$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Waikiki Gateway Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2070 Kalakua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
224 reviews
Awesome Family Trip

We had a great experience on our trip and our stay at this hotel See full review

  • Tessie N.
  • May 6, 2015
Birthday Getaway

Hotel is in a great location and in walking distance from the Waikiki beach and shopping strip. The... See full review

  • Cesar C.
  • Apr 27, 2015

Waikiki Gateway Hotel offers friendly island spirit, budget prices and a great location in Waikiki, perfect for traveling friends and couples. Located near a peaceful park that leads to the beach and the crossroads of Waikiki's two main thoroughfares, Kalakaua and Kuhio Avenues, Waikiki Gateway is positioned for entertainment in every direction. Find Waikiki's upscale designer boutiques across the street at the Ala Moana Center. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool, business center and 24-hour front desk.

Location

Located at the entrance to Waikiki, the hotel affords easy access to all that Waikiki has to offer. Shopping at Ala Moana Center is nearby, as well as the Hawaii Convention Center. Take a 5-minute walk from the hotel to reach the free U.S. Army Museum and one of Waikiki's widest sand beaches.

Dining

Take advantage of the hotel's partnership with Island Grocery Service and have groceries delivered to your room or opt for the hotel's daily continental breakfast service (fees apply). Waikiki's best dining can be found within a few blocks of the hotel. For fine dining, head to Keo's, serving Honolulu's best Thai dishes, or Roy's Waikiki, an award-winning Asian-fusion restaurant.

Rooms

The hotel offers 181 rooms outfitted with island décor, most with private balcony and unobstructed city, park or ocean views. All rooms include high-speed Internet (fees apply), coffee maker, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, air conditioning and cable TV. Select rooms have fully-equipped kitchenettes. Some rooms can accommodate up to four single beds.


Highlights
  • Complimentary computer stations
  • Sandy Waikiki beach almost a block away
  • Honolulu's best dining options located within several blocks
  • Outdoor swimming pool
Nearby attractions
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium

 

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waikiki Gateway Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Waikiki Gateway Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Waikiki View
Located from 10th Floor through 16th Floor, we have a balcony with commanding views of Waikiki. All rooms are spacious and equipped with refrigerator, coffee maker, a/c, safe (pay), cable TV, full tub and hand held shower. Most rooms are furnished with two double beds, 1 double and 1 single bed, or 2 single beds (bed requests are not guaranteed).
Single Standard
Located on floors 3-15. 1 double bed or 2 twin beds. Private lanai (not guaranteed in all single rooms), desk, coffee/tea maker, mini-fridge, AC, cable TV, in-room safe (surcharge).
Deluxe Partial Ocean View
Located on floors 10-15. Enjoy these guestrooms with our double bed configuration which features panoramic Waikiki and partial views of the Pacific ocean from your balcony. Private lanai, desk, coffee/tea maker, mini-fridge, AC, cable TV, in-room safe (surcharge).
Premium Standard
Located on floors 4-9. 2 double beds or 3 twin beds. Private lanai, desk, coffee/tea maker, mini-fridge, AC, cable TV, in-room safe (surcharge).

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.3 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.3 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.7 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.8 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.1 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.7 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.7 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.1 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.1 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.6 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.1 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 224
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lover25
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 9, 2014

Horrible hotel

Location is great but the hotel it self is good for the price but not worth it when you're in Hawaii! Also check the beds before sleeping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Realddiddy
Business
Narvon, pa
May 5, 2014

So Beautiful

This place is so great. The location makes it the best. On the beach and the middle of the strip. Bars and restaurants on both sides. Wow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Grant Traveler
Business
Honolulu Oahu
Feb 18, 2014

A place to sleep

The staff was not very friendly. Amenities were sub par at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DanDanCamCam
Business
Davis, Ca
Aug 4, 2013

Good value overall

I have stayed at many Honolulu Hotels in the past 7 years and Gateway is not a bad value for the money. The rooms are large. Therre was a big kitchen in our room. Elevators dont gake forever. The pool with cascading water was nice and good laundry facilites. If you shop along the Ala Moana it is but a short walk there. Drop off parking can get tricky but overall, great value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Park in the parking garage just south of the hotel. Its only $20 and the stalls are huge and secure.

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveler1209
Business
orlando
Jul 12, 2013

Run down

Valet guy when we arrived didn't help us take out the bags. Then we had to drag our bags up the ramp of the parking garage bc elevator was broken. Beds were hard. Parking is $25 per night. Only good thing was location. Beach, shopping, and restaurants easily walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

International marketplace was definitely walk able and had good food for decent prices ESP compared to all the chain restaurants on luxury row.

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
atsaaa
Business
California
Apr 1, 2013

Not recommended

The hotel is old and it looks old. They made no effort to renovate the rooms while the lobby looks nice and neat. The carpet, the beds, the furniture, the curtains are old and filthy. The bathroom is old with cracks in the tub. The balcony was really dirty. I think they haven't cleaned it for at least a year. In the bathroom there were only shampoo and body cream. We asked for some shower gel and they gave us the same stuff. They charge for wi-fi in all areas of the hotel for $10 per day. The charge for using the SAFE!!!! Yeap, they charge $5 per day to lock your valuables in your room. They have a business center and I thought I could be able to check in and print my boarding passes for my flight but in my surprise I couldn't because I had to pay $10 to get internet connection on their desktops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Troy's

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KjandLL
Business
Washington
Mar 26, 2013

Not as it seems

I must say location great, for younger crowd...Right in middle of night life-we are a group of late 20s to 34 so we were looking for a decent room close to everything..found it here BUT room is slightly decieving in pics, we foud cochroaches in both rooms!Had to be moved but I guess they are just there, its an island so we saw them everywhere:( Staff very nice and tried to accomidate our room switch due to cleanliness issues but you get what you pay for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex Y
Business
CA
Nov 4, 2012

Perfect

I stayed at this hotel for my 30th birthday with a group of friends and it was perfect for what we needed. We needed a place with a good centralized location that could fit 4 people, in separate beds, comfortably, and it did just that. The staff was friendly and not obtrusive like many other hotels and there were zero problems. They even had beach towels so we didn't have to go buy them or take room in our suitcase to bring one. Highly recommended especially for a group of friends looking to raise a ruckus in Hawaii!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
white lightning
Business
glendale, arizona
Jun 7, 2012

Good Location, Nothing Special

Very poor customer service at the front desk, rooms were'nt ready. The longer we waited, the more disorganized things became. My id picture with someone elses i.d. and credit card. Everything costs extra. I.E. Safe 3.99 per day. Parking 18.99. No Beach or pool towels available.I could go on. But you get the idea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Local restaurants have pretty good food at an affordable cost.

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
oahu traveler
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Mar 1, 2012

decent hotel met our needs.

short walk to downtown and the beaches, friendly staff, maintenance fixed our tub quickly, not supper nice by any means, but we were only in our room to sleep so it was very adequate for our needs. nice sized fridge allowed us to stock up on groceries. 20$/day parking was an extra expense we had not counted on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top