$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Waikiki Gateway Hotel

3 stars
2070 Kalakua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
306 reviews
great time

Very good experience on our honeymoon at the gateway, will be staying here again for our next trip.... See full review

  • halnfl
  • Jun 9, 2014
So Beautiful

This place is so great. The location makes it the best. On the beach and the middle of the strip.... See full review

  • Realddiddy
  • May 5, 2014
Budget-friendly hotel near Waikiki’s best shopping and dining

Waikiki Gateway Hotel offers friendly island spirit, budget prices and a great location in Waikiki, perfect for traveling friends and couples. Located near a peaceful park that leads to the beach and the crossroads of Waikiki's two main thoroughfares, Kalakaua and Kuhio Avenues, Waikiki Gateway is positioned for entertainment in every direction. Find Waikiki's upscale designer boutiques across the street at the Ala Moana Center. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool, business center and 24-hour front desk.

Highlights
  • Complimentary computer stations
  • Sandy Waikiki beach almost a block away
  • Honolulu's best dining options located within several blocks
  • Outdoor swimming pool
Location

Located at the entrance to Waikiki, the hotel affords easy access to all that Waikiki has to offer. Shopping at Ala Moana Center is nearby, as well as the Hawaii Convention Center. Take a 5-minute walk from the hotel to reach the free U.S. Army Museum and one of Waikiki's widest sand beaches.

Rooms

The hotel offers 181 rooms outfitted with island décor, most with private balcony and unobstructed city, park or ocean views. All rooms include high-speed Internet (fees apply), coffee maker, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, air conditioning and cable TV. Select rooms have fully-equipped kitchenettes. Some rooms can accommodate up to four single beds.


Dining

Take advantage of the hotel's partnership with Island Grocery Service and have groceries delivered to your room or opt for the hotel's daily continental breakfast service (fees apply). Waikiki's best dining can be found within a few blocks of the hotel. For fine dining, head to Keo's, serving Honolulu's best Thai dishes, or Roy's Waikiki, an award-winning Asian-fusion restaurant.

Attractions
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium

 

Waikiki Gateway Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Waikiki View
Located from 10th Floor through 16th Floor, we have a balcony with commanding views of Waikiki. All rooms are spacious and equipped with refrigerator, coffee maker, a/c, safe (pay), cable TV, full tub and hand held shower. Most rooms are furnished with two double beds, 1 double and 1 single bed, or 2 single beds (bed requests are not guaranteed).
Single Standard
Located on floors 3-15. 1 double bed or 2 twin beds. Private lanai (not guaranteed in all single rooms), desk, coffee/tea maker, mini-fridge, AC, cable TV, in-room safe (surcharge).
Deluxe Partial Ocean View
Located on floors 10-15. Enjoy these guestrooms with our double bed configuration which features panoramic Waikiki and partial views of the Pacific ocean from your balcony. Private lanai, desk, coffee/tea maker, mini-fridge, AC, cable TV, in-room safe (surcharge).
Premium Standard
Located on floors 4-9. 2 double beds or 3 twin beds. Private lanai, desk, coffee/tea maker, mini-fridge, AC, cable TV, in-room safe (surcharge).

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waikiki Gateway Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2834 -157.8312
Area served
Located at the beginning of Waikiki near the new "Rodeo drive of shopping in Waikiki"
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport
Area description
Located at the entrance of Waikiki, where Kalakaua Avenue and Kuhio Avenue meet. Fronting the hotel is the Kalakaua Park featuring a life-sized statue of King Kalakaua and many trees to relax under. Take a leisurely stroll through the Fort DeRussey Memorial Park to visit the white sands of famous Waikiki Beach. A few minutes walk also takes you into the center of Waikiki with all its world class shopping, dining and entertainment. In addition, the Hawaii Convention Center is just a few blocks away. City buses, shopping center shuttles, and tour buses all have stops at our hotel. The Waikiki Gateway Hotel is perfectly located to meet your leisure pleasure or business needs.

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.3 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.3 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.7 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.8 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.1 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.7 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.7 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.1 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.1 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.6 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.1 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (306)

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
306 out of 306
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CynD
Georgia, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Waikiki Gateway Hotel

I had a wonderful experience during our stay at the Waikiki Gateway. It is centrally located and convenient for transportation, hotel pickup, buses, etc. Within walking distance in any direction from the hotel, there are shops, restaurants, and sites to see. We visited sites all over the island. We attended a luau, two dinner cruises, Diamond Head, Pali, the Palace, and the Dolphin Watch. It is very close to the beach, plus the hotel has a pool. The staff at the hotel was extremely friendly, helpful and courteous. I would definitely stay at the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the refrigerator in the hotel room to save on food. Shop at the store for cereal, sandwich meat, fruit, bread and snacks. Then just buy 1 or 2 meals per day. The food court at the Royal Hawaiian Hotel is very reasonable.

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary J
San Jose, Ca
Sep 4, 2011

Family getaway

The staff provided great customer service and always helpful. The room was clean and the cleaning staff does a great job with providing clean sheets and towels. There was a constant water leak out on the patio from the room above us (possibly from the a/c being on?). The room does not include an iron, ironing board nor a microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travlfamin3
Victorville, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Decent family getaway

The location of the hotel was from walking distance from the beach, shopping and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and they made sure our room was ready before check in time. The room was clean but they could have provided more towels. The ac system was also very noisy but other then that nothing else was poor. We went swimming in the hotel pool and there was plenty of lounge chairs available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try eating out at the local marketplace. The food is good and more affordable than the restaurants.

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travlfamin3
Victorville, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Decent family getaway

The location of the hotel was from walking distance from the beach, shopping and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and they made sure our room was ready before check in time. The room was clean but they could have provided more towels. The ac system was also very noisy but other then that nothing else was poor. We went swimming in the hotel pool and there was plenty of lounge chairs available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try eating out at the local marketplace. The food is good and more affordable than the restaurants.

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Riverside, Ca
Aug 10, 2011

Not so great.

Family Birthday Party. Just spent the night. Needs better beds. No visitors parking. Had to pay for valet parking. I've stayed at better places before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Aug 10, 2011

below average

I knew this was a lower priced hotel, so I didnt have unrealistic expectations. I would have stayed here again if it wasnt for the below average staff. When we arrived a man greated us with pointing to the sign ( check in at 3). Yes we knew when check in was, just needed a place to put our luggage until 3.When a hotel is this run down,the staff can make up for the lack of repair if they were helpful and friendly.I think the staff should have asked us if we needed suggestions on where to eat or things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

buy the 3 day go oahu card, saves you lots of money and you can pick from numerous different things to do. [...]

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Aug 10, 2011

below average

I knew this was a lower priced hotel, so I didnt have unrealistic expectations. I would have stayed here again if it wasnt for the below average staff. When we arrived a man greated us with pointing to the sign ( check in at 3). Yes we knew when check in was, just needed a place to put our luggage until 3.When a hotel is this run down,the staff can make up for the lack of repair if they were helpful and friendly.I think the staff should have asked us if we needed suggestions on where to eat or things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

buy the 3 day go oahu card, saves you lots of money and you can pick from numerous different things to do. [...]

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Riverside, Ca
Aug 10, 2011

Not so great.

Family Birthday Party. Just spent the night. Needs better beds. No visitors parking. Had to pay for valet parking. I've stayed at better places before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a212babe
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 7, 2011

Nice and easy

Great time and nice stay. Quiet and clean place. Didn't try the breakfast because we were always in a hurry to hit the beach. Only 5 blocks away! I reccommend this place, its friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is easy at ABC, right down stairs in the hotel!

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a212babe
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 7, 2011

Nice and easy

Great time and nice stay. Quiet and clean place. Didn't try the breakfast because we were always in a hurry to hit the beach. Only 5 blocks away! I reccommend this place, its friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is easy at ABC, right down stairs in the hotel!

Back to menu Return to top