$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

4 stars
View map of 2552 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815-3699

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
683 out of 683
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 27, 2009

Nice but not luxurious

I stayed here for 6 nights with my husband and one year old son. Overall the hotel was nice, but it definitely wasn't luxurious. Like the other reviews I read, the check in process was very slow. On top of that, the room I booked online through Orbitz was supposed to be a city view with either a king bed or two double beds. When we arrived, there were only rooms with one queen bed and no city view. Instead, it was a view of another building next to our hotel. The room was also very small, esp. for 3 people, so we ended up paying an extra $268 to upgrade to a bigger room with an ocean view. I plan to file a complaint with Orbitz and the hotel. In addition, we wanted to rent a car through the Hertz rental office at the hotel but we found out, they were sold out! They didn't have any cars available until 3 days later. We ended up renting somewhere else. On the positive side, the location was convenient. It was across the street from the beach and there are two ABC stores on site. We stayed at the Kealohilani Tower, the newly renovated one. The bed was comfortable and very soft, almost too soft by the third night or so. The housekeeping staff was excellent and friendly. Another convenient thing on site is Aqua Zone, where you can rent your snorkel and scuba gear. Overall, we had a good stay here but only because we ended up paying more money for a nicer room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to rent a car, you might want to book one online. Rates are usually cheaper. As we found out, the Hertz rental office at the hotel didn't have any cars left and I'm sure we would've paid more. Self Parking at the hotel is $27 a night, so we only rented a car for 3 days. If you plan to stay mainly in Waikiki, you won't need a car for your entire stay. You can also take the trolley or bus to nearby places, including Ala Moana Shopping Center for just two bucks a person. It's free for younger kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lorrie&Kevin
Business
Fremont, CA
Jun 26, 2009

Wonderful Stay at the Marriott Waikiki

We upgraded for an ocean view and loved the sunsets on Waikiki Beach. Also gotta love the comfortable beds and nice layout of the rooms. Plan to stay again this summer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas,TX
Jun 25, 2009

Great family stay

we are very like the beach so I think this hotel's location is very good we can go to the beach very easy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

just 5 mins~

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BelleTH
Business
Chicago,IL
Jun 23, 2009

Excellent location

I stayed there last March and backed there again last June. All stuffs are friendly. They keep the room clean everyday. I wish I could go back to Hawaii again so I can spend time there longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dad is Cool Again
Business
Columbus Ohio
Jun 23, 2009

Best Vacation for Family with Teenagers

This is an excellent place to take a family with teenagers. The hotel is located right across the street from Waikiki Beach, and the surfing is excellent there in the summer. The waves in the summer at Waikiki are a safe size, not like the huge waves ion the winter on Oahu's North Shore where they hold the international surfing competitions. There are many kiosks on the beach where you can sign up to rent surfboards and other beach items. They will teach you to surf - get a semi-private lesson - so 2 people get personal instruction on how to surf. Do spend this extra money and teach your teenagers to surf - they will think this is the coolest vacation ever. The surfing instructors know where to go in the water to catch the waves. Teenagers don't want to go to DisneyWorld again for their summer vacation. You can also book a snorkel trip to Hanuama Bay - a fabulous teenager event. They pick you up at the Marriott and take you to Hanuama Bay - the fee includes the transportation to Hanauma Bay and the use of snorkel equipment. Spend the extra $3 and get the snorkel anti-water-swallowing device. Oahu has a lot of other great things to do - USS Arizona at Pearl Harbor, Waikiki Aquarium, Polynesian Cultural Center, Honolulu Zoo, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Kareoke is big in Hawaii, so prepare your teenagers to take part in the fun. You can walk up and down Waikiki Beach at night and find interesting street people, artists, and many other hotels having concerts. There are also concerts at the Marriott at the Moano Terrace.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BelleTH
Business
Chicago,IL
Jun 23, 2009

Excellent location

I stayed there last March and backed there again last June. All stuffs are friendly. They keep the room clean everyday. I wish I could go back to Hawaii again so I can spend time there longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jun 22, 2009

Not too shabby

Location was great. Staff was friendly. Lots to do in the surrounding area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
de and caral
Business
agawam, ma
Jun 20, 2009

Fantastic Hotel Accomodations

this hotel was absolutely the best we have ever stayed in. Excellent staff, close to beach, pool and cabanas verrry nice, shops nearby, food at Moana Terrace was good; didn't try the other restaurants at the hotel; bed was extremely comfortable;our view was nice but there were others that were better. Would definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

right in the heart of the action of Waikiki beach; shopping, restaurants, bars, fun activities. If you want to venture out beyond Waikiki, a car is probably the best but the bus can work too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beheler1
Business
evans, ga
Jun 20, 2009

Great stay on waikiki

Great place to stay on Waikiki. Great location for wanting to be near lots of stuff. The pool was a little small. Rooms were very clean. Must see's: Dole Plantation, Diamond Head, Snorkeling in Hanauma Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car to see entire island. May want to limit car useage to a couple of days. Walk a couple of days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave Hawaii
Business
Waikiki Beach Hawaii
Jun 17, 2009

Honeymoon

This trip supercedes all previous trips I have taken in the past being I have visited nice beaches such as in Florida and California and even Mexico. The hotel staff was very friendly and the room was upgraded to a ocean view and that view was amazing. The hotel was beautiful with shops just steps away from the first floor and ABC convienant locations to shop for the essentials needed to make the vacation an easier trip to enjoy without the hassle of driving. Overall, the hotel and staff was superb and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Island in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top