Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

3 stars
2375 Ala Wai Blvd., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
105 reviews
Excellent for the price, location and amenities

Excellent location. Just 5 to 7 mins walk to Waikiki beach. At Hawaii, you do not need too much... See full review

  • Ramani
  • Oct 24, 2011
great experience

The hotel was great. Very clean rooms and maid service was great. The internet was reliable,... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 16, 2011
Have fun while you save at this central Waikiki hotel

Waikiki Sand Villa is centrally located in Waikiki, two blocks from the best stretch of beach. A nice surprise, the hotel offers value and serious amenities. Expect free in-room high-speed Internet, complimentary continental breakfast, a 70-foot swimming pool with Jacuzzi, fitness center, mini business center, mini spa and a hospitality room with computers, TV and massage chairs (fees apply). Waikiki Sand Villa has earned the prestigious Energy Star Award for efficient use of energy.


Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast and free high-speed Internet
  • Hospitality room features massage chairs, a TV and computers
  • Oversized outdoor swimming pool
Location

The Waikiki Sand Villa is located in mid-Waikiki, two blocks from the beach. Walk a few minutes in any direction to reach shopping and dining. The souvenir bazaar, International Market Place, is also nearby.

Rooms

Choose from 214 rooms with views of the golf course or city. Junior suites with kitchenette are available. All rooms and suites feature a balcony, free Internet access, Kool Connect Entertainment System, coffee maker, cable TV, mini refrigerator, air conditioning, hair dryer, alarm clock, and in-room safe. Cribs and microwaves are also available (fees apply). Smoking and triple rooms are available upon request.

Dining

The hotel offers a free "Wiki Wiki" continental breakfast each morning. Sand Bar & Grill is also onsite and offers basic American fare. For a family meal IHOP can be found in the neighborhood, plus The Cheesecake Factory and Chili's Grill & Bar. Hula Grill is an excellent mid-priced option, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Guest room with one double, one single or three twin beds, located on higher floors from 8th to 12th floors, with either mountain, city or park views. All rooms have Free Ethernet Access, central a/c, safe (pay), cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and Full tub and hand-held shower.
Standard Room
Guest room features one double bed, one single bed or three twin beds. With the option of a mountain view, golf course view or a city view. All rooms have Free Ethernet Access, central a/c, safe (pay), cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and Full tub and hand-held shower.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.4 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.1 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.1 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi

Dining

Sand Bar & Game Room
Quench your thirst at the Sand Bar and catch the latest updates on your favorite sports.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fremont, CA
Oct 1, 2009

The good, the bad and the really ugly

No extras, like boogie boards, beach chairs, or umbrellas to borrow. Very small rooms and lanais.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kvnrice
Business
Napavine, WA
Sep 28, 2009

Great Vacation

Hotel is great once you find it, hard to locate at first. Staff ok, oahu a great place for a vacation recommend highly if you have not been there to go. Very relaxing, lots to do, lots of shopping, and if you like sunset cruises I recommend the Na Hoku II, had a great staff, very fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miklos from Hungary
Business
Budapest, Hungary
Sep 16, 2009

We could not choose any better hotel!!

It was our first time we could afford a week stay in Hawaii and we chose this hotel becuase of the price,location, the free safe (works with deposit) and wireless internet (which was available everywhere, including the rooms!). We had a nice view from the 8th floor from our own balcony (saw the canal and the mountains), and our room was very great and comfortable. Everything was fine, we were especially impressed how friendly the staff was in every areas. The food in the bar is great and fairly priced, we often ended up eating our dinner here, also we took advantage of the happy hours of the cocktails. The only downside was the breakfast: we have read the reviews on this site earlier, so we did not expect too much, and for the first days, the croassion, butter, jam, tea and pineapple was fine. But having the same thing for 8 days was a bit boring, on the last days, we did not even go down for breakfast. Location is great for International Market, the Kapiolani Park and the beaches. We walked during the first few days, then we used the bus pass for 4 days (25$ per person, it can worth it, but the buses are slow), and rented a car for the last day (picked up/dropped at the airport), it was a great combination I think. One more positive experience: they have a very nice pool and a jakuzzi which we used every day, on the last day we realized they have a gym too! In the hospitality room, you can check your email , if you don't have your laptop, and your can print/copy for a surcharge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Location is great , but don't spend all your money in the local ABC shops, there is Safeway in Honolulu, which you can access by bus (#2, if I remember correctly). One more hint: the hotel is picking up you free at the airport , but only if you register on their own website. We did not know that, so it cost around 6$/person/way to get a cab (not a huge expense, but something good to know)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mesa, AZ
Sep 8, 2009

Got what I paid for

Good location, close to shopping and about 2 blocks from the beach. Great view on the 8th floor. Beds are a bit too firm and the free breakfast was poor but at least it was free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Local
Business
Kauai
Aug 30, 2009

Good value for travel

Check in anytime after 3 pm, hotel is older but ethernet connection or wireless in lobby, terminals at lobby restaurant/bar and hospitality room with computers, photocopier, TV bathroom and shower facilities add to convenience. Parking is a little high but the hotel has programs to reduce fees. Easy access by car to University of Hawaii, Manoa, just blocks off Waikiki back. It would be a good choice if staying longer, refrigerator is the tall 5 cu ft (I think). Continental breakfast is a bonus!. Pool looked fine but I did not have time to swim. I plan to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to drive, review map directions. The Ala Wai is a one way road. Use the Valet service. Call the hotel for directions. McCully crosses over the Ala Wai canal at one end and Kapahulu Avenue crosses over the Canal on the other end.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
super biz
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 10, 2009

free wifi, that's it...

We rented a car to go around the island, this is a MUST if you plan to hop around the whole island and all various beaches. As for hotel, here's our experiences: a. Location: good to shopping(ABC), food, International Market, Waikiki beach, ... b. Parking: It says $15 plus tax(vallet), confusing as they charged in the end $15.71. Right opposite hotel has a car park, i don't know whether it is safe or not. But why old hotel like this should charge visitor $15+? c. Room: Definitely 20-30% smaller than any usual hotel we went in Orlando or Miami. It's BASIC d. AC: just ok, not so cold e. Quiet: yes f. Staff friendliness: Not that great, improvement required. On the counter, they just check you in, that's it. They should have been helpful, more hospital to offer interesting things about Oahu. Come on, Hawaii is nice, lots of places to visit, we took a long flight to be there to enjoy, they should have been warm and welcoming. g. Car park vallet: They are all for your tips. No tips, no warm. I think, service industry should make client happy before client tips. h. Breakfast: It's good, bread/Go-gurt(nice, hooked my son up right away) and KONA coffee is FANTASTIC. Again, tourist industry like this, should tell us about KONA, 'cos I don't know about KONA, like why KONA, what KONA brand is good. i. Wifi: why we chose this hotel, is the Wifi, that's it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

a. ABC Store: Goggle gears are cheap, and so is the T-Shirts. b. Food Pantry: they offer cheapest KONA coffee, macademia nuts and other local food. c. Local fastfood: Must try L&L(Loco Moco), Zippy's and Golden Coin. Don't go to McDy, BK all that, go local d. Beach: Waikiki beach, Kailua beach, Lanikai beach, Waimea beach, missed Hanauma beach e. Best: Polynesian Cultural Center/Luau, Dole Plantation, Pearl Harbor(USS, Arizona Memorials, Pacific Aviation), Chinatown(Mei Dim Sim is good)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 7, 2009

Great Hotel for the price

Great Location, friendly staff, small room but has everything you need, small balcony with great view to the river and mountains. Great pool and hot tub, nice bar. Old building but the hotel/room are very clean. Approx 3 blocks from the beach, very close to great restaurants/bars and clubs. Overall great deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
huntington beach, ca
Aug 6, 2009

More bang for your buck

this is my second time staying at this hotel, in the past 3 months. the staff and location is what makes this hotel great. easy in and out of waikiki. i love the open lobby and bar; it's very inviting. the location is close to a market, shops and restaurants. just a great hotel overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 8, 2009

Great Staff, no hot water.

Great location for the price! Nice view of Ala Wai Canal. And the private albeit small and unimpressive lanai (deck) was a nice addition. The staff was amazingly helpful. Tipped me in on the hotel shuttle service and took care of everything for me. Didn't even get a chance to tip him. This is by no means a luxury hotel. The area is full of similarly rated hotels with lots of beach bum tourists walking around. It's a huge contrast to the royal hawaiin where I stayed at the beginning of my trip. The carpeting looks like it could be replaced. Not the most tasteful furniture and linen choice... but who cares?! I was in hawaii! Waikiki and all the shops were an easy 5-10 min walk. Bus stops too. The only thing I was not happy about, which could have been a fluke in my case, was that the hot water didn't work my last day there. Even after waiting 10-15 min each time, it was still freezing cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mistressm
Business
phoenix, az
Jul 6, 2009

Good hotel at great price

The hotel was a little older, but I expected that and it was not a problem. It was very clean and only a few blocks from the beach. The restaurant and bar in the hotel were very good and the prices were very cheap for the area. While we were there, we bought a house in Phoenix using the free internet! The staff was very helpful and even faxed some documents to our realtor for us so we could meet a deadline for bidding on the house. I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food in the hotel restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. We ate there most of the time in the evening and the drinks were great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top