$345 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 27, 2015 Check-out: Mar 28, 2015

The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

5 stars
View map of 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Plain Joe
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 9, 2011

Royal Hawaiian Hotel

The hotel room was nice but not outstanding. The view from the balcony was outstanding. The room would be much better if we would have had a couple of comfortable chairs to sit in and a microwave would have been very nice to have. We were there on super bowl Sunday and were out of the room all morning and part of the early afternoon and had no room service while we were gone. The maid came in to service the room while the super bowl was going on. Not good. The hotel itself was very, very nice and all the hotel personal were very helpful and friendly. We still have no idea what the daily room charge was all about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was very good dining in the area from reasonable to expense. We thought the food to be very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gbucyk
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Sep 2, 2011

Hawaiian Vacation

The Royal Hawaiian offered everything you could need including a working mini fridge and safe at no additional charge. This allowed us to pick-up a supply of items including beverages from the local Costco. We also knew in advance that we were would be charged a $20/night resort fee above the hotel rate but that then gave self parking, WiFi and bottled water. This made it easier for us to choose in renting a car. The hotel staff was very accommodating, the beach chairs and umbrellas were great though people throwing down a book or towel to reserve and not using the chair was not right and it would be nice if the hotel could clear them or something. Since the hotel is a part of the Star-wood program, you could also utilize some of the facilities from the neighbouring Sheraton hotel through simply gaining a wrist band from the towel desk of the Royal Hawaiian. If we were to return we would definitely rebook the Royal Hawaiian and use of Orbits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best low cost fish we had was Nico's on Pier 38 (which was actually Pier 36 entrance - Fisherman Village) They serve other items but ratings are not as good as the fish.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Mar 18, 2011

Good Time.Relaxing!

Great location right on Waikiki Beach. Ocean front room with wonderful views of Diamond Head. Everything is walkable -we did not need a car. Cheesecake Factory, PF Changs, Cali. Pizza Kitchen, Margaritaville, and Dukes all within 1-2 minute walk. Great shopping within minutes walking. Hotel grounds were beautiful. although Waikiki is crowded, The RH was reserved with upscale atmosphere. Banana Nut Bread and smoothies at pool were nice touches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Society of Seven show at adjacent Westin was really good!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leslie C.
Business
Cypress, CA, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Great Family Vacation

The Royal Hawaiian was excellent overall! The location was perfect right in the center of Waikiki, the staff was very friendly and provided great service, the hotel itself was very well kept. The kids pool was fun and hotel right on the beach. The only negative was that they had us in a Smoking King room and couldn't get us a NS King and we ended up with NS double beds and the mattresses were not good. I had a backache all week. Other than that, we loved our vacation and my 3 1/2 yr old wants to know when we're going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tokyo and Boston
Mar 19, 2010

Royal Hawaiian Paradise

Quite and restful place. The hotel has an air of class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
northeast US
Sep 15, 2009

great location, beautiful beach

Overall staff pleasant and friendly, there were a few exceptions esp noted at hotel bar; great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HBZDRUMMER
Business
CT
Jul 19, 2010

EXCELLENT HOTEL

SPOTLESS HOTEL AND GROUNDS, BEAUTIFUL BEACH GREAT PLACE TO RELAX, OVER PRICED FOOD. PLENTY OF PLACES TO EAT OUTSIDE OF HOTEL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

NUMEROOUS RESTAURANTS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Mar 7, 2011

GREAT HOTEL

Unexpected Resort Fee's and $38 salads were the only minor issues. Overall this is a fantastic hotel with excellent service, location and a unique flair that is missing from most other hotels. I would definitely recommend this place to any couple. Very clean. Very effecient. They went out of the way to serve our requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shopping within walking distance. I didn't even bother to rent a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rickstar1
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 27, 2011

Great Hotel and a Perfect Location!

Service is 5 Star! Everybody was wonderful, and they even come by your room at night to see if you need anything. Rooms are clean and nice, though a bit small. Pool/jacuzzi area is relaxing, but closes way too early (5:00 PM !?!?). No continental breakfast or 24 hour cafe that I can find (and would have enjoyed). Location is absolutely perfect and overall we had a great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Jul 29, 2010

Wonderful place !

We spent 6 days at the Royal Hawaian Hotel and our journey there was unforgetable. Great location, wonderful place along the Waikiki Beach... the must ! The architecture and the history of this hotel makes the difference among the hundreds of hotels in Honolulu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Duke's Canoe restaurant for good Hawaiian food along the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top