$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

Waikiki Resort Hotel

3 stars
130 Liliuokalani Ave, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
109 reviews
Couldn't ask for more

Very friendly helpful staff. Room was very comfortable and very clean. Would stay here again See full review

  • coffee lover
  • Feb 18, 2014
Single man point of view

The hotel staff was very friendly and willing to help with anything I needed. The room was a suite... See full review

  • Stargazing1961
  • Sep 6, 2013
Comfortable, island-style hotel near the beach

A total overhaul has reinvented the peaceful, tucked-away Waikiki Resort Hotel. A surprising find, the hotel offers more for your money than meets the eye. Located a half-block from Waikiki's best swimming beach and the main shopping and dining street, Kalakaua Avenue, opportunity for entertainment abounds. Waikiki Resort Hotel is a small hotel with big amenities. Expect a 24-hour business center, mini spa and all-you-can-eat Korean barbecue restaurant onsite.

Highlights
  • Large guest rooms with remodeled island décor
  • Located in a quiet area less than a block from Waikiki's best swimming
  • Mini spa, dry cleaning, beauty salon and Korean barbeque restaurant
Location

The Waikiki Resort Hotel is a 2-minute walk to the best swimming stretch on Waikiki Beach and Kalakaua Avenue, Waikiki's main shopping and dining thoroughfare. Tucked away on a side street between Kalakaua Avenue and Waikiki's second main road, the hotel affords serenity in the heart of the city. The Honolulu Zoo is less than 10 minutes away on foot.

Rooms

All of the hotel's 296 spacious rooms have undergone a recent $11 million renovation. Each upgrated room now features a microwave, mini refrigerator, work desk with ergonomic chair, 32-inch LCD TV with pay-per-view movies, private balcony, in-room safe, ironing board with iron, hair dryer and high-speed Internet (fees apply).

Dining

Visit the hotel's exciting restaurant, Seoul Jung, a Korean all-you-can-eat yakiniku barbecue that lets you select meats and other ala carte dishes to grill at your table. For American-style eats, the hotel offers Ilima Restaurant, serving a full breakfast buffet, plus sandwiches, soups and home-style dishes for lunch. Find endless casual and fine dining choices a short walk from the hotel.

Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Diamond Head Crater

 

Hotel Map

21.2754 -157.8237
Area served
Honolulu, Waikiki, Waikiki Beach
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL 12 miles.
Area description
Waikiki,Waikiki Beach, shows, shops, activities, beaches, and restaurants are generally within walking distance. Oahu's bus system offers connections around the island with fees starting at $2 per day. Most visitors with plans to venture away from Waikiki prefer rental cars. Car rentals are available online. The hotel is located block from Waikiki Beach, 4 blocks from Honolulu Zoo, 0.5 miles from Waikiki Aquarium, 1mile from Ala Wai Golf Course, 1 mile from Ala Wai Boat Harbor and 2 miles from Diamond Head.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waikiki Resort Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Waikiki Resort Hotel Rooms

Standard
Located on the lower floors that overlook the surrounding neighborhood of Waikiki, these comfortable rooms range in size from 315 to 348 square feet, and comes with 2 Double beds, a Private Balcony, Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Mini Refrigerator, Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, In-Room Safe, and Coffee Maker.
City View
Located on the middle to high floors that offer views of Waikiki's neighborhood city lights, these comfortable rooms range in size from 315 to 348 square feet, and comes with either 1 King or 2 Double beds, a Private Balcony, Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Mini Refrigerator, Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, In-Room Safe, and Coffee Maker.
Partial Ocean View
Comfortable and inviting, these 315 square feet rooms come with 2 Double beds, and offer partial views of the Pacific Ocean from your Private Balcony. Located on the middle floors, these rooms include Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Mini Refrigerator, Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, In-Room Safe, and Coffee Maker.
Ocean View
Located on the higher floors, these comfortable and inviting 315 square feet rooms come with 2 Double beds, and offer views of the Pacific Ocean. Also included are Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Mini Refrigerator, Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, In-Room Safe, and Coffee Maker.
Deluxe Corner Room
These spacious corner rooms, at 394 square feet, comes with a King bed, a Queen Sofa Bed, Private Balcony, Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, and In-Room Safe. A Mini-Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Wet bar and dishware/cutlery service for two are also included. Located on floors 3-18 on the front 2 corners of the building, with various views of Waikiki or beyond. Specific views may be requested by contacting the hotel's Reservations Office at: hotel@waikikiresort.com.
Mini Suite
Perfect for working professionals or families, these 480 square feet suites come with a Kitchenette, a Queen bed in the bedroom, a Queen Sofa Bed in the Parlor, two Private Balconies, Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, and In-Room Safe. The Kitchenette consists of a Mini-Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Wet bar and dishware/cutlery service for two; additional settings are available. Located next to the elevator on floors 3-18, with views of the Waikiki neighborhood or beyond.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.1 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.8 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.3 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.3 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Dining

Seoul Jung
Seoul Jung is Waikiki Resort Hotel's signature restaurant where you'll experience the finest in authentic Korean cuisine. Promoting HEALTH & WELLNESS, all entrees are accompanied by vegetable side dishes made fresh daily by the master chefs from Korea. Open daily 6am - 2pm & 5pm - 10pm.
Ilima Restaurant
Ilima restaurant is open daily from 6am - 10pm, caters to a more "American-Friendly" palate; it features a full breakfast buffet, specialty sandwiches, soups, island-style favorites and ramen dishes. Daily specials available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Resort Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 109
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mark C.
Business
Cicero, NY
May 4, 2009

Very pleasantly surprised - No regrets!

The hotel is a tremendous value for the money. We stayed here based upon previous user reviews and we couldn't agree more! The hotel is in a terrific location within walking distance to many attractions. Waikiki Beach is a short block and easy walk away, as is a McDonalds, Subway, coffee shops and ABC Convenience stores. Within a couple blocks are the zoo, International Market, KFC, and many fine places to eat. Staff was excellent and accommodating. Free beach towels are available and there are washer & dryers available to use in the basement for $1 per load. Our room was updated and spotless! We had a mini-frig, but wish we had a coffee maker and a micowave. Each room has a safe but we didn't have any theft issues leaving our stuff out. We tipped housekeeping staff $5 per day and we were treated like royalty! Best $35 for the week that we spent! Parking on site(beneath hotel)was expensive at $18 per night. Off the lobby is an Internet room with three computers to use for free, with free Internet access. Computers are attached to a printer which is also free, and allowed us to print our boarding passes and directions to attractions/restaurants. We were on 14th floor and elevators were extremely quick. Due to large hotels around this one, there was no view of Waikiki Beach or Diamond Head from our room. Pool was small but we didn't use it and enjoyed the beach instead. We would definately stay here again. Check out is at noon. We had a 4:30PM departure and the staff allowed us to stay in our room until 2PM!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your souvenirs at the ABC store or at the International Market. Be sure to negotiate the price at the market! We found some great deals there towards the center of the market, but not near the entrance. Be sure to eat at Teddy's Bigger Burgers across from the zoo and within walking distance, as was Round Table Pizza & Sports Bar near Kings Village. You must visit Arizona Memorial(free), climb Diamond Head ($5 per car) for spectacular views, and visit Hanauma Bay ($5 pp) state park which is a beach & marine preserve where you swim with fish and sea turtles - an awesome adventure. Buy a underwater disposable camera at the ABC store for $12 to bring with you. At Dillingham Airfield on North shore our 18 year old went skydiving at Skydive Hawaii; great people and half price for students! Spend the extra money and great pictures of the jump! Giovanni's Shrimp trucks on the north shore were a let down for the money. The Dole Planation was great and the maze was a blast! Ask for a free map of the maze when you enter. It took us 80 minutes without one! The pineapple icecream was very good! On Hawaiian Air website, we booked a day trip for four to Maui, with a rental car, for $385 and traveled the Road to Hana, visited the black sand beaches, and saw the Seven Sacred Pools! Money well spend to us. Send this link to your family & friends with a time and date you'll be at this statue, then wave hello to them! We had a blast with this and the statute is only a block away from the hotel! Aloha! http://www.honolulu.gov/multimed/waikiki.asp

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Encia marquez of Tayug, Pangasinan, Phil
Business
East Lansing, MI
Sep 29, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

We had a nice room overlooking Diamond Mtn and all the happenings are within one block of the hotel location-shopping, surfing, dining, jogging super super nice hotel w/ friendly staff and all requests granted in few minutes and I will highly recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indy, IN
May 19, 2011

Fantastic

Good location. Easy access. Quite. Responsiveness customer services. Good house keeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to dining places, shopping, beach, most of the things that a tour is account for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pinguina
Business
Mexico
Aug 24, 2009

excellent....

is very nice hotel,everything is so good,service is very very good,and i dont have anything to say about it,it was an excellent trip...thanks orbitz and Hawaii,Because i had one of my best trip in my life.....see you really really soon Waikiki resort hotel....MAHALO.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

ABC every where....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 25, 2008

close to the beach...good price

The hotel was very close to the beach (1 block) and in a great location. I enjoyed the rooms...very clean. The bathroom was REALLY small and the noise from the trucks on the street at 7am were a daily annoyance. I bought ear plugs and slept better. For the closeness to the beach at the price - very worth it. Did not eat at any of the hotel restaurants. Plenty of other good places to eat near the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Jan 8, 2011

Happy that it was a block back

Nice lobby, nice room but a bit tight. I liked the balcony lanai. The bathroom is tight but nice. McDonalds is only a block away. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Musicwalker
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Dec 6, 2011

lovely hotel, lovely location

This was our first trip to Hawaii (mid November 2011). I loved the Waikiki Resort Hotel and would definately stay there again. Personally, the things I look for in a hotel are: cleanliness, location, friendly staff and good value. This hotel had all of these attributes. I could walk to the beach from the hotel in less than a minute! The staff were always friendly. I wish I could remember the cleaning lady on our floor. She always greeted us and she was so nice. We were also able to pick up towels from the laundry downstairs to take to the beach with us. McDonalds is on the next block, as well as a Kona coffee place and a Hagan Daaz (and ABC stores). The hotel has a very nice pool with a nice patio. The room had a patio as well. We had a city view (I think 15th floor) and it was beautiful. I also really liked the fact that the front door of the hotel was not a door! It was a wide open welcoming entrance that let the nice breeze in... and there were some comfy chairs to sit and relax in. I recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

McDonald's breakfast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kimokeoni
Business
Iron Springs, Alberta
Feb 27, 2012

Great Hotel, Excellent Value

This was our sixth trip to waikiki and this hotel was fabulous ! Great location, friendly staff, covered any and all of our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to find great deals on clothing,etc.... while not sacrificing quality, take a drive to waikele outlet mall ! We go once every trip and come home with a new wardrobe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Di and Rog
Business
Hayward Ca
May 19, 2012

Family

Service was very nice and staff as well. Would be nice to have wi fi available with your stay at the hotel. Continental Breakfast would be nice to have at this hotel. Overall stay was good. Would recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kimokeoni
Business
Iron Springs, Alberta
Feb 25, 2013

Love it !

The location is great, the price is affordable and the staff are first rate, that combined keeps us coming back year after year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

grab an "oahu gold book" and use the coupons inside, there are discounts and information right at your fingertips

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top