$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Waikiki Resort Hotel

3 stars
130 Liliuokalani Ave, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
109 reviews
Couldn't ask for more

Very friendly helpful staff. Room was very comfortable and very clean. Would stay here again See full review

  • coffee lover
  • Feb 18, 2014
Single man point of view

The hotel staff was very friendly and willing to help with anything I needed. The room was a suite... See full review

  • Stargazing1961
  • Sep 6, 2013
Comfortable, island-style hotel near the beach

A total overhaul has reinvented the peaceful, tucked-away Waikiki Resort Hotel. A surprising find, the hotel offers more for your money than meets the eye. Located a half-block from Waikiki's best swimming beach and the main shopping and dining street, Kalakaua Avenue, opportunity for entertainment abounds. Waikiki Resort Hotel is a small hotel with big amenities. Expect a 24-hour business center, mini spa and all-you-can-eat Korean barbecue restaurant onsite.

Highlights
  • Large guest rooms with remodeled island décor
  • Located in a quiet area less than a block from Waikiki's best swimming
  • Mini spa, dry cleaning, beauty salon and Korean barbeque restaurant
Location

The Waikiki Resort Hotel is a 2-minute walk to the best swimming stretch on Waikiki Beach and Kalakaua Avenue, Waikiki's main shopping and dining thoroughfare. Tucked away on a side street between Kalakaua Avenue and Waikiki's second main road, the hotel affords serenity in the heart of the city. The Honolulu Zoo is less than 10 minutes away on foot.

Rooms

All of the hotel's 296 spacious rooms have undergone a recent $11 million renovation. Each upgrated room now features a microwave, mini refrigerator, work desk with ergonomic chair, 32-inch LCD TV with pay-per-view movies, private balcony, in-room safe, ironing board with iron, hair dryer and high-speed Internet (fees apply).

Dining

Visit the hotel's exciting restaurant, Seoul Jung, a Korean all-you-can-eat yakiniku barbecue that lets you select meats and other ala carte dishes to grill at your table. For American-style eats, the hotel offers Ilima Restaurant, serving a full breakfast buffet, plus sandwiches, soups and home-style dishes for lunch. Find endless casual and fine dining choices a short walk from the hotel.

Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Diamond Head Crater

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waikiki Resort Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Waikiki Resort Hotel Rooms

Standard
Located on the lower floors that overlook the surrounding neighborhood of Waikiki, these comfortable rooms range in size from 315 to 348 square feet, and comes with 2 Double beds, a Private Balcony, Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Mini Refrigerator, Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, In-Room Safe, and Coffee Maker.
City View
Located on the middle to high floors that offer views of Waikiki's neighborhood city lights, these comfortable rooms range in size from 315 to 348 square feet, and comes with either 1 King or 2 Double beds, a Private Balcony, Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Mini Refrigerator, Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, In-Room Safe, and Coffee Maker.
Partial Ocean View
Comfortable and inviting, these 315 square feet rooms come with 2 Double beds, and offer partial views of the Pacific Ocean from your Private Balcony. Located on the middle floors, these rooms include Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Mini Refrigerator, Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, In-Room Safe, and Coffee Maker.
Ocean View
Located on the higher floors, these comfortable and inviting 315 square feet rooms come with 2 Double beds, and offer views of the Pacific Ocean. Also included are Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Mini Refrigerator, Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, In-Room Safe, and Coffee Maker.
Deluxe Corner Room
These spacious corner rooms, at 394 square feet, comes with a King bed, a Queen Sofa Bed, Private Balcony, Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, and In-Room Safe. A Mini-Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Wet bar and dishware/cutlery service for two are also included. Located on floors 3-18 on the front 2 corners of the building, with various views of Waikiki or beyond. Specific views may be requested by contacting the hotel's Reservations Office at: hotel@waikikiresort.com.
Mini Suite
Perfect for working professionals or families, these 480 square feet suites come with a Kitchenette, a Queen bed in the bedroom, a Queen Sofa Bed in the Parlor, two Private Balconies, Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, and In-Room Safe. The Kitchenette consists of a Mini-Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Wet bar and dishware/cutlery service for two; additional settings are available. Located next to the elevator on floors 3-18, with views of the Waikiki neighborhood or beyond.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.1 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.8 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.3 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.3 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Dining

Seoul Jung
Seoul Jung is Waikiki Resort Hotel's signature restaurant where you'll experience the finest in authentic Korean cuisine. Promoting HEALTH & WELLNESS, all entrees are accompanied by vegetable side dishes made fresh daily by the master chefs from Korea. Open daily 6am - 2pm & 5pm - 10pm.
Ilima Restaurant
Ilima restaurant is open daily from 6am - 10pm, caters to a more "American-Friendly" palate; it features a full breakfast buffet, specialty sandwiches, soups, island-style favorites and ramen dishes. Daily specials available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Resort Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Honolulu
Business
Hawaii
Feb 20, 2013

Disappointing

On arrival we needed to look at 3 rooms until we got one that did not smell stale and dirty, in all 3 rooms the bathrooms had long black hair in the shower, on the floor and around the toilet. The smell in the first 2 rooms was stale and unclean. The 3rd room was the best of the 3 however we needed to clean the bathroom ourselves the hotel was unfriendly, full of Japanese visitors who would not share a lift with anyone. No entertainment of any kind, the pool is in shade for the whole day, the area was not inviting to spend any time around the pool. The staff were ok to a point, however no one ever smiled and greeted you unless you smiled and them first. We had always thought that on arrival in Hawaii you would get a lai but nothing. The breakfast were expensive and not very suitable for the UK with rice and a soup being the main thing with some fruit and pancakes. The restaurant catered only for the Japanese pallatte

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the local THE BUS as this is the cheapest to get around the Island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Susie B.
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Sep 14, 2014

Pretty Bad

While close to Wikiki beach, I was pretty disappointed. The bathroom needed serious remodeling as the shower floor was all patched together and there was a little bit of a smell. I couldn't control the temperature in my room and worst of all -- I got eaten alive by bugs that night and came home with about 20 bug bites that I couldn't have gotten anywhere else. I was on the 4th floor with view at all and the street noise was pretty loud. It costs nearly $15 per day for wifi in your room and $22 for parking with nearly no spots in the garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, WA
Oct 13, 2009

could've been better

We spent time on the beach most of the time. Room would've been much better, if there was a kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shell72
Business
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Feb 9, 2012

I wouldn't stay here again

The only good thing this hotel has going for itself is it's location. You walk out the door and it's one stop sign from the beach. Otherwise, the room was outdated, questionably clean, and had terrible lighting. Not any place I'd stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jsotonyc
Business
Rochester, NY
Mar 24, 2014

Never again

The lobby looks great and the staff was very nice, but that's it. The carpets look horrible, the room was outdated and smelled bad. The bathroom was moldy and I saw a cockroach crawling on the dresser! The sliding glass door rattled all night long and one of the lights didn't work. If I hadn't arrived so late, I would've found somewhere else to stay. I'm thankful it was just an overnight stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
transformer
Business
michigan
May 12, 2011

korean hotel

my first night the power failed and backup generators only powered elevators , the walls are paper thin, you could hear every door slamming,the location is ok but i wouldnt stay at this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

its a short walk to buses or dining, i would not rent a car ,no need and the parking fees are high, you can catch a city bus for a few bucks,there are alot of homeless people around waikiki beachs ,bring sunscreen,lotion,sunglasses ,umbrella etc, if you forget ,there are 50 abc stores in every direction ,post office is a short walk at the international marketplace, atlantis lounge has great food,go before 7pm for special prices,try not to worry about planning ahead ,you can book anything imaginable when you arrive,dont buy the first souvenir you see,there are better deals just a block over if you look around,and the price is negotiable in most cases , unless you like to shop at macys or other dept stores alike

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
soldierboy
Business
South Korea
May 28, 2010

Not a good choice 4 a long stay!!!

Not what I expected. Did not realize until checking in at the front desk that the voucher for the free continental breakfast had to be redeem through the online agency. No amenities offered complimentary by the hotel. Great location to the Waikkiki beach and shopping. Do not purchase internet,9.95 a day, through the hotel, there is free wifi internet service in the lobby of the hotel but you will have to take your laptop downstairs to connect. You will receive a better wifi rate in your room through the wifi service called,skywave,that pops up via your wifi on your computer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping can be found literally just steps away,along with the fabolous Waikkiki beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SALT LAKE CITY,UTAH
Aug 2, 2009

good location,need more renovation!!!

Hotel staff very friendly, rooms and shower tub very, very small,should be better clean,hotel was under renovation, noise, dusty but with my expiriance they need lots of renovation(MAYBE BUILD NEW ONE!!!).Location is OK,near by shopping,beach 5min away...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Firstime Hawaii Go-er
Business
Northern California
Aug 27, 2009

Not Bad

This was my first trip to Hawaii so I can't really compare it to any other trips. I was satisfied with the hotel overall and would stay there again because of the cleanliness, great price, and proximity to the beach, but it wasn't perfect. There were four of us traveling and upon check in we received four keys, two worked, two didn't, so we had to go down to the front desk and get them fixed. We also had another day midway through our trip when none of our four keys worked and we had to go to the front desk to get them fixed. The room was on the tiny side, but livable if you're not going to spend a lot of time in there. There were two double beds that seemed smaller than normal. There was a small, but adequate refridgerator (no microwave though). All the furniture, linens, carpet, wallpaper, wall art, and fixtures seemed very new (since it was recently renovated hotel), however it was very windy and our sliding door rattled anytime there was a gust. Our balcony faced the back and away from the beach, so our view was a few apartment complexes. We awoke every morning to the sound of garbage and/or delivery trucks backing up and making other loud noises at about 6:30 and they continued on and off for about an hour or so, but this isn't so bad if you want to wake up for an early morning at the beach. The hotel is very close to the beach; two very short blocks. The room was always clean, and the housekeeping staff was always very pleasant when we passed them in the hallway (the front desk staff was very hit or miss on politeness). We had two days during our one week stay when we had to request more towels (there were only two sets instead of four). The first time we called the front desk and they were delivered promptly. The second time I had to call the front desk three times (over a period of an hour) before I wound up going down to housekeeping to get them myself. (Although about half an hour after I went and got the towels, they came and delivered more, which we kindly accepted and placed in the dresser in case we had more towel issues, which we did not.) Also, there was only one small towel bar for four people. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant one morning. I had the french toast and liked it very much. The price was reasonable, and the food was filling. They also had free internet and three computers for use on the first floor. I used the computers a few time. They worked fine and the wait wasn't long. The hotel's location is great. Close to the beach, and close to the bus. We used the public transportation to get to Diamond Head, the Honolulu Academy of Arts, and the Lyon Arboretum (takes a transfer and about an hour total to get here, but totally worth it!). We also walked to the aquarium, and the zoo is also within walking distance. Overall the place is great if you aren't looking to be pampered, and you want to be close to the beach. There were a few bumps in our stay, but I would be willing to stay there again for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Lyon Arboretum. It was my favorite part of my Hawaii trip, despite the fourteen mosquito bites since I didn't know to bring bug spray. From the hotel it takes two city buses to get there (or a short drive), but it is definitely worth it. It's absolutely beautiful! You can spend the whole day there, just make sure to put on sunscreen, bring good walking/hiking shoes, water, your camera, bug spray, and a picnic lunch if you're going to spend the whole day. At the visitor center they will greet you and give you a little map of the place. When I went there were very few people, so if you're looking to escape the crowds of Waikiki it's a wonderful place to visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new orleans La.
Jun 12, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

Hotel was very nice and clean, our room was nice but not cleaned like it should of been every day, stayed 6 nights, and had to ask for our bed to be changed after the fourth night.and to be vacuumed. Only had one mirror in the bath room, none in the bed room, and that was and inconvenience, over all it's a real nice hotel, friendly people, and a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top