Waikiki Gateway Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2070 Kalakua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
186 out of 186
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
guests123cba
Business
midwestern area
Nov 30, 2013

stay somewhere a little more pricey for a better night stay

the doors to the rooms had about a 2 inch gap between door and floor (going into the room). I almost left and went somewhere else but didnt really know the area to find something so late. this hotel has NO complimentary services. (ie- no continental breakfast, no shuttle service to/from airport (and its only 2 mile drives from the airport)) no exhaust fan in bathroom like normal hotel bathrooms, beds look nice in picture but are not comfy. speakin of pics the "hotel" lobby was the only pictures that were absolutely accurate of course that was the 'extravagance' of the "hotel"... felt uneasy about staff coming in and cleaning everyday so we left the do not disturb sign up during our outings, the only positive things is that the trolley stop was right out the door, there was close shops and beach access within walking distance. suggest staying some place a little more pricey for the extra amenities - they are just as close to same things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

TAKE THE WAIKKI TROLLEY around town, if go to diamondhead- you can take the city bus, but DO NOT TAKE THE CITY BUS BACK.... tooooo many stops. - take a taxi, or spend the extra $ to get on the waikki trolley tours.

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snazzy233
Business
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
Nov 29, 2013

Friendly

This is a pleasing place, near big beach and shopping, with spacious rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dave from Shanghai
Business
Shanghai, China
Nov 26, 2013

Location is greatest attraction

We had stayed here twice before way back in 1995 and 1996, so I was happy to book it again for the memories, assuming it must have been upgraded since then. The rooms were comfortable, but halls and room appearance were somewhat run-down looking and breakfast buffet was not in line with price. Also, valet parking cost extra $10/day. But location is undeniably great, and staff were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheeseburger Waikiki down the road (at corner of Kalakaua and Ala Moana) has a breakfast special for $5.99 (unmatched price - even at McDs): eggs, hashbrowns, toast & unlimited coffee included. But all other breakfasts are about $10.

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tman777
Business
Tacoma,wa
Nov 24, 2013

basic stay

large room with king size bed,very quiet and good location,could use some updating in bathroom and new tv good for cheap stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
south pole onlooker
Business
san jose
Nov 1, 2013

60/40

my room is OK, very comfortable by myself and the outside surround the hotel is like a park. Staffs are nice but I had very little contact with them, I stayed only one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boricuas de Texas
Business
Dallas, Texas
Oct 15, 2013

Good location, Great getaway

It was my first time in Honolulu. Great hotel, friendly and serviceable staff. Definitely will stay again on my next visit. Recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take city bus from airport to hotel

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elizabeth crowell
Business
Manhattan beach,CA
Oct 14, 2013

Great location comfortable and great price!

It was very convenient, staff was friendly and had everything I needed. I would definitely stay again. Also recommend for people on a budget

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All the shops are right down the street . Close to international market place,

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Iron worker
Business
Anchorage
Oct 13, 2013

Adequate for the price

Staff was good and courteous. Hotel was adequate.expensive ride from the airport. Building beginning to show some age but ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Expensive trip from airport

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
No Reservations
Business
Bay Area, California
Oct 6, 2013

last minute stay

friendly front desk and valet attendants. easy walk to the beach, restaurants, and shops. while the bathroom and furnishings were on the old side, the room was one of the cleanest ever. some ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Avoid the NImitz on returning to the airport. Take the HI-1.

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Archoangel80
Business
Waipahu, HI
Sep 2, 2013

Gateway Hotel Review in Waikiki

It was an overall mediocre experience. The hotel was above my original party which was convenient. The staff did not greet me as I waited in the lobby but once they found out I was checking in they were very pleasant and courteous. The television was the worst amenity as it was fuzzy on just about every channel. The ice machine was very good but I had to inquire with the front desk on it's whereabouts. I miss having a tub and enjoyed soaking in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top