$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Waikiki Resort Hotel

3 stars
130 Liliuokalani Ave, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
109 reviews
Couldn't ask for more

Very friendly helpful staff. Room was very comfortable and very clean. Would stay here again See full review

  • coffee lover
  • Feb 18, 2014
Single man point of view

The hotel staff was very friendly and willing to help with anything I needed. The room was a suite... See full review

  • Stargazing1961
  • Sep 6, 2013
Comfortable, island-style hotel near the beach

A total overhaul has reinvented the peaceful, tucked-away Waikiki Resort Hotel. A surprising find, the hotel offers more for your money than meets the eye. Located a half-block from Waikiki's best swimming beach and the main shopping and dining street, Kalakaua Avenue, opportunity for entertainment abounds. Waikiki Resort Hotel is a small hotel with big amenities. Expect a 24-hour business center, mini spa and all-you-can-eat Korean barbecue restaurant onsite.

Highlights
  • Large guest rooms with remodeled island décor
  • Located in a quiet area less than a block from Waikiki's best swimming
  • Mini spa, dry cleaning, beauty salon and Korean barbeque restaurant
Location

The Waikiki Resort Hotel is a 2-minute walk to the best swimming stretch on Waikiki Beach and Kalakaua Avenue, Waikiki's main shopping and dining thoroughfare. Tucked away on a side street between Kalakaua Avenue and Waikiki's second main road, the hotel affords serenity in the heart of the city. The Honolulu Zoo is less than 10 minutes away on foot.

Rooms

All of the hotel's 296 spacious rooms have undergone a recent $11 million renovation. Each upgrated room now features a microwave, mini refrigerator, work desk with ergonomic chair, 32-inch LCD TV with pay-per-view movies, private balcony, in-room safe, ironing board with iron, hair dryer and high-speed Internet (fees apply).

Dining

Visit the hotel's exciting restaurant, Seoul Jung, a Korean all-you-can-eat yakiniku barbecue that lets you select meats and other ala carte dishes to grill at your table. For American-style eats, the hotel offers Ilima Restaurant, serving a full breakfast buffet, plus sandwiches, soups and home-style dishes for lunch. Find endless casual and fine dining choices a short walk from the hotel.

Attractions
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Diamond Head Crater

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waikiki Resort Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Waikiki Resort Hotel Rooms

Standard
Located on the lower floors that overlook the surrounding neighborhood of Waikiki, these comfortable rooms range in size from 315 to 348 square feet, and comes with 2 Double beds, a Private Balcony, Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Mini Refrigerator, Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, In-Room Safe, and Coffee Maker.
City View
Located on the middle to high floors that offer views of Waikiki's neighborhood city lights, these comfortable rooms range in size from 315 to 348 square feet, and comes with either 1 King or 2 Double beds, a Private Balcony, Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Mini Refrigerator, Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, In-Room Safe, and Coffee Maker.
Partial Ocean View
Comfortable and inviting, these 315 square feet rooms come with 2 Double beds, and offer partial views of the Pacific Ocean from your Private Balcony. Located on the middle floors, these rooms include Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Mini Refrigerator, Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, In-Room Safe, and Coffee Maker.
Ocean View
Located on the higher floors, these comfortable and inviting 315 square feet rooms come with 2 Double beds, and offer views of the Pacific Ocean. Also included are Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Mini Refrigerator, Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, In-Room Safe, and Coffee Maker.
Deluxe Corner Room
These spacious corner rooms, at 394 square feet, comes with a King bed, a Queen Sofa Bed, Private Balcony, Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, and In-Room Safe. A Mini-Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Wet bar and dishware/cutlery service for two are also included. Located on floors 3-18 on the front 2 corners of the building, with various views of Waikiki or beyond. Specific views may be requested by contacting the hotel's Reservations Office at: hotel@waikikiresort.com.
Mini Suite
Perfect for working professionals or families, these 480 square feet suites come with a Kitchenette, a Queen bed in the bedroom, a Queen Sofa Bed in the Parlor, two Private Balconies, Air Conditioning, 32" Flat Screen High Definition LCD Remote Controlled Cable TV, Wi-Fi Internet Access (fee), Iron & Board, Hair Blow Dryer, AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio, Telephone, and In-Room Safe. The Kitchenette consists of a Mini-Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Wet bar and dishware/cutlery service for two; additional settings are available. Located next to the elevator on floors 3-18, with views of the Waikiki neighborhood or beyond.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.1 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.1 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.8 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.3 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.3 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Dining

Seoul Jung
Seoul Jung is Waikiki Resort Hotel's signature restaurant where you'll experience the finest in authentic Korean cuisine. Promoting HEALTH & WELLNESS, all entrees are accompanied by vegetable side dishes made fresh daily by the master chefs from Korea. Open daily 6am - 2pm & 5pm - 10pm.
Ilima Restaurant
Ilima restaurant is open daily from 6am - 10pm, caters to a more "American-Friendly" palate; it features a full breakfast buffet, specialty sandwiches, soups, island-style favorites and ramen dishes. Daily specials available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Resort Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Borislav Terezov
Business
Phoenix,AZ
Apr 2, 2010

Waikiki Resort Hotel

[...] on the front desk was very friendly and helpfull .Great customer service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dkleck
Business
Central PA
Mar 14, 2010

Incredible Location, Fantastic Price

Excellent Location, extremely friendly and helpful staff. Pricing was very affordable. I highly recommend the Waikiki Resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Almost any type of Cuisine within walking distance of hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Keawe
Business
Portland
Mar 1, 2010

Good

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tigard, OR
Dec 27, 2009

Waikiki Resort

The hotel was in a great location allowing for us to walk all areas of Waikiki. The thing we were most disappointed about was the lack of internet - no microwave in the room. The hotel and pool is currently under construction and 1/2 of the pool area was closed. The beds were hard and the pillows could use upgrading. We actually ended up adding the room next to us to allow us more space for us and our 2 grown children. Bath tubs were actually very small and not deep enough to use for a bath at all. These were showers only. Bathroom floors were new and very nice, they are upgrading and making suite rooms on all floors. It was kind of frustrating thinking that every time we needed something, we were charged an additional charge, including $8.00 to park a rental care for 2 hours and $10.95 for 24 hours of internet. We don't want to sound completely unhappy as we were able to get a great family vacation. When we chose this hotel, we were based our choice on the 4. stars that is now down to 3.6. The staff was very helpful and answered all of our questions and helped get us a rental car when needed and taxis as required.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to be close to the beach and not pay beach front prices, this is the place to stay. If you are looking for a Waikiki Resort location, this is not where you want to be. They do not offer all the extras that some of the other "resorts" do such as lua's on site shopping and beach front access. When answering the would you recommend this to a friend, I would go into detail so they knew what they would be getting when choosing this location and not be somewhat misled by the name Waikiki RESORT. Our expectations are always expanded with the word resort and with this location it was just a room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
foolonahill
Business
hawaii
Oct 20, 2009

Need a place to rest?

As a place just to rest it was satisfactory. The location was central to everyting I wanted or needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, WA
Oct 13, 2009

could've been better

We spent time on the beach most of the time. Room would've been much better, if there was a kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 3, 2009

Decent hotel for on a budget travelers

Pros: Excellent location. Walking distance to Waikiki Beach and shops. Room was decent for the price. Nice flat screen TV. Good housekeeping. Three computers with printer for guests to use in the first floor. Cons: The shower stall was very small. Drain was clogged in the shower stall and flooded the bathroom. We asked to switch room, but we were told no room was available at the time. Maintenance came and fixed the drain. Parking is $18 per day and space was limited. Sliding door rattled. Morning noise from the garbage truck. Microwave is missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sterling,Utah
Sep 1, 2009

Ok for the price

room was small, was convenient and close to beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Firstime Hawaii Go-er
Business
Northern California
Aug 27, 2009

Not Bad

This was my first trip to Hawaii so I can't really compare it to any other trips. I was satisfied with the hotel overall and would stay there again because of the cleanliness, great price, and proximity to the beach, but it wasn't perfect. There were four of us traveling and upon check in we received four keys, two worked, two didn't, so we had to go down to the front desk and get them fixed. We also had another day midway through our trip when none of our four keys worked and we had to go to the front desk to get them fixed. The room was on the tiny side, but livable if you're not going to spend a lot of time in there. There were two double beds that seemed smaller than normal. There was a small, but adequate refridgerator (no microwave though). All the furniture, linens, carpet, wallpaper, wall art, and fixtures seemed very new (since it was recently renovated hotel), however it was very windy and our sliding door rattled anytime there was a gust. Our balcony faced the back and away from the beach, so our view was a few apartment complexes. We awoke every morning to the sound of garbage and/or delivery trucks backing up and making other loud noises at about 6:30 and they continued on and off for about an hour or so, but this isn't so bad if you want to wake up for an early morning at the beach. The hotel is very close to the beach; two very short blocks. The room was always clean, and the housekeeping staff was always very pleasant when we passed them in the hallway (the front desk staff was very hit or miss on politeness). We had two days during our one week stay when we had to request more towels (there were only two sets instead of four). The first time we called the front desk and they were delivered promptly. The second time I had to call the front desk three times (over a period of an hour) before I wound up going down to housekeeping to get them myself. (Although about half an hour after I went and got the towels, they came and delivered more, which we kindly accepted and placed in the dresser in case we had more towel issues, which we did not.) Also, there was only one small towel bar for four people. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant one morning. I had the french toast and liked it very much. The price was reasonable, and the food was filling. They also had free internet and three computers for use on the first floor. I used the computers a few time. They worked fine and the wait wasn't long. The hotel's location is great. Close to the beach, and close to the bus. We used the public transportation to get to Diamond Head, the Honolulu Academy of Arts, and the Lyon Arboretum (takes a transfer and about an hour total to get here, but totally worth it!). We also walked to the aquarium, and the zoo is also within walking distance. Overall the place is great if you aren't looking to be pampered, and you want to be close to the beach. There were a few bumps in our stay, but I would be willing to stay there again for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Lyon Arboretum. It was my favorite part of my Hawaii trip, despite the fourteen mosquito bites since I didn't know to bring bug spray. From the hotel it takes two city buses to get there (or a short drive), but it is definitely worth it. It's absolutely beautiful! You can spend the whole day there, just make sure to put on sunscreen, bring good walking/hiking shoes, water, your camera, bug spray, and a picnic lunch if you're going to spend the whole day. At the visitor center they will greet you and give you a little map of the place. When I went there were very few people, so if you're looking to escape the crowds of Waikiki it's a wonderful place to visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pinguina
Business
Mexico
Aug 24, 2009

excellent....

is very nice hotel,everything is so good,service is very very good,and i dont have anything to say about it,it was an excellent trip...thanks orbitz and Hawaii,Because i had one of my best trip in my life.....see you really really soon Waikiki resort hotel....MAHALO.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

ABC every where....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top