$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2014 Check-out: Apr 27, 2014

Waikiki Gateway Hotel

3 stars
2070 Kalakua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
196 reviews
Couples getaway

Fun and fast service when we checked in and out of the hotel See full review

  • Moenscottyboy
  • Apr 1, 2013
Perfect

I stayed at this hotel for my 30th birthday with a group of friends and it was perfect for what we... See full review

  • Alex Y
  • Nov 4, 2012
Budget-friendly hotel near Waikiki’s best shopping and dining

Waikiki Gateway Hotel offers friendly island spirit, budget prices and a great location in Waikiki, perfect for traveling friends and couples. Located near a peaceful park that leads to the beach and the crossroads of Waikiki's two main thoroughfares, Kalakaua and Kuhio Avenues, Waikiki Gateway is positioned for entertainment in every direction. Find Waikiki's upscale designer boutiques across the street at the Ala Moana Center. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool, business center and 24-hour front desk.

Highlights
  • Complimentary computer stations
  • Sandy Waikiki beach almost a block away
  • Honolulu's best dining options located within several blocks
  • Outdoor swimming pool
Location

Located at the entrance to Waikiki, the hotel affords easy access to all that Waikiki has to offer. Shopping at Ala Moana Center is nearby, as well as the Hawaii Convention Center. Take a 5-minute walk from the hotel to reach the free U.S. Army Museum and one of Waikiki's widest sand beaches.

Rooms

The hotel offers 181 rooms outfitted with island décor, most with private balcony and unobstructed city, park or ocean views. All rooms include high-speed Internet (fees apply), coffee maker, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, air conditioning and cable TV. Select rooms have fully-equipped kitchenettes. Some rooms can accommodate up to four single beds.


Dining

Take advantage of the hotel's partnership with Island Grocery Service and have groceries delivered to your room or opt for the hotel's daily continental breakfast service (fees apply). Waikiki's best dining can be found within a few blocks of the hotel. For fine dining, head to Keo's, serving Honolulu's best Thai dishes, or Roy's Waikiki, an award-winning Asian-fusion restaurant.

Attractions
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium

 

Waikiki Gateway Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Waikiki View
Located from 10th Floor through 16th Floor, we have a balcony with commanding views of Waikiki. All rooms are spacious and equipped with refrigerator, coffee maker, a/c, safe (pay), cable TV, full tub and hand held shower. Most rooms are furnished with two double beds, 1 double and 1 single bed, or 2 single beds (bed requests are not guaranteed).
Single Standard
Located on floors 3-15. 1 double bed or 2 twin beds. Private lanai (not guaranteed in all single rooms), desk, coffee/tea maker, mini-fridge, AC, cable TV, in-room safe (surcharge).
Deluxe Partial Ocean View
Located on floors 10-15. Enjoy these guestrooms with our double bed configuration which features panoramic Waikiki and partial views of the Pacific ocean from your balcony. Private lanai, desk, coffee/tea maker, mini-fridge, AC, cable TV, in-room safe (surcharge).
Premium Standard
Located on floors 4-9. 2 double beds or 3 twin beds. Private lanai, desk, coffee/tea maker, mini-fridge, AC, cable TV, in-room safe (surcharge).

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waikiki Gateway Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2834 -157.8312
Area served
Located at the beginning of Waikiki near the new "Rodeo drive of shopping in Waikiki"
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport
Area description
Located at the entrance of Waikiki, where Kalakaua Avenue and Kuhio Avenue meet. Fronting the hotel is the Kalakaua Park featuring a life-sized statue of King Kalakaua and many trees to relax under. Take a leisurely stroll through the Fort DeRussey Memorial Park to visit the white sands of famous Waikiki Beach. A few minutes walk also takes you into the center of Waikiki with all its world class shopping, dining and entertainment. In addition, the Hawaii Convention Center is just a few blocks away. City buses, shopping center shuttles, and tour buses all have stops at our hotel. The Waikiki Gateway Hotel is perfectly located to meet your leisure pleasure or business needs.

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.3 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.3 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.7 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.8 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.1 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.7 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.7 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.1 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.1 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.6 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.1 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (196)

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
196 out of 196
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Kaimi softball dad
Maui, HI
Apr 23, 2009

Great hotel with a view

Got to the hotel and was offered to upgrade because our room was not yet ready, we got in about 3 hours earlier some hotels make you wait but the clerk at the desk was just super in giving us a great deal on one of the suites at a very resonable price. we were so impressed we decided to stay 2 extra days

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Mar 15, 2008

My review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

The hotel was worth of its value. Rooms were clean, towels were changed daily. Very close to the beach, shopping and dining areas. You could hear a bit of street noise but it was not that bad. Overall we stayed very satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located at the beginning of the main shopping street. Lable concious people will be happy.

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

5
NiTrace
Business
Coeur d'Alene, ID, USA
Mar 29, 2012

Awesome Hotel - great location

It was very excellent. The staff were very personal and courteous. Perfect location. Clean rooms, Loved it..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Omaha, NE
May 26, 2007

Great Business Amenities

The Waikiki Gateway Hotel is very well located, only a few mintes from the beach and many great shops (which my wife will a test to). The hotel has a great business area on the third floor where you can check your emails, send email and look thinks up on the internet (all at no additional charge). Our room was very comfortable and had a great view. The hotel does not have a dining facility, but there are many good eating places within walking distance. I found the hotel staff very helpful on all shifts. I had rented a car at the airport and the hotel valet service was very friendly and answered all my questions on how to get somewhere. Over all it was a very good week at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of stores within a short walk from the hotel. All are very clean and many with name brands of items.

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Medford, OR
Aug 3, 2007

Central and safe and friendly

I liked the helpful staff, and general sense of a well-attended place. The internet and other business support was great- I needed help with printing out from an email, and they cheerfully complied. A post office 1 block away, restaurants ditto, the water could be seen from my sixth floor room. The complimentary breakfast was pretty forgettable, and I didn't visit the pool. Nice kitchenette, good bathroom and beds, 2 decks for sitting outside. Traffic noise a bit loud, but slept fine. I'd strongly recommend it as an off-season economy hotel that is a real value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nike town across the street; all Waikiki shopping is walking distance. Fabulous bus system leaves Olalani St. for the convention center area or airport (#19) frequently.

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Moenscottyboy
Aiea Hawaii
Apr 1, 2013

Couples getaway

Fun and fast service when we checked in and out of the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Aug 14, 2007

great hotel

the hotel was very nice, and the decor overall was very cool. the staff was nice and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

plenty of eating and shopping all around you

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 14, 2011

Courteous, clean, nice park nearby

It seems like even budget hotels in Waikiki offer more than their 3-star rating, and Waikiki Gateway is a perfect example. Staff is very friendly. An optional breakfast downstairs costs $6.99 and includes omelet, bacon, cereal, fruit, etc. Free Internet in the computer room on the 3rd floor. We selected the hotel for the balcony, and from a higher floor enjoyed great views of Waikiki skyline and the Derussy park in the evenings. The hotel is in a nice area, plenty of cafes around. The walk to the beach is about 5-10 minutes, but through a very nice park. The centrally located hotels like Royal Hawaiian or Halekulani cost much more and are within 15 minute walk from Waikiki Gateway via the main Waikiki shopping promenade, the Kalakaua street. So we had a chance for a nice leisurely stroll every evening. When visiting Oahu for the first time, seeing Kailua/Lanikai beaches and snorkeling at Hanauma Bay is a must. Other than that, every activity in Hawaii is enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

All-you-can-eat breakfast buffet at Duke's restaurant in Outrigger hotel for $14.99

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Lewiston
Oct 2, 2008

excellent hotel for the price

We stayed at the Gateway on our honeymoon, they were VERY nice and accomadating. Upon arrival they upgraded us to a nicer room. The ABC store in the lobby was very convenient and Nick's Fish Market was delicious. We got very friendly with the parking attendants and appreciated their timeliness. I found the pool very refreshing and most the time I was the only one there. The staff was very friendly and conversational, they gave us advice on a myriad of things. An odd thing was the removeable shower head was so nice to have with all the sand that sticks to you at the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Apr 16, 2010

Great customer service

Stayed there for one night and it was great. The receptionist was really nice. He gave me and friends an upgrade since the standard room we booked wasn't available. So we had the room with a view with no additional fee. The room was a typical hotel room. But had a great coffee and bagel in the morning for FREE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top