$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
View map of 57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
518 out of 518
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sooer
Couples
Las Vegas NV
Aug 12, 2011

Worn, but still nice

The best thing about Turtle Bay Resort is it's location -- away from the maddening crowd of Honolulu. The rooms are well worn and dated and, judging by the empty spaces, lacking furniture from years gone by. Still, they were clean and comfortable. They provide great views of the ocean, even though our "balcony" was only large enough for the one chair that was on it. The resort restaurants serve good food, except for the one on the beach, and they are very pricey. But since there is nothing in the area except for nearby Ted's Bakery or a few places in Haleiwa, about 10 miles away, you're stuck paying the high prices, Staff is excellent -- when our TV stopped working, they replaced it within minutes. Golfing at both courses is excellent, but the spa is small and dated. If you visit the Polynesian Village, go later in the day because even though the gates open early, nothing inside is open. And stay away from the lousy buffet at the village.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit "historic" Haleiwa for fun shopping. It's only 10 miles from the resort.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the ole colonel
Couples
nashville tennessee
Jul 20, 2011

Very nice

Very nice the staff were very nice. Wished the 25$ per day fee could be for Valet parking. Otherwise you have to hike 1/4 mile to 1/2 mile per day. Beautiful beach. Wished they had info on the trails. But otherwise most excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
La Habra, Ca
Jul 18, 2011

Good Escape From Wailiki Chaos

Beautiful Location away from the hustle and Bustle of Waikiki. The rooms and bathrooms could use some modernization. Furniture was a bit old for a pricey resort and the bathrooms seemed right out of the 1980s. But the resort is on a beautiful piece of property. Reminds me of an outer island experience. The 2 golf courses are beautiful and would be much more expensive if they were closer to the city. Wife and I paid 65 each for 18 holes with cart, club rental, and water for a 230 tee time. Played straight through and barely saw any other players on the course. You can also hit a bucket of balls after 12 at the range for 5 bucks with free club rental. The pool area is adequate and there is miles of beach if you prefer sand. Food is very pricey and mediocre at best. I recommend driving 5-10 mins into town for some good local food. Our favorites were the hukilau cafe, teds bakery, tita's grill, and papaoles. Foodland in laie also has great Korean fried chicken at the deli.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hukilau cafe, teds bakery and tita's grill

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, IL
Jul 16, 2011

Needs repairs but still a good place!

Worked out, rested, relaxed, dined, shopping, and sight seeing. Resort is getting long in the tooth, needs repairs. The staff makes those short comings tolerable. No microwave oven in our room, dinning is costly at the resort, and due to its remoteness nothing is close by. The drive to Honolulu is over one hour on narrow roads. Its great if you plan on staying put.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Costly!

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
skimber
Couples
Macedonia, OH
Jul 14, 2011

Nice time at Turtle Bay

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our honeymoon. The hotel was beautiful and we had a great view from our balcony. Service was good but the restaurants on site were a bit pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Leonardo's had some of the best Italian food I have ever eaten. The margherita pizza was amazing!

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vinnie Lou
Couples
Denver, CO
Jul 9, 2011

Turtle Bay

We were a bit disappointed with how dated the hotel was. Considering the fact that there had been a fairly recent remodel done, it seemed they had put a small band aide on the the problem. When we did eat at the hotel the food was very good but extremely expensive in my opinion. It is just wrong when you put a teen on the end of the price of a hotdog. Our room did not have a balcony which is not stated or shown in any of the information that this could happen, so beware. We also encountered a problem with the front desk and our credit card. They were charging to our card $500. per day. After we had been there a while, our card didn't work and we found out this little bit of information. We were not informed that they were doing this so it was an inconvenyence and took away from our time to resolve. The staff definitely did not project a 4 or 5 star demeanor. We could not have ask for a better location. It was exactly what we were looking for as far as not being in the middle of the tourist caos. We were able to go do the things we wanted to and the escape back to a peaceful place on the north shore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snorkler Sam
Couples
Diamond Bar, CA
Jul 5, 2011

Away From It All

My husband and I are regular vacationers to Hawaii, but we have never wanted to go to the big city, i.e., Wakiki. A friend suggested that there is another part of the island, the North Shore. Well, if you go to the North Shore, then there is only one place, and a fine place it is. A luxury resort, perfectly situated with both beach and pool. Fantastic spa where I spent way too much time, but came home looking good! . . . and two fabulous golf courses. No need to go out, but lovely drives and charming towns nearby if you want to do so. There definitely is another side to Oahu, and the Turtle Bay Resort is the only game in town. Fortunately, it is a wonderful place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Best restaurant in the hotel is actually at the golf course. It is called Lei Leis' and I had one of the best filet mignon dinners of my life there.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Little Rock, Arkansas
Jun 22, 2011

We made a great choice!

Our choice to stay at Turtle Bay was a great one. The north shore of Oahu is FAR less "touristy" than staying in the south. It is only an hour away from Honolulu and is miles and miles away from the hustle and bustle we left back home! Although the rooms are a bit dated, the service, scenery, activities, and food are first class!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Kualoa Ranch: Do the tour! www.HummerToursHawaii.com This tour takes you to unbelievable countryside on a privately owned ranch. It's hard to open your eyes wide enough to take in all of the beauty! The driver also narrates specific locations where various movies and television show scenes were shot.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beautiful Mrs G
Couples
Cali
Jun 20, 2011

Our HONEYMOON

We had a blast!! All the staff was super friendly!! Gorgeous views at every turn!! Unfortunetly they were remodeling the roof or something but other than that it was amazing!! We loved the north shore!! We took a road trip to Waikiki which was nice but crazy busy like any major city!! If you want a romantic getaway go to the north shore!! If you want to party it up go to Waikiki!! Mahalo!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The shrimp trucks on the north east shore of Oahu are amazing and reasonable!! We drove into halewia like everyday for dinner or lunch!! The best Mexican food was at cholo's!! Gt they're carne asada plate you won't be disapointed!! It's like a 10-15min drive from turtle bay

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
California
Jun 19, 2011

honeymoon trip

first trip to Hawaii for the both of us. We loved it so much we can't wait to go back. My mom sent us on this trip for our honeymoon as she had been there twice already this year. We are starting to save our money now so we can go back with the rest of the family. Food was great, Mai Tais were fabulous. Loved hanging out by the pool and on the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

we loved eating at the pool and at the Bay Club.

Back to menu Return to top