$223 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
View map of 57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
512 out of 512
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Could of been better
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 4, 2012

Not 4 star

Hotel was ok. Staff needs to learn what customer service is. Concierge service needs to understand what there job is & being rude should not be part of it. A daily resort fee is not really necessary. Leonardo's resturant needs some work. Twenty one was excellent. Location was beautiful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bluedaisy03
Business
Texas, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Beautiful scenery!

I thought the hotel was nice, not fantastic as the price would indicate, but nice. The view from the room was fabulous. The breakfast buffet was great, but overpriced at $25 each. The hotel charges you $25 a day for their amenitities, whether you use them or not and each "activity" cost, except the beach or pool. We did not do anything except snorkel and go into the water. But the location on the North Shore is wonderful and is close enough to Honolulu but far away from all the crowds. That being said, everything is over-priced in Hawaii!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WinterHoneymooners
Business
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Great location, average hotel

The ocean view was beautiful and so were the resort grounds. The North Shore is pleasantly less touristy. For location and outward style, Turtle Bay scores a 100%. However, my wife and I quickly decided we would not be ordering room service again after two tries with not so tasty food. The room service comes from the same kitchens that supply the resort restaurants, so we avoided those as well. Luckily, there are local eateries along the Kamehameha Highway and a mini fridge in the hotel (no microwave, though). I don't think the resort was worth the cost and extra fees (I'm surprised they don't charge extra fees for breathing the resort air), but I would definitely recommend visiting the North Shore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you don't see a place you like, keep driving just a little ways on the Kamehameha Highway in either direction. There are lots of places west in Haleiwa Town, or east in La'ie if none of the roadside places are interesting.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
red rose
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 15, 2011

Beautiful views in nice older resort

There was extensive construction work going on to the lobby area and it created noise and inconvenience throughout our stay. We had no warning of this in advance. Rooms seemed old, a bit run down, and in need of some repair and upgrading. Restaurants very expensive and had to utilize the local food trucks and fast food stores to stay on budget. On the positive side, we had a beautiful view from our room of the ocean and grounds and the beds were pretty comfortable. Staff were nice enough, but not especially helpful in offering maps, or information about the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss a local favorite, Ted's Bakery, about 5 miles from the the resort. They had the best pies and muffins I've ever tasted.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coffee Gurl
Business
Captain Cook, HI, USA
Nov 27, 2011

lovely setting, great staff, very kind and helpful

Spent a week here with my husband over thanksgiving. Didn't feel too crowded which we feared would happen. Went out and bought some cheap beach chairs so we didn't have to worry about getting a chair at the beach. The north shore is so beautiful, peaceful. just the place to stay to decompress from a too busy work schedule! Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

OLA'S is a great restaurant right on the beach, featuring local fresh & well prepared dishes. The salmon salad is to die for... at the other end of the spectrum is the poolside bar/restaurant. The worst cocktail ever, highly overpriced. Asked to add more pineapple juice as it tasted like water slush with a tablespoon of juice and little to no rum, they bought it back just as awful as before. Another time ordered plain ice tea, and it came out of a can. Ridiculous! Their food is just poor fast food quality. If you care at all about food quality, avoid at all costs!!

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retters
Business
Santa Clarita, CA, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Turtle Bay Resort

The view from our balcony was fabulous! The location of the hotel was very convenient and the rooms were comfortable. It could have used some updating and some painting. The shutters to the sliding door were all chipped and the paint was peeling. The staff were very accommodating. We asked for more pillows and towels and they were delivered very quickly. I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ted's bakery for breakfast and a piece of their famous pie!

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marilyn56
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 4, 2011

Solitude

The staff was phenomenal. Our whole experience was great. My only complaint is that they need to upgrade the bathrooms. They are showing their wear. Would most definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gr8e
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Excellent location

You just can beat the beautiful location! A great place away from the crowds, excellent surf, beautiful pools, etc On the downside, our 2nd floor "deluxe ocean view" room had a great view of the roof of the spa. Be sure to try and get 4th floor or higher to get a better view! Also the drawers smelled of mold. But dont let that shade what a great place and location it is. You won't regret a stay here. The staff was awesome too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frankyP
Business
Idaho, USA
Oct 24, 2011

good stuff

pretty nice facility. The kids really enjoyed it, even if the little one pooped his pants a couple of times

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kelly1984
Business
Charlotte, NC
Oct 17, 2011

GREAT bang for the buck!

Visited last week on our honeymoon, this resort was perfect for us. We stayed in the oceanfront room over looking the bay, so beautiful and serene. The rooms were so quiet, we never heard anyone else. Everyone at the resort was SUPER friendly and nice. All of the restaurants were excellent and it was so nice having so many choices! The rooms were clean and updated. My only complaint is the sheets were a little scratchy! The horseback rides and helicopter rides were a blast. So much to do without even leaving the resort. This hotel was a great value for the price. It is on the country side of Oahu, which is much better than staying in Honolulu (WAYYYYY too busy and crowded). All in all, 5 out of 5 stars!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Palm Terrace had great breakfasts for ~$15/person (that's cheap in HI!)

Back to menu Return to top