$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Waikiki Gateway Hotel

3 stars
2070 Kalakua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
201 reviews
great time

Very good experience on our honeymoon at the gateway, will be staying here again for our next trip.... See full review

  • halnfl
  • Jun 9, 2014
So Beautiful

This place is so great. The location makes it the best. On the beach and the middle of the strip.... See full review

  • Realddiddy
  • May 5, 2014
Budget-friendly hotel near Waikiki’s best shopping and dining

Waikiki Gateway Hotel offers friendly island spirit, budget prices and a great location in Waikiki, perfect for traveling friends and couples. Located near a peaceful park that leads to the beach and the crossroads of Waikiki's two main thoroughfares, Kalakaua and Kuhio Avenues, Waikiki Gateway is positioned for entertainment in every direction. Find Waikiki's upscale designer boutiques across the street at the Ala Moana Center. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool, business center and 24-hour front desk.

Highlights
  • Complimentary computer stations
  • Sandy Waikiki beach almost a block away
  • Honolulu's best dining options located within several blocks
  • Outdoor swimming pool
Location

Located at the entrance to Waikiki, the hotel affords easy access to all that Waikiki has to offer. Shopping at Ala Moana Center is nearby, as well as the Hawaii Convention Center. Take a 5-minute walk from the hotel to reach the free U.S. Army Museum and one of Waikiki's widest sand beaches.

Rooms

The hotel offers 181 rooms outfitted with island décor, most with private balcony and unobstructed city, park or ocean views. All rooms include high-speed Internet (fees apply), coffee maker, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, air conditioning and cable TV. Select rooms have fully-equipped kitchenettes. Some rooms can accommodate up to four single beds.


Dining

Take advantage of the hotel's partnership with Island Grocery Service and have groceries delivered to your room or opt for the hotel's daily continental breakfast service (fees apply). Waikiki's best dining can be found within a few blocks of the hotel. For fine dining, head to Keo's, serving Honolulu's best Thai dishes, or Roy's Waikiki, an award-winning Asian-fusion restaurant.

Attractions
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waikiki Gateway Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Waikiki Gateway Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Waikiki View
Located from 10th Floor through 16th Floor, we have a balcony with commanding views of Waikiki. All rooms are spacious and equipped with refrigerator, coffee maker, a/c, safe (pay), cable TV, full tub and hand held shower. Most rooms are furnished with two double beds, 1 double and 1 single bed, or 2 single beds (bed requests are not guaranteed).
Single Standard
Located on floors 3-15. 1 double bed or 2 twin beds. Private lanai (not guaranteed in all single rooms), desk, coffee/tea maker, mini-fridge, AC, cable TV, in-room safe (surcharge).
Deluxe Partial Ocean View
Located on floors 10-15. Enjoy these guestrooms with our double bed configuration which features panoramic Waikiki and partial views of the Pacific ocean from your balcony. Private lanai, desk, coffee/tea maker, mini-fridge, AC, cable TV, in-room safe (surcharge).
Premium Standard
Located on floors 4-9. 2 double beds or 3 twin beds. Private lanai, desk, coffee/tea maker, mini-fridge, AC, cable TV, in-room safe (surcharge).

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.3 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.3 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.7 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.8 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.1 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.7 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.7 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.1 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.1 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.6 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.1 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (201)

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
201 out of 201
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PuceDesbois
Business
LA, CA
Apr 29, 2010

bad

Bathroom really not nice, bath tube need to be changed, there were many ants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Drith
Business
Jackson, CA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Wedding and honeymoon getaway

the hotel was just okay. we wanted to upgrade to at least a queen bed but nothing was available but our entire floor was empty for a week. the bed was not very comfortable at all. the TV was stuck on a green display color and the button was broken to fix it. the remote didn't really work either. our friend who was by himself, who bought the exact same package but for a few less days, got 2 queen beds with 2 balconys. our laundry got ruined but that is not the hotels fault. someone just put something in the load before ours i guess. the staff thought we were lying when we had to go downstairs because we put money in the soap dispenser and nothing came out. we checked our bags in at the front desk the day we had to check out because our flight didn't leave till that evening and we tagged our 3 bags and left them with the attendant and we had to come back for something an hour later and our bags were still sitting where we left them and they were unattended and were never taken to the back where they put the checked bags. that was the icing on the cake for us. we will not be staying there again. it was very cheap but i guess we got what we paid for which was not a whole lot. The staff was pretty friendly but that is all i can say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hawaii tourist
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jul 19, 2012

Nasty hotel

Took forever to find. Had to pay for parking and the guy at the desk was neither helpful or quick. Had to kill two bugs that crawled out from under the toaster and the bed was like sleeping on a board with rocks for pillows. Gross place! The only reason I gave one star was because it wouldn't let me give negative stars

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jaqwanbone
Business
Los Angeles, California
Sep 19, 2012

Disappointed

I'm unaware of how this rated three stars other than it's location. The comfort level of the room was a bit worse than some roadside motels. The TV was a CRT from the 80's and the balcony opened up onto a very noisy world of street, constuction and emergency and public transportation noises. Our bathroom sink stopped up and despite getting assurances from the staff to fix it that never happened. If you feel like the hotel makes no difference to the ambience of your vacation experience then this is your place. Otherwise I know we'll never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hawaiian Island Hopper
Business
Big Island
Oct 4, 2012

Poor Communication & Customer Service

Hotel originally told us that the Booking was a direct one and had not received funds from the booking website. After producing the receipt for payment, the staff tried to convince us that the $146 receipt was just for the car rental.... a compact for 24hrs!!! at that point there was nothing they could do. So we got on the phone to the booking website and they resolved the payment issue for us quickly. The room we were given was twin and not the double we had booked! about 3 minutes after getting to the room, the reception staff rang us to say that the paperwork we had just signed and copies of IDs had somehow disappeared within the previous 5 minutes, could we come down and and fill out the paperwork again and give new copies of our IDs!!! If we are the victims of ID fraud in the near future i know where to lay the blame! we went back down to reception to give them what they wanted and then asked for Double room. They said we had a double room... cause it had 2 beds in it.... When asked what the maximum occupancy was for the room, they told us it was 2 people!! We then tried to explain that Every other Hotel on the plant described rooms as either "Twin", "Double", "Queen" etc depending on the sleeping arrangements.. they pretended not to understand. Then told us there were no other types of room available when clearly the Hotel was at minimal occupancy. Whether it was just truly just ignorance, indifference or obtrusiveness or a combination of all 3 on their part; it all surmounted to be very bad experience. Utterly useless & unhelpful reception Staff. The Valet staff on the other hand were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Holiday
Business
Topeka, Kansas
Dec 11, 2012

Friendly staff though

Very very much traffic right outside the balcony. Never heard customers but the traffic was awful. No ocean view and no working ceiling lights. Bathtub was clogged up. If you're in Hawaii to party with friends this would work fine. To relax, chose something closer to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Hawaiin steak house on the other side of the street from the hotel was really cosy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Trandynasty
Business
Stockton, Ca
Mar 26, 2013

Should not even be a 3 star hotel

The rooms had an awkward smell and beds were uncomfortable. We asked for a king and paid for an ocean view and received neither. We left our air conditing on and came back to the room with it being turned down! It took forever to cool the room back to a comfortable temperature. I should have paid several hundred dollars more and get a better room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
atsaaa
Business
California
Apr 1, 2013

Not recommended

The hotel is old and it looks old. They made no effort to renovate the rooms while the lobby looks nice and neat. The carpet, the beds, the furniture, the curtains are old and filthy. The bathroom is old with cracks in the tub. The balcony was really dirty. I think they haven't cleaned it for at least a year. In the bathroom there were only shampoo and body cream. We asked for some shower gel and they gave us the same stuff. They charge for wi-fi in all areas of the hotel for $10 per day. The charge for using the SAFE!!!! Yeap, they charge $5 per day to lock your valuables in your room. They have a business center and I thought I could be able to check in and print my boarding passes for my flight but in my surprise I couldn't because I had to pay $10 to get internet connection on their desktops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Troy's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
guests123cba
Business
midwestern area
Nov 30, 2013

stay somewhere a little more pricey for a better night stay

the doors to the rooms had about a 2 inch gap between door and floor (going into the room). I almost left and went somewhere else but didnt really know the area to find something so late. this hotel has NO complimentary services. (ie- no continental breakfast, no shuttle service to/from airport (and its only 2 mile drives from the airport)) no exhaust fan in bathroom like normal hotel bathrooms, beds look nice in picture but are not comfy. speakin of pics the "hotel" lobby was the only pictures that were absolutely accurate of course that was the 'extravagance' of the "hotel"... felt uneasy about staff coming in and cleaning everyday so we left the do not disturb sign up during our outings, the only positive things is that the trolley stop was right out the door, there was close shops and beach access within walking distance. suggest staying some place a little more pricey for the extra amenities - they are just as close to same things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

TAKE THE WAIKKI TROLLEY around town, if go to diamondhead- you can take the city bus, but DO NOT TAKE THE CITY BUS BACK.... tooooo many stops. - take a taxi, or spend the extra $ to get on the waikki trolley tours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Aug 10, 2011

below average

I knew this was a lower priced hotel, so I didnt have unrealistic expectations. I would have stayed here again if it wasnt for the below average staff. When we arrived a man greated us with pointing to the sign ( check in at 3). Yes we knew when check in was, just needed a place to put our luggage until 3.When a hotel is this run down,the staff can make up for the lack of repair if they were helpful and friendly.I think the staff should have asked us if we needed suggestions on where to eat or things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

buy the 3 day go oahu card, saves you lots of money and you can pick from numerous different things to do. [...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top