$325 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

5 stars
View map of 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maui Mom
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 27, 2011

Love, Love, Love this Hotel!!!

Beautiful... perfect beach...walking distance to shopping and restaurants (avoid renting a car... the traffic is awful). We stayed in the old part of the hotel with the garden view. The room was nicely decorated and the beds were awesome. If you want to splurge on your stay in Oahu, this place is worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Two Buddies
Business
Tustin, CA
Oct 26, 2011

A Visit to the Royal Hawaiian

This is truly a luxury hotel! Staff and rooms were excellent and HAPPY to help! Our concierge suggested a great magic show and several wonderful restaurants. We made a ritual of watching the sunset at the bar located right on the beach - heavenly! I loved the new decor and the swimming pool area, and the beach is the best on Waikiki! Aloha and mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at several restaurants that were near the hotel. For two women, we shared dinners and also bar appetizer plates and this really cut our expenses. No one minded! Try the outside bar at the Moana for great music in the evenings!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Perfectionist
Business
Temecula, CA, USA
Nov 30, 2011

Wonderful place to stay

This is a hotel that is keeping the standard very high. Every employee works hard to make everything as comfortable for the guest as possible. I never saw one employee that wasn't smiling. Only problem I had was when there was a parade and we were not notified that it would take place. We could'nt get back to our room for several hours. Hotel gave us a generous discount to make up for the inconveinience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has a $20 per day fee which includes parking in a nearby garage. You pay this even if you don't have a car or use the valet parking which is an additioinal $15 per day. Unless you are going to the other side of island. Everything you need is within walking distance, or use a cab..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LL 92037
Business
La Jolla
Dec 9, 2011

Royal Hawaiian

Great location, you can walk to shops. walking on the beach in the morning's great. Great staff! Drive to east side, you will enjoy the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tonyxq89
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Jan 19, 2012

perfect vacation for my wife and me

The staff was excellent, they cleaned the room and put clean towels and bottled water in the room every time we left the room. The RH has its own beach chained off with beach boys to set up your umbrella and towels very convenient, when you see the public beach in front of you packed with people carrying chairs and umbrellas for blocks. The food was excellent especially breakfast. I saved the best for last the staff was wonderful, so sweet and nice it was like visiting your favorite aunt. This was our fourth trip to Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The RH food is excellent, but it is pricey, for a change directly across from the RH shopping center are fun bars and restaurants on the second floor, just look up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aroko56
Business
94401
Jan 18, 2012

Great Hotel!

I loved staying at this hotel. very clean, friendly staff and good location. free WIFI with the service charge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arielise
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Feb 10, 2012

Hidden Paradise in Honolulu!

This resort is a paradise nestled between luxury gardens and a beautiful beach. The staff service and amenities are exceptional!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining at Roys is a must! Fresh seafood. Friendly and professional service:-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
librarian123
Business
Indianapolis
Feb 21, 2012

all we expected

Beautiful hotel in the middle of caos, just step into the hidden garden and you instantly escape the human gridlock and caos of Waikiki. The beach is beautiful and the water is crystal clear. Plenty of fun shopping and beach walking. We loved our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

take a short walk to best coffee at Island Coffee, also the best iced coffee ever, also- to avoid rather expensive breakfasts at the hotel enjoy eggs and bacon (lots of it) at the food court right next to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
coinman
Business
Pa.
May 6, 2012

Fabulous 40 year wedding anniversary trip.

This pink beauty is everything you think about when you think luxury. Lush surroundings, Nice rooms, great sittings areas, beautiful beach, well stocked bar at the beach. open air seating for your eating enjoyment, easy walking distance to shopping and night life. Shops inside the hotel and a Spa you never want to leave. The people who work their are friendly and helpful. The Royal Hawaiian is pricey but if your looking for Lux. in Hawaii She is a grand old Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

lounge chairs at the pool did not cost us. lounge chairs on beach, you have to pay for everyday you want to use them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DanDogDDS
Business
Downey, CA
May 31, 2012

Simply the best

Went with my wife and 1 year old daughter and can tell you that we were completely floored with ow awesome we were treated. From free waters to even the house keeper washing our baby's bottles we were impressed. To be fair this hotel was supposed to be our "extra" hotel until we could transfer to the Aulani but it turned out to be even better than the Disney resort. I urge you to consider the Royal Hawaiian with its large rooms and even more beautiful garden view as the place to stay in Hawaii. We will for sure. Oh, and as my wife reminded me, they provided all the essential toiletries we needed even disposable tooth brushes and coffee pot AND a beauty kit. In the Aulani where I am at this moment writing this review we got NOTHING. And the Royak Hawaiianis in a very nice area full of places to eat and visit unlike the out of the way Aulani where we have to drive 45 minutes to get any decent food. Ps. Valet was only 5 bucks per day and Aulani is 35 bucks a day for both self and valet parking. I kid you not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Polynesian cultural center and do a luau. It was beautiful. And see the night show. I almost cried with how emotional it was.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top