Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

3 stars
2375 Ala Wai Blvd., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
105 reviews
Excellent for the price, location and amenities

Excellent location. Just 5 to 7 mins walk to Waikiki beach. At Hawaii, you do not need too much... See full review

  • Ramani
  • Oct 24, 2011
great experience

The hotel was great. Very clean rooms and maid service was great. The internet was reliable,... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 16, 2011
Have fun while you save at this central Waikiki hotel

Waikiki Sand Villa is centrally located in Waikiki, two blocks from the best stretch of beach. A nice surprise, the hotel offers value and serious amenities. Expect free in-room high-speed Internet, complimentary continental breakfast, a 70-foot swimming pool with Jacuzzi, fitness center, mini business center, mini spa and a hospitality room with computers, TV and massage chairs (fees apply). Waikiki Sand Villa has earned the prestigious Energy Star Award for efficient use of energy.


Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast and free high-speed Internet
  • Hospitality room features massage chairs, a TV and computers
  • Oversized outdoor swimming pool
Location

The Waikiki Sand Villa is located in mid-Waikiki, two blocks from the beach. Walk a few minutes in any direction to reach shopping and dining. The souvenir bazaar, International Market Place, is also nearby.

Rooms

Choose from 214 rooms with views of the golf course or city. Junior suites with kitchenette are available. All rooms and suites feature a balcony, free Internet access, Kool Connect Entertainment System, coffee maker, cable TV, mini refrigerator, air conditioning, hair dryer, alarm clock, and in-room safe. Cribs and microwaves are also available (fees apply). Smoking and triple rooms are available upon request.

Dining

The hotel offers a free "Wiki Wiki" continental breakfast each morning. Sand Bar & Grill is also onsite and offers basic American fare. For a family meal IHOP can be found in the neighborhood, plus The Cheesecake Factory and Chili's Grill & Bar. Hula Grill is an excellent mid-priced option, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Guest room with one double, one single or three twin beds, located on higher floors from 8th to 12th floors, with either mountain, city or park views. All rooms have Free Ethernet Access, central a/c, safe (pay), cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and Full tub and hand-held shower.
Standard Room
Guest room features one double bed, one single bed or three twin beds. With the option of a mountain view, golf course view or a city view. All rooms have Free Ethernet Access, central a/c, safe (pay), cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and Full tub and hand-held shower.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.4 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.1 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.1 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi

Dining

Sand Bar & Game Room
Quench your thirst at the Sand Bar and catch the latest updates on your favorite sports.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nico KO
Business
France
Oct 24, 2011

waikiki sand villa

personnels was horrible, no smile, no help. room just ok, no charmed. If you are in a romantic trip past away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ramani
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Excellent for the price, location and amenities

Excellent location. Just 5 to 7 mins walk to Waikiki beach. At Hawaii, you do not need too much amenities in the room as you would be spending most of the time outside. The room, bed and bath are very clean. The wiki-wiki breakfast isnt great, but you cannot complain also (Toast with butter/jam, coffee/tea, juice, croissant and pineapple slices). Excellent staff at front desk - very helpful. They also have a tour desk. The best part is the hospitatlity room which has TV, shower, free internet that can be used after your checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market Place, Shopping mall and lots of dining options - everything a short walk from the Sand Villa hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LilDrummerBoy
Business
Massachusetts, USA
Oct 13, 2011

Decent for the price

While looking at the hotel's website and pictures, I have to say they make it look like the rooms are larger and nicer than they are. Not that they are bad, not at all. Just be aware, if you're looking for a nicer hotel, this one is basically just slightly above middle of the road quality, I'd say. (Though given some of the hotels on Waikiki, I guess it was actually on the lower side.) Pros: relatively cheap comparatively, mini-balcony with every room, short walk to the beach, hotel restaurant was good and pretty inexpensive, ridiculously fancy toilets (if you like that kind of thing), pool and jacuzzi were small but clean and in a nice area. Cons: Though the wi-fi was free, it was slow, intermittent and unreliable, kept having to reconnect, room was smaller than expected, renting a movie will run you around $15, there is a sushi bar but we didn't find it until the last day when we had plans for another place already, All in all it was good, but not great. Would I go there again? Probably, unless I had the money to afford a nicer place next time. So for the money, it's pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found a place called Cheeseburger in Paradise on our first morning out walking. Head left out of the hotel, down to the beach and take another left along the beach road and you'll find it. We never tried it for lunch, we went there for breakfast three days in a row and it was great each time. Would highly recommend the Loco Moco (if you want some local flavor, hawaiian meal there), the macadamia nut pancakes also great. And the orange juice is fresh squeezed and delicious (so are all the other juices).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mexikan Princess
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Mother & Daughter Vacation

Since we booked through Orbitz and not directly through the hotel they could care less about us. The "free" shuttle for guests was not free for us. The $8.95 a day for "guest" parking was $18.95 for us and there was a mouse or mice in our room that we heard every night. When I told front desk she acted like she didn't hear me. Will not ever stay at this hotel again and will no longer book through Orbitz if there will be two sets of rules for ALL customers. TY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food & Happy Hr. was good & decent price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jul 31, 2011

Pretty good for the price

Our stay at the Waikiki Sand Villa was short, as we were actually moving to the area and just needed a place to stay until we could move in to our apartment. Unfortunately I was feeling really sick for most of our stay and was unable to enjoy most of it. The restaurant and bar at the hotel has really reasonable prices and pretty good food. The "free breakfast" was nothing but toast, croissant, and pineapple and since I'm on a gluten-free diet that was pretty insufficient. The one big frustration was that though they claim to have "free wireless" in all rooms it did not work for us for our entire stay. We talked to the front desk a couple of times and they even gave us a cable to hardwire internet to our laptops, but we had to use the computer room on the hospitality floor. All in all, pretty average, but for the price we payed it was pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you're looking for good food for a good price and nearby, check out the restaurant and bar in the hotel. Their happy hour drinks are really well-priced and the food was surprisingly low cost (and still tasty!).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
addthis2that
Business
Pacifica,Ca.
Jul 14, 2011

Good service, clean room, great pool

The hotel was a short walk,5 min., to Waikiki beach. The staff was friendly and helpful. Traffic noise was easily muted with ear plugs. Breakfast was toast, pineapple juice, pineapple cubes and coffee.$18.50 per day parking fee wasn't that bad knowing your car was safe. The room was clean and had WiFi.The pool and jacuzzi were great. The hotel let us use the pool, hospitality room, and parking after checkout time while we waiting for our late flight out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kuhio ave
Business
west suburbs, il
Jul 1, 2011

great location, good view, friendly staf

Located not far from kalakaua ave and waikiki area but far enough to not to be noisy. Good view of ala wai blvd and canal on 10 th floor facing diamondhead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

go to ala moana mall, you guessed it on ala moana blvd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Seattle
Jun 15, 2011

Good Price, Great Location

The hotel was great. We lucked out and got a corner unit with a large deck. It is also only a block away from the main road and Wikiki so the location was super convienent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SLC, UT
May 11, 2011

It was fair

The room is somewhat modern minus the ceililng. The toilets are awesome, but the rest of the bathrooms need to be updated. The hotel staff was pretty friendly. The breakfast is comprised of Toast, Coffee, Tea and some Pineapple. Next time I would spend another $30-$50 to stay at a nicer hotel. Its about $18 per day to keep your rental car there plus the tips for the valet drivers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are small convinience stores on almost every corner. They are called ABC Stores. They have everything from Toilet Paper to Wine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Apr 16, 2011

great experience

The hotel was great. Very clean rooms and maid service was great. The internet was reliable, contenital breakfast was good, and the hotel had a trip planning lady to set up tours and sight seeing events

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top