$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Waikiki Gateway Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2070 Kalakua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
223 out of 223
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oahu, hi
Dec 17, 2009

oahu

overall, pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, Missouri
Dec 13, 2009

Very good value for the money

Generally, it's a nice value-oriented place. The staff (really, everybody) is very friendly and helpful. Rooms and furniture are not luxury or new, but clean and functional. Location is not bad, hundreds of shopping and dining locations are within minutes of walking, as well as bus stops. A beach is also about 10 minutes walk through a nice shady park. Now, the bad: it's relatively noisy due to a rather high traffic area. But, if you choose to pay three times as much for Hilton, don't be surprised to have the same level of noise - it's Honolulu, and traffic noise is about the same everywhere, can't get away from it does not matter where you stay. Continental breakfast consists of juice, coffee, toasts and bagels, little packed squares of butter and jams, as well as pieces of pineapple and yogurt. That's it, but at least it's free (or, rather, included in price...). Food in restaurants is relatively expensive, for a nice breakfast plan to spend $15-20 per person including tips (which very often are printed on the check as a saggestion) As I mentioned before, the staff is very friendly and helpful; our last day we checked out at 11 a.m., but the flight was at 9 p.m., so we were able to go for another tour this day, and in the end of the day we could stay in a free guest room with a shower and TV to get ready for the flight; transportation to the airport also was arranged nicely by the hotel staff. There is also a swimming pool, but we never used it (it's an ocean, who needs a swimming pool!) Would I stay there if I travel there again? Yes, I would, no bad experience there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are millions of shopping places around; if you are a bargain hunter, all prices at the nearby markets (there are two big ones) are absolutely negotiable, don't fall for the asked price!

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phx, AZ
Dec 9, 2009

Pretty Good

The Waikiki Gateway Hotel has a good location right in the heart of Waikiki. The hotel is within walking distance to the beach, great restaurants and endless shopping. Check-in and check-out was quick and easy. Staff was always courteous and professional. Our room and the hotel overall was clean, comfortable, but a bit worn and outdated. Our TV stopped working but was quickly replaced after the maintenance man confirmed that hitting it on the side was not going to fix it. Our room had a mini-fridge, microwave, wet bar style sink and a small two burner stove top. The beds in the room are really hard. So hard my wife went to a department store and bought a foam pad mattress topper ($15 at Sears) for the remainder of our six night stay. The complimentary continental breakfast is very minimal, but covers your breakfast needs, as long as your needs are toast, a bagel, yogurt or pineapple. A really nice included amenity was the computer room with multiple computers and free internet access. A convenience store is located on the ground floor for any quick food or beverage needs. Overall, the Waikiki Gateway Hotel was a pretty good hotel at a pretty good price in a pretty good Waikiki location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Moose McGillycuddy's on Lewers St has some of the best food specials you are going to find in Waikiki. Good food, great atmosphere and very reasonable prices.

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mr murphy
Business
oly wa
Nov 28, 2009

good to go

nice modern decor with abc store in building. great combination view of city and ocean. helpful staff with immediate attention to issues but not very friendly. would stay again for the price but a closer to the middle of the strip location would be preffered. hotel should include parking to set itself apart, you have to pay everywhere you go, ughh. restaraunt is also closed but not mentioned in ads. loved the in room internet nice bonus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

check different places to go for dinner and drinks. you can pay 3 dollars or 10 for the same drinks lots of deals available red lion was cheapest

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Strandmann
Business
California
Nov 15, 2009

Great value

Great value for room and free internet. Room and bathroom clean. Some street noise if balcony door open. Breakfast offered but not worth it really. Ft. Derussy Park across street and short walk to Waikiki Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweet Jimmy
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Nov 10, 2009

Can't Beat the Price!

Great Staging point for everything to do on Oahu. High points were Price ($75/night), Location, and the Kitchenette. Low points were the traffic Noise (on lower floors), Beds were somewhat hard, and at least one of the three elevators was out of service every day, sometimes two were out of commission making long waits to get up to your room. Other comments; The continental breakfast was mediocre featuring pineapple, bread/bagel, and coffee/juice. It was nice to have the ABC store in the hotel, although in Waikiki you are never far from one. Also, if you rent a car the hotel charges $15.50/day but on all but two nights we didn't have too much trouble finding parking on streets between the Ala Wai cannal and Kuhio St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Arnold's Tiki Bar. Located maybe a hundred yards from the hotel it is tucked underneath Eggs & Things and behind a tatoo shop across from the post office on Saratoga Rd. Excellent little dive with live music, tiki decoration, and the drinks are cheap. Ask Mary for the Pineapple P*ss!

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Nov 5, 2009

Great Location

Small rooms,but clean, great location about 10 min from the beach. Friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Castro Valley, CA
Oct 24, 2009

Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Service was excellent. The staff was very friendly and helpful. On the last day after we checked out of the hotel, I forgot to use the hotel's computer to check-in to my flight. One of the staff members, was very understanding and gave me a temporary card to use. Also, the housekeeping service was very diligient in cleaning our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ha Monster
Business
East Bay, CA
Oct 20, 2009

ehhh....probably not next time

The entrance made us expect nicer rooms, but they are definitely older and smaller and not as clean as it looks. Parking was 15.70 per night, valet only, not bad. Staff is pretty friendly, location was ok. Overall, I think I can find better rooms for about the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chico,CA
Sep 23, 2009

Great for the money!

We were impressed with the hotel for that price. Very friendly staff and very clean rooms. Close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top