$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Waikiki Gateway Hotel

3 stars
2070 Kalakua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
306 reviews
great time

Very good experience on our honeymoon at the gateway, will be staying here again for our next trip.... See full review

  • halnfl
  • Jun 9, 2014
So Beautiful

This place is so great. The location makes it the best. On the beach and the middle of the strip.... See full review

  • Realddiddy
  • May 5, 2014
Budget-friendly hotel near Waikiki’s best shopping and dining

Waikiki Gateway Hotel offers friendly island spirit, budget prices and a great location in Waikiki, perfect for traveling friends and couples. Located near a peaceful park that leads to the beach and the crossroads of Waikiki's two main thoroughfares, Kalakaua and Kuhio Avenues, Waikiki Gateway is positioned for entertainment in every direction. Find Waikiki's upscale designer boutiques across the street at the Ala Moana Center. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool, business center and 24-hour front desk.

Highlights
  • Complimentary computer stations
  • Sandy Waikiki beach almost a block away
  • Honolulu's best dining options located within several blocks
  • Outdoor swimming pool
Location

Located at the entrance to Waikiki, the hotel affords easy access to all that Waikiki has to offer. Shopping at Ala Moana Center is nearby, as well as the Hawaii Convention Center. Take a 5-minute walk from the hotel to reach the free U.S. Army Museum and one of Waikiki's widest sand beaches.

Rooms

The hotel offers 181 rooms outfitted with island décor, most with private balcony and unobstructed city, park or ocean views. All rooms include high-speed Internet (fees apply), coffee maker, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, air conditioning and cable TV. Select rooms have fully-equipped kitchenettes. Some rooms can accommodate up to four single beds.


Dining

Take advantage of the hotel's partnership with Island Grocery Service and have groceries delivered to your room or opt for the hotel's daily continental breakfast service (fees apply). Waikiki's best dining can be found within a few blocks of the hotel. For fine dining, head to Keo's, serving Honolulu's best Thai dishes, or Roy's Waikiki, an award-winning Asian-fusion restaurant.

Attractions
  • U.S. Army Museum
  • Waikiki Beach
  • Waikiki Beach Walk
  • Royal Hawaiian Center
  • Hawaii Convention Center
  • Ala Moana Center
  • Honolulu Zoo
  • Waikiki Aquarium

 

Hotel Map

21.2834 -157.8312
Area served
Located at the beginning of Waikiki near the new "Rodeo drive of shopping in Waikiki"
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport
Area description
Located at the entrance of Waikiki, where Kalakaua Avenue and Kuhio Avenue meet. Fronting the hotel is the Kalakaua Park featuring a life-sized statue of King Kalakaua and many trees to relax under. Take a leisurely stroll through the Fort DeRussey Memorial Park to visit the white sands of famous Waikiki Beach. A few minutes walk also takes you into the center of Waikiki with all its world class shopping, dining and entertainment. In addition, the Hawaii Convention Center is just a few blocks away. City buses, shopping center shuttles, and tour buses all have stops at our hotel. The Waikiki Gateway Hotel is perfectly located to meet your leisure pleasure or business needs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waikiki Gateway Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Waikiki Gateway Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Waikiki View
Located from 10th Floor through 16th Floor, we have a balcony with commanding views of Waikiki. All rooms are spacious and equipped with refrigerator, coffee maker, a/c, safe (pay), cable TV, full tub and hand held shower. Most rooms are furnished with two double beds, 1 double and 1 single bed, or 2 single beds (bed requests are not guaranteed).
Single Standard
Located on floors 3-15. 1 double bed or 2 twin beds. Private lanai (not guaranteed in all single rooms), desk, coffee/tea maker, mini-fridge, AC, cable TV, in-room safe (surcharge).
Deluxe Partial Ocean View
Located on floors 10-15. Enjoy these guestrooms with our double bed configuration which features panoramic Waikiki and partial views of the Pacific ocean from your balcony. Private lanai, desk, coffee/tea maker, mini-fridge, AC, cable TV, in-room safe (surcharge).
Premium Standard
Located on floors 4-9. 2 double beds or 3 twin beds. Private lanai, desk, coffee/tea maker, mini-fridge, AC, cable TV, in-room safe (surcharge).

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.3 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.1 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.3 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.4 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.4 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.4 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.7 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.7 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.8 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.1 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.7 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.7 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.9 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.7 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.1 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.1 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.6 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.1 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (306)

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
306 out of 306
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle,WA
Jul 27, 2011

Good location for fun

The Lobby and atmosphere was nice and welcoming. There was always someone at your service when you needed to know how to get from A to B and someone to greet you when you come and go. If you did not plan anything to do before your trip the hotel has an activity desk around he corner from the reception desk. There's also an ABC store connected to the hotel that's opened until midnight. If you love shopping this hotel is on the strip of Kalakua Ave, you'll find quite a few shopping centers on the strip, also the International Martket as well as restaurants. It's lovely at night. The parking fee is $18.99 per hotel staff. When I booked this hotel it said free parking, they need to update their website. Luckily we found a parking lot that's a block away from hotel that wasn't overpriced per day. The bed is nice and comfy and has a nice presentation. I did not stay at the hotel very much. I was out most of the time, Waikiki Gateway served its purpose of a comfy bed and a place to shower and clean - for me and my fiancé that is. I do wished they had roomed service because there were time where my fiancé and I felt very tired from out activities and trip around Oahu that we jus wanted to stay in and dine at the hotel. Overall we were satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle,WA
Jul 27, 2011

Good location for fun

The Lobby and atmosphere was nice and welcoming. There was always someone at your service when you needed to know how to get from A to B and someone to greet you when you come and go. If you did not plan anything to do before your trip the hotel has an activity desk around he corner from the reception desk. There's also an ABC store connected to the hotel that's opened until midnight. If you love shopping this hotel is on the strip of Kalakua Ave, you'll find quite a few shopping centers on the strip, also the International Martket as well as restaurants. It's lovely at night. The parking fee is $18.99 per hotel staff. When I booked this hotel it said free parking, they need to update their website. Luckily we found a parking lot that's a block away from hotel that wasn't overpriced per day. The bed is nice and comfy and has a nice presentation. I did not stay at the hotel very much. I was out most of the time, Waikiki Gateway served its purpose of a comfy bed and a place to shower and clean - for me and my fiancé that is. I do wished they had roomed service because there were time where my fiancé and I felt very tired from out activities and trip around Oahu that we jus wanted to stay in and dine at the hotel. Overall we were satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
local traverler
santa monica
Jul 25, 2011

vacationer

Hotel is in a great location. Room was clear and cool. View outside was great, next time I would definitely get a room with the kitchen. Overall I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Keo's on the corner. Short ribs fantastic, prices are reseasonable.

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
local traverler
santa monica
Jul 25, 2011

vacationer

Hotel is in a great location. Room was clear and cool. View outside was great, next time I would definitely get a room with the kitchen. Overall I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Keo's on the corner. Short ribs fantastic, prices are reseasonable.

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Melbourne
Jul 15, 2011

Staff all very welcoming

Good location near DeGrassy park. Walk to beach and CBD. Restaurants nearby and ABC store at the entrance. Staff very friendly. Room quite good with comfortable beds and coffee maker . No kettle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of choice available

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Melbourne
Jul 15, 2011

Staff all very welcoming

Good location near DeGrassy park. Walk to beach and CBD. Restaurants nearby and ABC store at the entrance. Staff very friendly. Room quite good with comfortable beds and coffee maker . No kettle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of choice available

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
new haven, ct
Jun 27, 2011

Older property, nice location

The location is good - walking distances to restaurants, and one can take the shuttle back and forth to the airport. The entrance foyer is nice, but the rooms are very average. Clearly, an aging property with not many updates. We were in transit, and it was not bad for spending an evening. The hotel staff were not very helpful. We asked about restaurants, and we only got very cursory replies. It was clear that the person behind the counter did not want to be bothered. Moreover, when we asked about a restaurant we found on Yelp, he said it was downtown, and far away. "Far away" turned out to be a 15 minute walk or a 2 minute taxi drive. Our experience with a second individual was not much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are a number of Vietnamese and Japanese restaurants frequented within about a 5 minute drive which are way better than the food in the immediately vicinity of the hotel. Check Yelp!

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
new haven, ct
Jun 27, 2011

Older property, nice location

The location is good - walking distances to restaurants, and one can take the shuttle back and forth to the airport. The entrance foyer is nice, but the rooms are very average. Clearly, an aging property with not many updates. We were in transit, and it was not bad for spending an evening. The hotel staff were not very helpful. We asked about restaurants, and we only got very cursory replies. It was clear that the person behind the counter did not want to be bothered. Moreover, when we asked about a restaurant we found on Yelp, he said it was downtown, and far away. "Far away" turned out to be a 15 minute walk or a 2 minute taxi drive. Our experience with a second individual was not much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are a number of Vietnamese and Japanese restaurants frequented within about a 5 minute drive which are way better than the food in the immediately vicinity of the hotel. Check Yelp!

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cali
Jun 18, 2011

Decent place for "paradise"

We were moving and this was a one night stay while I waited for a hotel that takes pets. It was clean, reception was extremely friendly and helpful. Great place if your not looking for brand new with extras. It was close to night life and only a couple blocks from the beach but be prepared to pay 18.99 a day for parking which is not included in the price. But for that price you can come and go as you please all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cali
Jun 18, 2011

Decent place for "paradise"

We were moving and this was a one night stay while I waited for a hotel that takes pets. It was clean, reception was extremely friendly and helpful. Great place if your not looking for brand new with extras. It was close to night life and only a couple blocks from the beach but be prepared to pay 18.99 a day for parking which is not included in the price. But for that price you can come and go as you please all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top