The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

5 stars
2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
248 reviews
Memorable Stay

We really enjoyed our stay at the Royal Hawaiian Hotel in Waikiki. The hotel is historic and... See full review

  • Vegaluck
  • Jun 9, 2014
Great Hawaiian Break

Superb hotel in a great location. The Royal Hawaiian is an oasis within a thriving hub….meters away... See full review

  • Slinkysmilinki
  • Mar 25, 2014
The Royal Hawaiian - A Luxury Collection Resort is filled with the history, romance and casual sophistication of Hawaiian culture, blended with the charm of Spanish-Moorish architecture. Opened in 1927, the perfectly pink luxury hotel is known as the Pink Palace of the Pacific. Premium tower rooms feature spacious work desks and private balconies with sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean. Rooms are also available with views of the hotel's tropical gardens. On-site dining options at The Royal Hawaiian share the traditional Hawaiian culture of hula, luaus, storytelling and songs.
Key facts
  • 528 guestrooms
  • 34 suites
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • 2 pools
  • Fitness center
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Event and meeting facilities
  • Business center
Neighborhood
The Royal Hawaiian sits majestically on a beautiful stretch of Waikiki Beach on the island of Oahu. The hotel's Azure Restaurant and Bar serves seafood and specialty local cuisine alongside the soft sand of Waikiki Beach. For unbeatable views of Diamond Head - known for its historic hiking trail, coastal views, and military history - you only have to look outside.
Hints and tips
The Royal Hawaiian offers currency exchange as well as laundry service, dry cleaning and floral services.

Guests can relax and rejuvenate within a sanctuary of tropical palms, flowering plants and winding stone pathways at Abhasa Spa, Waikiki's premier garden spa.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort Rooms

Garden View
Overlooking the resort's lush gardens and grand entryway, this exquisite guest room features a bold and indulgent design with plush Luxury Collection bedding as a centerpiece, a sitting area with armchairs, flat screen cable television with movie channels, an expansive work desk, high-speed Internet access, an iPod compatible alarm clock, and luxurious full bath amenities. One king or two double beds.
Royal Grove
Offering a private sanctuary and quiet escape, this exquisitely appointed guest room overlooks Helumoa the former playground of Hawaiian royalty, now the resort's tranquil Coconut Grove gardens. This guest room features plush Luxury Collection bedding, sitting area with armchairs, flat screen cable television with movie channels, a work desk, high-speed Internet access and full bath amenities. One king or two double beds.
Garden Junior Suite
Enchanting and evocative of timeless glamour, this junior suite in the resort's Historic Building offers an inviting expanse to relax. Beautiful views of the tranquil Coconut Grove and lush gardens are just outside your window. The junior suite features a bold and indulgent design with our plush Luxury Collection bedding as the centerpiece, a sitting area with armchairs, flat screen cable television with movie channels, a large work desk, high-speed Internet access, an iPod compatible alarm clock, and luxurious full bath amenities. One king or two double beds.
Royal Ocean Front
This alluring and palatial oceanfront room in the Historic Building offers stunning views of world-famous Waikiki Beach and the azure Pacific Ocean. Bold and indulgent design is accompanied by exquisitely appointed details - our signature Luxury Collection bedding, sitting area with armchairs, flat screen cable television with movie channels, a large work desk, high-speed Internet access, an iPod compatible alarm clock, and luxurious full bath amenities. One king or two double beds.
Tower Ocean Front
Timeless and dramatic views of Waikiki Beach and the azure Pacific Ocean enchant your senses from this Royal Beach Tower guest room's private balcony. This guest room features plush Luxury Collection bedding, an armchair, a work desk, high-speed Internet access, an iPod compatible alarm clock, flat screen cable television with movie channels, a mini bar and luxurious full bath amenities. Access to the exclusive Tower Club Lounge is also included with this guest room. One king or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

21.279 -157.829
Area served
Honolulu Oahu Hawaii. Waikiki Beach
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL 15 Miles
Area description
Waikiki Beach, International Market-225ft, Pearl Harbor-10mi, Honolulu Zoo-0.3mi, Kapiolani Park-0.4mi, Ala Moana Shopping Center-2mi,Aloha Tower-4mi, Aloha Stadium-10mi, Hanama Bay-12mi, North Shore 35mi

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.1 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.5 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.1 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.5 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.7 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.1 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.1 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.3 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.8 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.9 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.2 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

Private Dining
Those seeking a more intimate way to enjoy the beach or the evening will be able to partake of the laidback ambiance of The Royal Cabanas. The ocean front and poolside cabanas are available for rental during the day and transform into a candlelit enclave at night. Enjoy exclusive menus day and night of cocktails, menus from Azure and poolside light fare.
Azure
Illuminated by candlelight, mother-of-pearl mosaics, and accented by views of the pacific Azure offers island inspired and prepared seafood with the freshest vegetables in partnership with our local farmers. Indigenous fish from ahi to onaga, Azure's menus highlight locally caught fish selected each morning at the Hawai'i Fish Auction on Pier 38. Skilled wait staff and sommeliers are on hand to pair the delicate seafood flavors with the best wines from around the world.
Mai Tai Bar
No visit to The Royal Hawaiian would be complete without a tropical drink at the world-famous Mai Tai Bar, a sumptuous space with panoramic views of Diamond Head. This classic locale remains the renowned spot where the Shirley Temple drink is said to have been invented, and the Mai Tai was first introduced to Hawaii. Take in breathtaking sunsets enhanced by some of the islands' most talented musicians.. This timeless treasure evokes vivid memories where dozens of Hollywood stars, jetsetters, and diplomats alike have been dazzled by the ambiance.
Surf Lanai
Guests begin their days with breakfast or lunch in an ocean front space that provides a variety of epicurean delights al fresco. The Surf lanai extends a menu that blends local ingredients with unique offerings that highlight contemporary Hawaiian cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (248)

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
248 out of 248
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
royally ripped off
san francisco
Apr 27, 2011

"royal treatment"

I liked it at first and thought that I would enjoy my stay despite the tremendous cost in comparison to other hotels. It had a nice feel to it, and the beach is always good. But when I checked out, I realized that I was charged what they call "resort fee" - $20 per day per every room. I didn't use their free Internet or free phone calls, but they charged me anyway. It left such a bad tast in my mouth...like I was royally ripped off for nothing. I will never come back to that hotel, and I advised all my friends who love Hawaii to stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay in cheaper hotels. All you really need is a roof over your head, and the beach nearby. There is no need to be treated royally...it lately comes with a spoon full of disappointment.

Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Larryhat
Dallas, Tx
Oct 25, 2012

Not even close to being a 5 star resort!

We checked in at 11:00 pm on a Friday night. They was 1 valet working and 1 front desk person. No "Aloha" spirit from either person. Excluding the housekeeper on the 5th floor, we felt most of the people that we dealt with there, hated their jobs! Our room was so small, and the bathroom was even smaller! Their excuse for everything is that they are a "historic" hotel. Their pool is so small that at first we thought it was the kiddie pool. I complained about my room immediately and they "quickly" got back to me 4 DAYS LATER! They sold me an upgraded room, which I did not get! They will tell you they are sorry, but are not empowered to help you in any way. After 4 days, they did offer to upgrade us to a suite...OVERLOOKING THE DRIVEWAY!!! I would not pay $150 per night for this place. Research all the hotels bad comments to see if there is a common theme...this one there is. I wish I would of looked more carefully!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The location of this place could not be better for the surrounding restaurants and shopping.

Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
royally ripped off
san francisco
Apr 27, 2011

"royal treatment"

I liked it at first and thought that I would enjoy my stay despite the tremendous cost in comparison to other hotels. It had a nice feel to it, and the beach is always good. But when I checked out, I realized that I was charged what they call "resort fee" - $20 per day per every room. I didn't use their free Internet or free phone calls, but they charged me anyway. It left such a bad tast in my mouth...like I was royally ripped off for nothing. I will never come back to that hotel, and I advised all my friends who love Hawaii to stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay in cheaper hotels. All you really need is a roof over your head, and the beach nearby. There is no need to be treated royally...it lately comes with a spoon full of disappointment.

Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hurt Customer
Philadelphia PA
Nov 13, 2013

extremely poor customer services

THis location is nice, the room are very nice, the entire staff is rude. The front desk takes a long, long time to attend you and when they do its cold and they don't really transpire that they are pleased to have you there. I've got my package online and when I got to the hotel they did not want to give me me ocean view room as stated on my receipt. My wife was into her 7th month pregnant and they didn't even consider that, they change us from room to room 4 times in the first 48 hours. We ere unable to unpack due to that and after all of that they finally gave us our ocean view room. They created an horrible atmosphere and kept saying that we did no purchased the ocean view room. I had the receipt right in front of them and they completely disregard the receipt or the package that we had paid for. They kept making us feel like we could not afford to be guests of their luxurious hotel and that almost ruined our vacation. It was our 5th anniversary and we were celebrating the new addition to our family, it was a very special time for us specially because we had spent our honeymoon on the same island 5 years before that. At the time we stayed at a different hotel which was a magnificent experience. I will never visit this location again, because they don't have anything related to what they advertise and their customer service is extremely poor. What is the saddest of this experience is the fact that my wife was pregnant and she was exhausted at the arrival time and they completely disregard that and kept moving us from one room to another, they don't have a heart at that location and all they care about is your money. Please keep in mind that I had a receipt that stated that I had paid for an ocean view room and their explanation was that it was a mistake that happened when the receipt was issued and did not want to give us what we had paid for. Ahh another detail is that i spoke with two different managers and both made us feel unwelcome and they really made clean to me that I could not afford to be at their hotel. Very very sad and a miserable experience which left a big stain on our time there celebrating our 5th anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Dec 9, 2010

ANTS IN THE BEDS - YIKES !

My daughter and I have been visiting Oahu on an annual basis for the last twenty years and in those twenty years we have never experienced insects in our room let alone in our beds. To make matters worse, when we contacted the front desk to notify them of the ants in our beds it took 2 phone calls and 1 hour before they made it up to our room. Once housekeeping arrived he was extremely condescending and rude telling us that we just had "sand" in out beds. When I showed him the video I had taken of the "moving sand" he angrily asked if we had left the window open. When we responded with a resounding "no" he promptly left the room without saying a word. What just happened? Are we staying at a luxury resort or the motel 6? My daughter and I were astounded by the help we received to resolve the insect infestation in our luxury, ocean view room. At this point, we decided to look for the source and discovered a trail of ants streaming from the window, across the sill, down the wall and up the curtain that was touching the bed. There were literally hundreds of ants. To avoid the ants being mistaken for sand, we video taped them in motion. My daughter and I were so revolted by the condition of our accommodations we decided to pack up and find another place to stay. Once again we called the front desk to inform them of our plans to vacate and again we were treated with rudeness and disrespect. Roughly 20 minutes later a very nice young man, unfortunately I don't recall his name, contacted us to apologize and inform us that he found another room and the bellmen would be up shortly to move our things. We were moved from an ocean to a garden view room, but at least this space was free of any visible ants. The very nice young man contacted us to see if our accommodations were suitable and assured us the resort manager would contact us first thing in the morning. The morning came and went and there was no contact from the resort manager, so I decided to reach out to him. Complete waste of my time. The resort manager offered to refund the daily resort fee of 20.00 to make up for the "trouble" we experienced. Really? That is the best you can do. If you wish to stay at a luxury resort with clean, insect free accommodations and be treated with exceptional customer service don't stay at the Royal Hawaiian. You will be sorely disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal Hawaiian shopping mall is right outside your door and a 5 minute walk will find you at the International Market. A must see while staying in Waikiki.

Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Dec 9, 2010

ANTS IN THE BEDS - YIKES !

My daughter and I have been visiting Oahu on an annual basis for the last twenty years and in those twenty years we have never experienced insects in our room let alone in our beds. To make matters worse, when we contacted the front desk to notify them of the ants in our beds it took 2 phone calls and 1 hour before they made it up to our room. Once housekeeping arrived he was extremely condescending and rude telling us that we just had "sand" in out beds. When I showed him the video I had taken of the "moving sand" he angrily asked if we had left the window open. When we responded with a resounding "no" he promptly left the room without saying a word. What just happened? Are we staying at a luxury resort or the motel 6? My daughter and I were astounded by the help we received to resolve the insect infestation in our luxury, ocean view room. At this point, we decided to look for the source and discovered a trail of ants streaming from the window, across the sill, down the wall and up the curtain that was touching the bed. There were literally hundreds of ants. To avoid the ants being mistaken for sand, we video taped them in motion. My daughter and I were so revolted by the condition of our accommodations we decided to pack up and find another place to stay. Once again we called the front desk to inform them of our plans to vacate and again we were treated with rudeness and disrespect. Roughly 20 minutes later a very nice young man, unfortunately I don't recall his name, contacted us to apologize and inform us that he found another room and the bellmen would be up shortly to move our things. We were moved from an ocean to a garden view room, but at least this space was free of any visible ants. The very nice young man contacted us to see if our accommodations were suitable and assured us the resort manager would contact us first thing in the morning. The morning came and went and there was no contact from the resort manager, so I decided to reach out to him. Complete waste of my time. The resort manager offered to refund the daily resort fee of 20.00 to make up for the "trouble" we experienced. Really? That is the best you can do. If you wish to stay at a luxury resort with clean, insect free accommodations and be treated with exceptional customer service don't stay at the Royal Hawaiian. You will be sorely disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal Hawaiian shopping mall is right outside your door and a 5 minute walk will find you at the International Market. A must see while staying in Waikiki.

Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wallyg
Chicago
Jan 1, 2011

Royal Hawaiian not very Royal

Bellmen were outstanding; created a great first impression, but it went downhill from there.There was a tray for banana bread which the bellman said would be coming shortly, but never showed up.Food was expensive, (yes, I know everything is expensive in Honolulu, but this was extreme) and of mediocre quality at best. If you compare it to the Hula Grill in the nearby Waikiki Outrigger, you can see what a ripoff the RH was.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hula Grill for breakfast was terrific.

Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
florida.
Feb 14, 2011

over rated and disappointing

Incredibly beautiful location and historical resort..a sharp contrast to the shoddy customer service.as an example it took 4 phone calls with lottsa begging to fix broken refrigerator and tv..bathroom not cleaned after prior occupants ..concierge helped 'find' only partnering restaurants and didn't have a clue about the rest of the island saying ' I've not been around the island that much'!! [...] remember to ask for soap towels and water bottles supposedly included in the resort fee..or you wont get them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go for breakfast to outrigger on the reef- superb ,delicious and right on the beach without the 5star price tag from neighboring 'royal' restaurants.

Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
florida.
Feb 14, 2011

over rated and disappointing

Incredibly beautiful location and historical resort..a sharp contrast to the shoddy customer service.as an example it took 4 phone calls with lottsa begging to fix broken refrigerator and tv..bathroom not cleaned after prior occupants ..concierge helped 'find' only partnering restaurants and didn't have a clue about the rest of the island saying ' I've not been around the island that much'!! [...] remember to ask for soap towels and water bottles supposedly included in the resort fee..or you wont get them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go for breakfast to outrigger on the reef- superb ,delicious and right on the beach without the 5star price tag from neighboring 'royal' restaurants.

Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wallyg
Chicago
Jan 1, 2011

Royal Hawaiian not very Royal

Bellmen were outstanding; created a great first impression, but it went downhill from there.There was a tray for banana bread which the bellman said would be coming shortly, but never showed up.Food was expensive, (yes, I know everything is expensive in Honolulu, but this was extreme) and of mediocre quality at best. If you compare it to the Hula Grill in the nearby Waikiki Outrigger, you can see what a ripoff the RH was.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hula Grill for breakfast was terrific.

Back to menu Return to top