$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

4 stars
View map of 2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815-3699

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
754 out of 754
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohau, Hawaii
Jun 29, 2009

Good Stay

Enjoyed the hotel room and location. Internet should be free and parking should be better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

They have an open "negotiable" market about 4 blocks from the hotel

Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2nd time visitor
Business
Alabama
Jun 29, 2009

Great location!

Superb location. Right across from the beach, tons of shopping, restaurants, convenient trolleys. Very clean and the most comfortable beds. We upgraded the day we checked in and it was worth every penny. The only complaint we have is the noisy doors. They slam shut so loudly, and that goes on all day and into the night--not good if you're a light sleeper. Other reviewers have complained about the noise from Aston's Tiki Lounge next door, but we were in the main tower in the back and didn't have a problem at all. Rent a car at least one day and travel the coast up to North Shore--beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jimmy Buffet's Maragaritaville at the Beachcomber on the main strip has awesome steaks!

Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flint, Mi
Jun 28, 2009

The best bang for the buck

This was our first trip to Hawaii. Before we booked the hotel my wife and I reviewed the comments posted regarding this hotel. We primarily based our decision to stay at the Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort and Spa on the previous reviews and ratings. We were extremely satisfied with the hotel's service, people and the accessibility to the beach and scheduled events. We would definitely recommend and return to this hotel on our next Hawaiian excursion!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ralph, the business traveler
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 27, 2009

Great location, first class hotel

Outstanding accommodations, with two expectations: 1. The fitness center was not of the same caliber as the hotel's other services 2. It's unfortunate that a hotel of this caliber has to nickel and time customers for Internet service. As with most hotels of significantly less statute, Internet service is included in the room charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a open market about a 5 minute walk along the beach to the right of the hotel. Great shops, great prices.

Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 27, 2009

Nice but not luxurious

I stayed here for 6 nights with my husband and one year old son. Overall the hotel was nice, but it definitely wasn't luxurious. Like the other reviews I read, the check in process was very slow. On top of that, the room I booked online through Orbitz was supposed to be a city view with either a king bed or two double beds. When we arrived, there were only rooms with one queen bed and no city view. Instead, it was a view of another building next to our hotel. The room was also very small, esp. for 3 people, so we ended up paying an extra $268 to upgrade to a bigger room with an ocean view. I plan to file a complaint with Orbitz and the hotel. In addition, we wanted to rent a car through the Hertz rental office at the hotel but we found out, they were sold out! They didn't have any cars available until 3 days later. We ended up renting somewhere else. On the positive side, the location was convenient. It was across the street from the beach and there are two ABC stores on site. We stayed at the Kealohilani Tower, the newly renovated one. The bed was comfortable and very soft, almost too soft by the third night or so. The housekeeping staff was excellent and friendly. Another convenient thing on site is Aqua Zone, where you can rent your snorkel and scuba gear. Overall, we had a good stay here but only because we ended up paying more money for a nicer room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to rent a car, you might want to book one online. Rates are usually cheaper. As we found out, the Hertz rental office at the hotel didn't have any cars left and I'm sure we would've paid more. Self Parking at the hotel is $27 a night, so we only rented a car for 3 days. If you plan to stay mainly in Waikiki, you won't need a car for your entire stay. You can also take the trolley or bus to nearby places, including Ala Moana Shopping Center for just two bucks a person. It's free for younger kids.

Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lorrie&Kevin
Business
Fremont, CA
Jun 26, 2009

Wonderful Stay at the Marriott Waikiki

We upgraded for an ocean view and loved the sunsets on Waikiki Beach. Also gotta love the comfortable beds and nice layout of the rooms. Plan to stay again this summer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas,TX
Jun 25, 2009

Great family stay

we are very like the beach so I think this hotel's location is very good we can go to the beach very easy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

just 5 mins~

Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BelleTH
Business
Chicago,IL
Jun 23, 2009

Excellent location

I stayed there last March and backed there again last June. All stuffs are friendly. They keep the room clean everyday. I wish I could go back to Hawaii again so I can spend time there longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dad is Cool Again
Business
Columbus Ohio
Jun 23, 2009

Best Vacation for Family with Teenagers

This is an excellent place to take a family with teenagers. The hotel is located right across the street from Waikiki Beach, and the surfing is excellent there in the summer. The waves in the summer at Waikiki are a safe size, not like the huge waves ion the winter on Oahu's North Shore where they hold the international surfing competitions. There are many kiosks on the beach where you can sign up to rent surfboards and other beach items. They will teach you to surf - get a semi-private lesson - so 2 people get personal instruction on how to surf. Do spend this extra money and teach your teenagers to surf - they will think this is the coolest vacation ever. The surfing instructors know where to go in the water to catch the waves. Teenagers don't want to go to DisneyWorld again for their summer vacation. You can also book a snorkel trip to Hanuama Bay - a fabulous teenager event. They pick you up at the Marriott and take you to Hanuama Bay - the fee includes the transportation to Hanauma Bay and the use of snorkel equipment. Spend the extra $3 and get the snorkel anti-water-swallowing device. Oahu has a lot of other great things to do - USS Arizona at Pearl Harbor, Waikiki Aquarium, Polynesian Cultural Center, Honolulu Zoo, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Kareoke is big in Hawaii, so prepare your teenagers to take part in the fun. You can walk up and down Waikiki Beach at night and find interesting street people, artists, and many other hotels having concerts. There are also concerts at the Marriott at the Moano Terrace.

Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BelleTH
Business
Chicago,IL
Jun 23, 2009

Excellent location

I stayed there last March and backed there again last June. All stuffs are friendly. They keep the room clean everyday. I wish I could go back to Hawaii again so I can spend time there longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top