Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

3 stars
2375 Ala Wai Blvd., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
105 reviews
Excellent for the price, location and amenities

Excellent location. Just 5 to 7 mins walk to Waikiki beach. At Hawaii, you do not need too much... See full review

  • Ramani
  • Oct 24, 2011
great experience

The hotel was great. Very clean rooms and maid service was great. The internet was reliable,... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 16, 2011
Have fun while you save at this central Waikiki hotel

Waikiki Sand Villa is centrally located in Waikiki, two blocks from the best stretch of beach. A nice surprise, the hotel offers value and serious amenities. Expect free in-room high-speed Internet, complimentary continental breakfast, a 70-foot swimming pool with Jacuzzi, fitness center, mini business center, mini spa and a hospitality room with computers, TV and massage chairs (fees apply). Waikiki Sand Villa has earned the prestigious Energy Star Award for efficient use of energy.


Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast and free high-speed Internet
  • Hospitality room features massage chairs, a TV and computers
  • Oversized outdoor swimming pool
Location

The Waikiki Sand Villa is located in mid-Waikiki, two blocks from the beach. Walk a few minutes in any direction to reach shopping and dining. The souvenir bazaar, International Market Place, is also nearby.

Rooms

Choose from 214 rooms with views of the golf course or city. Junior suites with kitchenette are available. All rooms and suites feature a balcony, free Internet access, Kool Connect Entertainment System, coffee maker, cable TV, mini refrigerator, air conditioning, hair dryer, alarm clock, and in-room safe. Cribs and microwaves are also available (fees apply). Smoking and triple rooms are available upon request.

Dining

The hotel offers a free "Wiki Wiki" continental breakfast each morning. Sand Bar & Grill is also onsite and offers basic American fare. For a family meal IHOP can be found in the neighborhood, plus The Cheesecake Factory and Chili's Grill & Bar. Hula Grill is an excellent mid-priced option, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Guest room with one double, one single or three twin beds, located on higher floors from 8th to 12th floors, with either mountain, city or park views. All rooms have Free Ethernet Access, central a/c, safe (pay), cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and Full tub and hand-held shower.
Standard Room
Guest room features one double bed, one single bed or three twin beds. With the option of a mountain view, golf course view or a city view. All rooms have Free Ethernet Access, central a/c, safe (pay), cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and Full tub and hand-held shower.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.4 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.1 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.1 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi

Dining

Sand Bar & Game Room
Quench your thirst at the Sand Bar and catch the latest updates on your favorite sports.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 105
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.6

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D. W.
Business
from the east coast
Mar 13, 2012

single traveler

the size of the room is cozy. the view from the balcony, of the canal and golf course, and the city beyond was fantastic by day and night. Location was also great, a short walk to the beach. Room kept clean, and the staff was pleasant. Bar, and cafe food also very good. Good "aloha" spirit, and a great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Apr 16, 2011

great experience

The hotel was great. Very clean rooms and maid service was great. The internet was reliable, contenital breakfast was good, and the hotel had a trip planning lady to set up tours and sight seeing events

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Dec 22, 2010

Good price and nice room

The hotel was good price and also the room was very good. The room was a river side so there were two balcony. I really recomend the hotel. People were also nice, too. It's close to main street and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sf
Jun 22, 2010

sand villa

it was ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Paul, MN
Dec 11, 2009

Great Location

Great location in the heart of Waikiki. Hospitality Room with 6 computers available at no charge is wonderful amenity as well as very helpful for those with late in the day flights out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 8, 2009

Great Staff, no hot water.

Great location for the price! Nice view of Ala Wai Canal. And the private albeit small and unimpressive lanai (deck) was a nice addition. The staff was amazingly helpful. Tipped me in on the hotel shuttle service and took care of everything for me. Didn't even get a chance to tip him. This is by no means a luxury hotel. The area is full of similarly rated hotels with lots of beach bum tourists walking around. It's a huge contrast to the royal hawaiin where I stayed at the beginning of my trip. The carpeting looks like it could be replaced. Not the most tasteful furniture and linen choice... but who cares?! I was in hawaii! Waikiki and all the shops were an easy 5-10 min walk. Bus stops too. The only thing I was not happy about, which could have been a fluke in my case, was that the hot water didn't work my last day there. Even after waiting 10-15 min each time, it was still freezing cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Switzerland
Jun 28, 2009

Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

The hotel is next to the beach and a good choice for everyone...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jun 28, 2009

pretty good deal when u go through Orbit

I loved the room with free internet and balcony view from 8th floor...free breakfast is there... enough worthy for my $40/night deal through orbitz...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brandon the Random Traveller
Business
Austin, TX
Jun 11, 2009

Great hotel for the location and price

I was in Waikiki for a conference as well as some leisure time. Since I was traveling solo for this trip, I really only had a few requirements: a clean room in which to sleep, a short walking distance to the location of the conference, and in-room high-speed internet connection (it's my primary means of keeping in contact with those back home). Waikiki Sand Villa seemed to offer all of these from the reviews I read, and I shopped around quite a bit before making my final decision. When I arrived and throughout my stay I was not disappointed. The internet connection is a little slower than what I'm used to at home, but it's still much faster than dial-up and it's included with the price of the room. There is also a "hospitality room" which has printers available for a very minimal charge and internet connections there as well. You can also check your bags at the front desk after checking out if you have a late flight and roam Waikiki until it's time to head to the airport...a convenient option. The hotel staff was always friendly and helped me figure out bus routes on multiple occasions. I put up the "do not disturb" sign because it was just me and I was not making a mess, and one of the maids stopped me on my way to the elevator and asked if there was anything she could provide even if the room did not need to be cleaned...any extra towels, etc. It was very nice to be noticed and asked when she could have just taken the sign as an excuse to have one less room to worry about. The continental breakfast, while simple, was a nice start to the day and the coffee always tasted fresh. Some of the reviews I read said the Waikiki Sand Villa was in need of a remodel, and that's fine to say if you're looking at the little details like paint chipping here and there or other minor flaws. I'd rather have a nice room, very friendly and helpful staff, all of the accommodations that I was looking for, and save quite a bit of money over "those other hotels" that have been newly upgraded with new paint and sink fixtures. Everything works just fine and looks nice unless you're very picky. My only minor complaint, and it's not something that bothered me, but I should note it because it might bother others. I had a 5th floor room and because the hotel is near a fairly major road, the traffic noise could be significant at times. I grew up in an area with traffic, so I'm used to it, but if any little bit of nighttime noise will be a distraction to your sleep, you might want to take it into consideration. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several great, possibly overlooked, inexpensive dining options are within a short walk of the Waikiki Sand Villa hotel. Fatty's Chinese Kitchen and Gyoza no Ohsho are both just a few blocks away and should not be missed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
huntington beach, ca
Jun 1, 2009

avgerage for the money

average place, had some great help from valet in setting up taxis but had a front desk person that hadn't seen that they are offering internet from the room in their ads and another front desk person that didn't know whether they offered express checkouts from the room or not. Might be slighty worried if I was walking back to hotel at night with small kids. Also was a couple of days of midweek construction that was annoying

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top