner at a good price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 18, 2011

My first Hawaiian Adventure

As a first-time traveller to Hawaii, first impressions were everything. Sure the hotel was featured in "Forgetting Sarah Marshall" but apparently, the reputation was well-known so my girlfriend and I were eager to experience Oahu's North Shore. Unfortunately, things didn't get off to a great start. Our experience with the rental car provider was not great (it took almost an hour and a half to get into the rental offices) plus the hour long drive to Kahuku from the Honolulu airport. Though the drive was long, it was beautiful every time we made the trip to other areas on the island. When we arrived at Turtle Bay, the reception staff was friendly and helpful. We were given the "Ocean Standard View" room which sounded great on paper. When we got to the room, we had a great view... of a rooftop. Thankfully, after pleading our case with the registration folks, we were moved to a new room with a true view of the ocean and a great sunrise view every morning of our stay. On our first night, we needed to kill some time while our new room was being prepared, so we decided to chat with the concierge to find activities for the week. Strangely, the person working the desk seemed less than enthusiastic and even helpful when it came to helping us experience the island. Luckily, we were able to find our own way through the week through review sites and chatting with locals and regulars. The hotel itself was fantastic. They offered great amenities like free snorkel gear for an hour a day, on-site surfing lessons, full golf course, hiking trails, horseback riding, etc. The food was a bit over priced like everything else on the island but Lei Lei's on the golf course was a great option for our last evening meal. Aside from the initial impression, staying at Turtle Bay was a great first experience in Hawaii. If you're planning on spending a lot of time around Honolulu/Waikiki, you will need a car (or to stay somewhere closer). But the ambiance of the "country" location added a peaceful, relaxing feeling which was definitely appreciated after a long day of activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely check out some snorkeling options off-property, especially to the west of the hotel. There were dozens of beaches including Waimea Beach and Shark's Cove that had amazing fish and even occasional turtles and whales.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hanzo
Business
Gulf Breeze, FL
Apr 17, 2011

Beautiful views/family friendly

The surrounding area is breathtaking, the staff is very friendly, and it has numerous activities to keep you occupied. Now for the nitt picky stuff: The rooms are dated(pretty much the hotel on the whole is dated), they really try to juice you out of every dollar that you have...everything costs double what you think expensive is, but I would still stay here any day rather than go downtown Honolulu. It's quiet and relaxing, you go to sleep and wake up with the sound of waves crashing not traffic and car horns. If you want to get away from it all and visit old Hawaii this is the hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't eat at the hotel, there are many local places to eat that are better and way cheaper than the hotel can offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Marino, Ca
Apr 12, 2011

Spring Break!

Second trip in less than a year to Turtle Bay. Great place to go. The kids would've rather been in Waikiki where there was more for them to do. Next time it'll be just the two of us at Turtle Bay. Can't wait to go back soon. Was so good I also booked a trip for my daughter and her soon to be husband this June for their honeymoon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couple on a babymoon
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 10, 2011

Perfect Island Retreat!

Turtle Bay was amazing! It is perfectly tucked in away from the little highway, in its own exclusive area. We loved being away from the busyness of Honolulu but still liked having it accessible. The food at some of the restaurants on site weren't fantastic, except for 21 and Lei Lei's, but it helped pushed us to find an adorable surf town called Haleiwa which had fantastic dining! We made our way to Haleiwa about everyday to try out a new restaurant each time. It is a great little town with very nice people. I would definitely go back to stay at Turtle Bay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive to Haleiwa and eat at Haleiwa Joe's, Cholo's and Luiebueno's for lunch and/or dinner and have breakfast at Cafe Haleiwa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Apr 10, 2011

Romantic Getaway

It was a pleasant stay. Our friends discouraged us to stay on the North Shore but nothing could have pulled us away from the beauty of it. It was an amazing experience and we will be returning back soon. It was a wonderful fantastic experience of a life time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J & R
Business
Minnesota
Apr 3, 2011

Ideal Romantic Get-Away

Fantastic location, wonderful ambiance, friendly staff.... we loved our time at Turtle Bay and hope to return often.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top