$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 7, 2014 Check-out: Nov 9, 2014

Waikiki Gateway Hotel

3 stars
2070 Kalakua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
201 reviews
great time

Very good experience on our honeymoon at the gateway, will be staying here again for our next trip.... See full review

  • halnfl
  • Jun 9, 2014
So Beautiful

This place is so great. The location makes it the best. On the beach and the middle of the strip.... See full review

  • Realddiddy
  • May 5, 2014
Budget-friendly hotel near Waikiki’s best shopping and dining

Waikiki Gateway Hotel offers friendly island spirit, budget prices and a great location in Waikiki, perfect for traveling friends and couples. Located near a peaceful park that leads to the beach and the crossroads of Waikiki's two main thoroughfares, Kalakaua and Kuhio Avenues, Waikiki Gateway is positioned for entertainment in every direction. Find Waikiki's upscale designer boutiques across the street at the Ala Moana Center. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool, business center and 24-hour front desk.

Highlights
  • Complimentary computer stations
  • Sandy Waikiki beach almost a block away
  • Honolulu's best dining options located within several blocks
  • Outdoor swimming pool
Location

Located at the entrance to Waikiki, the hotel affords easy access to all that Waikiki has to offer. Shopping at Ala Moana Center is nearby, as well as the Hawaii Convention Center. Take a 5-minute walk from the hotel to reach the free U.S. Army Museum and one of Waikiki's widest sand beaches.

Rooms

The hotel offers 181 rooms outfitted with island décor, most with private balcony and unobstructed city, park or ocean views. All rooms include high-speed Internet (fees apply), coffee maker, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, air conditioning and cable TV. Select rooms have fully-equipped kitchenettes. Some rooms can accommodate up to four single beds.


Dining

Take advantage of the hotel's partnership with Island Grocery Service and have groceries delivered to your room or opt for the hotel's daily continental breakfast service (fees apply). Waikiki's best dining can be found within a few blocks of the hotel. For fine dining, head to Keo's, serving Honolulu's best Thai dishes, or Roy's Waikiki, an award-winning Asian-fusion restaurant.

Attractions
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium

 

Hotel Map

21.2834 -157.8312
Area served
Located at the beginning of Waikiki near the new "Rodeo drive of shopping in Waikiki"
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport
Area description
Located at the entrance of Waikiki, where Kalakaua Avenue and Kuhio Avenue meet. Fronting the hotel is the Kalakaua Park featuring a life-sized statue of King Kalakaua and many trees to relax under. Take a leisurely stroll through the Fort DeRussey Memorial Park to visit the white sands of famous Waikiki Beach. A few minutes walk also takes you into the center of Waikiki with all its world class shopping, dining and entertainment. In addition, the Hawaii Convention Center is just a few blocks away. City buses, shopping center shuttles, and tour buses all have stops at our hotel. The Waikiki Gateway Hotel is perfectly located to meet your leisure pleasure or business needs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waikiki Gateway Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Waikiki Gateway Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Waikiki View
Located from 10th Floor through 16th Floor, we have a balcony with commanding views of Waikiki. All rooms are spacious and equipped with refrigerator, coffee maker, a/c, safe (pay), cable TV, full tub and hand held shower. Most rooms are furnished with two double beds, 1 double and 1 single bed, or 2 single beds (bed requests are not guaranteed).
Single Standard
Located on floors 3-15. 1 double bed or 2 twin beds. Private lanai (not guaranteed in all single rooms), desk, coffee/tea maker, mini-fridge, AC, cable TV, in-room safe (surcharge).
Deluxe Partial Ocean View
Located on floors 10-15. Enjoy these guestrooms with our double bed configuration which features panoramic Waikiki and partial views of the Pacific ocean from your balcony. Private lanai, desk, coffee/tea maker, mini-fridge, AC, cable TV, in-room safe (surcharge).
Premium Standard
Located on floors 4-9. 2 double beds or 3 twin beds. Private lanai, desk, coffee/tea maker, mini-fridge, AC, cable TV, in-room safe (surcharge).

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.3 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.3 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.7 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.8 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.1 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.7 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.7 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.1 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.1 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.6 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.1 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (201)

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 201
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. X
Business
NYC, NY
Jun 19, 2014

good choice, great value

The hotel got a good location, only 5 min to walk to waikiki beach, 10 min to a shopping center. There's also convenient stores and public traffic stations nearby. In addition, the room is very tidy and cozy. The staff at the front desk is also very nice. They arranged a two double bed room for my family, which is exactly what i request when i booked the hotel. Overall, if you want to save money but don't want to feel uncomfortable, getway is a wise choice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ohanameansfamily
Business
Hawaii
Mar 29, 2014

Flooded bathroom

Check in and lobby looks pretty nice, recently renovated. Take elevator up and rooms are very old school. I don't think I have seen a box TV set in 5 years, beds were ok, bathroom kind of prison style basic. Took a shower in the morning and it was a walk in shower. The drain did not drain so the little lip that's supposed to keep water in the shower was no match for it. The whole bathroom was flooded. Had to use all the towels to try soak it up so my children wouldn't slip and fall. I called the front desk they said someone would come up. We went to the breakfast buffet they have downstairs, which was actually decent. When we returned to room maintenance was in there trying to fix the drain. He was in there for a while so we just checked out early. Asked the front desk about if that is usually happening in showers and she just kind if shrugged and said yeah.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Retired Tinman
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 15, 2014

Budget Waikiki Hotel

We were treated top-notch at this quaint, but comfortable hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Thai restaurant two blocks West.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Someone from AL
Business
Auburn, Alabama
Jan 6, 2014

Family Getaway

We were on the 4th floor and the carpet was dirty. The carpet in the hallway looks like it had been flooded. The water in the bath tub did not drain properly we had to turn it on and off so it was not fill the bath tub while we were taking a shower. It took about 10 minutes after we finished taking a shower before the water was gone. We called them to come to fix it twice but they could not fix it. Finally we gave up because we were only there for 3 nights. The room was small and the air conditioner was very loud. There is a balcony but the water is drifted from the air conditioner from the 5th floor so we could not stand outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dad David
Business
Redmond Wa
Dec 27, 2013

Good service bad rooms

The staff does a solid job but the rooms are sketchy at best. It is a short walk to Waikiki and there is an ABC in the lobby, but if you spend any time in your room you won't be happy. If you rent a car they charge $26 a day for parking. Lots of shuttles and trolleys at the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
guests123cba
Business
midwestern area
Nov 30, 2013

stay somewhere a little more pricey for a better night stay

the doors to the rooms had about a 2 inch gap between door and floor (going into the room). I almost left and went somewhere else but didnt really know the area to find something so late. this hotel has NO complimentary services. (ie- no continental breakfast, no shuttle service to/from airport (and its only 2 mile drives from the airport)) no exhaust fan in bathroom like normal hotel bathrooms, beds look nice in picture but are not comfy. speakin of pics the "hotel" lobby was the only pictures that were absolutely accurate of course that was the 'extravagance' of the "hotel"... felt uneasy about staff coming in and cleaning everyday so we left the do not disturb sign up during our outings, the only positive things is that the trolley stop was right out the door, there was close shops and beach access within walking distance. suggest staying some place a little more pricey for the extra amenities - they are just as close to same things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

TAKE THE WAIKKI TROLLEY around town, if go to diamondhead- you can take the city bus, but DO NOT TAKE THE CITY BUS BACK.... tooooo many stops. - take a taxi, or spend the extra $ to get on the waikki trolley tours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dave from Shanghai
Business
Shanghai, China
Nov 26, 2013

Location is greatest attraction

We had stayed here twice before way back in 1995 and 1996, so I was happy to book it again for the memories, assuming it must have been upgraded since then. The rooms were comfortable, but halls and room appearance were somewhat run-down looking and breakfast buffet was not in line with price. Also, valet parking cost extra $10/day. But location is undeniably great, and staff were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheeseburger Waikiki down the road (at corner of Kalakaua and Ala Moana) has a breakfast special for $5.99 (unmatched price - even at McDs): eggs, hashbrowns, toast & unlimited coffee included. But all other breakfasts are about $10.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
south pole onlooker
Business
san jose
Nov 1, 2013

60/40

my room is OK, very comfortable by myself and the outside surround the hotel is like a park. Staffs are nice but I had very little contact with them, I stayed only one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boricuas de Texas
Business
Dallas, Texas
Oct 15, 2013

Good location, Great getaway

It was my first time in Honolulu. Great hotel, friendly and serviceable staff. Definitely will stay again on my next visit. Recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take city bus from airport to hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Iron worker
Business
Anchorage
Oct 13, 2013

Adequate for the price

Staff was good and courteous. Hotel was adequate.expensive ride from the airport. Building beginning to show some age but ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Expensive trip from airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top