$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Waikiki Resort Hotel

3 stars
View map of 130 Liliuokalani Ave, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Resort Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chinese
China
Feb 27, 2012

best hotel for its price

It is a clean, convienient for shoping, swiming hotel, I like it, next time I will stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mari19
Business
SoCal
Nov 12, 2013

Great Location

Pros: 1.Location The best thing about it is the location and it's great if you're not staying very long in Waikiki. A friend had their wedding reception at the Hyatt, right across around the corner, the beach is just one block away, and the hotel is within walking distance of the main shopping strip. 2. Beds. The bed was very comfortable, comparable to a four star hotel. 3.Service.The staff was very friendly and always very accommodating. Housekeeping is great. So-So's: 1. The garbage trucks at 8am did not bother us and we hear the same thing at home at the same time in the morning. But I can see how it would bother people if they like to sleep in. 2. The bathroom. Shower stall is tight, so it might be tough for a tall or wide person to move around in it. 3. The windows. It was really windy and rainy during the last day of our stay, so the windows were making sounds that kept me up on our last night. Overall, this hotel may be an older hotel, but as mentioned, if your stay is short or maybe you're on a business trip, this hotel is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you love Udon(Soup) Eat at MaRuKaMe Udon! There may be a long line, but it is worth the wait and so affordable. Less than $4 for a hearty bowl of Kake Udon(no tempura sides). Can't beat that on the mainland. The noodles are so fresh.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thrilled Traveler
Business
San Jose, California
Sep 30, 2013

Thrilled Traveler

An average hotel at an convenient location. The room is clean and largely comfortable except the wash sink is separate from the bathroom. The bathroom has a door, but wash sink area which is directly next to the beds without a door. Privacy becomes an issue sometimes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Society of Seven is a great show in a nearby hotel. It seems it is not very well known. I totally enjoyed it. The performers went all out to entertain us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stargazing1961
Business
Waikiki beach Honolulu Hawaii
Sep 6, 2013

Single man point of view

The hotel staff was very friendly and willing to help with anything I needed. The room was a suite and very roomy and welcoming to come back to. The room however had a few small things that should have be addressed. One being two of the lamps had dead light bulbs that needed to be replace. I had plenty of light, so I never called the staff to replace them. I felt safe and secure in my room and I had even left money on my dresser and never lost a dime. I would gladly stay at the Waikiki hotel again, friendly staff and I loved the open air of the lobby, it seemed so Hawaiian there!!! Thanks for a wonderful time in your lovely hotel, to all the staff at The Waikiki hotel!!!! Aloha !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The concierge desk and staff were very helpful, and great time savers. From the Waikiki hotel, the location couldn't be better. You are just foot steps away from Waikiki beach and all it's wonderful shopping experience, and with out having it right in your face when you leave your hotel!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LA Beachbums
Business
Los Angeles, California
Aug 3, 2013

Great Location

Short walking distance from Waikiki Beach, shopping, entertainment and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Excellent Husband
Business
Oxnard, California
May 28, 2013

Anniversary

Me and My Wife came here for our Anniversary and it was great. This Hotel has great ambience and the decor is nice. The showers however should be bigger but other than that the room was great. The Hotel staff were very professional and nice. This hotel was worth the money and I would go there again. I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a barbecue place less than a block from this hotel that makes a great big burger that you must try.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ira A
Business
VAnc. WA
May 17, 2013

Ordinary

Hotel location is close to the beach and in the middle of everything. Rooms with city view are very small and look outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chandira
Business
Orange county, CA
Apr 11, 2013

Had a great time

Hotel was clean, staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and it is very close to the beach and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kimokeoni
Business
Iron Springs, Alberta
Feb 25, 2013

Love it !

The location is great, the price is affordable and the staff are first rate, that combined keeps us coming back year after year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

grab an "oahu gold book" and use the coupons inside, there are discounts and information right at your fingertips

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yogibare
Business
Spokane, WA
Feb 24, 2013

Good location, reasonable price, excellent staff...

We stayed at the Waikiki Resort for 6 nights and were very satisfied. It is just a quick block from the beach. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was quite ordinary but very satisfactory for the price. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Honolulu
Business
Hawaii
Feb 20, 2013

Disappointing

On arrival we needed to look at 3 rooms until we got one that did not smell stale and dirty, in all 3 rooms the bathrooms had long black hair in the shower, on the floor and around the toilet. The smell in the first 2 rooms was stale and unclean. The 3rd room was the best of the 3 however we needed to clean the bathroom ourselves the hotel was unfriendly, full of Japanese visitors who would not share a lift with anyone. No entertainment of any kind, the pool is in shade for the whole day, the area was not inviting to spend any time around the pool. The staff were ok to a point, however no one ever smiled and greeted you unless you smiled and them first. We had always thought that on arrival in Hawaii you would get a lai but nothing. The breakfast were expensive and not very suitable for the UK with rice and a soup being the main thing with some fruit and pancakes. The restaurant catered only for the Japanese pallatte

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the local THE BUS as this is the cheapest to get around the Island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top