$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Waikiki Resort Hotel

3 stars
130 Liliuokalani Ave, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
109 reviews
Couldn't ask for more

Very friendly helpful staff. Room was very comfortable and very clean. Would stay here again See full review

  • coffee lover
  • Feb 18, 2014
Single man point of view

The hotel staff was very friendly and willing to help with anything I needed. The room was a suite... See full review

  • Stargazing1961
  • Sep 6, 2013
Comfortable, island-style hotel near the beach

A total overhaul has reinvented the peaceful, tucked-away Waikiki Resort Hotel. A surprising find, the hotel offers more for your money than meets the eye. Located a half-block from Waikiki's best swimming beach and the main shopping and dining street, Kalakaua Avenue, opportunity for entertainment abounds. Waikiki Resort Hotel is a small hotel with big amenities. Expect a 24-hour business center, mini spa and all-you-can-eat Korean barbecue restaurant onsite.

Highlights
  • Large guest rooms with remodeled island décor
  • Located in a quiet area less than a block from Waikiki's best swimming
  • Mini spa, dry cleaning, beauty salon and Korean barbeque restaurant
Location

The Waikiki Resort Hotel is a 2-minute walk to the best swimming stretch on Waikiki Beach and Kalakaua Avenue, Waikiki's main shopping and dining thoroughfare. Tucked away on a side street between Kalakaua Avenue and Waikiki's second main road, the hotel affords serenity in the heart of the city. The Honolulu Zoo is less than 10 minutes away on foot.

Rooms

All of the hotel's 296 spacious rooms have undergone a recent $11 million renovation. Each upgrated room now features a microwave, mini refrigerator, work desk with ergonomic chair, 32-inch LCD TV with pay-per-view movies, private balcony, in-room safe, ironing board with iron, hair dryer and high-speed Internet (fees apply).

Dining

Visit the hotel's exciting restaurant, Seoul Jung, a Korean all-you-can-eat yakiniku barbecue that lets you select meats and other ala carte dishes to grill at your table. For American-style eats, the hotel offers Ilima Restaurant, serving a full breakfast buffet, plus sandwiches, soups and home-style dishes for lunch. Find endless casual and fine dining choices a short walk from the hotel.

Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Diamond Head Crater

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waikiki Resort Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Waikiki Resort Hotel Rooms

Standard
Located on the lower floors that overlook the surrounding neighborhood of Waikiki, these comfortable rooms range in size from 315 to 348 square feet, and comes with 2 Double beds, a Private Balcony, Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Mini Refrigerator, Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, In-Room Safe, and Coffee Maker.
City View
Located on the middle to high floors that offer views of Waikiki's neighborhood city lights, these comfortable rooms range in size from 315 to 348 square feet, and comes with either 1 King or 2 Double beds, a Private Balcony, Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Mini Refrigerator, Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, In-Room Safe, and Coffee Maker.
Partial Ocean View
Comfortable and inviting, these 315 square feet rooms come with 2 Double beds, and offer partial views of the Pacific Ocean from your Private Balcony. Located on the middle floors, these rooms include Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Mini Refrigerator, Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, In-Room Safe, and Coffee Maker.
Ocean View
Located on the higher floors, these comfortable and inviting 315 square feet rooms come with 2 Double beds, and offer views of the Pacific Ocean. Also included are Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Mini Refrigerator, Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, In-Room Safe, and Coffee Maker.
Deluxe Corner Room
These spacious corner rooms, at 394 square feet, comes with a King bed, a Queen Sofa Bed, Private Balcony, Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, and In-Room Safe. A Mini-Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Wet bar and dishware/cutlery service for two are also included. Located on floors 3-18 on the front 2 corners of the building, with various views of Waikiki or beyond. Specific views may be requested by contacting the hotel's Reservations Office at: hotel@waikikiresort.com.
Mini Suite
Perfect for working professionals or families, these 480 square feet suites come with a Kitchenette, a Queen bed in the bedroom, a Queen Sofa Bed in the Parlor, two Private Balconies, Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, and In-Room Safe. The Kitchenette consists of a Mini-Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Wet bar and dishware/cutlery service for two; additional settings are available. Located next to the elevator on floors 3-18, with views of the Waikiki neighborhood or beyond.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.1 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.8 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.3 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.3 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Dining

Seoul Jung
Seoul Jung is Waikiki Resort Hotel's signature restaurant where you'll experience the finest in authentic Korean cuisine. Promoting HEALTH & WELLNESS, all entrees are accompanied by vegetable side dishes made fresh daily by the master chefs from Korea. Open daily 6am - 2pm & 5pm - 10pm.
Ilima Restaurant
Ilima restaurant is open daily from 6am - 10pm, caters to a more "American-Friendly" palate; it features a full breakfast buffet, specialty sandwiches, soups, island-style favorites and ramen dishes. Daily specials available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Resort Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 5, 2008

A Place To Relax

For Some of us, a 9 to 5 job is not possible (giving our Career Fields). I, for one, work a 60 hour work week (with minmum Saturdays off). Just getting away from the day to day, every once and awhile, is Rewarding. I enjoyed my stay for just that, getting away from the day to day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mark C.
Business
Cicero, NY
May 4, 2009

Very pleasantly surprised - No regrets!

The hotel is a tremendous value for the money. We stayed here based upon previous user reviews and we couldn't agree more! The hotel is in a terrific location within walking distance to many attractions. Waikiki Beach is a short block and easy walk away, as is a McDonalds, Subway, coffee shops and ABC Convenience stores. Within a couple blocks are the zoo, International Market, KFC, and many fine places to eat. Staff was excellent and accommodating. Free beach towels are available and there are washer & dryers available to use in the basement for $1 per load. Our room was updated and spotless! We had a mini-frig, but wish we had a coffee maker and a micowave. Each room has a safe but we didn't have any theft issues leaving our stuff out. We tipped housekeeping staff $5 per day and we were treated like royalty! Best $35 for the week that we spent! Parking on site(beneath hotel)was expensive at $18 per night. Off the lobby is an Internet room with three computers to use for free, with free Internet access. Computers are attached to a printer which is also free, and allowed us to print our boarding passes and directions to attractions/restaurants. We were on 14th floor and elevators were extremely quick. Due to large hotels around this one, there was no view of Waikiki Beach or Diamond Head from our room. Pool was small but we didn't use it and enjoyed the beach instead. We would definately stay here again. Check out is at noon. We had a 4:30PM departure and the staff allowed us to stay in our room until 2PM!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your souvenirs at the ABC store or at the International Market. Be sure to negotiate the price at the market! We found some great deals there towards the center of the market, but not near the entrance. Be sure to eat at Teddy's Bigger Burgers across from the zoo and within walking distance, as was Round Table Pizza & Sports Bar near Kings Village. You must visit Arizona Memorial(free), climb Diamond Head ($5 per car) for spectacular views, and visit Hanauma Bay ($5 pp) state park which is a beach & marine preserve where you swim with fish and sea turtles - an awesome adventure. Buy a underwater disposable camera at the ABC store for $12 to bring with you. At Dillingham Airfield on North shore our 18 year old went skydiving at Skydive Hawaii; great people and half price for students! Spend the extra money and great pictures of the jump! Giovanni's Shrimp trucks on the north shore were a let down for the money. The Dole Planation was great and the maze was a blast! Ask for a free map of the maze when you enter. It took us 80 minutes without one! The pineapple icecream was very good! On Hawaiian Air website, we booked a day trip for four to Maui, with a rental car, for $385 and traveled the Road to Hana, visited the black sand beaches, and saw the Seven Sacred Pools! Money well spend to us. Send this link to your family & friends with a time and date you'll be at this statue, then wave hello to them! We had a blast with this and the statute is only a block away from the hotel! Aloha! http://www.honolulu.gov/multimed/waikiki.asp

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newlywed Emily
Business
San Diego, California
Apr 22, 2010

Waikiki Resort Hotel

They treated us like royalty. We loved it and would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Encia marquez of Tayug, Pangasinan, Phil
Business
East Lansing, MI
Sep 29, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

We had a nice room overlooking Diamond Mtn and all the happenings are within one block of the hotel location-shopping, surfing, dining, jogging super super nice hotel w/ friendly staff and all requests granted in few minutes and I will highly recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indy, IN
May 19, 2011

Fantastic

Good location. Easy access. Quite. Responsiveness customer services. Good house keeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to dining places, shopping, beach, most of the things that a tour is account for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chinese
Business
China
Feb 27, 2012

best hotel for its price

It is a clean, convienient for shoping, swiming hotel, I like it, next time I will stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Clean Freak Sing
Business
Canada
Jan 21, 2013

Better than I expected

Read some reviews that led me to be skeptical but for the price, I couldnt ask for anything more. Would come back again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stargazing1961
Business
Waikiki beach Honolulu Hawaii
Sep 6, 2013

Single man point of view

The hotel staff was very friendly and willing to help with anything I needed. The room was a suite and very roomy and welcoming to come back to. The room however had a few small things that should have be addressed. One being two of the lamps had dead light bulbs that needed to be replace. I had plenty of light, so I never called the staff to replace them. I felt safe and secure in my room and I had even left money on my dresser and never lost a dime. I would gladly stay at the Waikiki hotel again, friendly staff and I loved the open air of the lobby, it seemed so Hawaiian there!!! Thanks for a wonderful time in your lovely hotel, to all the staff at The Waikiki hotel!!!! Aloha !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The concierge desk and staff were very helpful, and great time savers. From the Waikiki hotel, the location couldn't be better. You are just foot steps away from Waikiki beach and all it's wonderful shopping experience, and with out having it right in your face when you leave your hotel!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
coffee lover
Business
phoenix
Feb 18, 2014

Couldn't ask for more

Very friendly helpful staff. Room was very comfortable and very clean. Would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Dinner at the Shore Bird good value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Torrance
Oct 15, 2008

For the budget conscious traveler

The Waikiki Resort is the perfect hotel for the budget conscious traveler. I stayed for 2 nights and was happy to see the hotel located in the heart of Waikiki, about 2 blocks from the ocean. I will certainly return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 minute walk to shops and restaurants. 5 min walk to beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top