$223 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
941 reviews
Turtle Bay

Turtle Bay was an awesome experience. It was a birthday celebration and we had a delightful time.... See full review

  • Aunty Plumeria
  • Jul 24, 2014
Couple staycation

So my girlfriend and I decided that we would spend my last weekend in town overnight at the North... See full review

  • jdSmithChang
  • Jul 15, 2014
Del Webb, the real estate mogul and one-time New York Yankees owner, opened Turtle Bay Resort in 1972 and ever since then, it's been entertaining guests with an involving line-up of activities, from surfing lessons and making your own flower-leis to learning how to play the ukulele. Add to this the two chlorine-free swimming pools, water slide, trails for hiking and biking, and championship golf courses, and it's no wonder that Turtle Bay draws sizable crowds. Wicker and natural woods contrast with brighter shades indoors, while the verdant north shore of Oahu provides all the views you need from the terrace restaurant, Ola. Nalu Kinetic Spa provides ocean panoramas, a massage table that simulates the sensation of floating at sea, and calming hot-stone treatments.
Key facts
  • 443 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Valet parking
  • 5 restaurants: Pa'akai, North Shore Kula Grille, Hang Ten Bar & Grill, Ola Restaurant and Lei Lei's Bar & Grill
  • Lounge/bars: Lobby Lounge and Surfer, The Bar
  • 2 outdoor pools
  • 24-hour room service
  • Coffee shop and café
  • On-site golf course
  • Full-service spa
  • Health club
  • Arcade/game room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
Neighborhood
It's worth staying at this Hawaiian resort just for the surroundings. Turtle Bay is found in a section of Oahu's famed North Shore known for its unique rock formations, spectacular surfing beaches, and the majestic green sea turtles for which it is named. Near to both Kawela Bay Beach Park and the James Campbell National Wildlife Refuge, the Kamehameha Highway leads southeast from the hotel to the Polynesian Cultural Center, for those seeking signs of modern civilization.
Hints and tips
Be sure to enjoy one of the many free events that are featured every week, from spoken word nights to beach parties and film showings.

Drop in to hear amazing stories from professional surfers at Surfer, The Bar, in between mouthfuls of spicy Hawaiian seafood.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.698 -157.9903
Area served
North Shore, Polynesian Cultural Center, Kawela Bay, Kuilima Cove, Turtle Bay.
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
About an hour from Honolulu, Turtle Bay Resort is set against a landscape of cattle pastures, plantation homes, lush windward valleys and the scenic, world-famous surfing beaches of Oahu's Fabled North Shore. Both laidback and vibrant, the North Shore attracts millions of visitors each year and offers a variety of colorful cafes and shops. You'll also be a few minutes' drive from the Polynesian Cultural Center.

Turtle Bay Resort Rooms

Ocean Front Beach Cottage
The Beach Cottages at Turtle Bay Resort are grouped in clusters of six and situated along the west shore of beautiful Turtle Bay. The cottages are equipped with large marble bathrooms featuring Kallista deep-soak tubs, freestanding glass showers, and private, enclosed toilets.
Deluxe Oceanfront
Full Balcony Offering Spectacular Ocean Views and Hawaiian Sunsets with Two Queen Beds Studio-type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.
Ocean Villas
Our villas make the perfect resort home; elegantly furnished with a masterful blend of luxury and elegance. The Ocean Villas are unsurpassed by anything that the island of Oahu has ever seen in oceanfront resort accommodations. The entryway leads to a gourmet kitchen, which is adjacent to a spacious living/dining area. The master bedroom is furnished with 1 king bed; each guest room has 1 queen bed and the living room has a queen sized sofa sleeper. Enjoy exclusive amenities such as the Ocean Villa pool, Jacuzzi, courtyard, and barbeque area.
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds. Partial Oceanview located on the second floor. 478 square feet. Complimentary wireless Internet access, compact refrigerator, coffeemaker, and cable TV with HBO, pay movies, and video games (surcharge). A daily resort fee covers local phone calls, weekday newspaper delivery, and in-room safe. Non-smoking only. One king or two double beds.
ADA Accesible Oceanfront King
Our ADA accessible ocean front room includes a king sized bed. An automatic wide door ensures easy and smooth access into the spacious 478 feet dwelling. Grab bars for comfort and security are located throughout the roomy restroom. The tub includes a shower bench and handheld shower head to ensure ease. The double lanai door is equipped with a ramp. The closet is wheel chair accessible with a low clothing rack. A portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request. Lamps are touch activated for easy use. The closed-captioning option is available for television viewing.
ADA Accessible Oceanside Cottage
One king or two queen beds. Inside, find polished Brazilian walnut floors leading to a large, multi-level beach retreat with 15-foot ceilings and king poster beds. Luxuriate in a Kallista deep-soak tub or take care of business using wireless Internet access. Let our exclusive cottage concierge tend to your every need. Room includes location near handicap parking stalls, ADA accessible ramp to cottage, automatic wheel chair accessible door, ramp in cottage to access multi-levels, double lanai door with ramp for wheel chair access to lanai, spacious ADA accessible bathroom, roll-in shower, handheld showerhead, low tub, grab bars throughout the bathroom, touch activated lights, ADA accessible closet, closed-captioning option for television, and a portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request.
Ocean View
Beautiful views of the ocean and resort, a full bath with vanity, wireless Internet access, telephone with two lines and data port and sleep two to four. Two double queen beds or a king size bed
Oceanfront
Small Balcony with Full View Of Turtle Bay And Hawaiian Sunrises with Two Queen Beds. Studio type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pa'akai
A fresh twist on locally sourced dining. Pa'akai - or "sea salt" in the Hawaiian language, reflecting Hawaii's numerous seaside salt beds - features sea-to-table cuisine. Pa'akai's menu highlights the best in fresh local fish, farm-raised lobster, Kauai prawns, sea asparagus, seaweed and sea salt produced in Hawaii.
North Shore Kula Grille
The ancient Hawaiians divided their land into three sections: Mauka, kula and makai - or mountains, midland and the sea - known as ahupua 'a. It is the kula lands, primarily used for agriculture, that now serve as the inspiration for the North Shore Kula Grille. A place where farm-to-table thinking is behind every ingredient on our menu.
Lobby Lounge
At the Lobby Lounge, you will find friendly service, exotic cocktails and a diverse menu to satisfy all of your cravings. Enjoy freshly brewed Coffees, Latts, Cappuccinos, Espresso Drinks, Smoothies, Beer, Wine, and Handcrafted Cocktails like the Pupukea Lychee and the Skinny Lilikoi Chi Chi. Signature dishes include Citrus Ponzu Calamari and Grilled Kahuku Honey & Mango Glazed Chicken.
Ola
Enjoy contemporary island cuisine with the sand between your toes. The only restaurant on O'ahu located literally on the beach, Ola is an experience for all the senses. The concept, cuisine and atmosphere of the open-aired restaurant that literally sits on the beach is summed up in its name, "Ola" which means "life, living, healthy and alive." Chef Fred DeAngelo delights guests with his innovative cuisine.
Surfer, The Bar
Forget dark wood paneling and marble bar-tops, Surfer has its own very original look and feel. And although the bartender can fastidiously make your favorite cocktail, the drink of choice here is a 16-ounce pint of ice-cold beer, many of them local small-batch brews. Sure the food is fresh, flavorful, sometimes spicy Hawaiian comfort food, prepared by white-hat chefs in the acclaimed resort kitchen. But food, beverage and dcor are not the real reasons why the audience - locals, guests of the hotel and word travelers - gather here.
Hang Ten Bar & Grill
Enjoy tropical drinks surfside at the outdoor Hang Ten Bar & Grill. Stop by for a refreshing break and one of the island's best Mai Tai's. Relax to the sounds of the surf while you discover why Turtle Bay Resort has received awards for "Hotel with the Best View." Every night of the week you will find something special happening here. You may find a Drum Circle, a keiki hula halau, live Hawaiian Style music, Fish Fries, or Fire Knife Dancers and every day at sunset you have a chance to order the Hang Ten signature drink, the "Green Flash".
Lei Lei's Bar and Grill
Mouthwatering dishes and a laid back atmosphere make Lei Lei's a famous local haunt on O'ahu's Fabled North Shore. Talk Story with entertaining manager and host Ian. The excellent dishes and service is what brings regulars from the surf and movie industry here Dinner features a menu brimming over with entrees of fresh, succulent seafood, savory beef, chicken and pork prepared to perfection. Signature dishes include slow-roasted prime rib, ginger soy Ahi and our warm bacon dressing spinach salad. Compliment the meal with a selection from our extensive wine list. Lei Lei's is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is served weekdays starting at 7:00 a.m. and on weekends starting at 6:30 a.m. Lunch is served from 11:00 a.m. Dinner seating begins at 5:00 p.m. with the last seating at 10:00 p.m. Live soloist music is played every Thursday and Sunday nights from 6:00 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort has more than 28,000 square feet of event and pre-function space perfect for group sizes up to 600 indoors and 2000 outdoors. An experienced conference servicing team is available to assist with all program needs including menu planning, technology support and recreational activities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (941)

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
941 out of 941
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Honest1
Modesto ca
Jun 12, 2011

Will b back!

Loved everything about the place. Yeah it is about a 45min drive to get there from the airport but it is worth it. If u want to relax and not worry about the crowds of waikiki this is the place! We will b back soon but with the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

You will have to pay hotel fee when u check in.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iron man 2011
Chicago IL
Jun 9, 2011

Great Time

It was great, the hotel was beautiful and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. We did the free snorkel and took surf lessons, that was awesome! JAmie was the instructor and he rocked! The food was not amazing but good enough, the veiws were superb and it was a great location if you had a car! Over all it was a great vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

rent a car, the hotel is so far from the airport and if you want to see things other than the hotel on the island you are gona need a car.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iron man 2011
Chicago IL
Jun 9, 2011

Great Time

It was great, the hotel was beautiful and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. We did the free snorkel and took surf lessons, that was awesome! JAmie was the instructor and he rocked! The food was not amazing but good enough, the veiws were superb and it was a great location if you had a car! Over all it was a great vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

rent a car, the hotel is so far from the airport and if you want to see things other than the hotel on the island you are gona need a car.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
finn mom
central texas
Jun 7, 2011

just great

Everything that we needed was at our fingertips. When rained in, we still had plety to do and were simply enjoying ourselves at the resort. If we did not want to see the "torist" sights on the island, there would be no need to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
finn mom
central texas
Jun 7, 2011

just great

Everything that we needed was at our fingertips. When rained in, we still had plety to do and were simply enjoying ourselves at the resort. If we did not want to see the "torist" sights on the island, there would be no need to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clarksville TN
Jun 6, 2011

Great Romantic Getaway

This hotel is a wonderful little resort up on the North Shore. Our ocean view room had a relatively nice view of the ocean, impeded slightly by the rooftop of the lower level. Several evenings were spent on the lanai watching the sunset. The hotel is very clean, and hotel staff is easily identified by their red aloha shirts/dresses. We only ate at one of restaurants, the Palm Terrace. It was good food, but not necessarily worth what we paid. It's about what you expect from a resort though. The resort charges for many extras, such as a bottle water. The only reason I did not give a 5 on the staff is due to the young woman working at the reception desk when we checked in. We arrived at the hotel later in the evening, and she was rude, and altogether unwelcoming. I, however, will not base my entire experience on her alone, but it does warrant some mention. The grounds are beautifully manicured, and the beach access is readily available. Since it is all the way up on the North Shore, it was a little bit of a drive into Honolulu, but it was worth it to be so secluded. The hotel was quiet, and while there were some children, it was more of a romantic escape than a family hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clarksville TN
Jun 6, 2011

Great Romantic Getaway

This hotel is a wonderful little resort up on the North Shore. Our ocean view room had a relatively nice view of the ocean, impeded slightly by the rooftop of the lower level. Several evenings were spent on the lanai watching the sunset. The hotel is very clean, and hotel staff is easily identified by their red aloha shirts/dresses. We only ate at one of restaurants, the Palm Terrace. It was good food, but not necessarily worth what we paid. It's about what you expect from a resort though. The resort charges for many extras, such as a bottle water. The only reason I did not give a 5 on the staff is due to the young woman working at the reception desk when we checked in. We arrived at the hotel later in the evening, and she was rude, and altogether unwelcoming. I, however, will not base my entire experience on her alone, but it does warrant some mention. The grounds are beautifully manicured, and the beach access is readily available. Since it is all the way up on the North Shore, it was a little bit of a drive into Honolulu, but it was worth it to be so secluded. The hotel was quiet, and while there were some children, it was more of a romantic escape than a family hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Betty4225
Los Angeles
Jun 1, 2011

May 2011 Vacation

I'm just back from my wonderful vacation to Hawaii and the Turtle Bay Resort. I noticed in some of the reviews that other visitors called out the main hotel for being out of date and needing a facelift. Over the last few years I've stayed in the very luxurious all the way to the bare necessities and, while the bathrooms in the main hotel could have used an upgrade or two, I found Turtle Bay to be one of the nicest and most comfortable hotels I've experienced. From the moment I arrived everyone who greeted me was pleasant and provided exceptional service. My room was always immaculate when I returned each day and each of the housekeeping staff was very nice and ready to help when I ran into them in the hallways. Also noticed that many complained about cost and quality of the hotels dining options. Hotel food is hotel food and if you travel often for business the cost and quality isn't a surprise. If you don't travel much, only for vacations or necessity I guess you would find the food expensive. Cost and quality of the restaurants was comparible to better hotels I've stayed at, there were multiple options to choose from and the service was always top notch. Turtle Bay offers many activities to chose from and keep you busy. I was there to relax and took advantage of the great pool area. They have cleanest, nicest hotel pool (and it didn't smell like chlorine). The pool staff was friendly and exceptional and my only complaint is that I didn't spend more time there! Actually, my only complaint about Turtle Bay is that I wasn't able to spend more time there period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Betty4225
Los Angeles
Jun 1, 2011

May 2011 Vacation

I'm just back from my wonderful vacation to Hawaii and the Turtle Bay Resort. I noticed in some of the reviews that other visitors called out the main hotel for being out of date and needing a facelift. Over the last few years I've stayed in the very luxurious all the way to the bare necessities and, while the bathrooms in the main hotel could have used an upgrade or two, I found Turtle Bay to be one of the nicest and most comfortable hotels I've experienced. From the moment I arrived everyone who greeted me was pleasant and provided exceptional service. My room was always immaculate when I returned each day and each of the housekeeping staff was very nice and ready to help when I ran into them in the hallways. Also noticed that many complained about cost and quality of the hotels dining options. Hotel food is hotel food and if you travel often for business the cost and quality isn't a surprise. If you don't travel much, only for vacations or necessity I guess you would find the food expensive. Cost and quality of the restaurants was comparible to better hotels I've stayed at, there were multiple options to choose from and the service was always top notch. Turtle Bay offers many activities to chose from and keep you busy. I was there to relax and took advantage of the great pool area. They have cleanest, nicest hotel pool (and it didn't smell like chlorine). The pool staff was friendly and exceptional and my only complaint is that I didn't spend more time there! Actually, my only complaint about Turtle Bay is that I wasn't able to spend more time there period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
May 18, 2011

Better than Waikiki

We have stayed in Honolulu and/or Waikiki about twenty times over the last 7 years, but this time we tried the Turtle Bay Resort, since we usually visit the North Shore a lot to escape the crowds and noise. Think of the location as like being on a neighbor island, but with the option of driving to the city if you want to. From the moment of arrival to the very end, this resort was perfect for us, and the price is comparable to some dump in Waikiki with it's associated loud drunks and all-night traffic and noise. We are an older couple, but it's also great for young honeymooners and families with kids. You get terrific amenities here such as a perfect pool and bar area with ocean on three sides, a hiking trail, horses, helicopters, surf school, massage, spa, and more. Adjacent Kuilima Cove has a hotel towel station on the beach and a hotel restaurant (Ola). We particularly enjoyed lomi-lomi massage, ukelele lessons from Tutu Janet and some good authentic Hawaiian music inside Ola. Our enormous king-size room faced East over Kuilima Cove and we saw great sunrises and slept to the sound of the surf crashing on the reef. This priceless nighttime sound was perhaps the best thing about our stay here. If you have many things to do in Honolulu you may get tired of the long drive over and back, but if you want to hang out on the North Shore and completely relax, I highly recommend you try staying here next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Get groceries at Foodland and save some restaurant cash for other things. There is one in either direction along the road.

Back to menu Return to top