Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2375 Ala Wai Blvd., Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
93 reviews
Excellent for the price, location and amenities

Excellent location. Just 5 to 7 mins walk to Waikiki beach. At Hawaii, you do not need too much... See full review

  • Ramani
  • Oct 24, 2011
fantastic family getaway

Location was realy good. The bus stop, the shop, the beach, and everything were suited in the... See full review

  • ikuchan
  • Sep 24, 2010
The Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel is perfect for families traveling on a budget. Lounge around our huge seventy foot pool, soak in our heated Jacuzzi, or work up a sweat at our free Fitness Center. Plan all your activities, tours, dining and entertainment at our Island Sun Travel desk, then wrap up the day at our popular Sand Bar featuring several Internet computers, flat screen televisions, and the best drinks in town. Our twelve-story hotel accommodates 214 rooms which all feature FREE High-Speed Internet access, small refrigerator, coffee maker, complimentary use of in-room safe and other amenities.

Whether you are visiting for leisure, pleasure or business, our warm friendly staff strives to exceed your expectations. We truly are a hidden treasure offering the highest value in Waikiki.

We are now proudly providing our guests with FREE Wireless Internet Access, out by our pool, for those who bring their own personal laptops.

The Waikiki Sand Villa has also earned the prestigious ENERGY STAR award and is helping to protect the environment through superior energy performance.

In conjunction with the Smoking Ban that was passed by legislature in 2006, all rooms, except for 2 floors at the Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel are smoke free. There is absolutely no smoking in the rooms including on the lanai. Please see the front desk for the designated smoking areas. Effective immediately, a cleaning fee of $200.00 + tax will be assessed if it is found that the guest smokes in the room.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Guest room with one double, one single or three twin beds, located on higher floors from 8th to 12th floors, with either mountain, city or park views. All rooms have Free Ethernet Access, central a/c, safe (pay), cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and Full tub and hand-held shower.
Standard Room
Guest room features one double bed, one single bed or three twin beds. With the option of a mountain view, golf course view or a city view. All rooms have Free Ethernet Access, central a/c, safe (pay), cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and Full tub and hand-held shower.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.4 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.1 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.1 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.6 mi

Dining

Sand Bar & Game Room
Quench your thirst at the Sand Bar and catch the latest updates on your favorite sports.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 93
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wakikiboy
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 25, 2013

In general OK, but expect better

Location is good, staff are friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast is below average: just toast, orange juice and canned pineapple pieces. Valet parking is $20/night. Rooms not in the tower are near the pool, expects big noise if there is a party or energetic kids. Rooms are not very clean. If you think the location (close to wakiki) is very important, it is an acceptable choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Georgiegirl
Business
Minnesota, USA
Apr 3, 2012

A good family vacation

The hotel was very reasonable for the price, plain but very reasonable. The kitchen in our suite was small, but serviceable, and we made a trip to the goodwill store to add to our cooking tools. As a result, we were able to make meals that were tasty and met our dietary needs. We were within easy walking distance to Waikiki Beach, but just far enough away to make it a quiet place to stay. The grocery store was a 2 block walk, the beach and main shopping street 3 blocks away. If you don't want to pay for an on-the-beach hotel, this one was a pretty good alternative. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GrNGrL
Business
Rawlins, WY
Jan 15, 2012

great location

Poor pool hours we were at the beach when the hotel pool was open .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mexikan Princess
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Mother & Daughter Vacation

Since we booked through Orbitz and not directly through the hotel they could care less about us. The "free" shuttle for guests was not free for us. The $8.95 a day for "guest" parking was $18.95 for us and there was a mouse or mice in our room that we heard every night. When I told front desk she acted like she didn't hear me. Will not ever stay at this hotel again and will no longer book through Orbitz if there will be two sets of rules for ALL customers. TY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food & Happy Hr. was good & decent price!

Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
addthis2that
Business
Pacifica,Ca.
Jul 14, 2011

Good service, clean room, great pool

The hotel was a short walk,5 min., to Waikiki beach. The staff was friendly and helpful. Traffic noise was easily muted with ear plugs. Breakfast was toast, pineapple juice, pineapple cubes and coffee.$18.50 per day parking fee wasn't that bad knowing your car was safe. The room was clean and had WiFi.The pool and jacuzzi were great. The hotel let us use the pool, hospitality room, and parking after checkout time while we waiting for our late flight out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stockholm, Sweden
Nov 2, 2009

Great location - breakfast hmmm

good location, pretty view. Desk people nice. Breakfast sucked. Nice room, except faucets were loud. Would recommend for location though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bargain if you want a good price

Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
super biz
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 10, 2009

free wifi, that's it...

We rented a car to go around the island, this is a MUST if you plan to hop around the whole island and all various beaches. As for hotel, here's our experiences: a. Location: good to shopping(ABC), food, International Market, Waikiki beach, ... b. Parking: It says $15 plus tax(vallet), confusing as they charged in the end $15.71. Right opposite hotel has a car park, i don't know whether it is safe or not. But why old hotel like this should charge visitor $15+? c. Room: Definitely 20-30% smaller than any usual hotel we went in Orlando or Miami. It's BASIC d. AC: just ok, not so cold e. Quiet: yes f. Staff friendliness: Not that great, improvement required. On the counter, they just check you in, that's it. They should have been helpful, more hospital to offer interesting things about Oahu. Come on, Hawaii is nice, lots of places to visit, we took a long flight to be there to enjoy, they should have been warm and welcoming. g. Car park vallet: They are all for your tips. No tips, no warm. I think, service industry should make client happy before client tips. h. Breakfast: It's good, bread/Go-gurt(nice, hooked my son up right away) and KONA coffee is FANTASTIC. Again, tourist industry like this, should tell us about KONA, 'cos I don't know about KONA, like why KONA, what KONA brand is good. i. Wifi: why we chose this hotel, is the Wifi, that's it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

a. ABC Store: Goggle gears are cheap, and so is the T-Shirts. b. Food Pantry: they offer cheapest KONA coffee, macademia nuts and other local food. c. Local fastfood: Must try L&L(Loco Moco), Zippy's and Golden Coin. Don't go to McDy, BK all that, go local d. Beach: Waikiki beach, Kailua beach, Lanikai beach, Waimea beach, missed Hanauma beach e. Best: Polynesian Cultural Center/Luau, Dole Plantation, Pearl Harbor(USS, Arizona Memorials, Pacific Aviation), Chinatown(Mei Dim Sim is good)

Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
huntington beach, ca
Aug 6, 2009

More bang for your buck

this is my second time staying at this hotel, in the past 3 months. the staff and location is what makes this hotel great. easy in and out of waikiki. i love the open lobby and bar; it's very inviting. the location is close to a market, shops and restaurants. just a great hotel overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
funeral stop
Business
California
Jun 26, 2009

Nice for the Price

Read reviews--and despite the reviews was happy with what we received for the the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jun 25, 2009

Worth The Cost

For it's very affordable cost, it was worth every penny. The location is great, right on the canal and 1 block away from a great grocery store! Like I said, for what you pay for, it's absolutely great! If you pick this hotel, you obviously are trying to budget, and just because you budget doesn't mean it's worth it, but this is definitely worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top