$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
View map of 57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
602 out of 602
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Over worked
Business
California, USA
Aug 30, 2011

A week away

Room was large, clean and comfortable. Staff pleasant but no aloha.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Local fruit stands.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thelesserspew
Business
Heber, UT 84032, USA
Aug 24, 2011

One of the better spots on the North Shore

Turtle Bay has a great location and a lot of activities. The scenery is second to none. The beaches are clean and nice, perfect for easy snorkeling and swimming. The only complaint was the $25 resort fee per day. Didn't make any sense for them to not include that in the room fee. If you stay for a week the $25 adds up quickly. If they changed that, I would give them 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best places to eat are definitely not at the hotel. Try Ted's Bakery, the Hukilau Cafe, Surfin' Tacos, Cholos, the roadside fruit stands, and anywhere with an Acai bowl.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Freddy Man
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 16, 2011

Awesome and Pleasant

I loved the Turtle Bay resort. I would reccomend this to everyone. It is a little pricey but then again it is Hawaii. Well worth the money. I was amazed to see turtle in their natural habitat. The location has a sandy beach, a rocky beach and awesome balcony views. The property is not crowded like waikiki. The beaches are clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Food Land. Buy food and save money

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Geoman
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Turtle Bay Fun Days

My family had a great time at Turtle Bay. Even the usually feisty teenagers were happy as could be with snorkeling, hiking, shark caging, golfing, and playing tennis. The six different Turtle Bay restaurants offer something for everyone. Turtle Bay's quiet location is fantastic as a starting point for short trips around the North Shore and to Windward Coast and/or wild and crazy Honolulu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lei Lei's at the Turtle Bay golf club house was great.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sooer
Business
Las Vegas NV
Aug 12, 2011

Worn, but still nice

The best thing about Turtle Bay Resort is it's location -- away from the maddening crowd of Honolulu. The rooms are well worn and dated and, judging by the empty spaces, lacking furniture from years gone by. Still, they were clean and comfortable. They provide great views of the ocean, even though our "balcony" was only large enough for the one chair that was on it. The resort restaurants serve good food, except for the one on the beach, and they are very pricey. But since there is nothing in the area except for nearby Ted's Bakery or a few places in Haleiwa, about 10 miles away, you're stuck paying the high prices, Staff is excellent -- when our TV stopped working, they replaced it within minutes. Golfing at both courses is excellent, but the spa is small and dated. If you visit the Polynesian Village, go later in the day because even though the gates open early, nothing inside is open. And stay away from the lousy buffet at the village.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit "historic" Haleiwa for fun shopping. It's only 10 miles from the resort.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the ole colonel
Business
nashville tennessee
Jul 20, 2011

Very nice

Very nice the staff were very nice. Wished the 25$ per day fee could be for Valet parking. Otherwise you have to hike 1/4 mile to 1/2 mile per day. Beautiful beach. Wished they had info on the trails. But otherwise most excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
La Habra, Ca
Jul 18, 2011

Good Escape From Wailiki Chaos

Beautiful Location away from the hustle and Bustle of Waikiki. The rooms and bathrooms could use some modernization. Furniture was a bit old for a pricey resort and the bathrooms seemed right out of the 1980s. But the resort is on a beautiful piece of property. Reminds me of an outer island experience. The 2 golf courses are beautiful and would be much more expensive if they were closer to the city. Wife and I paid 65 each for 18 holes with cart, club rental, and water for a 230 tee time. Played straight through and barely saw any other players on the course. You can also hit a bucket of balls after 12 at the range for 5 bucks with free club rental. The pool area is adequate and there is miles of beach if you prefer sand. Food is very pricey and mediocre at best. I recommend driving 5-10 mins into town for some good local food. Our favorites were the hukilau cafe, teds bakery, tita's grill, and papaoles. Foodland in laie also has great Korean fried chicken at the deli.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hukilau cafe, teds bakery and tita's grill

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 16, 2011

Needs repairs but still a good place!

Worked out, rested, relaxed, dined, shopping, and sight seeing. Resort is getting long in the tooth, needs repairs. The staff makes those short comings tolerable. No microwave oven in our room, dinning is costly at the resort, and due to its remoteness nothing is close by. The drive to Honolulu is over one hour on narrow roads. Its great if you plan on staying put.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Costly!

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
skimber
Business
Macedonia, OH
Jul 14, 2011

Nice time at Turtle Bay

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our honeymoon. The hotel was beautiful and we had a great view from our balcony. Service was good but the restaurants on site were a bit pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Leonardo's had some of the best Italian food I have ever eaten. The margherita pizza was amazing!

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vinnie Lou
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 9, 2011

Turtle Bay

We were a bit disappointed with how dated the hotel was. Considering the fact that there had been a fairly recent remodel done, it seemed they had put a small band aide on the the problem. When we did eat at the hotel the food was very good but extremely expensive in my opinion. It is just wrong when you put a teen on the end of the price of a hotdog. Our room did not have a balcony which is not stated or shown in any of the information that this could happen, so beware. We also encountered a problem with the front desk and our credit card. They were charging to our card $500. per day. After we had been there a while, our card didn't work and we found out this little bit of information. We were not informed that they were doing this so it was an inconvenyence and took away from our time to resolve. The staff definitely did not project a 4 or 5 star demeanor. We could not have ask for a better location. It was exactly what we were looking for as far as not being in the middle of the tourist caos. We were able to go do the things we wanted to and the escape back to a peaceful place on the north shore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top