$223 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
939 reviews
Couple staycation

So my girlfriend and I decided that we would spend my last weekend in town overnight at the North... See full review

  • jdSmithChang
  • Jul 15, 2014
Awesome vacay resort!

My daughters and I had the time of our lives! Great view from our room. Excellent customer service! See full review

  • Losa W
  • Jul 10, 2014
Del Webb, the real estate mogul and one-time New York Yankees owner, opened Turtle Bay Resort in 1972 and ever since then, it's been entertaining guests with an involving line-up of activities, from surfing lessons and making your own flower-leis to learning how to play the ukulele. Add to this the two chlorine-free swimming pools, water slide, trails for hiking and biking, and championship golf courses, and it's no wonder that Turtle Bay draws sizable crowds. Wicker and natural woods contrast with brighter shades indoors, while the verdant north shore of Oahu provides all the views you need from the terrace restaurant, Ola. Nalu Kinetic Spa provides ocean panoramas, a massage table that simulates the sensation of floating at sea, and calming hot-stone treatments.
Key facts
  • 443 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Valet parking
  • 5 restaurants: Pa'akai, North Shore Kula Grille, Hang Ten Bar & Grill, Ola Restaurant and Lei Lei's Bar & Grill
  • Lounge/bars: Lobby Lounge and Surfer, The Bar
  • 2 outdoor pools
  • 24-hour room service
  • Coffee shop and café
  • On-site golf course
  • Full-service spa
  • Health club
  • Arcade/game room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
Neighborhood
It's worth staying at this Hawaiian resort just for the surroundings. Turtle Bay is found in a section of Oahu's famed North Shore known for its unique rock formations, spectacular surfing beaches, and the majestic green sea turtles for which it is named. Near to both Kawela Bay Beach Park and the James Campbell National Wildlife Refuge, the Kamehameha Highway leads southeast from the hotel to the Polynesian Cultural Center, for those seeking signs of modern civilization.
Hints and tips
Be sure to enjoy one of the many free events that are featured every week, from spoken word nights to beach parties and film showings.

Drop in to hear amazing stories from professional surfers at Surfer, The Bar, in between mouthfuls of spicy Hawaiian seafood.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Turtle Bay Resort Rooms

Ocean Front Beach Cottage
The Beach Cottages at Turtle Bay Resort are grouped in clusters of six and situated along the west shore of beautiful Turtle Bay. The cottages are equipped with large marble bathrooms featuring Kallista deep-soak tubs, freestanding glass showers, and private, enclosed toilets.
Deluxe Oceanfront
Full Balcony Offering Spectacular Ocean Views and Hawaiian Sunsets with Two Queen Beds Studio-type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.
Ocean Villas
Our villas make the perfect resort home; elegantly furnished with a masterful blend of luxury and elegance. The Ocean Villas are unsurpassed by anything that the island of Oahu has ever seen in oceanfront resort accommodations. The entryway leads to a gourmet kitchen, which is adjacent to a spacious living/dining area. The master bedroom is furnished with 1 king bed; each guest room has 1 queen bed and the living room has a queen sized sofa sleeper. Enjoy exclusive amenities such as the Ocean Villa pool, Jacuzzi, courtyard, and barbeque area.
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds. Partial Oceanview located on the second floor. 478 square feet. Complimentary wireless Internet access, compact refrigerator, coffeemaker, and cable TV with HBO, pay movies, and video games (surcharge). A daily resort fee covers local phone calls, weekday newspaper delivery, and in-room safe. Non-smoking only. One king or two double beds.
ADA Accesible Oceanfront King
Our ADA accessible ocean front room includes a king sized bed. An automatic wide door ensures easy and smooth access into the spacious 478 feet dwelling. Grab bars for comfort and security are located throughout the roomy restroom. The tub includes a shower bench and handheld shower head to ensure ease. The double lanai door is equipped with a ramp. The closet is wheel chair accessible with a low clothing rack. A portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request. Lamps are touch activated for easy use. The closed-captioning option is available for television viewing.
ADA Accessible Oceanside Cottage
One king or two queen beds. Inside, find polished Brazilian walnut floors leading to a large, multi-level beach retreat with 15-foot ceilings and king poster beds. Luxuriate in a Kallista deep-soak tub or take care of business using wireless Internet access. Let our exclusive cottage concierge tend to your every need. Room includes location near handicap parking stalls, ADA accessible ramp to cottage, automatic wheel chair accessible door, ramp in cottage to access multi-levels, double lanai door with ramp for wheel chair access to lanai, spacious ADA accessible bathroom, roll-in shower, handheld showerhead, low tub, grab bars throughout the bathroom, touch activated lights, ADA accessible closet, closed-captioning option for television, and a portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request.
Ocean View
Beautiful views of the ocean and resort, a full bath with vanity, wireless Internet access, telephone with two lines and data port and sleep two to four. Two double queen beds or a king size bed
Oceanfront
Small Balcony with Full View Of Turtle Bay And Hawaiian Sunrises with Two Queen Beds. Studio type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

21.698 -157.9903
Area served
North Shore, Polynesian Cultural Center, Kawela Bay, Kuilima Cove, Turtle Bay.
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
About an hour from Honolulu, Turtle Bay Resort is set against a landscape of cattle pastures, plantation homes, lush windward valleys and the scenic, world-famous surfing beaches of Oahu's Fabled North Shore. Both laidback and vibrant, the North Shore attracts millions of visitors each year and offers a variety of colorful cafes and shops. You'll also be a few minutes' drive from the Polynesian Cultural Center.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort has more than 28,000 square feet of event and pre-function space perfect for group sizes up to 600 indoors and 2000 outdoors. An experienced conference servicing team is available to assist with all program needs including menu planning, technology support and recreational activities.

Dining

Pa'akai
A fresh twist on locally sourced dining. Pa'akai - or "sea salt" in the Hawaiian language, reflecting Hawaii's numerous seaside salt beds - features sea-to-table cuisine. Pa'akai's menu highlights the best in fresh local fish, farm-raised lobster, Kauai prawns, sea asparagus, seaweed and sea salt produced in Hawaii.
North Shore Kula Grille
The ancient Hawaiians divided their land into three sections: Mauka, kula and makai - or mountains, midland and the sea - known as ahupua 'a. It is the kula lands, primarily used for agriculture, that now serve as the inspiration for the North Shore Kula Grille. A place where farm-to-table thinking is behind every ingredient on our menu.
Lobby Lounge
At the Lobby Lounge, you will find friendly service, exotic cocktails and a diverse menu to satisfy all of your cravings. Enjoy freshly brewed Coffees, Latts, Cappuccinos, Espresso Drinks, Smoothies, Beer, Wine, and Handcrafted Cocktails like the Pupukea Lychee and the Skinny Lilikoi Chi Chi. Signature dishes include Citrus Ponzu Calamari and Grilled Kahuku Honey & Mango Glazed Chicken.
Ola
Enjoy contemporary island cuisine with the sand between your toes. The only restaurant on O'ahu located literally on the beach, Ola is an experience for all the senses. The concept, cuisine and atmosphere of the open-aired restaurant that literally sits on the beach is summed up in its name, "Ola" which means "life, living, healthy and alive." Chef Fred DeAngelo delights guests with his innovative cuisine.
Surfer, The Bar
Forget dark wood paneling and marble bar-tops, Surfer has its own very original look and feel. And although the bartender can fastidiously make your favorite cocktail, the drink of choice here is a 16-ounce pint of ice-cold beer, many of them local small-batch brews. Sure the food is fresh, flavorful, sometimes spicy Hawaiian comfort food, prepared by white-hat chefs in the acclaimed resort kitchen. But food, beverage and dcor are not the real reasons why the audience - locals, guests of the hotel and word travelers - gather here.
Hang Ten Bar & Grill
Enjoy tropical drinks surfside at the outdoor Hang Ten Bar & Grill. Stop by for a refreshing break and one of the island's best Mai Tai's. Relax to the sounds of the surf while you discover why Turtle Bay Resort has received awards for "Hotel with the Best View." Every night of the week you will find something special happening here. You may find a Drum Circle, a keiki hula halau, live Hawaiian Style music, Fish Fries, or Fire Knife Dancers and every day at sunset you have a chance to order the Hang Ten signature drink, the "Green Flash".
Lei Lei's Bar and Grill
Mouthwatering dishes and a laid back atmosphere make Lei Lei's a famous local haunt on O'ahu's Fabled North Shore. Talk Story with entertaining manager and host Ian. The excellent dishes and service is what brings regulars from the surf and movie industry here Dinner features a menu brimming over with entrees of fresh, succulent seafood, savory beef, chicken and pork prepared to perfection. Signature dishes include slow-roasted prime rib, ginger soy Ahi and our warm bacon dressing spinach salad. Compliment the meal with a selection from our extensive wine list. Lei Lei's is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is served weekdays starting at 7:00 a.m. and on weekends starting at 6:30 a.m. Lunch is served from 11:00 a.m. Dinner seating begins at 5:00 p.m. with the last seating at 10:00 p.m. Live soloist music is played every Thursday and Sunday nights from 6:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (939)

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
939 out of 939
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paiute Paul
California
Oct 11, 2012

Beautiful Setting

We watched incredible sunrises & sunsets, hiked along the ocean, and snorkled with turtles, all there at the resort. The food was delicious also, a little pricy but worth it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop at the closest grocery store for much cheaper meals that you can eat in your room, like breakfast items, muffins, fruit, sodas & bottled water.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BreeB
Santa Monica, California
Jul 19, 2014

Fantastic romantic getaway

There are many activities you can participate in while staying at Turtle Bay - surfing, snorkeling, golfing, bike riding, etc. You can do it all! One of the coolest things was seeing sea turtles up close in the bay. We had an ocean view room where we could watch the sunrise/sunset. It was absolutely beautiful! and relaxing. We will definitely return to Turtle Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jdSmithChang
Honolulu, HI
Jul 15, 2014

Couple staycation

So my girlfriend and I decided that we would spend my last weekend in town overnight at the North Shore - Turtle Bay was naturally the only option! Overall a wonderful stay. One tip: Don't leave the lanai doors open too long or you will be greeted with beetles...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Losa W
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 10, 2014

Awesome vacay resort!

My daughters and I had the time of our lives! Great view from our room. Excellent customer service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Polynesian Cultural Center, beaches and local grinds (food).

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roosh
Madison, WI
May 23, 2014

THE place to stay on the North Shore

TBR was a great place to experience the North Shore. Great snorkeling and the surfing lesson was really fun! All the on-site restaurants were delicious and I've never slept in a more comfortable bed. Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make a reservation at Ola restaurant to get a great table close to the beach.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JenD100
Broomfield, Colorado
May 20, 2014

Turtle Bay Resort

We booked through an online travel site. Got a good rate. Check in was easy. Our room was nice, full view of the ocean even though we were suppose to receive partial view. We also had full view of their roof construction that looked terrible and we began to worry about the noise that it would bring so we tried to switch rooms. They said they only had a king with no balcony available so we decided to wait until the next day to see how bad the construction noise would be. The first night was horrible: we didn't make it past midnight. There was this awful sound coming from the interior wall that was loud and wouldn't stop. By midnight we were very upset and called the front desk because it was very difficult for my husband and I to sleep (although it didn't seem to bother our daughter). At first they wanted to send a technician up to see if it could be fixed. They also said they were all booked for rooms at our price level and had nowhere to put us! So we waited for the technician for a few minutes until realizing that the only thing they could do is tear down the wall to stop the noise. They were wasting our valuable sleep time for our vacation! So we called down again and said we need a new room! The person helping us said that they did have a room, it was a downgrade from what we were currently in because they had "upgraded" our reservation with full ocean view (and full construction view). We took the downgrade happily since that's what we were suppose to have in the first place. Turned out to be a much better room than the first one even with only partial view of the ocean. Thanks but no thanks for the initial upgrade!!! One thing we were very disappointed with is the inconvenience and lost sleep that was caused by having to switch rooms at midnight, yet they never once offered something nice to make up for it. The security manager was very nice but come on people! We had to switch rooms in the middle of the night and you did nothing to say sorry? Not very impressive because we lost part of our night thanks to your room and the noise it was making! The rest of the time was good and the room was quiet. All the staff is very friendly. Every employee we saw gave us big smiles and alohas every time! We were very impressed with that. Housekeeping was very friendly and accommodating. The only other con is that its very busy on the weekend (especially the pool). Not sure if it's like that every weekend or only because of mothers day weekend but the pool area was packed full of people. Another thing is if you plan on taking advantage of the FREE self-parking (included in resort fee) be aware that its tricky because the parking lot gets quite full during the day with beach goers. On many occasions we had a long walk to the hotel. Doesn't seem quite fair when we are paying to stay there. Shouldn't guests have a reserved spot every day regardless of whether the valet is parking the car or you are doing it yourself? We would recommend this hotel. Although we were not happy with the initial room situation, it did smooth out once we moved to a new room. In our case, with the midnight room switch, they didn't go above and beyond to make us feel valued what- so-ever. The hotel itself is 5 stars but with other things factored in the experience was a 3 1/2 for us. Time is precious on vacation and so is sleep. So costing your clients either isn't a nice thing to do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kiwi Kiter
Melbourne, Australia.
May 8, 2014

Best on Oahu.

Awesome. Stop at supermarket on the drive in and buy a few drinks and snacks.. Eat at the shrimp trucks that are all over the north shore. Try not to cut your feet on the sharp coral. Do the segway tour. "Goat island" is best for kitesurfing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Supermarket has awesome snacks and beer selection, will save you hundreds. As well as shrimp trucks.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kylezmom
SF
May 7, 2014

Turtle bay

Great location! Friendly staff, beautiful Pool with slide for the kiddos!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Haleiwa a small town close by on the Harbor has THE cutest shops and some killer restaurants

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelingCouple79
Phoenix
May 3, 2014

Great location, the rest is average

We stayed seven nights at Turtle Bay. The views and location are amazing. The hotel was under construction and we endured one night with no electricity. The staff claimed we were notified before our stay, we were not. The cleanliness of the room was average. We were not aware until the last day of the two free hours per day of beach rentals. The hospitality of the staff seemed to be forced and somewhat insincere. We dined at Leis Leis, Kula Grille, and Lobby Lounge. We found the food to be overpriced for the quality. You are better off dining off property. Due to public beach access/parking the only viable parking option is valet at $15 daily. Turtle Bay knows they are the only resort option on the North Shore and it shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tacomamv
honolulu
Apr 18, 2014

great remote getaway

wondeful, remote, away from the city, the hussle and bussle. there are many beautiful beaches and great surfing. plenty of outdoor activites you can do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

cheaper places to eat close to hotel including breakfast

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aloha2014
Arizona
Apr 7, 2014

Turtle Bay

After 25 plus years, I returned to vacation for 8 days at Turtle Bay (03/2014). Complete remodel, upgrades, golf, horse stables, surf instructions, fitness center, yoga lessons, great food selections, whale watching etc.. My only disappointment was to see how crowded the north Shore has become over the years. Tons of surfer on the weekends. Check out Turtle Bay for a wonderful vacation experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the free snorkel gear every day..... the coral reef is wonderful to explore.

Back to menu Return to top