Waikiki Gateway Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2070 Kalakua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Melbourne
Jul 15, 2011

Staff all very welcoming

Good location near DeGrassy park. Walk to beach and CBD. Restaurants nearby and ABC store at the entrance. Staff very friendly. Room quite good with comfortable beds and coffee maker . No kettle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of choice available

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new haven, ct
Jun 27, 2011

Older property, nice location

The location is good - walking distances to restaurants, and one can take the shuttle back and forth to the airport. The entrance foyer is nice, but the rooms are very average. Clearly, an aging property with not many updates. We were in transit, and it was not bad for spending an evening. The hotel staff were not very helpful. We asked about restaurants, and we only got very cursory replies. It was clear that the person behind the counter did not want to be bothered. Moreover, when we asked about a restaurant we found on Yelp, he said it was downtown, and far away. "Far away" turned out to be a 15 minute walk or a 2 minute taxi drive. Our experience with a second individual was not much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are a number of Vietnamese and Japanese restaurants frequented within about a 5 minute drive which are way better than the food in the immediately vicinity of the hotel. Check Yelp!

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cali
Jun 18, 2011

Decent place for "paradise"

We were moving and this was a one night stay while I waited for a hotel that takes pets. It was clean, reception was extremely friendly and helpful. Great place if your not looking for brand new with extras. It was close to night life and only a couple blocks from the beach but be prepared to pay 18.99 a day for parking which is not included in the price. But for that price you can come and go as you please all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terebowest
Business
Winnipeg. Manitoba. Canada.
May 12, 2011

Good location, clean, cheap n cheerful.

Friendly check in guy. Room was what we paid for. Upgraded to a penthouse suite and for only $45 more. Penthouse much more modern than our original suite however had no coffee maker or balcony (the cheaper room had both!)Great location though, we stayed one night from Tue to Wed and got lucky because just down the road was a small Market and we were able to eat a delicious cheap mmeal each there. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tuesday nights- ask at front desk about the Market!!

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jersey Shore
May 11, 2011

Awesome Location, Adequate Rooms

I was in a real pinch and needed a room in a hurry. This hotel was perfect since it was cheap and very close to the action in Waikiki. It is not fancy, not pretty, not too comfortable, but for the budget traveler who needs a shower and a place to sleep, it's perfect! Forget about using the pool (useless), just walk across Ft. De Russey park (directly in front of the hotel) and you'll find a completely empty part of Waikiki beach... fantastic!! Friendly (though not so bright!!!) staff, safe location, and practically next door to all the shops. Again, NOT fancy, NOT luxurious, but very acceptable to lay your head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

About 100 feet away from Tiffany's, Coach, etc. Awesome!

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
May 10, 2011

Good for single travellers

I went to Honolulu for fun by myself. The hotel is good overall, it is properly cleaned every day, front desk ladies are nice and helpful. It is quite convenient, just 5 minutes to the closest beach. there are several buses in front of the gate which can lead me to most beautiful sites. I live in a bedroom facing to the street, so it is a little noisy especially in Weekend. I had a good time anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MIAMI, FLA
May 9, 2011

GOOD VALUE FOR THE LOCTION

WAS A QUICK OVERNITE WITH NO PROBLEMS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mt. shasta ca.
May 1, 2011

price and location

good quiet location but still close to all the Wakiki sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

diamond head hike

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terri the Hawaii Hostess
Business
Honolulu, HI
Apr 17, 2011

A great stay at a better price!

The Waikiki Gateway is a very welcoming, affordable, and clean hotel in an awesome location! The staff is very kind, welcoming, and the ammenities that are offered are better than I had even thought!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The walk from the Hotel to the beach is about 3 blocks. Close to good eats, shopping, right on the 2 main streets, and on the main bus route!

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hilo, Big Island
Apr 14, 2011

Great last minute find!

It's location is good enough for the dollar amount I'm paying , found also at the last moment on the weekend too! I wish they'd provide hand lotion, toothpaste and brush though. It would be better if a breakfast is included for that price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top