$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 2, 2015 Check-out: May 3, 2015

Waikiki Gateway Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2070 Kalakua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
205 out of 205
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ha Monster
Business
East Bay, CA
Oct 20, 2009

ehhh....probably not next time

The entrance made us expect nicer rooms, but they are definitely older and smaller and not as clean as it looks. Parking was 15.70 per night, valet only, not bad. Staff is pretty friendly, location was ok. Overall, I think I can find better rooms for about the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chico,CA
Sep 23, 2009

Great for the money!

We were impressed with the hotel for that price. Very friendly staff and very clean rooms. Close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario, ca
Sep 21, 2009

Ms

Bathroom was too small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OnyxRose
Business
Kauai, HI
Sep 19, 2009

Enjoyed our stay. Thanks!

Older hotel, but in great shape. Great amenities. Convenient, but expensive parking. May be par for the location. Would have liked a microwave in room. Had to eat cold leftovers. Staff was helpful and friendly. We didn't like the 3pm check-in since we arrived at 11 am, but they offered an available upgrade at a reasonable cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABDS
Business
Seatte, WA
Sep 19, 2009

Great value

I would definitely stay here again. Nothing fancy but a great place to stay if you want a clean place to sleep in a good location. Breakfast is free - mini bagels, toast, yogurt, pineapple, coffee and juice. This is not enough for some people but it was enough for us and its FREE! The lady who gives breakfast is really nice too. Having a refrigerator with an ice box was very convenient. Bathrooms were cleaned every day. I requested extra towels and an iron, staff brought them to the room right away. My only complaint is the beds are a little hard but I got used to it after the first night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rainbow Drive In on Kanaina Ave (off of Kapahulu Ave) - boneless chicken is good. Leaonards Malasadas on Kapahulu is good too. We went almost every night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deseria
Business
Brentwood, NY
Sep 18, 2009

Waikiki Gateway Hotel worth every penny

Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was not the best, but at least one was provided. Walking distance to most things and the beach. ABC store and restaurant located in building. Overall a very nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the dinners and do just the show.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Sep 17, 2009

Great Hotel

Great Hotel, would recommend to everyone. Very friendly and helpful staff. Could use some updating but our room was very clean and neat. We had a good view. Great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Sep 16, 2009

Enjoyable, Central location for less

We used the Waikiki Gateway as our home base to explore Oahu. We ended up spending more time there than we expected sitting on the balcony. Although it overlooks a busy street, the view is enjoyable and some rooms have an ocean view. The lobby is fairly nice and the rooms are average in quality, but a nice size. The staff was very friendly. Their continental breakfast was a little spare (don't expect much more than toast and orange drink and coffee) but it was a nice offering that saved us some money on eating breakfast out, which seemed to be one of the more expensive meals there! A great trip all around!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Pick up breakfast from the 16th floor or from a grocery store to save a little extra time and money in the morning!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 15, 2009

Great trip for cheap!

The hotel is in a great location, probably a 15 minute walk from the beach. In a safe location, right across the street from Niketown. Also there is an ABC that is connected to the hotel on the 1st floor, this is very convenient! Many great places to eat near the hotel, just yelp.com it. As for the hotel itself, the 1st floor (lobby, check-in area) is very nice! we got upgraded somehow (i dont even know why) but we were moved up to the 16th floor. One large King? bed and a great view. The shower was tiny and outdated. it also looked dirty around the bathtub. Things that I loved about the hotel: there was wireless (was ok, it would disconnect at times and then reconnect) and a/c. The only thing that I had a HUGE problem with the hotel was that we found A HUGE COCKROACH on the curtains!!!! Harmless but GROSS. I think the bug might have came in through the sliding doors when we were admiring the view and left the door open for 10 mins. Other from that, the staff were great, very friendly people, the room was decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are great places to dine near the hotel. Eggs n' Things is a MUST (5 min walk from hotel) and Puka Dog is another.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
Sep 14, 2009

Great Location--Good Price.

The De Russy Park is right across the street between the hotel and the beach. Great walking and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Waikiki Shopping & Night Life right down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top