Waikiki Gateway Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2070 Kalakua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vims
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Jul 21, 2009

Location is the Key!!!

First of all I was really happy with location of hotel. This is my second trip to Hawaii and the first time I was in the center of Waikiki close to downtown  This hotel is 5 minutes from the beach. Beach is clean and not overcrowded. Bus stop is at the door steps. Hotel itself is required a renovation. However for that money it is really good. Bar is gone from business unfortunately and there is only ABC store located at the lobby level. To relax at the bar stand you have to go somewhere. Internet works Ok, however I mentioned the downstream is lower then upstream. In this scenario is hard to watch streaming video / audio. Overall is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is good food court in Waikiki shopping center. Pearl's BBQ is very good.

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, South Carolina
Jul 18, 2009

Waikiki's a good choice

Overall was great. I had a ton of questions as a first timer and the staff helped a lot but could have been more informative. Great stay!!! Great location by the strip of shopping/restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Get info on the bus schedule, where you're going, what time each bus comes, and connecting busses. Nice and cheap, but do your homework.

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Has backpack- Will travel
Business
Dana Point, CA
Jul 9, 2009

A Great Value

The staff here was very friendly, the room was clean, the location was convenient, and the free in-room internet connection was wonderful. We had originally planned on staying here only two nights and ended up extending our stay at the Gateway because you couldn't beat the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Downstairs, attached to but outside the hotel, is an ABC store with friendly staff. They have great snacks, drinks, sandwiches, etc, and travelers can really save money by taking advantage of these corner stores and all they have to offer.

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jul 5, 2009

Very Convenient

Great location, easy and convenient to walk just about anywhere in Waikiki.Room is large enough and clean but window AC is noisy especially if you try and use the energy saver mode.Don't expect more than toast and coffee for Breakfast because that is practically all there is but the view on the 16th floor terrace is worth the elevator ride. The staff is very helpful and friendly and there is an ABC store right on the first floor! All in all a good deal! I would return in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Steak House across the street in the Maile Sky Court has an excellent Hawaiian Steak at a good price.

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gannman
Business
Seattle-Orting Wa
Jul 5, 2009

Waikiki Gateway first time Oahu

The room was kind of small but had what you needed and the view was awesome!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Kualoa Ranch ATV rides. They were fun,beautiful, with views for great picture taking. Pearl Harbor is a must see.

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OceanSmell
Business
Monterey,CA
Jul 1, 2009

Good, cheap hotel.

Not so many options in breakfast. So slow internet room. So close to Waikiki beach. Cheap, good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To beach.

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Jun 26, 2009

Great for business/vacation combo

The room is about what you'd expect for the price. Basic but clean. Coffee in the room is only complimentary the first day which is kind of cheap. Internet access was excellent. Location is perfect if attending meetings at the Hawaii Conference center. Easy walk (10-12 minutes) to both conference center and the beach. Restaurant in the hotel (Nick's) was closed but Vito's across the street has a very inexpensive bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wobert
Business
Huntsville, MO
Jun 21, 2009

Sad

I would say the Front desk was the best part of my experience. The cleaning staff did not restock the room each day. The hotel general apperence was not well kept. The room was outdated and kind of unwelcoming. I would not return there or recommend or recommend anybody else from our company staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kimchee in june
Business
Denver, co
Jun 19, 2009

, The good, bad. and the really ugly

visited family and friends. I stayed this hotel for ten nights, but they did not change bed sheets at all. It was bad,bad,bad!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kimchee in june
Business
Denver, co
Jun 19, 2009

, The good, bad. and the really ugly

visited family and friends. I stayed this hotel for ten nights, but they did not change bed sheets at all. It was bad,bad,bad!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top