$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Waikiki Gateway Hotel

3 stars
2070 Kalakua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
201 reviews
great time

Very good experience on our honeymoon at the gateway, will be staying here again for our next trip.... See full review

  • halnfl
  • Jun 9, 2014
So Beautiful

This place is so great. The location makes it the best. On the beach and the middle of the strip.... See full review

  • Realddiddy
  • May 5, 2014
Budget-friendly hotel near Waikiki’s best shopping and dining

Waikiki Gateway Hotel offers friendly island spirit, budget prices and a great location in Waikiki, perfect for traveling friends and couples. Located near a peaceful park that leads to the beach and the crossroads of Waikiki's two main thoroughfares, Kalakaua and Kuhio Avenues, Waikiki Gateway is positioned for entertainment in every direction. Find Waikiki's upscale designer boutiques across the street at the Ala Moana Center. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool, business center and 24-hour front desk.

Highlights
  • Complimentary computer stations
  • Sandy Waikiki beach almost a block away
  • Honolulu's best dining options located within several blocks
  • Outdoor swimming pool
Location

Located at the entrance to Waikiki, the hotel affords easy access to all that Waikiki has to offer. Shopping at Ala Moana Center is nearby, as well as the Hawaii Convention Center. Take a 5-minute walk from the hotel to reach the free U.S. Army Museum and one of Waikiki's widest sand beaches.

Rooms

The hotel offers 181 rooms outfitted with island décor, most with private balcony and unobstructed city, park or ocean views. All rooms include high-speed Internet (fees apply), coffee maker, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, air conditioning and cable TV. Select rooms have fully-equipped kitchenettes. Some rooms can accommodate up to four single beds.


Dining

Take advantage of the hotel's partnership with Island Grocery Service and have groceries delivered to your room or opt for the hotel's daily continental breakfast service (fees apply). Waikiki's best dining can be found within a few blocks of the hotel. For fine dining, head to Keo's, serving Honolulu's best Thai dishes, or Roy's Waikiki, an award-winning Asian-fusion restaurant.

Attractions
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium

 

Hotel Map

21.2834 -157.8312
Area served
Located at the beginning of Waikiki near the new "Rodeo drive of shopping in Waikiki"
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport
Area description
Located at the entrance of Waikiki, where Kalakaua Avenue and Kuhio Avenue meet. Fronting the hotel is the Kalakaua Park featuring a life-sized statue of King Kalakaua and many trees to relax under. Take a leisurely stroll through the Fort DeRussey Memorial Park to visit the white sands of famous Waikiki Beach. A few minutes walk also takes you into the center of Waikiki with all its world class shopping, dining and entertainment. In addition, the Hawaii Convention Center is just a few blocks away. City buses, shopping center shuttles, and tour buses all have stops at our hotel. The Waikiki Gateway Hotel is perfectly located to meet your leisure pleasure or business needs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waikiki Gateway Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Waikiki Gateway Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Waikiki View
Located from 10th Floor through 16th Floor, we have a balcony with commanding views of Waikiki. All rooms are spacious and equipped with refrigerator, coffee maker, a/c, safe (pay), cable TV, full tub and hand held shower. Most rooms are furnished with two double beds, 1 double and 1 single bed, or 2 single beds (bed requests are not guaranteed).
Single Standard
Located on floors 3-15. 1 double bed or 2 twin beds. Private lanai (not guaranteed in all single rooms), desk, coffee/tea maker, mini-fridge, AC, cable TV, in-room safe (surcharge).
Deluxe Partial Ocean View
Located on floors 10-15. Enjoy these guestrooms with our double bed configuration which features panoramic Waikiki and partial views of the Pacific ocean from your balcony. Private lanai, desk, coffee/tea maker, mini-fridge, AC, cable TV, in-room safe (surcharge).
Premium Standard
Located on floors 4-9. 2 double beds or 3 twin beds. Private lanai, desk, coffee/tea maker, mini-fridge, AC, cable TV, in-room safe (surcharge).

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.3 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.3 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.7 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.8 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.1 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.7 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.7 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.1 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.1 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.6 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.1 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (201)

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
201 out of 201
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dad carl
Business
mesa,az
Oct 8, 2012

great family vaca

staff was friendly location was good had a great time with the family and wife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hawaiian Island Hopper
Business
Big Island
Oct 4, 2012

Poor Communication & Customer Service

Hotel originally told us that the Booking was a direct one and had not received funds from the booking website. After producing the receipt for payment, the staff tried to convince us that the $146 receipt was just for the car rental.... a compact for 24hrs!!! at that point there was nothing they could do. So we got on the phone to the booking website and they resolved the payment issue for us quickly. The room we were given was twin and not the double we had booked! about 3 minutes after getting to the room, the reception staff rang us to say that the paperwork we had just signed and copies of IDs had somehow disappeared within the previous 5 minutes, could we come down and and fill out the paperwork again and give new copies of our IDs!!! If we are the victims of ID fraud in the near future i know where to lay the blame! we went back down to reception to give them what they wanted and then asked for Double room. They said we had a double room... cause it had 2 beds in it.... When asked what the maximum occupancy was for the room, they told us it was 2 people!! We then tried to explain that Every other Hotel on the plant described rooms as either "Twin", "Double", "Queen" etc depending on the sleeping arrangements.. they pretended not to understand. Then told us there were no other types of room available when clearly the Hotel was at minimal occupancy. Whether it was just truly just ignorance, indifference or obtrusiveness or a combination of all 3 on their part; it all surmounted to be very bad experience. Utterly useless & unhelpful reception Staff. The Valet staff on the other hand were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jaqwanbone
Business
Los Angeles, California
Sep 19, 2012

Disappointed

I'm unaware of how this rated three stars other than it's location. The comfort level of the room was a bit worse than some roadside motels. The TV was a CRT from the 80's and the balcony opened up onto a very noisy world of street, constuction and emergency and public transportation noises. Our bathroom sink stopped up and despite getting assurances from the staff to fix it that never happened. If you feel like the hotel makes no difference to the ambience of your vacation experience then this is your place. Otherwise I know we'll never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Irish mick 33
Business
Ocean view Hawaii
Sep 10, 2012

Flophouse

Old,dirty, worn room furnishings, and the bathroom has not been updated for 50 years. The pool was obviously an afterthought, and the laundry machines were filthy and unusable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Food court Ala Moana Mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stuck in paradise
Business
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Aug 26, 2012

An unexpected stay

my stay at this hotel was great. Less than a half a mile from Waikiki beach, the walk to the beach was breathtaking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Waikiki beach was only a .4 mile walk from my hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chelseygirl
Business
Seattle. WA
Aug 8, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel at all.It is too old now.

The room was very bare of anything atractive. There was not one hook or towel rail in the bathroom. We had to call down for towel and toilet paper quite a few times. Our beds were not changed in the ten days we were there. The carpet seemed awfully dirty to me. One saving grace tghe emplowees at the desk were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hawaii tourist
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jul 19, 2012

Nasty hotel

Took forever to find. Had to pay for parking and the guy at the desk was neither helpful or quick. Had to kill two bugs that crawled out from under the toaster and the bed was like sleeping on a board with rocks for pillows. Gross place! The only reason I gave one star was because it wouldn't let me give negative stars

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed PP
Business
Sask, Canada
Jun 12, 2012

Perfect get away for me & my wife of 33 years !!!

The hotel location was perfect for the price we paid....about 1 block from Waikiki beach, all rooms have balcony, there's an ABC store( like a 7-11 store plus more) right downstairs, trolley pick-up just downstairs, too. We walked all the time, no need to rent a car (parking is about $20/day). Get a trolley ticket and it will take you to the Ala Moana Shopping Center(one of the biggest w/ 250 stores & restaurants),other shopping centers, to Diamond Head and historic places. It's hop in and out all day as many as you want. Just book a shuttle to take you from the airport and back for about $10/person. Coffee maker & Kona coffee provided in your room. All in all our experience was really good....will stay here again if ever we go back to HI.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
white lightning
Business
glendale, arizona
Jun 7, 2012

Good Location, Nothing Special

Very poor customer service at the front desk, rooms were'nt ready. The longer we waited, the more disorganized things became. My id picture with someone elses i.d. and credit card. Everything costs extra. I.E. Safe 3.99 per day. Parking 18.99. No Beach or pool towels available.I could go on. But you get the idea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Local restaurants have pretty good food at an affordable cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KI6ENF
Business
Concord, CA
May 12, 2012

Good basic value hotel on Waikiki

Overall a good value. Great location with less than 10 minute walk to the beach across a large park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top