$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
View map of 57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
551 out of 551
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NancyJane917
Business
Buffalo, NY, USA
Oct 7, 2011

My Stay in Paradise

What an amazing place Turtle Bay Hawaii is. From the view everynight of the sunsets over the ocean; to the HUGE pool with hot tubs dispersed around it; to the ocean views from the rooms; to their beach; to the fabulous 21 Degrees North Restaurant; to their wonderful fruity, thirst-quenching drinks at poolside; to the Mo-Ped rides through the Resort Grounds ... I'm not sure there are enough words to say about my stay. It was the best vacation and one of the best experiences of my life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The shopping and dining in Halewia is nice and quaint. Walewia Deli and Halewia Eats are great places to dine ... reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kovi
Business
Sparks, NV, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Great destination

The location is great View is spectacular from the room Though the room need some updating Overall would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

roadside foods are inexpensive and great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Holly B.
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 4, 2011

Perfect Getaway

Turtle Bay Resort is the perfect getaway if you are looking for a peaceful and serene place to stay, but still want to be close to a lot of attractions, activities, beaches and beautiful scenery. The North Shore is not as busy or touristy as Honolulu or Waikiki, but there is still lots to do (from snorkeling and helicopter tours to swimming under a waterfall and walking through botanical gardens at Waimea Valley). Also, keep in mind that you can drive from one end of the Island to the other in a little over one hour. Turtle Bay Resort also offers an array of daily scheduled activites right on the resort, including Lei Making, Yoga, Zumba, Horse Back Riding, Golf, Surf Lessons, etc. We drove around the entire Island and saw a lot of other hotels and resorts, but none of them compared to the Turtle Bay Resort. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Oahu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westwood, NJ
Sep 29, 2011

Quiet and Beautiful

If you are looking for a place away from the busy Waikiki Beach area, somewehre serene and beautiful. it cannot get better than Turtle Bay. Lots to do during the day and just absolutely beautiful at nights as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hicks
Business
Tennessee, USA
Sep 23, 2011

Great

It was great. Only complant was food prices. The North Shore is the place to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try all the shrimp trucks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
My3Sons
Business
Oceanside,Ca
Sep 23, 2011

Romantic but also Family Fun

We had a wonderful time at Turtle Bay. This was our second time going and we look forward to returning again. The Resort offers such a wide range of activities that there is always something to do. Thank you for being a part of our memories !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We took a Paradise Helicopter tour. Definately worth the money. We LOVED it. Next to just being together, that was our most memorable and exciting time. Thanks to Josh ( our pilot) for showing us around :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GGMo
Business
Olathe, KS, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Paradise!

Oahu was incredibly beautiful and the resort was very accomodating and cordial. My only complaint was that they placed a hold for $150 per day against my credit card (above and beyond the cost of the package from Orbitz) because thay assumed that I would charge that much to my room each day! And the worst part was that they did not even mention this when we registered or later. It was not until I asked about those holds that they explained therm. They would not take them off until I checked out and did not know how long before they actually would release from the card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The fod in the resort was excellent, but the dinners were much more expensive than the lunches. I would recommend going off the resort amd into one of the numerous small villages to eat at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
primatefreak
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Sep 16, 2011

Turtle Bay Resort

I have stayed at this resort many times as my Dad has lived on the North Shore for the past 25 years, so it's convenient. The one thing I don't like is having to pay $25.00 plus tax per day resort fee for amenities. I did not use wireless internet, 1 hour per day snorkeling or most of these "amenities". As far as complimentary coffee/tea in the room. It's not complimentary when you are paying for it in the resort fee per day. Almost all hotels provide the coffee in your room without an additional charge. I am considering staying at another hotel my next trip. It always has cost more to stay at Turtle Bay but it becomes out of control when you have to pay an additional $235.00 at check out for things many offer at no extra charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to belong to a frequent flyer program, the miles add up quickly. Most airlines also have partners to get extra miles for purchases in store and online. Also, if you plan to shop in Foodland grocery store, get their Makai card for in store savings and additional miles with Hawaiian Air.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikep
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Great location; tired rooms / amenities

Without question, the location (on the North Shore) was amazing - assuming that's what you want (i.e. there's very little nearby). However, as has been mentioned by many others, the rooms/property are pretty tired - def in need of some renovations (the shower/tub was very dated). We didn't mind (they were very clean), but the normal prices are WAY out of line with the amenities... not to mention the mysterious "resort fee" charged per day (why is this even separate?). As is typical for a place were most people don't leave the grounds, the restaurants/drinks are overpriced; the food average. All this being said, we still had a great time since our expectations were in line. Find a great deal, and you won't be disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

OLA was pretty solid - def worth checking out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Over worked
Business
California, USA
Aug 30, 2011

A week away

Room was large, clean and comfortable. Staff pleasant but no aloha.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Local fruit stands.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top