$325 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

5 stars
View map of 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
156 reviews
Maui Trip

It Supplied Everything we needed for the Deaf and Hard of hearing, Thank you for the Wonderful... See full review

  • Sue G.
  • Feb 25, 2015
Pure Luxury

Everything at the hotel was outstanding. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. After a day,... See full review

  • Elinor W.
  • Jan 21, 2015

Travelers have long flocked to the Hawaiian Islands in search of paradise. At the center of it all, The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort set on Oahu's Waikiki Beach is the favored destination for those drawn by the sun, beaches, and the enduring spirit of Aloha.

Opening her doors in 1927 and sporting magnificent Spanish-Moorish architecture with an exterior of brilliant coral pink, The Royal Hawaiian, launched a new standard of vacationing in paradise. Today, The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki continues to redefine authentic Hawaiian luxury experiences and captures the imaginations of a new generation of pleasure seekers.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort Rooms

Garden View
Overlooking the resort's lush gardens and grand entryway, this exquisite guest room features a bold and indulgent design with plush Luxury Collection bedding as a centerpiece, a sitting area with armchairs, flat screen cable television with movie channels, an expansive work desk, high-speed Internet access, an iPod compatible alarm clock, and luxurious full bath amenities. One king or two double beds.
Royal Grove
Offering a private sanctuary and quiet escape, this exquisitely appointed guest room overlooks Helumoa the former playground of Hawaiian royalty, now the resort's tranquil Coconut Grove gardens. This guest room features plush Luxury Collection bedding, sitting area with armchairs, flat screen cable television with movie channels, a work desk, high-speed Internet access and full bath amenities. One king or two double beds.
Garden Junior Suite
Enchanting and evocative of timeless glamour, this junior suite in the resort's Historic Building offers an inviting expanse to relax. Beautiful views of the tranquil Coconut Grove and lush gardens are just outside your window. The junior suite features a bold and indulgent design with our plush Luxury Collection bedding as the centerpiece, a sitting area with armchairs, flat screen cable television with movie channels, a large work desk, high-speed Internet access, an iPod compatible alarm clock, and luxurious full bath amenities. One king or two double beds.
Royal Ocean Front
This alluring and palatial oceanfront room in the Historic Building offers stunning views of world-famous Waikiki Beach and the azure Pacific Ocean. Bold and indulgent design is accompanied by exquisitely appointed details - our signature Luxury Collection bedding, sitting area with armchairs, flat screen cable television with movie channels, a large work desk, high-speed Internet access, an iPod compatible alarm clock, and luxurious full bath amenities. One king or two double beds.
Tower Ocean Front
Timeless and dramatic views of Waikiki Beach and the azure Pacific Ocean enchant your senses from this Royal Beach Tower guest room's private balcony. This guest room features plush Luxury Collection bedding, an armchair, a work desk, high-speed Internet access, an iPod compatible alarm clock, flat screen cable television with movie channels, a mini bar and luxurious full bath amenities. Access to the exclusive Tower Club Lounge is also included with this guest room. One king or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.1 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.5 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.1 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.5 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.7 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.1 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.1 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.3 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.8 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.9 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.2 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

Private Dining
Those seeking a more intimate way to enjoy the beach or the evening will be able to partake of the laidback ambiance of The Royal Cabanas. The ocean front and poolside cabanas are available for rental during the day and transform into a candlelit enclave at night. Enjoy exclusive menus day and night of cocktails, menus from Azure and poolside light fare.
Azure
Illuminated by candlelight, mother-of-pearl mosaics, and accented by views of the pacific Azure offers island inspired and prepared seafood with the freshest vegetables in partnership with our local farmers. Indigenous fish from ahi to onaga, Azure's menus highlight locally caught fish selected each morning at the Hawai'i Fish Auction on Pier 38. Skilled wait staff and sommeliers are on hand to pair the delicate seafood flavors with the best wines from around the world.
Mai Tai Bar
No visit to The Royal Hawaiian would be complete without a tropical drink at the world-famous Mai Tai Bar, a sumptuous space with panoramic views of Diamond Head. This classic locale remains the renowned spot where the Shirley Temple drink is said to have been invented, and the Mai Tai was first introduced to Hawaii. Take in breathtaking sunsets enhanced by some of the islands' most talented musicians.. This timeless treasure evokes vivid memories where dozens of Hollywood stars, jetsetters, and diplomats alike have been dazzled by the ambiance.
Surf Lanai
Guests begin their days with breakfast or lunch in an ocean front space that provides a variety of epicurean delights al fresco. The Surf lanai extends a menu that blends local ingredients with unique offerings that highlight contemporary Hawaiian cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 156
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
royally ripped off
Business
san francisco
Apr 27, 2011

"royal treatment"

I liked it at first and thought that I would enjoy my stay despite the tremendous cost in comparison to other hotels. It had a nice feel to it, and the beach is always good. But when I checked out, I realized that I was charged what they call "resort fee" - $20 per day per every room. I didn't use their free Internet or free phone calls, but they charged me anyway. It left such a bad tast in my mouth...like I was royally ripped off for nothing. I will never come back to that hotel, and I advised all my friends who love Hawaii to stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay in cheaper hotels. All you really need is a roof over your head, and the beach nearby. There is no need to be treated royally...it lately comes with a spoon full of disappointment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 9, 2010

ANTS IN THE BEDS - YIKES !

My daughter and I have been visiting Oahu on an annual basis for the last twenty years and in those twenty years we have never experienced insects in our room let alone in our beds. To make matters worse, when we contacted the front desk to notify them of the ants in our beds it took 2 phone calls and 1 hour before they made it up to our room. Once housekeeping arrived he was extremely condescending and rude telling us that we just had "sand" in out beds. When I showed him the video I had taken of the "moving sand" he angrily asked if we had left the window open. When we responded with a resounding "no" he promptly left the room without saying a word. What just happened? Are we staying at a luxury resort or the motel 6? My daughter and I were astounded by the help we received to resolve the insect infestation in our luxury, ocean view room. At this point, we decided to look for the source and discovered a trail of ants streaming from the window, across the sill, down the wall and up the curtain that was touching the bed. There were literally hundreds of ants. To avoid the ants being mistaken for sand, we video taped them in motion. My daughter and I were so revolted by the condition of our accommodations we decided to pack up and find another place to stay. Once again we called the front desk to inform them of our plans to vacate and again we were treated with rudeness and disrespect. Roughly 20 minutes later a very nice young man, unfortunately I don't recall his name, contacted us to apologize and inform us that he found another room and the bellmen would be up shortly to move our things. We were moved from an ocean to a garden view room, but at least this space was free of any visible ants. The very nice young man contacted us to see if our accommodations were suitable and assured us the resort manager would contact us first thing in the morning. The morning came and went and there was no contact from the resort manager, so I decided to reach out to him. Complete waste of my time. The resort manager offered to refund the daily resort fee of 20.00 to make up for the "trouble" we experienced. Really? That is the best you can do. If you wish to stay at a luxury resort with clean, insect free accommodations and be treated with exceptional customer service don't stay at the Royal Hawaiian. You will be sorely disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal Hawaiian shopping mall is right outside your door and a 5 minute walk will find you at the International Market. A must see while staying in Waikiki.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family Eve
Business
Houston, Texas
Mar 19, 2013

Hawaiian Vacation

The Royal Hawaiian is a beautiful Grand Hotel with excellent amenities and decor. Overall the staff was superb. The housekeeping however was average at best. Asked for towels to be replaced and received 2 small towels laid on bed leaving the wet, used ones in the tub,(same response both times we asked). Coffee service not replenished daily. To top it off we over slept the last day of our stay and had to quickly leave the room with luggage leaving our camera. When we called immediately upon our arrival home was told no camera was found in room. Don't think I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cynthia and Eleanor
Business
San Francisco
Jan 13, 2014

Great location but that's all

Bugs in the room, front desk staff that did not care or even listen, but it's a Grand Dame in a great location. Concierge staff and housekeeping were wonderful. Book your beach/ pool chairs the minute you arrive or you will be out of luck. Would not stay there again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nobu and Morimoto are worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jan 9, 2011

the expensive two day stay

I thought that getting into the Tower Escape package would have been a luxury experience for the price but was disappointed. Usually there is a separate eating area for the tower guests but not so on this visit. The rooms are ordinary but do have great views of the ocean. The staff on arrival and check in were slow and not very responsive. The Mai Tai Bar staff did not respond to my daughter and I sitting for over 5 minutes and quickly served people that came in after us. We finally went up to the bar to order our beverages. For the price paid, the experience was not what we expected. I could have saved a lot of money and had a better experience elsewhere. Being a gold member at Starwood did not give me that special feeling that I have gotten used to in terms of service and benefits. Also, on check in, the concierge staff, who are opposite the check in area, were not busy and not helpful when asked a question. Maybe you could utilize staff more efficiently if you want to push this hotel as part of your luxury collection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations in advance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Aug 31, 2010

Royal Hawaiian not so royal

When you pay a rate of $200+ one would hope that the room would not require to have the lights on during the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maria E. G.
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 22, 2015

Small vacation

Over priced! Where do I begain. Let's see hotel is very nice great location. I was traveling with my elderly grandma that needs a wheelchair and 2 others persons. I was told that my room has garden view which it didn't. I had to pay a resort fee of 36 dollars per day and if I wanted to use the beach chairs near the beach that was an additional 40 dollars per day. My bathroom shower was cloged and I told the maid nobody came to fix it they didn't change the vuvet covers and didn't during use wash cloths. But the worst part of all this experience was that I couldn't take my grandmother to the pool because the ramp for the wheelchair was closed off and when you went around the other side of the hotel to use the other ramp the space to walk between the restaurant was very small that you had to ask for the other already seated to please movie cause we didn't fit. Also when they have special events the main wheelchair ramp is closed. Worst vacation ever! Will never came back here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Celebrating Dad
Business
Cupertino, CA
May 14, 2011

Terrific hotel, friendly people

We took our daughter to the Royal Hawaiian to celebrate her graduation from law school. When we made the reservation with [...], it was for 3 adults and our confirmation confirmed that. When I contacted the hotel, they said only two were on the reservation and it would cost an extra $125 a night for the third person, [...] I again contacted the hotel for my additional information and was again told there were only 2 on the reservation, only this time they wanted $150 per night for the third party. [...]Once we got to the hotel, everything was wonderful We upgraded our room at a much cheaper rate than they wanted on the phone to do so and everyone we dealt with was superb. They brought us additional bottled water and even though the beds were excellent, my wife needs a back board for extra support and they had it there in a few minutes. Overall after the initial problem, our stay there was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are into shopping, it is all within a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Negrito
Business
Calgary, AB
Aug 20, 2012

Honolulu

The location of the hotel is very good, and exclusive. However we found the menu at the hotel not creative and very expensive. For kids is friendly but not enough, they close the little pool early (6:30 Max. 7:00). The play they had for kids wasn't very good and expensive as well. They charged 35 per day on top of the price we paid when we reserved the trip. They have entertainment at night but for people who was at the bar or the restaurant only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katazina
Business
San Clemente, California
Aug 27, 2012

The royal treatment.

The hotel was great and the staff were wonderful. Very kind and helpful. But I was very dissatisfied that the hotel would charge the guests for the lounge chairs and umbrellas and the hotel added much more umbrellas that goes almost all the way to the water, leaving no room for people to lay out. You are almost forced to rent the chairs. Charging guests to use chairs and umbrellas left me the impression the hotel is getting greedy. Even the staff made that comment!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top