$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Waikiki Gateway Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2070 Kalakua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
223 out of 223
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dwan
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Waikiki Gateway Hotel stay

The hotel was conveniently located in Waikiki and the hotel staff was very friendly. The room was nice and clean and the balcony offered a spectacular view of the city. I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is in the center of everything...dining, shopping and the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WmEBrown
Business
Oahu, Hawaii, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Disappointed

I am a resident to this Island. Could not access the internet in my room. Business center internet system was extremely SLOW. Shower: tub drained very-very slow, standing in water. TV had a black line (in the picture tube) across the screen, blocking the picture. I should be compensated for the trouble. Wm E. Brown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mklaureate
Business
Linden, NJ
Nov 21, 2011

Great location from the Waikiki beach

hotel was located 10 minutes from the Waikiki beach. Very easy to get to the local bus, stop located across the street from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeffferee
Business
Waianae, HI, USA
Nov 16, 2011

Solid cheap hotel experience

I had a very good time at the hotel. I wasn't expecting too much spending very little to enjoy a quiet evening in Honolulu, and was pleasantly surprised with how nice the room turned out to be. Nice shower, good bed, clean sheets, quiet evening, and friendly service. I almost considered staying an extra night at the gateway hotel in order to further explore Honolulu but decided to head west. If i end up needing a place to stay with short notice yet again I would highly considering shacking up at the Gateway hotel yet again. I am not necessarily a picky traveler, it always entertains me when a consumer drops little to no money on a hotel and gets offended with they are not pampered excessively. Regardless, there were plenty of positives about this place and I didn't even utilize the room/night at the hotel to its full potential.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beautiful area of Waikiki beach within 5 minutes of walking, also around all sorts of shops and restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don B.
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Great Location

Practically right across the street from the beach, near the Hawaii Convention Center, within easy walking distance of all the best restaurants and shopping that Waikiki has to offer, easy check-in and check-out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
geripg1
Business
Manteno, IL 60950, USA
Oct 27, 2011

good place to crash for the night

this hotel is a little run down but for the money it was okay. close to resteraunts and shopping. this hotle will nickle and dime you for eveything and the even charge you $20.00 a night for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

you don't really need to rent a car. parking is next to impossible and expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Min Don
Business
British Columbia, Canada
Oct 24, 2011

not bad vacation

the hotel locate on major bus stop, which can almost get you anywhere in the city. They offer breakfast buffet only cost $15 for 2 cosider cheap compare cafes in waikiki. You get what you pay for and i am happy with everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cjmclaws
Business
Mesa, Arizona
Oct 23, 2011

great location

The hotel is in a great location--only a short walk to the beach and conveniently located to all the shopping in Waikiki. The beds were extremely firm, but despite my reservations they did not prevent me from getting a good night's sleep. The hotel staff were very nice. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that we had to pay $20 a night for parking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Drith
Business
Jackson, CA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Wedding and honeymoon getaway

the hotel was just okay. we wanted to upgrade to at least a queen bed but nothing was available but our entire floor was empty for a week. the bed was not very comfortable at all. the TV was stuck on a green display color and the button was broken to fix it. the remote didn't really work either. our friend who was by himself, who bought the exact same package but for a few less days, got 2 queen beds with 2 balconys. our laundry got ruined but that is not the hotels fault. someone just put something in the load before ours i guess. the staff thought we were lying when we had to go downstairs because we put money in the soap dispenser and nothing came out. we checked our bags in at the front desk the day we had to check out because our flight didn't leave till that evening and we tagged our 3 bags and left them with the attendant and we had to come back for something an hour later and our bags were still sitting where we left them and they were unattended and were never taken to the back where they put the checked bags. that was the icing on the cake for us. we will not be staying there again. it was very cheap but i guess we got what we paid for which was not a whole lot. The staff was pretty friendly but that is all i can say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CynD
Business
Georgia, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Waikiki Gateway Hotel

I had a wonderful experience during our stay at the Waikiki Gateway. It is centrally located and convenient for transportation, hotel pickup, buses, etc. Within walking distance in any direction from the hotel, there are shops, restaurants, and sites to see. We visited sites all over the island. We attended a luau, two dinner cruises, Diamond Head, Pali, the Palace, and the Dolphin Watch. It is very close to the beach, plus the hotel has a pool. The staff at the hotel was extremely friendly, helpful and courteous. I would definitely stay at the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the refrigerator in the hotel room to save on food. Shop at the store for cereal, sandwich meat, fruit, bread and snacks. Then just buy 1 or 2 meals per day. The food court at the Royal Hawaiian Hotel is very reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top