$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 2, 2015 Check-out: Feb 3, 2015

Waikiki Gateway Hotel

3 stars
2070 Kalakua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
204 reviews
great time

Very good experience on our honeymoon at the gateway, will be staying here again for our next trip.... See full review

  • halnfl
  • Jun 9, 2014
So Beautiful

This place is so great. The location makes it the best. On the beach and the middle of the strip.... See full review

  • Realddiddy
  • May 5, 2014
Budget-friendly hotel near Waikiki’s best shopping and dining

Waikiki Gateway Hotel offers friendly island spirit, budget prices and a great location in Waikiki, perfect for traveling friends and couples. Located near a peaceful park that leads to the beach and the crossroads of Waikiki's two main thoroughfares, Kalakaua and Kuhio Avenues, Waikiki Gateway is positioned for entertainment in every direction. Find Waikiki's upscale designer boutiques across the street at the Ala Moana Center. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool, business center and 24-hour front desk.

Highlights
  • Complimentary computer stations
  • Sandy Waikiki beach almost a block away
  • Honolulu's best dining options located within several blocks
  • Outdoor swimming pool
Location

Located at the entrance to Waikiki, the hotel affords easy access to all that Waikiki has to offer. Shopping at Ala Moana Center is nearby, as well as the Hawaii Convention Center. Take a 5-minute walk from the hotel to reach the free U.S. Army Museum and one of Waikiki's widest sand beaches.

Rooms

The hotel offers 181 rooms outfitted with island décor, most with private balcony and unobstructed city, park or ocean views. All rooms include high-speed Internet (fees apply), coffee maker, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, air conditioning and cable TV. Select rooms have fully-equipped kitchenettes. Some rooms can accommodate up to four single beds.


Dining

Take advantage of the hotel's partnership with Island Grocery Service and have groceries delivered to your room or opt for the hotel's daily continental breakfast service (fees apply). Waikiki's best dining can be found within a few blocks of the hotel. For fine dining, head to Keo's, serving Honolulu's best Thai dishes, or Roy's Waikiki, an award-winning Asian-fusion restaurant.

Attractions
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waikiki Gateway Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Waikiki Gateway Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Waikiki View
Located from 10th Floor through 16th Floor, we have a balcony with commanding views of Waikiki. All rooms are spacious and equipped with refrigerator, coffee maker, a/c, safe (pay), cable TV, full tub and hand held shower. Most rooms are furnished with two double beds, 1 double and 1 single bed, or 2 single beds (bed requests are not guaranteed).
Single Standard
Located on floors 3-15. 1 double bed or 2 twin beds. Private lanai (not guaranteed in all single rooms), desk, coffee/tea maker, mini-fridge, AC, cable TV, in-room safe (surcharge).
Deluxe Partial Ocean View
Located on floors 10-15. Enjoy these guestrooms with our double bed configuration which features panoramic Waikiki and partial views of the Pacific ocean from your balcony. Private lanai, desk, coffee/tea maker, mini-fridge, AC, cable TV, in-room safe (surcharge).
Premium Standard
Located on floors 4-9. 2 double beds or 3 twin beds. Private lanai, desk, coffee/tea maker, mini-fridge, AC, cable TV, in-room safe (surcharge).

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.3 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.3 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.7 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.8 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.1 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.7 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.7 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.1 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.1 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.6 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.1 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (204)

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 204
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntsville, AL
May 20, 2009

You get what you pay for...

Overall, we had an good experience at the hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. For the money, it is an OK hotel because of the location. But, next time, we will search elsewhere. Pros: Cheap Location (15 min walk to Waikiki) Kitchenette Cons: Noisy - try to get a room as high up as possible. They charge you to use the in room safe. The free breakfast is terrible. $15/day +tax for valet parking. Slow internet. Bottom line: If this is all you can afford, then go for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The busy Waikiki area is just a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
May 2, 2009

Some good, some bad

The main problem is that you have to pay 15 dollars a day just to park your car. You need a car because the Hotel is very far from the beach. At least 15 to 20 minutes walking. However, if you don't rent a car and cannot walk too far, you can walk about 4 blocks and take a Trolley that is very convenient for transportation and quite inexpensive. There is no Concierge or tourist desk in the Hotel so you have to find your own information. Receptionists tell you to go to another Hotel to get some Touristic information. There are very few business and restaurants around and they are quite expensive. Breakfast consists of small bagels, tora bread and pineapples. The attendant that serves breakfast determines when is your bread toasted :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Ala Moana is a very huge Mall where you find the same kind of stores that you find in others malls in the continent. Sears, Macy's, lots of small stores with Hawaii souvenirs. Check the ABC Stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kaimi softball dad
Business
Maui, HI
Apr 23, 2009

Great hotel with a view

Got to the hotel and was offered to upgrade because our room was not yet ready, we got in about 3 hours earlier some hotels make you wait but the clerk at the desk was just super in giving us a great deal on one of the suites at a very resonable price. we were so impressed we decided to stay 2 extra days

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 29, 2008

fFirst time to hawaii

very nice place friendly severice all rooms have a balcony so you can just go out and enjoy the fresh air i would recomend this hotle to friends room on the small side but you going to hawaii whos going to be in a room you only going to be there for sleep anway very great going back next year stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

about 1 block to i hop and planet hollywood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lewiston
Oct 2, 2008

excellent hotel for the price

We stayed at the Gateway on our honeymoon, they were VERY nice and accomadating. Upon arrival they upgraded us to a nicer room. The ABC store in the lobby was very convenient and Nick's Fish Market was delicious. We got very friendly with the parking attendants and appreciated their timeliness. I found the pool very refreshing and most the time I was the only one there. The staff was very friendly and conversational, they gave us advice on a myriad of things. An odd thing was the removeable shower head was so nice to have with all the sand that sticks to you at the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond Hts
Sep 5, 2008

Decent value hotel

I don't really have any glowing praise, nor any negative things to say. We were just looking for a place to sleep at night, which is what we got. Rooms were fine and comfortable, nothing overly fancy. Service was great, quick check-in and check-out, no problems. Good location too... Overall, if you're looking for extravagance, this isn't the place to go, but it's a nice place otherwise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Weslaco
Jun 23, 2008

Good Location

2 Granddaughters and & I were pleased to find 3 single beds. Ileft a note for the manager stating they need to update furniture and laundry room. There for 6 brkf. so would appreciated a bit more variety. Location is excellent to the beach and tour pickups. Would like a map of eating areas (especially fast food when traveling with kids) in Waikiki. Liked having ABC in same bldg. Computer room good and copies reasonable. Desk people very friendly. Girls enjoyed the balcony and bird visitors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed all the shopping areas within walking distance. Beautiful park to walk thru on our way to the beach. Lots of good picture taking available. Excellent transportation available by bus, trolley, tour bus and airport shuttles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 15, 2008

My review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

The hotel was worth of its value. Rooms were clean, towels were changed daily. Very close to the beach, shopping and dining areas. You could hear a bit of street noise but it was not that bad. Overall we stayed very satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located at the beginning of the main shopping street. Lable concious people will be happy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC
Feb 29, 2008

Nice staffs

I like the way the hotel staffs treating guests, they're very friendly and hospitably. Our departure flight was quite late in the evening, but they have offered us a comfortable hospitality room for taking shower and rest. I certainly recommend my colleagues & friends stay in this hotel if they have chance to visit Honolulu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a few steps to Nike town, and lot of brand-name shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 28, 2008

good for the price

the waikiki gateway staff was friendly and helpful.room was ok,pool was a joke,breakfastleaft something to be desired. all in all ,we got what we paid for.would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top