$223 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
941 reviews
Turtle Bay

Turtle Bay was an awesome experience. It was a birthday celebration and we had a delightful time.... See full review

  • Aunty Plumeria
  • Jul 24, 2014
Couple staycation

So my girlfriend and I decided that we would spend my last weekend in town overnight at the North... See full review

  • jdSmithChang
  • Jul 15, 2014
Del Webb, the real estate mogul and one-time New York Yankees owner, opened Turtle Bay Resort in 1972 and ever since then, it's been entertaining guests with an involving line-up of activities, from surfing lessons and making your own flower-leis to learning how to play the ukulele. Add to this the two chlorine-free swimming pools, water slide, trails for hiking and biking, and championship golf courses, and it's no wonder that Turtle Bay draws sizable crowds. Wicker and natural woods contrast with brighter shades indoors, while the verdant north shore of Oahu provides all the views you need from the terrace restaurant, Ola. Nalu Kinetic Spa provides ocean panoramas, a massage table that simulates the sensation of floating at sea, and calming hot-stone treatments.
Key facts
  • 443 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Valet parking
  • 5 restaurants: Pa'akai, North Shore Kula Grille, Hang Ten Bar & Grill, Ola Restaurant and Lei Lei's Bar & Grill
  • Lounge/bars: Lobby Lounge and Surfer, The Bar
  • 2 outdoor pools
  • 24-hour room service
  • Coffee shop and café
  • On-site golf course
  • Full-service spa
  • Health club
  • Arcade/game room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
Neighborhood
It's worth staying at this Hawaiian resort just for the surroundings. Turtle Bay is found in a section of Oahu's famed North Shore known for its unique rock formations, spectacular surfing beaches, and the majestic green sea turtles for which it is named. Near to both Kawela Bay Beach Park and the James Campbell National Wildlife Refuge, the Kamehameha Highway leads southeast from the hotel to the Polynesian Cultural Center, for those seeking signs of modern civilization.
Hints and tips
Be sure to enjoy one of the many free events that are featured every week, from spoken word nights to beach parties and film showings.

Drop in to hear amazing stories from professional surfers at Surfer, The Bar, in between mouthfuls of spicy Hawaiian seafood.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Turtle Bay Resort Rooms

Ocean Front Beach Cottage
The Beach Cottages at Turtle Bay Resort are grouped in clusters of six and situated along the west shore of beautiful Turtle Bay. The cottages are equipped with large marble bathrooms featuring Kallista deep-soak tubs, freestanding glass showers, and private, enclosed toilets.
Deluxe Oceanfront
Full Balcony Offering Spectacular Ocean Views and Hawaiian Sunsets with Two Queen Beds Studio-type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.
Ocean Villas
Our villas make the perfect resort home; elegantly furnished with a masterful blend of luxury and elegance. The Ocean Villas are unsurpassed by anything that the island of Oahu has ever seen in oceanfront resort accommodations. The entryway leads to a gourmet kitchen, which is adjacent to a spacious living/dining area. The master bedroom is furnished with 1 king bed; each guest room has 1 queen bed and the living room has a queen sized sofa sleeper. Enjoy exclusive amenities such as the Ocean Villa pool, Jacuzzi, courtyard, and barbeque area.
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds. Partial Oceanview located on the second floor. 478 square feet. Complimentary wireless Internet access, compact refrigerator, coffeemaker, and cable TV with HBO, pay movies, and video games (surcharge). A daily resort fee covers local phone calls, weekday newspaper delivery, and in-room safe. Non-smoking only. One king or two double beds.
ADA Accesible Oceanfront King
Our ADA accessible ocean front room includes a king sized bed. An automatic wide door ensures easy and smooth access into the spacious 478 feet dwelling. Grab bars for comfort and security are located throughout the roomy restroom. The tub includes a shower bench and handheld shower head to ensure ease. The double lanai door is equipped with a ramp. The closet is wheel chair accessible with a low clothing rack. A portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request. Lamps are touch activated for easy use. The closed-captioning option is available for television viewing.
ADA Accessible Oceanside Cottage
One king or two queen beds. Inside, find polished Brazilian walnut floors leading to a large, multi-level beach retreat with 15-foot ceilings and king poster beds. Luxuriate in a Kallista deep-soak tub or take care of business using wireless Internet access. Let our exclusive cottage concierge tend to your every need. Room includes location near handicap parking stalls, ADA accessible ramp to cottage, automatic wheel chair accessible door, ramp in cottage to access multi-levels, double lanai door with ramp for wheel chair access to lanai, spacious ADA accessible bathroom, roll-in shower, handheld showerhead, low tub, grab bars throughout the bathroom, touch activated lights, ADA accessible closet, closed-captioning option for television, and a portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request.
Ocean View
Beautiful views of the ocean and resort, a full bath with vanity, wireless Internet access, telephone with two lines and data port and sleep two to four. Two double queen beds or a king size bed
Oceanfront
Small Balcony with Full View Of Turtle Bay And Hawaiian Sunrises with Two Queen Beds. Studio type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

21.698 -157.9903
Area served
North Shore, Polynesian Cultural Center, Kawela Bay, Kuilima Cove, Turtle Bay.
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
About an hour from Honolulu, Turtle Bay Resort is set against a landscape of cattle pastures, plantation homes, lush windward valleys and the scenic, world-famous surfing beaches of Oahu's Fabled North Shore. Both laidback and vibrant, the North Shore attracts millions of visitors each year and offers a variety of colorful cafes and shops. You'll also be a few minutes' drive from the Polynesian Cultural Center.

Dining

Pa'akai
A fresh twist on locally sourced dining. Pa'akai - or "sea salt" in the Hawaiian language, reflecting Hawaii's numerous seaside salt beds - features sea-to-table cuisine. Pa'akai's menu highlights the best in fresh local fish, farm-raised lobster, Kauai prawns, sea asparagus, seaweed and sea salt produced in Hawaii.
North Shore Kula Grille
The ancient Hawaiians divided their land into three sections: Mauka, kula and makai - or mountains, midland and the sea - known as ahupua 'a. It is the kula lands, primarily used for agriculture, that now serve as the inspiration for the North Shore Kula Grille. A place where farm-to-table thinking is behind every ingredient on our menu.
Lobby Lounge
At the Lobby Lounge, you will find friendly service, exotic cocktails and a diverse menu to satisfy all of your cravings. Enjoy freshly brewed Coffees, Latts, Cappuccinos, Espresso Drinks, Smoothies, Beer, Wine, and Handcrafted Cocktails like the Pupukea Lychee and the Skinny Lilikoi Chi Chi. Signature dishes include Citrus Ponzu Calamari and Grilled Kahuku Honey & Mango Glazed Chicken.
Ola
Enjoy contemporary island cuisine with the sand between your toes. The only restaurant on O'ahu located literally on the beach, Ola is an experience for all the senses. The concept, cuisine and atmosphere of the open-aired restaurant that literally sits on the beach is summed up in its name, "Ola" which means "life, living, healthy and alive." Chef Fred DeAngelo delights guests with his innovative cuisine.
Surfer, The Bar
Forget dark wood paneling and marble bar-tops, Surfer has its own very original look and feel. And although the bartender can fastidiously make your favorite cocktail, the drink of choice here is a 16-ounce pint of ice-cold beer, many of them local small-batch brews. Sure the food is fresh, flavorful, sometimes spicy Hawaiian comfort food, prepared by white-hat chefs in the acclaimed resort kitchen. But food, beverage and dcor are not the real reasons why the audience - locals, guests of the hotel and word travelers - gather here.
Hang Ten Bar & Grill
Enjoy tropical drinks surfside at the outdoor Hang Ten Bar & Grill. Stop by for a refreshing break and one of the island's best Mai Tai's. Relax to the sounds of the surf while you discover why Turtle Bay Resort has received awards for "Hotel with the Best View." Every night of the week you will find something special happening here. You may find a Drum Circle, a keiki hula halau, live Hawaiian Style music, Fish Fries, or Fire Knife Dancers and every day at sunset you have a chance to order the Hang Ten signature drink, the "Green Flash".
Lei Lei's Bar and Grill
Mouthwatering dishes and a laid back atmosphere make Lei Lei's a famous local haunt on O'ahu's Fabled North Shore. Talk Story with entertaining manager and host Ian. The excellent dishes and service is what brings regulars from the surf and movie industry here Dinner features a menu brimming over with entrees of fresh, succulent seafood, savory beef, chicken and pork prepared to perfection. Signature dishes include slow-roasted prime rib, ginger soy Ahi and our warm bacon dressing spinach salad. Compliment the meal with a selection from our extensive wine list. Lei Lei's is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is served weekdays starting at 7:00 a.m. and on weekends starting at 6:30 a.m. Lunch is served from 11:00 a.m. Dinner seating begins at 5:00 p.m. with the last seating at 10:00 p.m. Live soloist music is played every Thursday and Sunday nights from 6:00 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort has more than 28,000 square feet of event and pre-function space perfect for group sizes up to 600 indoors and 2000 outdoors. An experienced conference servicing team is available to assist with all program needs including menu planning, technology support and recreational activities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (941)

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
941 out of 941
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hicks
Tennessee, USA
Sep 23, 2011

Great

It was great. Only complant was food prices. The North Shore is the place to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try all the shrimp trucks.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
My3Sons
Oceanside,Ca
Sep 23, 2011

Romantic but also Family Fun

We had a wonderful time at Turtle Bay. This was our second time going and we look forward to returning again. The Resort offers such a wide range of activities that there is always something to do. Thank you for being a part of our memories !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We took a Paradise Helicopter tour. Definately worth the money. We LOVED it. Next to just being together, that was our most memorable and exciting time. Thanks to Josh ( our pilot) for showing us around :)

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GGMo
Olathe, KS, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Paradise!

Oahu was incredibly beautiful and the resort was very accomodating and cordial. My only complaint was that they placed a hold for $150 per day against my credit card (above and beyond the cost of the package from Orbitz) because thay assumed that I would charge that much to my room each day! And the worst part was that they did not even mention this when we registered or later. It was not until I asked about those holds that they explained therm. They would not take them off until I checked out and did not know how long before they actually would release from the card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The fod in the resort was excellent, but the dinners were much more expensive than the lunches. I would recommend going off the resort amd into one of the numerous small villages to eat at night.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GGMo
Olathe, KS, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Paradise!

Oahu was incredibly beautiful and the resort was very accomodating and cordial. My only complaint was that they placed a hold for $150 per day against my credit card (above and beyond the cost of the package from Orbitz) because thay assumed that I would charge that much to my room each day! And the worst part was that they did not even mention this when we registered or later. It was not until I asked about those holds that they explained therm. They would not take them off until I checked out and did not know how long before they actually would release from the card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The fod in the resort was excellent, but the dinners were much more expensive than the lunches. I would recommend going off the resort amd into one of the numerous small villages to eat at night.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
primatefreak
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Sep 16, 2011

Turtle Bay Resort

I have stayed at this resort many times as my Dad has lived on the North Shore for the past 25 years, so it's convenient. The one thing I don't like is having to pay $25.00 plus tax per day resort fee for amenities. I did not use wireless internet, 1 hour per day snorkeling or most of these "amenities". As far as complimentary coffee/tea in the room. It's not complimentary when you are paying for it in the resort fee per day. Almost all hotels provide the coffee in your room without an additional charge. I am considering staying at another hotel my next trip. It always has cost more to stay at Turtle Bay but it becomes out of control when you have to pay an additional $235.00 at check out for things many offer at no extra charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to belong to a frequent flyer program, the miles add up quickly. Most airlines also have partners to get extra miles for purchases in store and online. Also, if you plan to shop in Foodland grocery store, get their Makai card for in store savings and additional miles with Hawaiian Air.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikep
Seattle, WA, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Great location; tired rooms / amenities

Without question, the location (on the North Shore) was amazing - assuming that's what you want (i.e. there's very little nearby). However, as has been mentioned by many others, the rooms/property are pretty tired - def in need of some renovations (the shower/tub was very dated). We didn't mind (they were very clean), but the normal prices are WAY out of line with the amenities... not to mention the mysterious "resort fee" charged per day (why is this even separate?). As is typical for a place were most people don't leave the grounds, the restaurants/drinks are overpriced; the food average. All this being said, we still had a great time since our expectations were in line. Find a great deal, and you won't be disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

OLA was pretty solid - def worth checking out.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikep
Seattle, WA, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Great location; tired rooms / amenities

Without question, the location (on the North Shore) was amazing - assuming that's what you want (i.e. there's very little nearby). However, as has been mentioned by many others, the rooms/property are pretty tired - def in need of some renovations (the shower/tub was very dated). We didn't mind (they were very clean), but the normal prices are WAY out of line with the amenities... not to mention the mysterious "resort fee" charged per day (why is this even separate?). As is typical for a place were most people don't leave the grounds, the restaurants/drinks are overpriced; the food average. All this being said, we still had a great time since our expectations were in line. Find a great deal, and you won't be disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

OLA was pretty solid - def worth checking out.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Over worked
California, USA
Aug 30, 2011

A week away

Room was large, clean and comfortable. Staff pleasant but no aloha.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Local fruit stands.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Over worked
California, USA
Aug 30, 2011

A week away

Room was large, clean and comfortable. Staff pleasant but no aloha.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Local fruit stands.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thelesserspew
Heber, UT 84032, USA
Aug 24, 2011

One of the better spots on the North Shore

Turtle Bay has a great location and a lot of activities. The scenery is second to none. The beaches are clean and nice, perfect for easy snorkeling and swimming. The only complaint was the $25 resort fee per day. Didn't make any sense for them to not include that in the room fee. If you stay for a week the $25 adds up quickly. If they changed that, I would give them 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best places to eat are definitely not at the hotel. Try Ted's Bakery, the Hukilau Cafe, Surfin' Tacos, Cholos, the roadside fruit stands, and anywhere with an Acai bowl.

Back to menu Return to top