Waikiki Gateway Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2070 Kalakua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
186 out of 186
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NiTrace
Business
Coeur d'Alene, ID, USA
Mar 29, 2012

Awesome Hotel - great location

It was very excellent. The staff were very personal and courteous. Perfect location. Clean rooms, Loved it..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KCRK
Couples
Dallas, TX
Mar 28, 2012

Not what I expected.

This was a decent hotel, but the amenities were not what I expected for a beach hotel. First, the htoel claimed shuttle service to the airport, but the service was through a third party and not complimentary. It was about the same price as a taxi. Second, they didn't have any "beach showers" that many other hotels had. Finally, their "free internet" was only available in the lobby, and didn't work very well at that. I would proabbly try somehwere else next time, but I could stay here again if there were no other affordable option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Surf Traveler
Single
Honolulu, HI, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Nice Hotel - Great Value!

Only stayed one night, the room was large, clean and comfortable, big balcony too. Very friendly and helpful staff working at the reception. Great value, would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheesecake Factory has big tasty meals at a nice price, expect an hour wait and you can do a little shopping close by why you are waiting.

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
oahu traveler
Friends
Portland, OR, USA
Mar 1, 2012

decent hotel met our needs.

short walk to downtown and the beaches, friendly staff, maintenance fixed our tub quickly, not supper nice by any means, but we were only in our room to sleep so it was very adequate for our needs. nice sized fridge allowed us to stock up on groceries. 20$/day parking was an extra expense we had not counted on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
defeedme
Single
Waikiki, Honolulu, HI, USA
Feb 18, 2012

disappointing

1. they have no wifi in room.. they charge $20 / day for wired internet.. had to use tether on my phone.. 2. they charge for parking for their own customers.. $20/day 3. rooms have bad layout, aircon blows directly on you at the computer desk.. 4. no late checkout allowed, staff is very rude concerning this policy. 5. no flatscreen, for this price there should be a flatscreen 6. pool is very small, no jacuzzi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

abc store closes at midnight, then you have to walk to 7/11 about a quartermile away..

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ldn1
Family
Wisconsin
Feb 7, 2012

budget friendly and nice staff

Budget priced, clean, very nice staff and very helpful. Hotel has bus and trolley stop right out front. It is about a 3 block walk to beach, shopping, and restaurants. Hotel has activity director to help set up tours and answer questions. I would stay there again and recommend it friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aqueous
Family
green bay, wi
Feb 6, 2012

pre-cruise accomodations

We were only staying for one night before leaving on a cruise. The hotel was fine...our room and the restaurant were dated and I wouldn't want to spend my whole vacation there. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was nice as we were able to walk to a lot of shopping and the beach. For a one-night stay it wasn't bad. Taxi fare from the airport was $35 so you might consider something closer if you don't need the shopping or beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't mind walking in fantastic weather and seeing the community, the mall was only about 1.5 miles from the hotel. It was a beautiful walk. There is an open-air trolley for $2.00 that will also take you around Waikiki.

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NiTrace
Business
Coeur d'Alene, ID, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Great place to stay.. Customer Service A++

It was a very great experience. Pretty sweet when everyone from the Front Desk to the Valets knows your name. Nice and Clean and just a short walk to the Beach. Excellent Stay!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ernie from Oregon
Couples
Oregon
Dec 22, 2011

Good choice

Helpful staff, great location a couple of block from beach with many restaurants nearby. Bus stop close by for trips to popular tourist destinations. A great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NiTrace
Business
Coeur d'Alene, ID, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Nice place to stay

I had a very nice stay at the Waikiki Gateway Hotel. The customer service was second to none and really made a point to deliver personalized service. :-) Plan to stay there again in the future!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top